Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. Ireland, Republic of
  3. Dublin
  4. South County Dublin
  5. Dun Laoghaire
Purty Kitchen, Dublin, Leinster

Purty Kitchen

4.6
4.6
834 Reviews
€30 and under
Gastro Pub
EST.1728
There are almost three hundred year’s of stories buried in our walls.
Once the host to visiting heads of state, sea admirals, noblemen, merchants and seafarers, the Purty Kitchen, Dun Laoghaire’s oldest surviving premises, is today continuing a rich tradition in the social history of the Dublin licensed trade. We look forward to welcoming you to our vibrant kitchen, bar and live event loft.
Food Served:
Wednesday/Thursday 5pm–9:30pm
Friday 12pm-9.30 pm
Saturday 12pm–9:30pm
Sunday 12pm–8pm

Bar open:
Wednesday/Thursday 5pm–11:30pm
Friday 12pm-00.30 am
Saturday 12pm–00.30 am
Sunday 12pm–10pm

Make a booking

2 people

19:30


Booked 20 times today

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Price
    €30 and under
  • Cuisines
    Gastro Pub, Seafood, Grill
  • Hours of Operation
    Wed, Thu 17:00–23:30 Fri, Sat 12:00–00:30 Sun 12:00–23:00
  • Phone number
    (01) 284 3576
  • Payment Options
    Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress Code
    Casual Dress
  • Area
    Dun Laoghaire
  • Parking Details
    Public Lot
  • Public Transit
    We are located just steps away from the main street and around the corner from the Salthill and Monkstown train station.
  • Additional
    Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Vegan, Wine

What 834 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.6
4.6 based on recent ratings
  • 4.6Food
  • 4.7Service
  • 4.6Ambience
  • 4.3Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Dublin

    Gastro Pub

  • South County Dublin

    Best Overall

  • South County Dublin

    Best Food

  • South County Dublin

    Best Service

  • South County Dublin

    Best Ambience

  • South County Dublin

    Best Value

  • South County Dublin

    Good for groups

  • South County Dublin

    Healthy

  • South County Dublin

    Hot spot

  • South County Dublin

    Neighbourhood gem

  • South County Dublin

    Good for special occasions

  • South County Dublin

    Lively

  • South County Dublin

    Most Booked

834 Reviews
  1. OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Had a fantastic meal, the staff are so helpful and nice. Really enjoyed the evening and would recommend.

    Is this helpful?

  2. AnnaK

    New York City

    10 reviews

    5.0

    10 reviews

    Dined 2 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Gorgeous food - lovely waitress and friendly staff. Loves it

    Is this helpful?

  3. GregK

    San Francisco

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 2 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent fish pie, and fish and chips. Mushy peas were lovely.

    Is this helpful?

  4. JoanN

    Dublin

    8 reviews

    4.0

    8 reviews

    Dined 2 days ago

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    We both had fish. The battered fish was delicious with a lovely light airy batter. The Sea bass fillets were small but tasty. The sauce was delicious. Veg and chips were tasty. We were heading to a show in the pavilion so didn't hang around for coffee or dessert.

    Is this helpful?

  5. JulieH

    Manchester

    3 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    We sat on the terrace last night ahead of the comedy gig and it was brilliant. What a wonder job you’ve done on the space. We had just wings and chips but Delich I’d suggest more menu options. Caesar salad, tenders, quesadilla. Brunch afternoons would be great too. DJ!etc. nothing like it around Dún Laoghaire

    Is this helpful?

  6. OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 May 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    C’était tout simplement excellent, les serveurs sont à l’écoute et la nourriture de grande qualité. Je recommande vivement cette escapade lors de votre venue à Dublin.

    Is this helpful?

  7. PaulineP

    Dublin

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 9 May 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We had a lovely early evening meal in the Purty Kitchen, and although our grand daughter was delayed because of overcrowded buses passing her by the lovely girl waiting on us was very understanding. The four of us loved the food we had and all want to return asap.

    Is this helpful?

  8. OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 5 May 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent restaurant, staff, atmosphere, food excellent

    Is this helpful?

  9. Tjmck

    Dublin

    15 reviews

    5.0

    15 reviews

    Dined on 4 May 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Loved our experience at The Purty last night! Service, food, ambience all excellent. Loving the new decor. Shout out to Alfonso who served us, very helpful & friendly ! Will definitely be back…😁

    Is this helpful?

  10. OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 4 May 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    The food was good, staff were excellent and very helpful, was a cosy place overall and a good experience, will come back if I'm coming through Dun Laoighoire !

    Is this helpful?

  11. rochie26

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 28 April 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent grub, nice atmosphere very happy smiling waiting staff.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hey Rochie Thanks a mill See you again soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  12. PaulR

    New York City

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 27 April 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent food and great drinks with really nice service
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Paul Thanks so much, hope to see you again soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  13. TheFatVegan

    Dublin

    17 reviews

    5.0

    17 reviews

    Dined on 27 April 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We love the Purty. The best neighbourhood pub grub in Dublin
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  14. VeeKaySee

    Dublin

    4 reviews

    4.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 25 April 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Had a lovely night here with my two older children. Staff were absolutely lovely, attentive to the right degree and big smiles all night. Really made us feel welcome. Food was lovely too.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Veronica Thanks so much for your visit and feedback See you again soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  15. OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 21 April 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    We enjoyed our meal. The food was good and the service was excellent with a smile.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  16. Barry

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 21 April 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Nice outdoor area and nice staff with good service. Starters very nice. Mains were good but mussels on main course could have been bigger.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Barry Very sorry to hear your Mussells were too small. We actually called them off later that week as they were all being delivered small. Hopefully we will have a better source in the next week or so for you when you return. Mark

    Is this helpful?

  17. Amanda

    Dublin

    8 reviews

    5.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on 20 April 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Delicious food, great service and lovely atmosphere. We’ll be back!
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Amanda Thanks a mill and hope we will see you again soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  18. Peter

    Dublin

    14 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    14 reviews

    Dined on 19 April 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Fabulous tasty food, friendly professional service all in a great setting. Thank you. Myself and my family will definitely be back.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Thanks for the amazing review Hope to see you again soon

    Is this helpful?

  19. RuthM

    Greater Boston

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 April 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Very good as always . Our waitress was excellent , she saw I was having issues hearing and without being asked , turned the music down , as the speaker was right over our table . Very pleasant and accommodating !
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  20. OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 April 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    We had an okay experience. The food was more on the expensive side, maybe a little bit over priced for what we got. The chips had a taste and texture as if they had been re-fried, we got a medium steak which was over cooked and the burger was very greasy. We did also wait an hour for the food to arrive but our waitress had acknowledged that hadn’t put the order in correctly.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi there We were made aware of the issue around your visit and we have taken steps and furthered our training to ensure this never happens again. Mark

    Is this helpful?

  21. EveC

    Dublin

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 13 April 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great service and food as usual. Lovely atmosphere
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Thanks so much Eve See you again soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  22. tony

    Dublin

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 13 April 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Beautiful food and good value. Portions slightly small
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  23. Johnny1405

    Dublin

    7 reviews

    4.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 10 April 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Food was good but could be better. Burger and wings rely too much on mayo and the burger meat was good but the construction wasn’t . Good experience overall with very nice staff and the prices are very reasonable. Summary - I’ve venue that with a few tweaks could be great !
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Johnny Thank you so much for your visit and for your feedback. We will discuss all items raised with the team and trust that you will enjoy your next visit even more. Regards Mark

    Is this helpful?

  24. JoeH

    Dublin

    9 reviews

    4.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on 7 April 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Overall, it was nice, but honestly, it was not value for money.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  25. JPCO

    London

    8 reviews

    4.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on 6 April 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Great local gastro pub. Always drinks and food are excellent. It is nicer to be inside than in the covered garden but it is not a big issue. It is not cheap specially if you order drinks. I believe it is reasonably priced.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  26. Jose

    Dublin

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 4 April 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 1
    Music a little too loud and detracted from an otherwise great dining experience
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Jose I am sorry to hear that our music was too loud on the evening and that it resulted in only a 2 star review. We would of been happy to adjust the music on the night if it was mentioned to a member of the team. We are however a gastropub and typically a little louder than an average restaurant. I note that you found the food and service to merit 5 stars, so hopefully this will be enough to entice you back and allow us to show you a true Purty Kitchen experience. Mark

    Is this helpful?

  27. OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We had a fantastic visit with our family. It was our waiter who made the experience. Don’t recall his name but he was from Brazil.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback, that was Augusto and we will certainly pass on your feedback. Thanks Mark

    Is this helpful?

  28. ElizabethO

    Dublin

    10 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    10 reviews

    Dined on 31 March 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Average food, not memorable and pleasant if a little slow service. We were seated outside in between two large tables filled with several young children doing what children do. More considerate seating would have improved the overall experience.

    Is this helpful?

  29. EveC

    Dublin

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 31 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Really friendly and efficient service, lovely food and a good atmosphere
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Eve Thanks so much for your visit and for the wonderful feedback. Hope we will see you again soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  30. MelanieM

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 29 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    The Menu on first glance seemed normal enough but when the food came out there was a marked difference in the standard- calamari was crisp and juicy inside, the moules marinere were so tasty and the fish platter was fab. The desserts were worth the wait and we both enjoyed sampling for each others plate! The staff were friendly knowledgable and attentive. I’d go back in a heartbeat. Well done to all involved it’s a gem.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Melanie Thanks a mill for the review, and for your visit. I will pass on the feedback to all of the team. Look forward to welcoming you back soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  31. Froggy

    Dublin

    5 reviews

    4.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 17 March 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    We have been many times to purty and the food continues to be a fabulous feature. Generally the service and staff are on par, really attentive and friendly but on this occasion, towards the end of the evening we were asked several times to hurry up for ordering coffee, then dessert and finally the payment machine was presented to us without asking…We were not the last customers but we got the message ! Minor disappointment for an overall lovely place.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Froggy I am glad that you are a regular customer, but am bitterly disappointed at the experience outlined in your review and I sincerely apologise for this experience. I would really hope that we could get another opportunity to demonstrate that this was a "blip" in our usual high standards I hope we will get to welcome you back soon. Regards Mark

    Is this helpful?

  32. OpenTable Diner

    New York City

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 17 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food and atmosphere and good value as always.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  33. OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The best pub food around! Service is 10/10 & the food is so fresh. Couldn’t recommend more!
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Thanks so much !

    Is this helpful?

  34. OviB

    Dublin

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 17 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    The food is outstanding, one of the best in the gastro pub category in Ireland. The drinks have cosmic prices though. One glass of Prosseco is 12 euro, we paid 24 euro dor 2 glasses !!!
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Ovi, Thanks for the visit and for the amazing review. Our Prosecco is an Organic Spumante which is a level above a standard Frizzante Prosecco. We have however, taken your feedback on board and are trying to source a high enough quality Prosecco that we can sell at a more competitive price. Hopefully we will have one in for the next time you visit. Really appreciate your ongoing support and look forward to seeing you soon. Mark

    Is this helpful?

  35. Johnn

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great service from Augusto with simple but great quality food.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi John Thanks so much We have passed on the kind words to Augusto! Mark

    Is this helpful?

  36. JohannesP

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 5
    Met a friend for lunch. Food and drink was great, be it that it took a while being Mother's day and the place was packed. Will gladly go again.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Johannes Thanks so much for the visit and the great review. Also for your understanding of the service on a crazy busy day. I assure you we did our very best. Hope to see you again soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  37. OpenTable Diner

    Kerry

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 March 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    Good food however Staff require learning. They spent a lot of time chatting amongst themselves rather than supporting customers. Had to ask to list specials. Was given one menu although a party of 2. Advised by waiting Staff would carry drinks from bar to our table- brought just one! Lots of oversight on their behalf. Didn’t clear away unwanted glasses to make more room on the table for example. Requested loo roll for the Ladies but didn’t replenish hand towels or tidy sink area. Frangipan and rose wine was not up to much. Would avoid.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Anonymous I am very sorry to hear your feedback above. We would love to know more about your experience so that we can improve on all aspects of your experience. I will send you an email address to contact us by if you have the time. I hope that you will give us another try. I am sure that you can see from our hundreds of 5 Star reviews, that this is not reflective of our usual high standards. Mark

    Is this helpful?

  38. AnneO

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 9 March 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Unfortunately the pasta special was very greasy and not at all as good as we enjoyed 2 weeks ago also it was barely warm we didn’t mention it at the time so as not to embarrass our guest we had with us last night we are regularly there but last night disappointed us greatly
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Anne I am terribly sorry to hear this as I know you are a regular guest. Whilst there has been a delay in our response to this review, we did address it with the kitchen at the time and this should not happen again. I sincerely hope that we will see you again very soon. Mark

    Is this helpful?

  39. Siobhan

    Westmeath

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 9 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Such a pleasant experience here. Such a lovely atmosphere, lovely and helpful staff and food was so good! Opportunity there to try out something different as well as the classic. Walked away very happy with the food and the value too!
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Siobhan Thank you so much for your visit and lovely review. Look forward to welcoming you back soon Mark

    Is this helpful?

  40. TaraS

    Toronto

    4 reviews

    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 9 March 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    As a long-time Purty customer, this was less than I would have expected based on past experiences. Menu selection being reduced is one thing, but if you're going to present monkfish as your special of the day, I would expect it to be excellent, and this certainly was not. A delicate fish should have a light tempura or beer batter rather than overcooked bread crumb, and a load of fries didn't make up for the small amount of fish - overpriced for €24. My group's meals also appeared to be smaller than we'd hoped, although the chicken dish was tasty. (Not great value, including the minute lemon dessert not worth €8.50) Please train your staff to not continuously address a group of adults as girls and to read the table rather than having three separate waiters ask us was everything alright and could they clear the table when the empty dishes were obvious and one of us was still drinking their coffee. Finally, we decided to stay for another tea and would hope that tea pots would have their lids rather than saying they were all broken and here's your cooling tea. Overall, the meal was fine but not up to the previous Purty standard and needs more effort.
    Purty KitchenResponded on 30 April 2024
    Hi Tara Thanks for your visit and for taking the time to send us this review. I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your experience this time as much as you have done in the past. Whilst we had incredible feedback on the Monkfish Scampi, I will certainly pass on the feedback to the team in the kitchen. We seldom get complaints about portion sizes, however I will also bring this to the next management meeting, along with the feedback on the service on the night. Given that you have been with us before this occasion, I hope that you will visit us again in the future. Regards Mark

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

Purty Kitchen is rated 4.6 stars by 834 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:30


Booked 20 times today
Google Map for Purty Kitchen

3-5 Old Dunleary Rd, Dún Laoghaire, Dublin, Leinster A96 X7W1

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Area
    Dun Laoghaire
  • Hours of Operation
    Wed, Thu 17:00–23:30 Fri, Sat 12:00–00:30 Sun 12:00–23:00
  • Price
    €30 and under
  • Cuisines
    Gastro Pub, Seafood, Grill
  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Dress Code
    Casual Dress
  • Parking Details
    Public Lot
  • Public Transit
    We are located just steps away from the main street and around the corner from the Salthill and Monkstown train station.
  • Payment Options
    Mastercard, Visa
  • Additional
    Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Vegan, Wine
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Impressum
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo