Red Dog Saloon Hoxton

3.9
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1996 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Barbeque grew up in the South of the USA where cooks learned to slow roast cuts of meat over fire pits to make them tender. Exposure to the smoke of the smouldering wood added a distinctive smoky taste to the meat. The process could take many hours, leaving the meat tender and juicy.


Our award-winning smoker has been imported from the USA and is built to recreate the cooking process of those original fire pits. We use the traditional American woods of hickory and mesquite to give a full smoke flavour, and the meat stays in the smoker for up to 16 hours.
What 1996 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
4.0
food
3.9
service
3.8
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
73% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
O
Olly
London
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Food was absolutely spot on and exactly what I expected. Wouldnt change anything about this place

D
Dave
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food3service2ambience3

The food is tasty enough although we found the sides really disappointing. Overly mayo'd coleslaw, tiny side salad and the loaded fires (sorry can't remember the name for them) but they were really quite inedible.
Mostly however, this is not the same RDS as before. Service was really not great. We waited longer than expected for mains which we queried and then when it arrived was pretty cool and made it to the table WITHOUT cutlery. We waited a few minutes expecting knives and forks to arrive, then waiting a few more mins to catch a servers eye and then eventually had to go ask directly. All up - the already cool food was outright cold which we then had to wait to explain that to one of the servers who then had to get a manager, who then only replaced the burgers and then took the fries away etc etc.
Apologies all around but I think the damage was already done by then.

While I know you don't go to a BBQ joint for red wine, you should go here expecting them to be worth the money. RDS - no amount of telling us that the selection is good will make it so, even if you are charging £35'odd for a bottle. Note: if a table leaves two filled glasses and the best part of a bottle of wine, you can rest assured that it wasn't good.

We really want to be sympathetic (post COVID etc) to restaurants struggling to fill the space like they used to but be aware that they are opening up the entire front of the restaurant to allow people to drink and smoke. That is kind of uncool if you don't want the shouting, smoking (and dropping of glasses) to be wafting over you while you are eating. My wife was literally back to back to a smoker - technically outside the restaurant but of course in practice only 2 feet away.
Perhaps not be a problem as the winter draws in.

Not worth £135 for 2 people.

My suggestion then is not to make it a Saturday night out. Go for beers, cocktails and Wings (the Wings by the way were very good - just as we remembered them) and then move on.

GO
GabrielO
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Burgers - in comparison to the likes of Black Bear, Honest Burger and 5 Guys there is just no comparison.

Booked our table vie Open Table and the guest/manager who greated us claimed he could not find it.

Toilet upstairs had no soap to wash your hands and when we brought this to the attention of our waitress she was defensive by saying we should have used the toilet downstairs as the toilet upstairs is used by staff and is a disabled toilet.... Yuk

g
glodyl
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Me and my fiancé loved it ,we were well received and served , the food quality And taste was 100%

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 16 September 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience5

Great service! The food was nice but the chicken wings were really oily.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall1food1service5ambience3

The food was overpriced and not very nice . I could only eat the chips

CL
CharlotteL
London
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall2food4service2ambience2

VERY OVERPACKED BUSY
GOT A PARKING TICKET OUTSIDE ALSO ... £130 LATER

B
Bradleyh
London
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic all round, best burger I've has in a very very long time

AO
AndyO
1 review
Dined on 10 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had great evening service was great felt very looked after

CC
CaiusC
London
1 review
Dined on 10 September 2020
Overall1food1service4ambience4

The food was overcooked blunt no flavour very greasy and the beef ribs they were so chewy omg i couldn’t eat them and very expensive sorry guys you won’t see me again

S
Sean
London
1 review
Dined on 9 September 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Poor customer service, platter for X2 was well overpriced for the quality of the food and was charged almost £8 for service charge (for what service?). Used to be my top 3 BBQ joints in London. Won't ever be going again. A shame Reds true BBQ London closed down

C
Ceyda
London
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2020
Overall1food5service1ambience2

Had a brilliant night, food was lovely and drinks were amazing. Staff were extremely polite and very attentive, I would 100% go again. Only downfall of my experience was the fact that the staff let in a guy who didn’t order anything at all, who sat next to us. I later discovered my phone had been stolen off the table and that the man had used a fake name and number. Staff told me they thought he was dodgy and suspicious yet it was upsetting that none of them thought to inform us considering he came and sat close to me. So it’s cost me £640 in replacing my phone when if the staff would’ve checked on their suspicions then I wouldn’t of had to pay out. Also manager promised to calle after checking cctv and as of yet I haven’t heard a thing from him so I’ve had to get police involved. Quite disappointed in that part but overall a good night.

MM
MichaelM
London
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience3

Food was very limited, ordered 2 starters only one came out, was very rushed service we had been given our starter and main within minutes of each other and was only in the restaurant around 20mins in total

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2020
Overall3food5service2ambience3

Wanted to come here for a while, food and drinks looked great from what I had seen online. Only let down was the lack of social distancing, hand sanitiser or any acknowledgement that our safety was important (ie signage, notices). We did highlight this to staff and were offered to sit elsewhere but there wouldn’t have been much difference. Service was a little slow as well to start but got better. The food and drink was outstanding though, we will definitely come back once the pandemic is over.

JW
JacobW
London
1 review
Dined on 4 September 2020
Overall2food3service2ambience2

Food was average and there was absolutely no social distancing or extra measures to keep customers safe. Every seat in the restaurant was full and we had to shout over the extremely loud music to have a conversation. Cost a bomb and felt unsafe.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 4 September 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience2

We have always enjoyed Red Dog, but this time around the brisket was hard and the burger tasteless. We felt it was an expensive meal and would have got a better burger at McDonald’s. The staff were pleasant enough, but sadly we won’t be returning.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 3 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great meal, would definitely recommend.

KD
KostasD
London
3 reviews
Dined on 1 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and amazing food.Was a very nice experience at Reddog.Thanks we will be back soon.

CF
CasandraF
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience1

The food was amazing (best burgers), the service was great, good waiting time and staff was very friendly. Only small problem was the music very very loud and heavy (couldn’t really talk to each other, made everyone scream when talking ..so kinda uncomfortable) had to scream when saying my order, literally :))))

JC
JessicaC
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Great value. Huge portions and the food was delicious. We were sat downstairs which was very dark and quite loud. Probably would’ve preferred to sit upstairs. Probably would’ve preferred to sit upstairs

TC
TerryC
London
3 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience1

Really gone down hill since my last visit, such a shame

OT
OpenTable Diner
Glasgow
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food and drinks are incredible. Very good service too.

K
Krissy
London
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience4

Everything was too salty. Bacon, meat and meat on the chips were salty. Also, me and my friends kept bejng asked if we were finished with our meal. We got asked thos 5 times even though we wanted to sit and relax from eating somethinv that was very heavy.

J
Jocky
London
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience5

Waitress was friendly and very apologetic for the HOUR long wait for the food!

Quality of food was ok but expecting better and coleslaw was not homemade, cheap vinergette taste

Chips were nice

Would not return unless just for drinks

NA
NifemiA
London
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience3

I gave a review about your restaurant on my food page, check it out ! @foodieeefems on Instagram

BB
BenB
London
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Very nice evening and the food & service was good. We were told there was an amount of time we could have the table for but no one asked us to leave once we had stayed beyond.

L
Lily
London
11 reviews
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall3food5service3ambience2

Great food but zero physical or covid adaptations, it was so crowded, no spacing.

JZ
JacksZ
London
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Food isn’t the same anymore. No longer good quality

M
Mariya
London
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Food was great but the bill even after eat out to help out discount left us puzzled. £20 service charge is too much. Should be up to the customer to decide how much they want to leave on a top of the food bill.

CC
CarlaC
London
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Nice food, waiters happy to help.

Milkshakes are lovely

L
Linda
London
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Staff were very friendly but service was quite slow. Food was very disappointing yet very expensive. Menu appears to have changed somewhat since our last visit, Paying for ribs on a per bone basis and wings per 100g (whilst recommended portion for 1 person is 300-400g) yet nobody in our group finished the ribs or the wings as they were dry and not very pleasant. Nice atmosphere and staff, shame about the food

SA
SophieAllison
London
2 reviews
Dined on 24 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, nice atmosphere and music, polite staff and quick service. My second visit and will return again.

RC
RebeccaC
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Overall, the service was perfect and the waitress was attentive and polite. The food was hot and tasty, the atmosphere was perfect. I just thought the price for the amount of food was extortionate especially the price for the loaded fries with barely any topping (It was ok due to the eat out help out scheme, but it's not good if we consider normal prices).

JL
JLow
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 22 August 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Cannot work out how the bill came to £133.03 for lunch for 2 people...
I've added it up several times....
Really disappointed because the last time I came it was amazing
Unclear menu pricing, uncooked spicy sausage lead to a very unwell afternoon. 😔

U
Unsatisfied
1 review
Dined on 19 August 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience3

Very poor service from the moment we arrived we asked to be seated to a better table as it was directly on the smoking area and the shutters were up. We was moved to a table directly in the toilet doors where I then had to refuse that table because its unhygienic. Finally was seated in a nice booth. We waited 30 minutes to be served in which we asked the lady can we be served if we didnt I dont think we would have been served at all. When we was ready to order our food we was only them told they had no barbeque as they had sold out of all the meat which then meant that done burgers was not available either. Overall very very poor experience would not recommend will not be returning

AC
AliceC
Kent
1 review
Dined on 19 August 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience1

It was very dark in the restaurant so hard to see your food and we waited 40 minutes for our meal and my burger came out cold. I have been here previously and never any problems.

s
sophiep
London
1 review
Dined on 19 August 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

First time we have tried this restaurant and it was VERY disappointing. The music was so loud, the waitress seemed bored and didn’t care to explain any questions we had, when we asked a few more questions she was huffing and rolling her eyes (quite shocking for a first experience!) when we had questions. The menu was SO confusing as some items had a minimum order (such as brisket slices at £9/£10 but you had to order two or one tender nugget at £3.50 but minimum order of two for example)

The portions were insanely tiny, literally one slice of meat for nearly £10 but there was a minimum order of two, the pork meat arrived cold the chips were awful and it was definitely not good value for money (and we went on a half off evening) and it still come to nearly £50. The meats were not tasty at all, the majority was bone and for a smoke house it was shocking and bland.

We left hungry and dissatisfied. We did speak to the manager about the issues and he was kind enough to apologise but that’s about it. Disappointed, and will never be visiting this restaurant again.

LT
LoveToEatOut
London
8 reviews
Dined on 17 August 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience5

Limited options available due to the eat out to dine out scheme. Half the menu items had run out and we weren’t told until we were ready to place our order and had to change our orders. Service was very slow due to rush. Burgers were decent, I’ve had better but the chips were delicious and crispy and the drinks were nice. Staff were polite and patient and I enjoyed the vibe of the place and the ambience. Good background music too.

Wouldn’t go back for the food but maybe for the vibe!

WB
WilliamB
London
3 reviews
Dined on 17 August 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Very busy due to eat out to help out
Ran out of large portion of menu
Slow service and very long wait (>1 hour) for food
Food quality good when arrived
Possibly would be better when not eat out to help out/busy

S
Steve
London
3 reviews
Dined on 17 August 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience1

waited 40 minutes for food. ribs were fatty and dry, poor quality meat and raw onions in the burger.

FAQs

Red Dog Saloon Hoxton does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo and Uber Eats.

Red Dog Saloon Hoxton is rated 3.9 stars by 1996 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.