Red Lion - Grantchester
Set in the beautiful village of Granchester, our picture perfect, thatch roofed pub is a 2 minute walk from The Granchester Meadows and a lovely 20 minute stroll along The Cam from Cambridge.
Overpriced food and drinks, and poor service. Shame as it was our first visit
The beef burgers were dreadful, tough. We sent it back and my husband was eating his meal after we had all finished and the burger was still over cooked. The service was slow. We had to keep asking for cutlery. No one asked if we wanted more drinks. My husband was asked if he would like a drink once his second m al arrived, but the rest if the table were not asked. Sadly we won’t be rushing back to eat here.
Food was excellent but staff were extremely slow even though it wasn’t overly busy. Manager argued with hostess who seated us right in front of us. Not very good image he set for us. Bar staff mostly ignored us when trying to get drinks
Good food, nice venue, polite staff. Quiet for a Sunday lunchtime, expected it to be packed.
Was told that about 60 in bookings were a no show.
Amazing food and staff were so helpful and recommended the best food choices! will definitely come again.
Amazing and thanks for taking the time to review us, its really appreciated.
We haven't been to the Red Lion for a while due to the lack of vegan options on the menu. Thankfully that's all been put right now. The vegan curry was excellent. Just a shame that the vegan fish and chips had sold out. I guess that's the price of popularity. We'll be back to try them soon!
Delighted to hear that you chose to dine with us again - the sweet potato curry is a favourite of ours and the vegan fish and chips is prepared daily so sometimes our little crystal ball is a little hazy! We will look forward to welcoming you back for them next time
They seemed to be in disarray. We were told they were waiting for menus to be printed (at 1230!) Extremely long wait for food which is hopeless when you are on a lunch break. Very disappointing indeed.
The perfect reward for a hike from Cambridge. Great Sunday Roast choice. Fabulous Yorkshire puddings. Atmosphere & surroundings lovely. Thank you. We will be back.
Oh so delighted to hear that you had a thoroughly good time - we love our pub and are glad you do too!
Vegan options - fab!!!
Really great food!
Waitress was lovely, but a different man delivered our food and then run away before we could ask for sauces. Also I ordered mine with normal fries and my husband ordered sweet potato, and this was the wrong way around. Not really a problem though as we just scrapped them over.
Most annoying this was prices on the bill differ to the menu. We did point this out, but no apology as such. Just asked if they wanted us to amend it. We just left it as it was and left no tip.
Really lovely pub, with quite special food at reasonable prices
Lovely walk along the river
One group was very loud and we were seated right next to them. We were able to move but only when we asked.
The waiter seemed stressed and a little grumpy.
Food was nice but the aubergine was undercooked.
Waited for someone to show us to our table when there was only one customer in front of us. 3 people walked past and then served us. We asked a waitress if we could change table and she went ‘you need to ask that woman.’ And pointed and walked off. So waited for the next woman, she just went ‘that’s fine’ with a smile on her face.
Ordered our food and drink.
Food came and chips were cold and burger wasn’t the hottest.
Waitress came over once we had nearly finished and we told her it was cold. She offered for new chips which we said no too as we had essentially finished our meal. Then about 5 mins later we received a tray of chips from a manager who said ‘this is from the chef’ which we said thank you to but didn’t really eat them.
Food was taken away and we didn’t get a goodbye from anyone when we left too.
The place seems very popular but on this particular day the service was poor we waited for a long time to be sat down. My sister was served with cold food she complained but nothing was done about it.She ended up with an upset tummy. It looked like there was shortage of staff.
The pub needs more staff. It is always busy at weekends yet the wait at the bar or for food service takes too long. It feels as if the place is winging it and there is not the presence of a manager who is running the show properly and professionally
Been many times before had great time must have been an off day. Flatiron chicken was fatty with no garlic butter, when I complained I was given a separate pot of half melted lumpy butter with big chunks of garlic in it. Burgers were just ok. Quite slow service despite it being relatively quiet inside although quite a few outside in the garden but lots of staff. The waiter we had for the majority of the time was actually really nice and chatty and reduced the bill by 20% and apologised.
Was very disappointed as food is always really nice and always a nice atmosphere. Would still return and hope it was a one off.
Parking was difficult on a hot June Saturday but we used the Grantchester Village Parking which is a huge field and gave the dogs a chance to run about. A 10 minute walk back, but mostly off-road.
We'd booked inside but sat out as it was fine. Staff were very patient and conscientious about checking what food was dairy and wheat free although it was busy. In fact they were amazingly calm but quick. The food was good, especially the fish and chips apparently, and the sorbets. We've been before and no doubt will go again.
Very tasty Sunday roast. Service great and has a fab, kid friendly garden. Would definitely go back.
Hi Anna, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, its always so encouraging to hear we are doing something right. We look forward to seeing you soon! All the best, Kieran Assistant Manager
We have eaten here many times and always enjoy the great food, fantastic service and lovely atmosphere.
Hi David, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review; its great to hear we are doing things right. Look forward to seeing you soon! All the best, Kieran Assistant Manager
Food a bit pricey, but good gastro nosh. Staff very good. Yup, prices need to come down a couple of notches, but hey if captive market, business obviously can tolerate. Bit heavy on the family section, (noise), but restaurant area just right. Old favourite from the mid 1970s- updated. I will certainly revisit..
Hi Christopher, We are delighted to hear you had a great experience with us and look forward to you visiting us again soon. The produce we use in our food is of an exceptionally high standard, and where possible we use local producers as well. As such this does make is captive to the local economy and dictate our prices somewhat, nevertheless we aim to provide an excellent experience making our guest's visits great value. All the best, Kieran Assistant Manager
We went to Red Lion during the busy time, at 7 pm on Saturday. Reasonably, the atmosphere was a bit chaotic in the entrance, but seating did not take much time and the staff was kind. All went smoothly without any unnecessary interruption by the staff. Meals were great. The staff missed my order of delivering a starter and a main meal together, unfortunately. But, all were satisfactory.
If there had been a big noisy party, the noise level would be troublesome, I felt. More ads for special occasions (e.g. BBQ in lunchtime, Sunday roast, ...) may be good to see.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Saturday evening was a very busy evening for us so it is great to hear we were still able to provide an attentive, efficient service and the food was to our usual exceptional standard! Where possible, we do try to keep large bookings separate from other diners to avoid noise disturbances so hopefully this never becomes an issue for you or any of our customers. I hope we see you again soon! All the best, Kieran Assistant Manager
None too fancy, but nice meal and fast enough; service a bit too casual though, and then there is the advisory service surcharge .... deserved?
Hi Peter, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us! We try to balance our service between casual and professionally efficient, and in this case it appears we didn't get it quite right. We add the service charge as it allows all members of staff, whether your waiter or our hard-working kitchen staff to have an equal share of the tips, however it is entirely optional and upon request we are happy to remove it from your bill. Kind regards Kieran Assistant Manager
It would have been 5 stars all round except for the clarity of the service charge.
Apparently it states on the menu that the service charge is already added to the menu prices but I or my wife didn’t see it so we left a good tip at the end of the meal.
I don’t remember seeing this stated on the website menus so be careful you will have already paid the service charge, no tip required.
Hi John, Our menus state at the bottom of them that we will add an optional 10% service charge which we share equally among the staff. We also show this on our bills when presented to tables at the end of their meal, but are happy to remove this should it be asked. We are sorry you felt this is negatively affected your meal with us. Kind regards, Kieran Assistant Manager
The food although is pricey for a pub the portions are generous and filling. All the food was superb and the staff friendly and accommodating. Most definitely will visit again.
Hi VasK, We are thrilled to hear you had such a great experience. Although some consider us to be a pricier venue, we hope to prove our value for money through the quality of our entirely freshly prepared menu whilst still being affordable for families, so your positive feedback is encouraging for us to hear! All the best, Kieran Assistant Manager
First time visiting and really enjoyed the meal. Service was great.
Only let down was the loud table of young guys that disturbed a few of the other tables.
Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is a shame you felt your experience was affected by another table, but I am pleased you still had a great time! All the best, Kieran Assistant Manager
Some of us hot poorly afterward. The meat in the burger was bad. Cesar salad too expensive for what it was. Over prized and not very good
Hi Livi, I am terribly sorry to hear that you found our burger to be of a lower quality that expected, it is usually a dish that is received very well and one we are proud to carry on our menu. The Caesar Salad is a new addition to our lunch menu, and at £13 has been well received so far, once again, my apologies you were left feeling unconvinced. I hope you give us another chance, please call or email us should you wish to follow this up. Kind regards, Kieran Assistant Manager
Family friendly, excellent food, friendly and professional staff. Play area and outside space Is great for kids. Best roast! Will be going again!
Lovely place. The garden is massive so the kids can play easily. Food was good quality, a little bit too salty. I recommend the place
Lovely meal. The Sweet Potato Curry was delicious and I would highly recommend it. Good menu selection, definitely returning.
Food excellent but over priced
Lunch menu a bit limited
Great food and service enjoyed the experience thanks
Nice setting, have been before so was happy to recommend to a friend that we had her Birthday lunch there, very limited choice, it was a Tuesday post bank holiday and over 75% of the mains were unavailable, so very disappointing.
Very nice pub with good food. We went on a bank holiday so it was busy and lovely.
As a result the service was a little slow but very friendly and enthusiastic. Had an engaging conversation about the menu.
We had a dog with us and the pub really is dog friendly
We had a lovely lunch at the Red Lion and we would definitely come back.
Great location with nice walks on the doorstep. Sunday lunch menu was tasty and nice atmosphere
The downside is they don't clean the tables. We had to remove the people
Dinners plates pervious to us,, then our own.
Excellent service, wonderful food, noisy due to small children, but by 2.30 that had gone.
We got there after the main lunch service at 2:20pm on a Sunday, our table wasn't ready and we were asked to go to the bar and wait/order a drink. Bar staff unwelcoming, miserable., kept us waiting even though we were next in line to order. We were finally sat and our order taken, my starter was sent back - tasted off. Mackerel pate was full of bones, Roast duck was chewy - yorkshires were burnt, roast beef was small (1 slice). Restaurant very noisy and lots of dirty tables. Pudding was just 'odd' - baked vanilla cheesecake with a small saucepan of plum crumble on the side and a scoop of honey icecream? Weird combination, not sure what this restaurant is trying to be? Made to feel guilty for asking for a spoon when dessert orders were taken even though 3 out of 4 of us had dessert! Overcharged on our bill (charged for the starter that was sent back) Audacity to charge a service fee for a table of 3 adt +1 chd - this was not a great experience and certainly not reminiscent of our visit a couple of years back - shall not be returning. To top it off, Open Table emailed the next day to tell us off for not turning up for our restaurant reservation and proceeded to tell us why this may cause problems for the restaurant and the running of their service?! All round shambles.
One of our favourite places to eat and/or drink. We had our wedding reception here a year ago and come here regularly. Great food, excellent service, lovely atmosphere and dog friendly too. Can't fault it!
Lovely place to sit and relax, food was good, and service was quick polite and friendly, big car park at the back looking onto fields, combine it with walking the dog? Yes I would recommend this place, loved the way it was done out inside:
We loved the food (especially the pork belly appetizers) and atmosphere. Lucy was an amazing server and never steered us wrong.