Stella Cocktail Club

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
599 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€31 to €50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Fusion / Eclectic

Top tags:

Pre/post Theatre
Get set for a truly unique cinema experience in the beautifully restored Stella Theatre, an iconic cinematic landmark which sits confidently in the heart of Dublin 6. The cinema and cocktail club have been sympathetically restored to reflect the glamour and glitz of the 1920’s for an entire new generation of movie-goers.



The tapas-style food menu includes delights such as mini Tacos with Sticky Korean Pork, Monkfish with Lime & Pico de Gallo, Classic Cheeseburger and dressed fries.



The cocktail menu plays off the classics, but with a modern twist - on occasion, taking inspiration from the blockbuster movie showing in our auditorium.



Whether you want to sip a cocktail and enjoy a bite-to-eat before or after the movie, or visit the Stella Cocktail Club as your sole destination, we have all the ingredients for a truly special experience.
What 599 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.3
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
JL
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent and romantic. Such a pleasure to have cocktails here

EB
Dublin
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Absolutely beautiful atmosphere and so comfortable . Service was excellent .

SM
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Beautiful venue with fab drinks and food! Definitely recommend!

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Sandra, Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We'll hopefully see you soon. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
PH
Dublin
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Very good experience- would like a wider cocktail list - not great choice of vodka cocktails- great for gin drinkers

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Paula, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and for your feedback. I will pass this on to our bar team and make sure they incorporate this in to our new cocktail menu which will be released shortly. I hope this doesn't put you off visiting us again. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
O
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 4

A lovely experience and way to spend an afternoon. The staff are very polite, friendly and efficient. We'll definitely be back...

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded 2 days ago

Hi, Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We'll hopefully see you soon. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
OT
Dublin
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 2food 1service 1ambience 5

The food was, as occurs regularly in this location, almost inedible. The chicken tacos were burnt, smothered in too much garlic sauce and left me feeling unwell all eve. The menu hasn’t changed since the Stella cocktail club opened and the quality of the food is shocking. Most fast food burger places would produce better food.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded 3 days ago

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate the feedback. I am so sorry to hear that your food was not up to standard during your visit. I can assure you that we will be investigating what happened as it concerns me that this is not the first time. I really hope this doesn't put you off visiting us again. Would you mind sending me your email address when you get a minute. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
PH
3 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 2service 4ambience 4

Food in diner before film was not good. Gammon steak was burned at the edges. Liver was overdone. All other food was ok.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Paula, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate the feedback. I am so sorry to hear that your food was not up to standard during your visit. I can assure you that we will be investigating what happened. I really hope this doesn't put you off visiting us again. Would you mind sending me your email address when you get a minute. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
CB
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We really enjoy everything about this place. Highly recommend anyone to enjoy an evening there!

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Clodagh, Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We'll hopefully see you soon. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
DO
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very enjoyable experience, brought my mam to see downtown Abbey & we both thoroughly enjoyed it

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Donna, Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We'll hopefully see you soon. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
l
Dublin
4 reviews
Dined on 6 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always a pleasant trip to Stella cooctail club . Just sit back and take it all in .

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 9 October 2019

Hi Louise, Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We'll hopefully see you soon. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
S
1 review
Dined on 4 October 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Absolutely always love to visit the cocktail club, such professional staff and ambient atmosphere. Only note, we had a very private table in the corner which was perfect, but had a hard time getting eye contact with any staff members a few times through the hours.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 7 October 2019

Hi Simon, Thanks for your lovely review. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit and would also like to apologise for the difficulty in getting our team's attention. I really hope it doesn't put you off visiting us again. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
p
London
3 reviews
Dined on 2 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 3ambience 5

Overall a very good experience..lovely decor and the cinema was very relaxing

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 4 October 2019

Hi Patsy, Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We'll hopefully see you soon. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
C
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 2 October 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Very relaxing, food tasty, great to be so close to cinema.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 5 October 2019

Hi Cathy, Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We'll hopefully see you soon. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
HR
1 review
Dined on 1 October 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Lovely atmosphere. Great cocktails. Will come again.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 4 October 2019

Hi Helga, Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. See you soon. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
KD
1 review
Dined on 29 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Fabulous experience, only let down was no tonic in stock to go with the extensive gin selection. An issue with delivery it seems. A savvy manager/bar staff would have popped to Dunne’s across the road to pick up intermediary stock as to not disappoint customers. However, brilliant and unique overall as part of the full Stella experience.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 2 October 2019

Hi Karen, Thanks so much for your review. We will most definately ensure we have all items in stock moving forward and sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We really hope it doesn't put you off visiting us again. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
AH
Newcastle
1 review
Dined on 29 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our waitress (Australian accent didn’t get name unfortunately) was very friendly and attentive. Although the bar had run out of a couple of things that we wanted she made sure we were happy with our alternatives. She is a great asset to the place!

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 2 October 2019

Hi, Thanks you so much for your review, it is very much appreciated. Sincere apologies that not everything was in stock, we will make sure to sort that out. Thank you for your lovely comments about Abby. We'll hopefully see you again soon. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
H
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 29 September 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 4

Overall its a pleasant experience. The bar is comfortable and old world. While I'd recommend the Stella as a fun place to go I'd steer people away from the food and cocktails.
The auditorium was super luxurious and comfortable and is a great place to settle in and enjoy your movie.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 5 October 2019

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and for your lovely comments regarding the Cocktail Club and the Theatre. I would really like to get some more information about the food and cocktails you had if you wouldn't mind sending me your email address to emmajane@stellacinemas.ie Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
E
1 review
Dined on 28 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

As we didn't have time for a pre-show meal, I was very pleasantly surprised to see the diner menu was available in the Club bar - and all of our dishes were delicious! The staff are friendly, professional and very helpful. The cocktails are AMAZING! A special mention to Denis and Erin, whose talents made sure we were happily tipsy by the end of the night.. we had made reservations for drinks before the movie, and made another reservation for afterwards, when heading down to the cinema! PERFECT venue for a 5 star date night!

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 2 October 2019

Hi, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and I know Denis and Erin will be delighted with you comments. Have a lovely evening and we'll hopefully see you again soon. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
DD
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2019
Overall 4food 2service 4ambience 5

I would recommend the stella cocktail club for its ambience and art deco style but it lets itself down on food offer, food service and the size of its cocktails ( check out platform bray menu) and the length you wait for them!! Our chicken tenders were ok but came with no honey and mustard dressing or our chips, my friends prawns arrived 10 mins after ours and the 6 Portions of chips after that. Our parmesan fries were loaded with garic dressing so much that we lifted top layer off and my friend who garlic doesnt even agree with was shocked to find it. It actually doesnt mention garlic on menu at all. We waited 15 mins for our 1st round of drinks which is bad for a place specialising in cocktails . Your waiting staff were your saving grace they were polite , considerate ( we had asked for our 2 bookings to sit together as friends birthday on our booking forms) but they then had to deal with us questioning them for most of our visit. The manager took my friends distress over the garlic on board and reduced the bill but actually if the food had been up to standard we would have happily paid. My advice is as a business where food is part of it is to sort quickly as your customers will only return so many times for the setting and ambiamce

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 30 September 2019

Hi Debbie, Thanks so much for your review, your feedback is very much appreciated. I am so sorry your visit wasn't 100% perfect. I can assure you that your feedback has been taken on board and we will do everything can to address the issues you have raised. Would you mind sending me your email address to emmajane@stellacinemas.ie when you get a minute. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 5

Visited Stella Cocktail Club before heading on into movie. We were seated straight away given drinks menu and orderd taken about 15 mins after arriving. We had also requested food menu. We ordered food. Our drinks arrived about 30 mins after arriving, We ordered another one straight away. The barman who seemed to be working alone was under extreme pressure. Our food arrived about 50 mins after ordering. My own order seemed to have some of the filling missing from the taco. Our side orders arrived 10 mins after mains and had additional dressing on it (not mentioned in menu). The floor staff were doing their very best but if the barman was under pressure and kitchen under pressure, it's had to keep everything moving along. We had ordered some more cocktails on arrival of food and managed to get them before heading down to the movie. The ambient atmosphere and beautiful décor could make this a perfect evening if the issues above could be addressed (the Manager on the night adjusted our bill to reflect our issues with food). Sadly this is not the first time we have had issues with the food....

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded 6 days ago

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate the feedback. I am so sorry to hear about the issues during your visit especially as it is not the first time. I can assure you that we will be investigating what happened as it concerns me that there was only one bartender one as we never schedule that way. I really hope this doesn't put you off visiting us again. Would you mind sending me your email address when you get a minute. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
CF
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 26 September 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

I have reviewed many times..always 5stars. The only reason I have the food 4 stars is because of the view need some actual gluten free options. Other than that the food is very tasty and good value.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 30 September 2019

Hi, Thanks so much for your review and for your regular visits. I will take your feedback to our kitchen team and see what we can do to add some more gluten free options. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
RF
1 review
Dined on 23 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I love the Cocktail Club, the ambience is great. Although I thought there could be more options of cocktails on the drinks menu. I did see people ordering cocktails that were not on the list and there was no problem getting these. But for someone like me who wouldn’t be very familiar with different cocktails, it would be good to list more options!

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 25 September 2019

Hi Rita, Thanks so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We will be launching a new cocktail menu shortly which will give you some more options. I hope you will come back and see us again. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
AO
1 review
Dined on 22 September 2019
Overall 3food 5service 2ambience 5

We went at a busy time before Downton Abbey screening in The Stella Theatre (which we were also going to) but we waited at least 20 mins for our drinks (one beer one cocktail) and then another 15 mins to receive the bill (we asked twice)
Hoping the service will be better next time as we love the Stella Cocktail Club! The food and drinks were really good just pity about the wait for the drinks and bill. We’ll definitely be back again soon though!

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 24 September 2019

Hi Aoife, Thanks so much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. I would like to apologise that the service was quite slow during your visit. I would like to get a bit more information from you if you don't mind. Could you send me your email address to me at emmajane@stellacinemas.ie Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
P
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on 22 September 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 2

Service very slow when place started to fill up. Not enough staff on and I believe this has been a constant issue with the place. For the money people are paying for cocktails that come in a glass not even full, this is not good enough.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 24 September 2019

Hi Phil, Thanks so much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. I would like to apologise that the service was quite slow during your visit. I would like to get a bit more information from you if you don't mind. Could you send me your email address to me at emmajane@stellacinemas.ie Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
JM
1 review
Dined on 22 September 2019
Overall 3food 2service 1ambience 2

Would have preferred a better seat. Was seated at the entrance even though the bar was empty

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 24 September 2019

Hi Jennifer, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I would like to apologise for your seating allocation and really hope it doesn't put you off visiting us again. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
GW
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 5

We were a family group of 4 and it was a lovely place to catch up. The amerett sour and the wine picopal were lovely and the snacks were pretty good. We were a little early but there was no problem.
It is a very elegant space

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 24 September 2019

Hi Geraldine, Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
SC
2 reviews
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

Fab atmosphere, service quite slow but overall worth the wait

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 24 September 2019

Hi Siobhan, Thanks so much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. I would like to apologise that the service was quite slow during your visit. I would like to get a bit more information from you if you don't mind. Could you send me your email address to me at emmajane@stellacinemas.ie Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
GB
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

This is a lively place to go pre movie drinks to unwind pre movie and catch up with friends. You cam also grey your drinks to bring into the movie with you. Drink service is slow due to the cocktails ordered as they take time. Maybe put another bar person on busy nights to speed it up. The service staff themselves were helpful and polite.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 25 September 2019

Hi Gillian, Thanks so much for the review. We are happy you enjoyed your visit however apologies that the drinks service was slow. We will see what we can do to speed that up. I really hope this doesn't put you off visiting us again. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
LM
1 review
Dined on 20 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 1ambience 5

I have been to the cocktail club a number of times and have always had a very enjoyable experience but on Friday night the service was extremely poor. There were two waiters at our end of the restaurant who did not provide good service at all. While it was busy when we went in it cleared out very quickly but things still did not improve. We were given our food but then had to ask three times for cutlery. Every time we tried to get more water it took ages to get their attention and then we would have to ask a number of times before we actually got what we had asked for. We would have ordered more food as we had only ordered three dishes to share between four of us but it took so long to get their attention we didn't bother and only ordered an extra portion of fries. (the first one was cold but we were so hungry and waiting so long we just ate them). Nor did we stay for desert or coffees. Thankfully there was a one lovely helpful member of staff who, while they seemed to be working the other end of the restaurant, was very good and always came over to us when we caught her attention and was very helpful and served us when they others didn't bother. Overall I love the venue but was very disappointed on Friday and I hope that perhaps you can provide additional training for staff to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 24 September 2019

Hi Liz, Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback. We really appreciate it. I cannot apologise enough that we let you down on your recent visit with us. This is definately not a standard that we are happy with and I can assure you we will do everything we can to ensure it doesn't happen again. I would really like to contact you, would you mind sending me your email address to me at emmajane@stellacinemas.ie Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
I
Miami
4 reviews
Dined on 20 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

Such a lovely place. Great for a girlie night out.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 22 September 2019

Hi, Thank you for your review. We're very glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope you have a lovely evening. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
O
New England
2 reviews
Dined on 19 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Had a really enjoyable time together with partner! Only minus point was that we were seated with our backs to most of the club; we would have preferred to have had a table in the main part of the club. But once other people started to arrive and our corner filled up, we were fine. Food is delicious and reasonably priced. Cocktails were out of this world!

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 24 September 2019

Hi, Thanks so much for the review. We are happy you enjoyed your visit however apologies that your seating allocation wasn't perfect. I really hope this doesn't put you off visiting us again. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
TT
1 review
Dined on 17 September 2019
Overall 3food 1service 1ambience 3

I made a reservation 2 weeks in advance and I understand that the waiting team was under pressure around #DowntownAbbeyMovie, but you definitely need to hire more staff. The atmosphere was great and comfortable, but it was just so disappointing to wait 45 mins to have a drink. We had our drinks 10 minutes after beginning of the movie downstairs. I really hope the service improves on my next visit.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 20 September 2019

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review, it is very much appreciated. I would like to apologise that we didn't live up to our promised standards. I would like to get in touch with you if you don't mind, could you send me your email address to me at emmajane@stellacinemas.ie when you get a minute. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
SL
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 17 September 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 5

Good atmosphere

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 22 September 2019

Hi Sheena Thank you for your review. We're very glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope you have a lovely day. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
T
1 review
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall 3food 2service 1ambience 4

Nice experience once, poor menu very poor service, I wouldn’t return

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 18 September 2019

Hi Teresa, Thank you for leaving us a review, it is very much appreciated. I would like to apologise that we didn't live up to our promised standards. I would like to get in touch with you if you don't mind, could you send me your email address to me at emmajane@stellacinemas.ie when you get a minute. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
CN
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The staff were exceptional. We had to request a last minute time change and they went out of their way to accommodate us. Will definitely be returning.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 16 September 2019

Hi, Thank you so much for your review and your lovely comments. You have made the team's day. We hope you have a lovely evening. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
AO
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 4food 2service 5ambience 5

Loved the atmosphere and the cocktails. Food is a little disappointing - we had the charcuterie and cheese board and the selection was very poor. However, I understand they are changing the menu. The service is excellent so I would recommend eating elsewhere and just going to the Club for a lovely cocktail and to soak up the atmosphere.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 16 September 2019

Hi Aoife, Thank you so much for your review and your lovely comments. I am so sorry you didn't enjoy the food during your visit. Would you mind sending me your email address to emmajane@stellacinemas.ie when you get a minute. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
MG
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Visited with friends - everything perfect from food to service.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 16 September 2019

Hi Maria, Thank you so much for your review and your lovely comments.We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We hope you have a lovely evening. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
EB
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

We enjoyed it very much - only recommendation would be queues at main door of cinema as everyone was trying to print out tickets and there was a long queue to ask someone then we found we could scan on the way into movie theatre- someone at the front to advise would be helpful !

Enjoyed my cocktail

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 15 September 2019

Hi Eva, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we're delighted you enjoyed your visit and we will definately see what we can do to relieve the congestion at the door. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 3food 1service 5ambience 5

Great place, great ambience, great service. Terrible low quality badly cooked and badly presented food at ridiculous prices. Cinema is really cool.

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 15 September 2019

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Thanks for your comments regarding the service and the cinema. I would like to apologise that you didn't enjoy the food. If you wouldn't mind sending me some more information to me at emmajane@stellacinemas.ie I would greatly appreciate it. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
AC
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Absolutely love the stella will be back again again and again ❤

Stella Cocktail Club
Responded on 15 September 2019

Hi Anne, Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We will hopefully see you again soon. Kind Regards Emma-Jane

Report
1
2
3
15