Sussex Public House

4.3
88 reviews
$30 and under
Pub
Sussex Public House is a perfect blend of high-quality beverages and high-quality food in our ambient and comfortable atmosphere. We proudly offer the area's largest selection of regional craft beers on tap and update our selections weekly. We are conveniently located in Rehoboth Beach. Stop in to enjoy our unique food flights, craft beer flights, crafted cocktails, and welcoming ambiance! Vegan and Gluten-Free Options are available. We offer a family-friendly kids' menu. Our menu has an ever-changing selection of Seafood and Steaks (locally sourced whenever possible).

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 88 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.2
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
TJ
vipTonyJeff
Baltimore
133 reviews
Dined on 16 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent anniversary dinner! Excellent service! Food flights are delicious! We love this place!

DR
DonRonni
Atlantic City
13 reviews
Dined on 16 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Service and food were wonderful!! Best burger in a long time, Board meal was great along with desserts and ceviche. No complaints except for a little noisy table behind us. Will tell others!!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on 2 October 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

We went based on the reviews I read and we were not disappointed at all. Service was very good and the fare did not disappoint either. Saw a flatbread and burger and my mouth was drooling. Next time that will be the choice.

AF
vipAndreaF
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined on 1 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was excellent. Outdoor space was perfect as was our server, Samantha. Highly recommend and will be back next time we come to town. Thank you!

g
vipglover
Washington DC
89 reviews
Dined on 26 September 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience3

We sat outside in the nice quiet enclosed patio on a very slow Sunday night post Labor Day. Service was friendly and efficient. My fish and husband’s short ribs were good, nothing particularly special

Sussex Public House
Responded on 29 September 2021

Hi Glover, we appreciate your kind words about our service, and are putting in a note to the chef regarding your fish and husband's short ribs. We certainly don't err on the side of mediocre. We hope you give us another try sometime soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 25 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Delicious! We had a great meal
And some good beers here. Highly recommend!

Sussex Public House
Responded on 29 September 2021

Thank you so much for your kind words, and generous review! Stop back in and see us again soon! PS - Check out our website for the updated happy hour specials and our loyalty program that rewards our repeat customers (offering up to 20% back for a limited time). Thanks again!

Report
r
viprbdiner
Baltimore
73 reviews
Dined on 24 September 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Our first time here. Like the atmosphere very much. Outdoor seating was very pleasant. We both had food flights which could have been a little better. For the price maybe choosing two larger items instead of three small would be better and tastier. Hard to cook very small pieces of beef. Drinks, salads, and sides were very very good. Like the restaurant but too expensive for what we received. We’ll choose differently next time.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 29 September 2021

Hi Rbdiner, we appreciate your kind words and feedback. We're always adding to the menu, and beverage list, we'd love to make some suggestions during your next visit!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Washington DC
15 reviews
Dined on 11 September 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food flights - ingenious!

PJ
PhillyJohn
Philadelphia
10 reviews
Dined on 10 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food was delicious! Service was very good. It was a little loud when we first arrived and the lights were a little bright but overall it was a great dining experience. The Food flights were great.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 29 September 2021

Hi PhillyJohn, thanks for the enthusiasm and candor regarding our atmosphere and your dining experience! We look forward to serving you again!

Report
e
easierthancooking
Washington DC
21 reviews
Dined on 9 September 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Venue was empty. No surprise I was early, and we are now in the off season. Server was attentive but not overbearing, we were not rushed. Server patiently explained new contactless payment system to me.

Food was delicious. I heartily recommend it.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 29 September 2021

Thank you for your kind words, easierthancooking. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
w
wryspirit
Baltimore
9 reviews
Dined on 8 September 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience2

We were seated in the front of the restaurant right next to a large and very noisy group. It was also freezing. Ceiling must have had a leak so it needed to be painted. Good waitress although her description of the prime rib was exaggerated in size. My husband ordered prime rib and once again he had a less than tender steak (same last week at Houston White). And why sauce all over the steak...hiding something? Nice selection of sides but roasted red potatoes were very spicy, something that should be noted on the menu. One guest ordered a meat food flight. Short ribs were good but chicken and beef tips were overcooked. I enjoyed my scallops (although very pricey for 4) and the other guest enjoyed her cheeseburger.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 29 September 2021

hi Wryspirit, thank you for your review and feedback. Your comments have been noted and are being shared with management to discuss with our team. We hope we are given the opportunity to make your next visit a five-star experience.

Report
G
vipGordon
London
2 reviews
Dined on 3 September 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Nice staff and atmosphere but the food was just mediocre.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 29 September 2021

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and atmosphere. We are always updating our menu, and use the freshest ingredients, sourced locally whenever possible. We hope you give us another chance to change your mind.

Report
LF
vipLocalFoodie
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on 3 September 2021
Overall2food4service5ambience1

Do NOT eat outside. Our food was covered in flies within minutes and we couldn’t finish it, we had to leave. The server was fantastic and so was the food but they should have told us about the fly issue beforehand.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 29 September 2021

Hi LocalFoodie, we're sorry your experience was less than satisfactory. We hope you give us another chance to enjoy your meal, in one of our dining rooms.

Report
C
vipCounselor04
Washington DC
54 reviews
Dined on 27 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The whole experience of dining at this restaurant was excellent. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. My husband had the Butcher’s Flight. He really enjoyed the chance to try 3 of the restaurant ‘s signature dishes. I had the fried Brie salad which was delicious. I really loved the cherry vinaigrette which set off the flavor of the Brie. The salad was the perfect choice for a light and satisfying meal. We both enjoyed excellent cocktails. I highly recommend the Skinny Orange Crush, which was delicious and very refreshing on a hot summer day. We ended our meal with a wonderful red velvet cake. The restaurant is beautiful with a bright ,contemporary atmosphere. The service was flawless and the prices very reasonable. I would highly recommend this restaurant and plan to return there soon.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Wow, thank you so much for this phenomenal and comprehensive review! We're working hard to ensure our guests get a unique and pleasurable dining experience. It's customers like you who make our day! Thanks again, we look forward to providing the same exceptional service and quality food in the near future.

Report
ML
MorganL
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food & drinks! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back!

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Thanks for your review, Morgan! We appreciate your business, and the advocacy, and are looking forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report
MD
MichaelD
1 review
Dined on 23 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food, drinks and service. Friendly atmosphere.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Thanks, Michael, that is fantastic to hear! We appreciate your business and your kind review. We look forward to serving you again sometime soon!

Report
ER
ElaineR
1 review
Dined on 22 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is a gem at the beach. Food is excellent and fast service.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Thanks Elaine! Your review is greatly appreciated, as is the opportunity to serve you! We hope to see you again in the not so distant future!

Report
KN
KathyN
1 review
Dined on 21 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Staff was cheerful and very helpful! Food was absolutely delicious and plentiful! Drinks were perfect. We will be back! It was nice that they were open until 11! We didn't get our of the show at CLEAR SPACE THEATRE until 10! Many places?we're closed by then! Sussex Public house was open and WELCOMING!

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Hi Kathy, thanks so much for your detailed, and kind review! We can't wait to experience your enthusiasm, and positive vibes once more in the near future! Good luck with the next show!

Report
AC
AnaC
Washington DC
13 reviews
Dined on 21 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The wait staff was very attentive, food was great! Love the “food flights.”

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Thanks, Ana! We pride ourselves on exceptional service and dining experience! Thanks again for your kind words, and for your adventurous spirit with exploring our "food flights"! We're always working to improve and serve our guests with fresh ingredients - locally sourced when available. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report
TJ
vipTonyJeff
Baltimore
133 reviews
Dined on 20 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the Food Flights! Excellent service! A neighborhood gem!

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Thanks for he phenomenal review, Tony! We pride ourselves on our service and Food Flights! We like to think we're pretty unique in that regard, and appreciate your advocacy online. Thanks again, we hope to see you soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on 19 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We took our parents out here and it was delicious. I only wish there was some handicapped parking outside.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Thank you so much for the five star review! We wish we had more handicapped parking as well, we hope it wasn't too much trouble for you and your parents. Thanks again for your business, and advocacy, we hope we're able to serve you again in the near future!

Report
E
vipEnvy3518
Washington DC
98 reviews
Dined on 18 August 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

We have been here 4 times and it has been great every time.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Hi Envy, we can't tell you how much that means to us! We're always updating our tap list and food menu items, so your next 4 times will be as unique and pleasurable as the last. Thanks again for your continued support and business, we look forward to serving you again!

Report
p
phillipk
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Very nice atmosphere. Food was very good as was beer list. Server and owner of restaurant were very friendly and engaging.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Hi Phillip, thank you for your review! We appreciate the kind words about our food, beer selection, and personable staff. We hope to serve you again soon!

Report
JS
JSRJSR
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Dined on 17 August 2021
Overall1food1service4ambience1

Chairs falling apart. food not very good and cold.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

HI JSR, we're sorry your experience was less than delightful. This is certainly not par for the course, we will make sure that management is aware of your feedback.

Report
SP
vipSheriP
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 16 August 2021
Overall2food1service3ambience4

Beer selection was great. Service was fine. Food was not good - loaded fries were blobbed with thick cold cheese and non-crispy pancetta. Steak tips overcooked. Scallops overcooked and calamari like rubber. Others raved about this new place but we were disappointed and underwhelmed. Maybe the chef is off on Monday??

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Thanks for your review, Sheri. We appreciate the kind words regarding our beer selection and service, and will make sure your comments related to your dining experience will be shared with management. We hope we're given the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report
MD
MartinD
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on 16 August 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

The food was great, the wait staff was OK, but our waitress clearly had minimal knowledge of mixed drinks and wines. The drink order got messed up. It’s somewhat understandable considering the current work conditions, I guess.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Hi, Martin, thank you for your review and constructive feedback. Our cocktail and wine list is fairly extensive, but that's no excuse for the mixup. We would love the opportunity to make your next visit a five star experience. Thank you again for your business, we appreciate the opportunity to serve you, and hope to see you again soon!

Report
TB
TraceyB
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 14 August 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience3

Ordered a Public House Salad which had no other vegetables besides lettuce and a few cucumber slices; no carrots or onions as was listed on the menu. Flatbread pizza was just OK. Service was excellent.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Hi Tracey, thank you for your kind words about our service, and we hope you mentioned the salad to your server who should have amended the situation. These things can sometimes happen, but that's no excuse for a less than excellent dining experience. We're working hard to make adjustments when necessary, and are always striving for ongoing improvement. We hope we're given the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional experience in the future.

Report
EC
EricaC
1 review
Dined on 13 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic food and service! They have a great draft list with nice variety. Our server Hailey was amazing. We got the calamari, mushroom flatbread, and surf and turf flight. The flatbread was very good as was the flight. We will definitely return on our next vacation!

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Wow, thank you so much for the phenomenal review! We pride ourselves on having one of the largest draft lists at the beach, and offering unique dining experiences to our valued customers. We hope you have a wonderful "off-season", and look forward to having you as our guest next vacation! PS: We're now offering a loyalty program to reward customers with bonus points and early access to special events. Sign up on our website if you're interested! You can always use your points year after year :)

Report
s
sstanzio
Philadelphia
5 reviews
Dined on 12 August 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The ceilings are low in most areas, so the noise levels are not "energetic" but noisy. The central area has a high ceiling, but this is too small to offset the noise.
The food was excellent! and the service was warm and considerate. Our waitress, Amanda? had the patience of the biblical Job in dealing with the families with small children. And she was gracious in her actions with another unruly family.
Such is the life of the beach in the summer tourist season. We definitely don't want them to stay home!

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Thank you for your kind, and constructive review of our restaurant! Amanda is a bit of a saint, and we're all empathetic towards the larger family groups - we all know what it's like to coordinate dining experiences with family members, and it's not always easy! Thanks again for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your family, we hope to see you again next time you're in our neck of the woods!

Report
J
Jenny
Orlando
2 reviews
Dined on 12 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the food! Flight meals come with a lot of food - come hungry! Alyssa was absolutely great!

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Jenny, thank you so much for your positive feedback! We'll make sure Alyssa gets the message about your kind words, thanks again! We hope to see you again in the near future. PS: We're now offering a loyalty program to reward repeat customers with bonus points and early access to special events. Sign up on our website if you're interested!

Report
J
Jenny
Orlando
2 reviews
Dined on 11 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was wonderful! Great service! Will be back!!!

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Thanks so much for your kind review, Jenny! We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and love the positive feedback about your dining experience. Until next time! PS: We're now offering a loyalty program to reward repeat customers with bonus points and early access to special events, and specials. Sign up on our website if you're interested!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on 10 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was awesome and a good portion for the price.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Thank you very much! We like to think of ourselves as "upscale value". We provide an exceptional dining experience, with a high emphasis on fresh ingredients, in portions that don't leave our guests wanting for more. PS: We're now offering a loyalty program to reward repeat customers with bonus points and early access to special events, and specials. Sign up on our website if you're interested!

Report
KM
KarilynM
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on 8 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Nice selection of craft beer, food was very good, nice sized portions. Server was attentive. Look forward to going back

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Hi Karilyn, we appreciate your phenomenal review! We pride ourselves on our outstanding selection of craft beers on tap, and the quality (and quantity) of our meals. We hope to see you again soon! PS: We're now offering a loyalty program to reward repeat customers with bonus points and early access to special events, and specials. Sign up on our website if you're interested!

Report
SM
vipSusanM
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on 7 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was our second time dining here and we will definitely be back! The entree flights are great for sharing and give you the opportunity to try a variety of foods. Highly recommend!

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Hi Susan, thank you so much for your positive feedback, and advocacy here on OpenTable! The flights are indeed fantastic for sharing and offer a little something for everyone. We're always updating our menu with new options and entrees, stop in and see us again sometime soon to check them out! PS: We're now offering a loyalty program to reward repeat customers with bonus points and early access to special events, and specials. Sign up on our website if you're interested!

Report
NY
vipNYCFoodie
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on 7 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We did seafood and meat flights—-so flavorful!

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

NYC Foodie - what an honor to have you as our guest! Thank you for your kind review and positive comments about our surf and turf flights, we strive to provide our customers with an outstanding dining experience! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you next time you head down our way from the Big Apple!

Report
a
aliciac
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on 5 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food, friendly service, cute outdoor courtyard

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Alicia, thank you so much for your kind words! You've reverberated everything we've strived to provide! Our courtyard is indeed cute and cozy, and is getting better as the days cool down. We hope to see you again soon! PS: We're now offering a loyalty program to reward repeat customers with bonus points and early access to special events, and specials. Sign up on our website if you're interested!

Report
B
Benjamin
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on 5 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time dining here. Food, drinks & service were all on point.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Thank you for the outstanding review! We hope to serve you again soon!

Report
AA
AAMM
1 review
Dined on 5 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was so beautiful, lovely, and delicious! I cannot recommend this place enough. I will 100% be back!

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Thank you so much! We appreciate the absolutely phenomenal review! PS: We're now offering a loyalty program to reward repeat customers with bonus points and early access to special events, and specials. Sign up on our website if you're interested!

Report
MH
MarilynH
New York Area
23 reviews
Dined on 4 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was pleasant and sincere. A light, bright, beach feel to the dining room. The wedge salad was beautifully presented. The burger was delicious. The fries could be better, limp, not crisp on the plate was disappointing.
The tasting plates are presented on a cutting board and looked epic, as we chatted with other diners who ordered three of them. Great addition to the Rehoboth dining experience.

Sussex Public House
Responded on 3 September 2021

Hi Marilyn, thank you for your kind words about your experience. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you as our guest again!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Pittsburgh
1 review
Dined on 3 August 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Waitress was rude when we asked for mocktails as we don’t drink alcohol. Crab cake was mostly Mayo, no lump crab. Caesar salad came with no cheese. 60 dollars for two salads and water.

FAQs

Sussex Public House offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at (302) 212-5107.

Sussex Public House is rated 4.3 stars by 88 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.