Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch

4.2
526 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Top tags:
  • Tapas
  • Good for a Date
  • Casual
PAELLA & BOTTOMLESS FEAST
£35 two course menu: Tapas & Paella and all you can drink of sangria or the drink of your choice (T&Cs apply). Saturdays from 4th May. BOOKING & PREORDER REQUIRED: hola@brindisakitchens.com

We found this site on Curtain Road in 2012 and fell in love with its wide-open glass front and terrace. Brindisa Shoreditch is inspired by our travels from Cádiz to Catalonia with its Mediterranean bar and restaurant vibe.

Alongside our seasonal tapas menu, bar snacks and cured plates we serve Alicante style rices. If you haven’t tried one of our Paella Marinera (seafood paella) or Arroz Negro (black squid rices) you haven’t lived.

Open till late | Kitchen & bar counter dining | Andalusian style terrace | Wine, vermut & craft beers on tap | Bar snacks, tapas & rice | Group dining & private hire

We're open till late
What 526 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 17 May 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 4

You can never go wrong at tapas brindisa. They just do it all so well - good food, no fail wine list, warm and welcoming atmosphere.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded 5 days ago

Dear customer, Thank you so much, we couldn´t ask for a better compliment. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
E
London
1 review
Dined on 16 May 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 3

Too expensive for what you get and also comparing with other tapas restaurants.

Report
Helpful
BT
London
4 reviews
Dined on 15 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very good menu and delicious food. It feels a bit pricey compared to the small portions you get. Maybe not a place to go too often, but definitely a nice place for special evenings, dates, occasions etc.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded 5 days ago

Dear BTTT, Thank you for your recent visit to Tapas Brindisa Shoreditch. I appreciate your many positive comments and your recommendation. Best regards General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
S
London
3 reviews
Dined on 13 May 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

I would recommend ordering the paella, which we didn’t have this time but I have had here in the past and it was great. I would definitely not recommend the sangria which is overpriced, weak and tasteless.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded 5 days ago

Dear Steph, Thank you for your recent visit to Brindisa Shoreditch and for recommending the paella, our cornerstone dish. I am sorry to know that our sangria was not great on your visit, please be assured that this is not usual and your comment has been shared with our Bar team. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again should you plan a future visit. Yours sincerely, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
VV
1 review
Dined on 10 May 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

The tapas are really delicious and in line with London prices (you would find it overpriced compared to Spain, of course).
Compared to the tapas brindisa in Soho (where I have been many times), this one in Shoreditch is bigger and felt less crowded! I had specified that I was celebrating my birthday when booking, and when we received the bill we found out the dessert was on the house - an appreciated consideration!
Definitely recommend it, I will go back.

Report
Helpful
BH
London
1 review
Dined on 10 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing tapas, great service, great atmosphere! Food comes quickly and anything on the menu is absolutely delicious.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 14 May 2019

Dear BoHi, Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your experience with us. Best regards, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
NY
London
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 2

Food was terrible and service was very rushed (despite being half empty). Had a decent bottle of wine but that was the only good thing about it. No flavour in the food at all, like something you would buy from a petrol station and microwave.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 14 May 2019

Dear Nathan, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I was saddened to read that your meal did not meet your expectations and for that, I sincerely apologise. Your feedback is very important and I would really appreciate if you could contact me so that we could discuss your experience in a little more detail. Please send an email to shoreditch@tapasbrindisacom providing your phone number so I can contact you back. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch General Manager

Report
Helpful
G
London
2 reviews
Dined on 5 May 2019
Overall 1food 4service 1ambience 1

When the food came it was dumped on the table by the waitress had a real attitude problem which I’m only saying as having been a waitress for many years at a different tapas restaurant in Soho. This is the first time EVER that we’ve asked for service to be taken off. Poor service - had to wait a while for everything, drinks took forever, felt like we were forgotten about and we had to wait a long time for the bill. Similarly to another review I feel like we didn't have consistency in waitstaff too as our waitress probably forgot to bring out a couple of dishes and a cocktail I'd ordered and her manager brought out when we'd already asked for the bill.

In fairness, the chefs did really well and the food was delicious.

Go somewhere else where the tables aren’t so close together and you get decent service.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 14 May 2019

Dear Guest45, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I was saddened to read that our servcie was not great on your recent visit and I sincerely apologise. Your feedback is very important and I would really appreciate if you could contact me so that we could discuss your experience in a little more detail. Please send an email to shoreditch@tapasbrindisacom providing your phone number so I can contact you back. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 3 May 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

The atmosphere is nice, however the food is not great.

Report
Helpful
OT
London
19 reviews
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Fun and lively restaurant. Wonderful food for a tapas chain. Counter seating is great. Service attentive and swift. Great location also for pre-post dinner options.

Report
Helpful
AE
Caribbean
1 review
Dined on 24 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great friendly service and the food was amazing (as always). Lovely terrace at the back also.

Report
Helpful
PR
1 review
Dined on 24 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We always love the food here, but particularly enjoyed our recent visit.

Report
Helpful
AJ
London
2 reviews
Dined on 15 April 2019
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 3

Overall my experience was nice and the bill only came to about £120 for 4 people, but I had higher expectations based on recommendations. I liked the decor, the restaurant has more space than what I expected from the outside and there is a nice heated terrace in the back. Food was also good and the dishes had a twist to the usual Spanish tapas. There was one dish of potatoes and small shrimps that I didn't like given the crunchy feeling of eating the shrimps but that is a personal taste. The remaining food was thoughtfully prepared, tasty and was served in reasonable tapas portions. The only main negative I found, was the smell in the room. It may have been a smell from the kitchen, but it didn't feel comfortable to me.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear Ana, Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to our restaurant. I do appreciate your positive comments regarding the deco and food at Tapas Brindisa Shoreditch, however please be assured that your feedback about smell was addressed by our team, unfortunately we had an issue with the drains but I am happy to say that it has been fixed. I would love to be able to welcome you again soon. Yours sincerely, Brindisa Shoreditch General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 1food 1service 5ambience 5

Hay was awful and paella completely over cooked. Nice waiters and service.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 9 April 2019

Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback, I´m happy to read your positive comments about our team and service. We are sorry that our paella did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your comment has been shared with our kitchen team. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch General Manager

Report
Helpful
FP
London
7 reviews
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 2

Expected more. We were squashed in a corner, additional drink orders were incorrect, additional food items arrived late, we were served by 3-5 different people probably the reason for missed items.
Restaurant wasn’t busy, we were dining at 5pm
We were in the area for an event but won’t be recommending.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear Family Porte, Thank you for your visit to our restaurant and for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry if your experience was not great and I apologise if the service was not good, your feedback is important and please be assured that it has been shared with our team to address it properly. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
PB
London
1 review
Dined on 5 April 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Great food , quick service . Padrón peppers so good . Lovely manzinella! Just like Spain

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 9 April 2019

Dear Petrina, Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our food and service. Padron peppers is always a must! We hope to see you again soon at Brindisa Shoreditch. Best regards, General Manager

Report
Helpful
JB
London
5 reviews
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and service! The restaurant manager Thibault provided a great attention and service, Thanks

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 9 April 2019

Dear JBotella, Thank you so much for your visit and your lovely words, it was great to attend you at our restaurant! Best regards, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
f
London
2 reviews
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

Tapas and Paella very tasty. Staff were helpful and well informed regarding menu & 'digestiv' drinks selections. Had a very pleasant couple of hours sipping sangria and enjoying a lovely lunch

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 9 April 2019

Dear flojo 1964, I´m an delighted to know that you enjoyed our paella, one of our signature dishes at Brindisa Shoreditch. Also, I appreciate your comments regarding our team and please be assured that it is shared with them. See you soon, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
C
Edinburgh
3 reviews
Dined on 29 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Great tapas and wine - for good value! The outdoor area has a nice atmosphere and we were able to stay at the table even after we finished eating.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 9 April 2019

Dear Claire, Thank you so much for your feedback and your kind words regarding our food and wine. Also, I´m happy that you enjoyed our terrace. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
DP
London
1 review
Dined on 27 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always fantastic - great to take clients and enjoy with friends too. Only negative I would say is that smoking should not be allowed in the outside space. Although outside, it's still covered and too enclosed for a smoker not to affect other diners. Fantastic restaurant though, food amazing!

Report
Helpful
G
London
10 reviews
Dined on 21 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
TN
London
1 review
Dined on 18 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Went on a Monday night with two friends. I can't fault our experience. Would definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
CB
London
1 review
Dined on 11 March 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

A good welcome to the restaurant which was not very busy, hence quiet and service should have been good. There was a delay receiving more wine when it was ordered which since it was the house wine should not have happened. The wine was expensive right across the board, sparkling, table and spirits.
Overall very pleasant and enjoyable.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 15 March 2019

Dear Chris, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments. We are glad that overall your experience was positive and we would like to welcome you again soon, we'll make sure our little shortfall will be fixed. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
LR
London
3 reviews
Dined on 7 March 2019
Overall 3food 2service 2ambience 3

We had booked a table at this Shoreditch brand and though we repeatedly told the head waitress / manager she told us we would have to wait five minutes for a table (though there were several tables ready for sitting). She then took us right to the back of the restaurant, where it was incredibly noisy, squeezing us in between two tables. We asked to move to the bar and she did it begrudgingly. Food was very average; the waitress asked if we wanted unlimited bottled water for £1 when we specifically asked for tap, wine was warm and the portions of each tapas dish felt very small and nothing special. We wouldn't go back.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 12 March 2019

Dear Leyla, Thank you for posting a review following your recent visit. Your feedback is taken most seriously and I wish to apologise for the experience you had at our restaurant. At Tapas Brindisa Shoreditch we endeavour to serve the finest fresh Spanish foods and I am sorry that you did not experience this.Once again, I am so sorry for your disappointment and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our restaurant again soon. Yours sincerely, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 1 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. Great food, good service and ambience. We found the piped music too loud, but when we asked if the volume could be reduced a bit, it was done - no problem! We'll be back!

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear customer, Thank you so much for your positive comments. It was lovely to have you with us on your recent visit and we hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 23 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing authentic Spanish food with great service!

Report
Helpful
e
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on 22 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really enjoyed the Catalan tapas specials, great food and service.

Report
Helpful
V
Munich
2 reviews
Dined on 21 February 2019
Overall 2food 3service 4ambience 3

Overpriced average Spanish food. The bread accompanying the ham was of low quality. Won’t come back.

Report
Helpful
LO
London
10 reviews
Dined on 19 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Simply delicious Spanish food. Efficient friendly staff too

Report
Helpful
CF
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 4

Excellent food and great barman who made the evening fantastic. Slight shame we were ignored by the other staff but will visit again.

Report
Helpful
B
London
4 reviews
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I just wanted to send a quick email regarding a member of your staff who helped us Saturday ( 16th Feb ) evening.
Her name is Anna, I made a table booking for 7 pm via Open table and wasn't sure of what to expect. Anna was extremely professional in how she dealt with me and my partner and gave us both a fantastic dining experience. Please say thank you to her and the rest of your staff for making our evening truly memorable and very tasty.

See you again soon.

Report
Helpful
BS
London
2 reviews
Dined on 15 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Delicious food, great atmosphere, and friendly and well-informed staff. Perfect!

Report
Helpful
S
Kent
8 reviews
Dined on 13 February 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

Extremely limited pescatarian options. Food was good but not memorable. The price was far too much for what you got. Wine was also expensive. The staff were nice but the service was slow and anonymous.

Report
Helpful
MC
London
2 reviews
Dined on 12 February 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

We had a lovely meal. The food was great but the service was brilliant - our waiter was very knowledgable and helpful and was keen to make sure we enjoyed our meal and didn't over order. Was surprised at the amount of space in the restaurant which made it a really pleasant dining experience.

Report
Helpful
JF
London
1 review
Dined on 9 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing service!

Report
Helpful
AC
London
1 review
Dined on 9 February 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Food and service were fantastic - the front and terrace in the restaurant had a lovely ambience. We were sat in the back half of the restaurant on a table for two that was a little cramped and lacked ambience.

Report
Helpful
RG
London
1 review
Dined on 5 February 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Delicious food and great service. Slightly disappointed by the almond tart dessert but otherwise great. Would go again.

Report
Helpful
AY
London
8 reviews
Dined on 2 February 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Paella was the highlight! Highly recommended. I went there on Sat night and sitting along the bar section overlooking the open kitchen. Very busy ! The tomato toast wasn’t toasted it well and it was very soggy unlike normal standard

Report
Helpful
DD
1 review
Dined on 2 February 2019
Overall 2food 3service 2ambience 3

Overall a bit of a disappointment and had high hopes. We were a group of 8 and the atmosphere was a bit chaotic with staff getting our orders wrong and delays with drinks (I get the food comes when its cooked at a tapas joint but the drinks??)

Decent food - 60% dishes really good (roasted pumpkin &carrot, lamb chops) but others average (iberico pork steak, iberico selection)
Let down by service and attitude of staff. Two dishes ordered didnt arrive. Staff insisted they'd served them when they hadnt. Were told they'd take them off bill but fortunately we checked and they hadnt. Did remove them but were not apologetic that a) we didnt receive them and b) they'd still tried to charge us.

We were sat by Andalusian terrace which every time door opened let in a chill blast - there were people sat out there with coat, hat and scarves on so bear in mind...

Really disappointing so probably wouldn't recommend although maybe would make a better evening for a smaller group or a couple (as long as you were seated away from the terrace or terrace door!)

Report
Helpful
SM
London
6 reviews
Dined on 2 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Great atmosphere and good food! Sitting on the counter / bar is a must if there is a small number of you

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14