Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch

4.3
549 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Top tags:
  • Tapas
  • Good for a Date
  • Casual
PAELLA & BOTTOMLESS FEAST
£35 two course menu: Tapas & Paella and all you can drink of sangria or the drink of your choice (T&Cs apply). Saturdays from 4th May. BOOKING & PREORDER REQUIRED: hola@brindisakitchens.com

We found this site on Curtain Road in 2012 and fell in love with its wide-open glass front and terrace. Brindisa Shoreditch is inspired by our travels from Cádiz to Catalonia with its Mediterranean bar and restaurant vibe.

Alongside our seasonal tapas menu, bar snacks and cured plates we serve Alicante style rices. If you haven’t tried one of our Paella Marinera (seafood paella) or Arroz Negro (black squid rices) you haven’t lived.

Open till late | Kitchen & bar counter dining | Andalusian style terrace | Wine, vermut & craft beers on tap | Bar snacks, tapas & rice | Group dining & private hire

We're open till late
What 549 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
M
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 3

Tapas Brindisa is definitively one of the most overpriced restaurants I have ever been to. The service was slow and not particularly friendly and the food was incredibly poor. I don’t class myself as a tapas connoisseur, but I do have functioning tastebuds and can honestly say that I was completely underwhelmed to the point of irritation.

After a prolonged wait, we were served by a waitress who made me feel like my order was a personal attack on her being.

After ordering, the food slowly trickled out (it was a Tuesday night - moderately busy), but should padron peppers take 20 minutes to leave the kitchen? Probably not. After the peppers, we eventually got patatas bravas, ensalade de tomate, some meat dishes and finally, about 50 minutes after ordering, a Spanish omelette.

I’ve just come back from Spain and can say that not one of Tapas Brindisa’s dishes remotely resembled the authentic food I have recently sampled. The McDonald’s on La Rambla would give you a better insight into Spanish cuisine, as well as being a fraction of the price.

The bill came to £80 and I winced when I saw it. £80 English Pounds for the pair of us. Yes, there were two half pints and two cava sangrias involved (yet again my hopes of a similar recreation to the sangria I drank like water merely two weeks ago were crushed), but £80 is absurd in comparison to the quality of food we received.

If you want (more of) my opinion, I would strongly recommend going to Bravas Tapas in St Katherine’s Dock instead. Or Spain. It would be cheaper.

Report
Helpful
LT
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Delicious food, sat at the kitchen counter. Friendly and helpful service

Report
Helpful
JM
London
3 reviews
Dined on 11 July 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Excellent food and service - very attentive, without being overbearing. Great evening!

Report
Helpful
DN
London
27 reviews
Dined on 9 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Great food. Such good and knowledgable service from our waitress. Gets quite expensive if you get carried away with the food. Great overall experience though.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded 5 days ago

Dear DomN, Thank you for your recent visit and your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed Tapas Brindisa Shoreditch and we would be happy to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
AC
London
8 reviews
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Great tapas place and the paëlla is really worth it. The only downside is that it gets quickly expensive for what it is but I assume it is the case for most tapas places...

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 8 July 2019

Dear Anne, Thank you very much, it was lovely to have you with us and we appreciate your kind comments. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
AD
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic food (possibly best tapas we've had outside of Spain!), lovely staff one of whom recommended us a really lovely digestif for after our meal, great atmosphere outside on the terrace. Make sure you go!

Report
Helpful
SP
London
2 reviews
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Faultless food, professional service and very friendly staff. It's difficult to find any criticism. Also, one of the tastiest seafood Paella dishes one of our party has ever tried.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 8 July 2019

Dear Steve, Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we're delighted that you enjoyed the paella feast! Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
b
London
50 reviews
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing food, great atmosphere, lovely staff and fantastic value. Great place for a group celebration.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 1 July 2019

Dear Boxtwenty, Thank you so much for your recent visit and your lovely feedback. I appreciate your many kind words, in particular the ones about our food and attentive team. We will be happy to host any group gathering you my want to celebrate at our restaurant! Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Love Brindisa. Great food, ate outside, great service.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 1 July 2019

Thank you very much!

Report
Helpful
AW
London
10 reviews
Dined on 28 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic food, all came up at sensible times which tends to be unusual in tapas restaurants I’ve been to in the past!
Really delicious meal. All very happy customers

Report
Helpful
JP
1 review
Dined on 27 June 2019
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 1

Tasteless and expensive would be the best way to describe this ‘restaurant’ (not sure I would even call this a restaurant).
Probably the worse Tapas experience I ever had in London!
- Fritura de pescado: cold and tasteless. The worst I have ever eaten in my whole life!
- Revuelto de sobrada: Potatoes were uncooked, sobrasada tasteless, egg good.
- Bradanda de Bacalao: good but tiny portion.
- Ham: £22 for a tiny portion: way too over price for a very mediocre quality ham.
- Cheese: just ok, not amazing, and again: expensive for the quality.
- Octopus: ridiculous tiny portion for £13 and off course tasteless again....
- Bread and tomato: very very poor quality bread. Sainsbury’s can do much better.
- Patatas brava: no comment!

Staff was ok but a bit in a rush even if the place was half empty.

To avoid!

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded 5 days ago

Dear JPlerreC, Thank you for your recent visit and your review. I was saddened to read your feedback and to know that you did not enjoy the food. At Brindisa, we endeavour to serve the finest Spanish foods and I am sorry if you did not experience that. I would love to have the opportunity to discuss it in more detail, please contact me on shoreditch@tapasbrindisacom providing your phone number and I will contact you back at the earliest opportunity. Best regards, GM Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
t
London
1 review
Dined on 27 June 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Appalling night. Booked ahead but was sat in chumps seat near the front door and hence service was patchy and intermittent. One waiter couldn’t understand English. It was difficult ordering. Food was late. And food was forgotten. Tried to leave and asked for bill then they immediately brought out last plates. Wish we had left. The pata negra plate slivered so finely as to be see-through had been carved 3 hours earlier and was greasy and stale and tasted of nothing apart from sad stale air and was mostly white fat. I’ve lived in Seville and know what a proper plate should taste like. Everything else was tinkered with. Paprika on the frita Cadiz -horrid. The yucky sauce with the presa also utterly vile. A sad disappointing night for which I should have demanded a total refund or stuck to guns and walked out. I think now I understand why it is worth queuing for barrafinna. I will not ever return. Total and utter disappointment.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 1 July 2019

Dear thesingingpiglet, I was saddened to read about your recent experience at our restaurant and please accept my apologies for all the unfortunate events. At Brindisa, we endeavour to serve the finest Spanish foods and excellent service. Your feedback is really important to us, I would appreciate if you could contact me on shoreditch@tapasbrindisacom providing your phone number so I can contact you back and have all the details. Your sincerely, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
2
London
7 reviews
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I had my birthday brunch here, and it was fantastic. The food was lovely, the staff were really helpful, and the atmosphere was great. Definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
T
1 review
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Amazing paella feast!! Makes me more eager about visiting Spain

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 8 July 2019

Dear The7, Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're happy that you enjoyed the paella feast, come back any time! Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
OT
London
4 reviews
Dined on 7 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I really loved this place - I’m obsessed with tapas and after a trip to Seville earlier this year I’m always on the look out for yummy Spanish tapas. Brindisa was delicious, great selection, the staff were lovely and the atmosphere was great. Have recommended to loads of friends and will be back there soon for sure!

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 19 June 2019

Hola, Thank you so much for your leaving a positive feedback, we couldnt ask for a better compliment! Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
OT
London
3 reviews
Dined on 7 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic service and food!

Report
Helpful
AE
Caribbean
2 reviews
Dined on 3 June 2019
Overall 4food 2service 5ambience 5

I come here often, but on this occasion the food was not as good as it normally is.

Report
Helpful
a
London
3 reviews
Dined on 31 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Beautiful place, awesome people, incredible mind-blowing food

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 5 June 2019

Dear Ana, Thank you so much for you very positive feedback, I really appreciate it! Best regards, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 30 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Really easy going place food is delicious and great wine recommendation!

Report
Helpful
LO
London
11 reviews
Dined on 29 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Love this place. Food is delicious. Service good and a great buzz to the place. One point to note the filtered water is chargeable. But still love it.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 5 June 2019

Dear Louise, Thank you very much for your positive comments about our restaurant, in particular the one about our food. Best regards, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
MC
1 review
Dined on 25 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely staff and the cured beef and dark chocolate was amazing!

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 29 May 2019

Hola Megan, Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff and our cecina tapa, we are delighted you enjoyed it. Best regards, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
A
London
23 reviews
Dined on 24 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Brilliant tasty tapas worth trying

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 5 June 2019

Thank you Angelica

Report
Helpful
b
London
51 reviews
Dined on 24 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food and wine and service are always top quality, and the restaurant feels busy and positive. We had counter seats which is always entertaining, and the staff on our visit were fantastic.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 29 May 2019

Dear boxtwenty, It is fantastic to know that you love our restaurant and enjoyed our tapas every time your visited us. I would love to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon! Best regards, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 17 May 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 4

You can never go wrong at tapas brindisa. They just do it all so well - good food, no fail wine list, warm and welcoming atmosphere.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 21 May 2019

Dear customer, Thank you so much, we couldn´t ask for a better compliment. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
E
London
1 review
Dined on 16 May 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 3

Too expensive for what you get and also comparing with other tapas restaurants.

Report
Helpful
BT
London
6 reviews
Dined on 15 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very good menu and delicious food. It feels a bit pricey compared to the small portions you get. Maybe not a place to go too often, but definitely a nice place for special evenings, dates, occasions etc.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 21 May 2019

Dear BTTT, Thank you for your recent visit to Tapas Brindisa Shoreditch. I appreciate your many positive comments and your recommendation. Best regards General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
S
London
3 reviews
Dined on 13 May 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

I would recommend ordering the paella, which we didn’t have this time but I have had here in the past and it was great. I would definitely not recommend the sangria which is overpriced, weak and tasteless.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 21 May 2019

Dear Steph, Thank you for your recent visit to Brindisa Shoreditch and for recommending the paella, our cornerstone dish. I am sorry to know that our sangria was not great on your visit, please be assured that this is not usual and your comment has been shared with our Bar team. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again should you plan a future visit. Yours sincerely, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
VV
1 review
Dined on 10 May 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

The tapas are really delicious and in line with London prices (you would find it overpriced compared to Spain, of course).
Compared to the tapas brindisa in Soho (where I have been many times), this one in Shoreditch is bigger and felt less crowded! I had specified that I was celebrating my birthday when booking, and when we received the bill we found out the dessert was on the house - an appreciated consideration!
Definitely recommend it, I will go back.

Report
Helpful
BH
London
1 review
Dined on 10 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing tapas, great service, great atmosphere! Food comes quickly and anything on the menu is absolutely delicious.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 14 May 2019

Dear BoHi, Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your experience with us. Best regards, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
NY
London
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 2

Food was terrible and service was very rushed (despite being half empty). Had a decent bottle of wine but that was the only good thing about it. No flavour in the food at all, like something you would buy from a petrol station and microwave.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 14 May 2019

Dear Nathan, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I was saddened to read that your meal did not meet your expectations and for that, I sincerely apologise. Your feedback is very important and I would really appreciate if you could contact me so that we could discuss your experience in a little more detail. Please send an email to shoreditch@tapasbrindisacom providing your phone number so I can contact you back. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch General Manager

Report
Helpful
G
London
2 reviews
Dined on 5 May 2019
Overall 1food 4service 1ambience 1

When the food came it was dumped on the table by the waitress had a real attitude problem which I’m only saying as having been a waitress for many years at a different tapas restaurant in Soho. This is the first time EVER that we’ve asked for service to be taken off. Poor service - had to wait a while for everything, drinks took forever, felt like we were forgotten about and we had to wait a long time for the bill. Similarly to another review I feel like we didn't have consistency in waitstaff too as our waitress probably forgot to bring out a couple of dishes and a cocktail I'd ordered and her manager brought out when we'd already asked for the bill.

In fairness, the chefs did really well and the food was delicious.

Go somewhere else where the tables aren’t so close together and you get decent service.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 14 May 2019

Dear Guest45, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I was saddened to read that our servcie was not great on your recent visit and I sincerely apologise. Your feedback is very important and I would really appreciate if you could contact me so that we could discuss your experience in a little more detail. Please send an email to shoreditch@tapasbrindisacom providing your phone number so I can contact you back. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 3 May 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

The atmosphere is nice, however the food is not great.

Report
Helpful
OT
London
19 reviews
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Fun and lively restaurant. Wonderful food for a tapas chain. Counter seating is great. Service attentive and swift. Great location also for pre-post dinner options.

Report
Helpful
AE
Caribbean
3 reviews
Dined on 24 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great friendly service and the food was amazing (as always). Lovely terrace at the back also.

Report
Helpful
PR
1 review
Dined on 24 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We always love the food here, but particularly enjoyed our recent visit.

Report
Helpful
AJ
London
2 reviews
Dined on 15 April 2019
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 3

Overall my experience was nice and the bill only came to about £120 for 4 people, but I had higher expectations based on recommendations. I liked the decor, the restaurant has more space than what I expected from the outside and there is a nice heated terrace in the back. Food was also good and the dishes had a twist to the usual Spanish tapas. There was one dish of potatoes and small shrimps that I didn't like given the crunchy feeling of eating the shrimps but that is a personal taste. The remaining food was thoughtfully prepared, tasty and was served in reasonable tapas portions. The only main negative I found, was the smell in the room. It may have been a smell from the kitchen, but it didn't feel comfortable to me.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear Ana, Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to our restaurant. I do appreciate your positive comments regarding the deco and food at Tapas Brindisa Shoreditch, however please be assured that your feedback about smell was addressed by our team, unfortunately we had an issue with the drains but I am happy to say that it has been fixed. I would love to be able to welcome you again soon. Yours sincerely, Brindisa Shoreditch General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 1food 1service 5ambience 5

Hay was awful and paella completely over cooked. Nice waiters and service.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 9 April 2019

Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback, I´m happy to read your positive comments about our team and service. We are sorry that our paella did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your comment has been shared with our kitchen team. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch General Manager

Report
Helpful
FP
London
7 reviews
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 2

Expected more. We were squashed in a corner, additional drink orders were incorrect, additional food items arrived late, we were served by 3-5 different people probably the reason for missed items.
Restaurant wasn’t busy, we were dining at 5pm
We were in the area for an event but won’t be recommending.

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear Family Porte, Thank you for your visit to our restaurant and for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry if your experience was not great and I apologise if the service was not good, your feedback is important and please be assured that it has been shared with our team to address it properly. Best regards, Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
PB
London
1 review
Dined on 5 April 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Great food , quick service . Padrón peppers so good . Lovely manzinella! Just like Spain

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 9 April 2019

Dear Petrina, Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our food and service. Padron peppers is always a must! We hope to see you again soon at Brindisa Shoreditch. Best regards, General Manager

Report
Helpful
JB
London
5 reviews
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and service! The restaurant manager Thibault provided a great attention and service, Thanks

Tapas Brindisa, Shoreditch
Responded on 9 April 2019

Dear JBotella, Thank you so much for your visit and your lovely words, it was great to attend you at our restaurant! Best regards, General Manager Brindisa Shoreditch

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14