temper Covent Garden

4.3
1161 reviews
£26 to £40
Steak
temper Covent Garden is in-house butchered steaks, corn tacos and barbecued meats. Sit around the open kitchen and watch the chefs making your food or order cocktails from the central bar.

Situated on Mercer Walk, temper Covent Garden it is a great lunch and pre-theatre location, with dedicated menus for both and a spacious outdoor terrace to enjoy them on.

Larger parties of up to 24 can make use of the upstairs Feast Table or, for something more exclusive, private hire is available downstairs for up to 45 guests.

Please note we currently do not accept Open Table dining cheques.

Support temper Covent Garden during COVID-19

Experiences

  • Bottomless BBQ Brunch

    £39.50 per person

    Multiple dates available

    Due to popular demand, our Bottomless BBQ Brunch is now available on Sundays, in the restaurant or out on the terrace! Our famous Bottomless BBQ Brunch includes a brunch platter (meat or non-meat option available) plus 90 minutes of free-flowing drinks. Book a table, meet up with your mates and raise a glass to the return of real life.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
What 1161 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Energetic
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
ND
NeilD
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Really friendly service and delicious food. Knowledgable staff who were very helpful with choices.

l
liams
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food5service4ambience4

Food was extraordinary! It was let down by it’s menu not being clear and not explained to us correctly. The price of the steak is £10 per 100grams, but this wasn’t explained and we were unaware of the cost.

d
dop1
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Cheeseburger tacos and lamb carnitas were very good indeed but that is unfortunately where the good bits ended. The potatoes were both undercooked and overcooked , chips were poor ,the food was just disappointing in general but most annoying of all we were rushed of our table in under an hour barely have time to finish and dry not the wine.

FT
FionaT
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing staff and food. The staff were super helpful and delivered great service and food.

T
Teddy
London
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was amazing and the service was great . Would highly recommend !!

A
Anto
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Highly recommend. Love the atmosphere and the staff were amazing.

AC
AaronC
London
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service would recommend to anyone 5*

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A great evening. The service was excellent from start to finish. The restaurant itself always has a great atmosphere and the food was delicious!

temper Covent Garden
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the lovely review. We hope to see you again soon! Jemima General Manager

Report
OG
vipOGMM
London
13 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

I can always recommend this place. It's a great place for steak and the "Temper Mary" is a fine cocktail.

temper Covent Garden
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you OGMM, so pleased to hear you had a great time with us! See you soon for more Marys! Jemima General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very quick and extremely convenient for people going to the opera at the Royal Opera House (ROH). 10/10

temper Covent Garden
Responded 5 days ago

10 / 10 - great to hear, thank you! Jemima General Manager

Report
DM
DebbieM
1 review
Dined on 17 January 2022
Overall4food5service5ambience4

We visited Temper at a quiet time pre Theatre and were impressed with the warmth of the staff and the quality of the food. It may be slightly more costly than other restaurants, and we're not sure that it is for central London, but the food was excellent and we enjoyed the experience.

temper Covent Garden
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you very much DebbieM, Thrilled to hear you had a lovely time with us. We pride ourselves on staff who are as warm as the open fire pit, so I'm pleased my teamed looked after you well. Best, Jemima General Manager

Report
PB
PaulB
1 review
Dined on 16 January 2022
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Great food and service. Pricey though! The Romanian Pinot Noir was excellent

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 18 January 2022

Hi PaulB, Thank you for telling us about your visit. We love this Frunza Pinot Noir too. Another bottle next time! Kind Regards, Jemima General Manager

Report
EB
EmmaB
London
2 reviews
Dined on 15 January 2022
Overall4food4service4ambience4

All excellent apart from the “meet and greet” piece, which was slow and irritating. Suggest maybe more / more experienced folk on that duty at the expense of so many (charming but perhaps unnecessary) who popped up at intervals to enquire if we were having a good time. We were, and we did. But first impressions do matter and these were poor….

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 17 January 2022

Thank you for the feedback EmmaB. We hope that overall you had a great time, despite a rocky greeting! Kind Regards, Jemima General Manager

Report
DG
DebbieG
Buckinghamshire
5 reviews
Dined on 15 January 2022
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Bottomless brunch. Food was good and the server was attentive with our drinks. Would return.

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 18 January 2022

Great! Thank you for the lovely review. We hope to see you again soon! Jemima General Manager

Report
NP
NaldaP
London
3 reviews
Dined on 15 January 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Another awesome visit! When in London this is my ‘go to’ lunch venue. Superb steak and a fantastic range of cuts to choose from! Our sever was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble! Highly recommended!!!

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 17 January 2022

Thank you for the lovely words NaldaP. So happy to hear we are your SPOT! Do let us know who your server was so we can pass on the lovely praise to them! See you again soon. Best, Jemima General Manager

Report
MD
MariaD
London
1 review
Dined on 14 January 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great staff, so kind and helpful. And really lovely food!

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 17 January 2022

Excellent to hear, thank you MariaD. Kind regards, Jemima General Manager

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Kent
1 review
Dined on 12 January 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing service. Love this place.

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 15 January 2022

Thank you! And we love you! Hopefully see you again soon. Jemima General Manager

Report
E
Erica
London
1 review
Dined on 8 January 2022
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Dissapointed to turn up after a 2 hr journey into London on a Saturday night at only 8pm to be told there are no steaks left...for a bbq restaurant!! REALLY!!
The rest of the snacks, small plates & cocktails were really tasty but was really looking forward to a special steak.

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 10 January 2022

Hi Erica, I'm sorry to hear that there were no steak options available for you - at temper we focus on sustainable butchery which we do ourselves, in-house, daily. This means the steaks are of limited availability so when it's gone, it's gone... I hope that you enjoyed many of our other smoked meats and tasty South American inspired sharing plates instead, as they are just as temper as the steaks! The team hope you had a wonderful birthday and thank you for your review. Best, Jemima GM

Report
RA
RA02USA
1 review
Dined on 8 January 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food here is great , steaks cooked perfectly. Is a little expensive and the lighting isn’t great but I’ve been twice in the last month so it didn’t bother me that much

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 10 January 2022

Hi RA02USA, Glad to hear you've been twice in the month - legend! We try to keep it sexy with the lighting, so I'm pleased it hasn't deterred you from coming back for all the yummy, interesting meats. See you again soon. Best, Jemima General Manager

Report
M
Matt
London
1 review
Dined on 8 January 2022
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Service - Very good service by attentive waiting staff, the manager even stopped by to ensure that we had everything.

Food quality - really good! Although portions were small.

Noise level - fine.
Music and sounds from a busy kitchen but nothing bad.

Cons -
1) Not a big menu, choice was limited

2) No dessert options

3) Expensive compared to other places. Meal for two - 2 starters, 2 soft drinks, 2 sides and 1 steak (that we shared) was over £80.

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 10 January 2022

Hi Matt, Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear about the desserts, sounds like one of the team neglected to give you the menu, which I'm very sorry about as we have some belters on there! I know you may think the menu is small but we want to do a few things well rather than too many things badly, so I hope you enjoyed what you did have and next time we'll make SURE you get the brigadeiro cookie... Thank you again for your feedback. Best, Jemima General Manager

Report
AF
AlistairF
1 review
Dined on 8 January 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We absolutely loved it. Fantastic food and the service was great too 👍🏻

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 10 January 2022

Hi AlistairF, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, really happy that you enjoyed your visit to temper Covent Garden. Looking forward to seeing you again. Best, Jemima General Manager

Report
EL
EloiseL
1 review
Dined on 8 January 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Went here on a date with my boyfriend and was lovely. We did the bottomless brunch and the food was outstanding. I loved that we should see the chefs cooking. The service was fast and the staff were lovely.

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 10 January 2022

Thank you for the kind words EloiseL. So pleased you had fun and enjoyed the brunch - next time we'll have to get you some smoked meats and tacos! Hope to see you again soon. Best, Jemima General Manager

Report
MG
MaddyG
London
3 reviews
Dined on 7 January 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Incredible!!! Faultless!!! This place is a must visit❤️

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 8 January 2022

Thanks MaddyG! Can't wait to have you back soon - Big temper love from the Covent Garden team. Jemima General Manager

Report
SB
SimonB
London
1 review
Dined on 7 January 2022
Overall1food1service1ambience2

The staff allowed us to order wine and starters BEFORE telling us that they only had Rump steak available.

Manager was not very apologetic and offered nothing other than 1kg of other hand cut steak due to their machine being broken and they couldn’t cut any less.

Overall a bad experience as there was and upfront communication or signage telling us when we arrived of the shortfall in options.

We paid for our starters and left

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 8 January 2022

Hi SimonB, Thank you for your feedback. As we discussed - we are all about sustainability and freshness of our product - we never cut too many steaks that then may go to waste - we use what we have and cut them fresh daily. We have what we have on the cow and when it's gone it's gone. I apologise that the rumps available or the rib eye that was offered were still not the steaks you were after. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Jemima General Manager

Report
MM
MartinaM
London
1 review
Dined on 6 January 2022
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Really nice helpful team and service, music was really good and gave a great atmosphere. Food was good.

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 7 January 2022

Hi MartinaM, Thank you for your review - very pleased to hear you enojoyed your visit. Good service and good jams are what we are all about! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Jemima General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 5 January 2022
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Steak House, didn't have any steak available, nor many customers seated. A lonely, dark, quiet evening spent contemplating how long this place will stay in business.

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 7 January 2022

Hello, In an attempt to be as sustainable as possible and to provide the ultimate quality of our meat we only butcher what we deem fit for the day and what is available from the meat we have in-house. Unlike many other restaurants that serve steak and have it mass-butchered, we buy the whole animal and there are only so may cuts of each steak on a cow... when it's gone, it's gone! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Jemima General Manager

Report
TD
TheoD
London
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2021
Overall3food5service2ambience3

Made a reservation for a big group for NYE around 6 weeks ago. We were sat in a corner in the downstairs part instead of the central restaurant.
Almost forgotten by the waiters. Waited for drinks, bottles arrived without glasses, waited some more for the glasses. We then received our starters with significant time gaps so there was no consistency in the dining between the group members.
Overall poor experience. This was in comparison to Temper soho which is one of my favourite places - completely different vibe and attention.
It was my first time at Temper Covent Garden and I won’t be going again unfortunately.

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 4 January 2022

Hi Theo, Thank you for your review - I'm sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with us. It sounds out of character that the waiters weren't attentive, we always try our utmost to throw a party for all our guests and keep checking in on their dining needs. We will take the feedback on board and we thank you for taking the time to tell us about your evening. Jemima General Manager

Report
AS
AlexS
Kent
2 reviews
Dined on 31 December 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Incredible steak and our waiter was so helpful when answering questions and recommending how many small plates we needed between the group. The tacos were also delicious and the restaurant as a whole had a great and lively atmosphere.

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 4 January 2022

Thank you AlexS - Great to hear you had a lovely time with us and I'm so pleased the staff took good care of you and how the menu works - could you by any chance remember what they looked like? I love passing feedback on to the team when they have done a great job. Hopefully we will see you again very soon! Jemima General Manager

Report
DF
DaveF
Liverpool
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food service and ambience,the restaurant was busy but the staff were checking on a regular basis to make sure we had everything we needed, and we all agreed we will go back, this is alaways a good sign,keep up the good work.

temper Covent Garden
Responded on 4 January 2022

Thank you DaveF! So pleased you spent your last meal of the year with us! Always great to hear that guest will be back - thank you for the kind feedback and see you soon. Jemima General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 30 December 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Amazing little find, close to cov garden station. Perfect if you like Mexican mix food

SK
SKOT
1 review
Dined on 30 December 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience3

Had a great experience back in October so booked again for December. Sadly, we had to wait a very long time to get served, drinks took an age to arrive and 1 we had to ask for as it still hadn’t arrived with the food. The orders were wrong at every stage.
Staff were lovely but the whole experience was rather shambolic. Very disappointing

A
Alex
Orlando
8 reviews
Dined on 30 December 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great venue, tasty food, lovely staff. Would go again!

V
Vicky
1 review
Dined on 29 December 2021
Overall1food1service3ambience4

Food very expensive for what it was, portions were small and half of what you were given was fat rather than any meat. We complained about the t-bone steak as one side was missing to be told that is what a t-bone is and we should have ordered a porterhouse steak. My understanding of those cuts was that you have meat on both sides (that's what we have always received from our butcher) but just more of the tender steak on the porterhouse than on a t-bone.

JC
JackC
1 review
Dined on 28 December 2021
Overall1food5service1ambience5

Dreadful service. Food and drink shortages. Hugely overpriced. Very bad experience

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 28 December 2021
Overall3food5service4ambience3

They had availability for 8 which was great, they didn’t have any soft drinks, so that meant the children could only drink water, half of the adults wanted mixtures with their drinks which meant they only had a choice of beer or wine, quite poor for a restaurant to not have any soft drinks, the menu was confusing but on the whole the food was nice came in decent time and the staff were friendly, no childrens menu either, should really advertise as a tapas rather then steak house, I would come again though.

s
sarahl
London
1 review
Dined on 22 December 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

we had a great meal at Temper, the manager was super helpful in guiding us through the menus, what to choose and how much. the food was spot on, delicious flavours and cocktails were great too! I'd definitely recommend Temper Covent Garden!

DH
DawnH
London
1 review
Dined on 21 December 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Bit cold temperature inside. Deserts took 40mins to come. Lovely food though.

CK
CemK
London
1 review
Dined on 21 December 2021
Overall3food5service2ambience4

A reduced menu on the day was a disappointment given this was not indicated during booking combined with lackluster service that didn't think it odd that 2 people had only ordered 1 steak marred what was otherwise a really good t-bone steak - yes, unexpected. Cooked wonderfully to be tender, succulent, well seasoned and presented.

TG
TomG
Hampshire
2 reviews
Dined on 21 December 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Steaks were superb and good service. The food was a bit pricey but worth the day out with friends.

SG
SamG
1 review
Dined on 20 December 2021
Overall4food4service2ambience2

Great food. Service not very good. We attended 20/12/21 in the evening. Few examples:
- ordered a bottle of red wine, the server simple opened it and put it in the middle of the table. No wine glasses, no offer to pour, no offer to try the wine
- one of the servers cleaned something off his show in front of us then proceeded to serve food without washing his hands
- ordered some cocktails, told ‘the bartender can’t do that cocktail because we don’t have one of the ingredients’. When we asked which ingredient responded with ‘I don’t know’. We had to prompt the server to go back to the bartender to ask
- they let a group of charity collectors into the restaurant who then proceeded to go to each table asking for money. They were quite forceful with their request, we said no twice and they still proceeded to ask us for money a third time. Other tables were visibly annoyed and confused by the staff letting this happen

Food quality was great as ever but the service really let the restaurant down.

FAQs

temper Covent Garden is rated 4.3 stars by 1161 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.