The Allotment Vegan Eatery

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
540 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Vegetarian / Vegan

Top tags:

Good Vegetarian Options
The Allotment Vegan Eatery is an entirely plant-based, gluten-free restaurant on Lloyd Street in Manchester city centre, near Albert Square.

You can choose from our A La Carte Menu (available Mon - Sat 12pm - 9pm/Sun 6pm)

We have a cosy dining room with an adjoining bar area with our more relaxed Small Plates Menu, also serving quality beers, wines and spirits, and seasonal cocktails.

We are happy to accommodate larger parties- for bookings of 7 people or more, please call (0161 478 1331) or email (hello@allotmentvegan.co.uk) the restaurant directly.
What 540 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
CD
CatD
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience4

The food and ambience were lovely. Having never been before we tried 4 of the smaller plates between 2 of us, which were all delicious and the tacos were extremely tasty. Friendly service too

M
Marting
Manchester
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome and I innovative food. It’s my 5th visit and I am already looking forward to being back in Manchester

AR
AllanR
Manchester
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Dry tasty vegan food. Enjoyed it and will return.

EM
ErinM
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, great service and excellent value for money! I’ve been here twice now and will continue to do so just for the ‘fish’ and chips! YUM!

NA
NicolaA
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was our second visit to this lovely restaurant , the food is delicious and the staff are really helpful and make you feel at home.Will defiantly be back.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded 2 days ago

We look forward to seeing you again, Nicola! All the best, Chloe :)

Report
ZF
ZFMkjgjdfhg
Manchester
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Food was lovely, but we spent a considerable amount of time waiting between courses, despite the restaurant being nearly empty. We had to give up on our dessert after waiting for over 20 minutes for a slice of cake. Sorry to say that I would not recommend this place unless you are very very zen about waiting times.

PM
PaulM
Manchester
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Incredible vegan Sunday roast and excellent, friendly service.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Paul, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback, we value this very much. And are made up by your comments :) We hope we can see you again. All the best, Chloe

Report
PJ
PJ2020
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food4service4ambience4

Liked the food but found it a bit overpriced - £15 for a plate of vegetables (the Sunday Roast). There was a big space on the plate where I would have liked a nut roast or something else substantial e.g. a mushroom wellington or vegan toad in the hole. Having said that, I’ll probably go back as it was tasty and it’s hard to find vegan food.

MP
MPW123
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

I booked this as a special occassion taking my vegan daughter up to Uni so I didn't know it at all. My daughter is a great vegan cook and we enjoy exploring vegan options but I have to admit a vegan restaurant isn't my usual 'go-to' option.

But it was honestly fantastic. The place was easy to find, charming interior and welcoming staff despite all the current distancing. The asked if any of us had any alergies and when I said 'vegan food' I wasn't thrown out !

My daughter was just so pleased to be able to choose ANYTHING from the menu which is so rare. The vegan alternatives elsewhere always seem a bit of an after thought.

We all chose something different so we could sample as many options as we could and none of us were disappointed. Great food, great variety of drinks and above all very helpful and attentive staff. Vegan or not it won't disappoint.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded 2 days ago

We're thrilled to hear you all enjoyed your visit with us! It's really nice hearing feedback like this and knowing that we can show people how tasty plant based food can be, (whether you are vegan or not). We would never throw anyone out, what would life be without a bit of banter, ay! And we wish your daughter all the best for Uni! We are sure she will have an amazing year, all of the Manchester universities are remarkable. We hope we can see you all again in the future. Kind Regards, Chloe

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food, drinks and service were all incredible! Will definitely be back.

HW
HollyW
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, lovely staff and good value! First time at the restaurant

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded 2 days ago

We're chuffed that you had a lovely time with us on your first visit, we hope it isn't the last!! All the Best, Chloe

Report
RF
RobF
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Had an amazing meal here on Friday evening for my friends 40th birthday. Fish and Chips were amazing, as was the Hazelnut Slice. Best meal I’ve had for a long time!

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded 2 days ago

We're really glad you enjoyed it and hope your friend had a great birthday! I do agree, both of those dishes are to die for! We hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Chloe :)

Report
JM
JennyM
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was absolutely delicious - could have eaten anything on the menu it all sounded so good. The waitress was lovely and it felt nicely spaced out

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Jenny, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review! and thank you for your kind words, were really happy you enjoyed your visit with us. Hopefully we can see you again soon to try the rest of the menu ;) All the Best, Chloe

Report
T
Trudy
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 9 September 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Our meal was not off to a good start when at 6pm they had run out of cauliflower wings (their best seller) and the sharing board, and they were not offering anything in their place. Its such a small menu, come on Allotment that's not really acceptable. Anyway there were four of us so we ordered most of the rest of the menu. Besides the two tofu dishes, salt and pepper and tamarind, the food was fresh and tasty. The tofu dishes were a disappointment, four dry fingers of tofu, no accompanying sauce, barely a garnish and couldn't really distinguish between the two. Otherwise: squash and chicory starters fresh and tasty, fish and chips, amazing, tacos and beetroot risotto were lovely. And really good chips. Not sure there is enough on the menu for us to comeback though, especially when there is a chance items just won't be available.

T
Tulamoon
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience4

Let me start by saying that I love the allotment and it’s food, the 10 course meal is one of my favourite activities to treat myself or close family and friends. And that it was their first Sunday Dinner since lockdown.

But we were surprised to find that we were still charged full price even though the food was not worth the high price.

We arrived within the 15 mins slot but the kitchen closed immediately on arrival so we felt a bit rushed.

The soup was predominantly pepper and under Flavoured and under seasoned.

There was no cauliflower..! If you eat here regularly you’ll know that I’m not being fussy when I say this. The cauliflower is one of the top reasons to go to Allotment. The main was so under on the protein. It had no attraction on the plate, no lead or star. Maybe the quinoa balls could have been the star but it (1 only) was tiny, dry and pointless. The parsnips weren’t cooked :( all three of us left them and they were a large part of the veg offering. Was disappointing.

That said The gravy was amazing, as was the puréed veg, but overall it felt lacking. A Yorkshire pudding, or nut roast or something to add fat and protein would have greatly benefited it. Or just having the missing cauliflower? We mentioned it to the waitress.. but nothing

The desert was completely amazing as always: mmm 😋
the waitress was lovely but we were so disappointed we weren’t offered money off the expensive meal.

Hope this review helps remedy it as I love Allotment and want to feel confident spending the extra money it costs to eat there. Must be a one off coz of them running out of things.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded 2 days ago

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate it! We deeply apologize that you didn't enjoy your experience this time with us. I will speak with the chefs immediately and investigate the under-cooked food and portion sizes. Occasionally we do run out of food items, especially after a busy weekend and cauli wings are one of the most popular dishes! I will speak to the chefs about ensuring there is always enough of these too. We hope we can see you again soon. Thanks, Chloe

Report
CL
ChloeL
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food is delicious and staff very friendly. Wish there were more menu options, i found the choices in both food and drink were very limited.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Chloe, We're really glad you enjoyed your food with us! Since coming back from covid lock-down we have had to reduce our A La Carte menu, as most places in Manchester have. We still run a full drinks menu and have actually expanded that a little, i apologise if there was nothing of your taste! We hope this wont put you off visiting us again. Kind Regards, Chloe

Report
WD
WayneD
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Very impressed, alway find it hard to find a place that puts plant based food first!

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 7 September 2020

Hi Wayne, Were so happy you were impressed with your experience with us! We really do love being creative with plants and showing people how yummy plant based food can be. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Chloe

Report
JC
JC70
1 review
Dined on 3 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As always the food was delicious and the service was excellent

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 7 September 2020

Thank you for the lovely feedback and compliments! It means a lot to our team when we receive lovely reviews like this. We hope we can see you again soon :) Kind Regards, Chloe

Report
HM
HelenM
London
2 reviews
Dined on 2 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time here and certainly not the last. Lovely place with great food and friendly staff. Diverse menu - something for everyone. Really enjoyable! I recommend and will return soon!

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 7 September 2020

Hi Helen! Thankyou for your lovely feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Chloe

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 1 September 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience3

Friendly service but food, decorum and ambience was mediocre at best.

M
Midge
Wales
3 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything about this place made me happy! The ambience was cosy yet sophisticated, staff were amazing and the food!!! Delicious and fresh; every mouthful a joy. But just because it’s vegan, don’t think it’s all sin free. Cocktails, wine and dessert to die for! Would highly recommend.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 7 September 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're really happy you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon :) Thanks, Chloe

Report
HB
HelenB
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

We were given a voucher for Xmas present and more expensive than we would usually pay for a meal.
The good was good but for the prices I d of expected it to be really really good!
Service excellent and really like the venue but unlikely to return due to cost

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 3 September 2020

Hi Helen, We are so happy you chose to dine with us and enjoyed our food. I do apologize that you thought the prices were too high, at least you had a gift voucher! We rarely receive negative feedback about the prices, but i will be raising the issue for discussion with the management team. Kind Regards, Chloe

Report
AJ
AlisonJ
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Second visit and well worth the trip. The food is amazing and I just want to have everything on the menu! So that means I need another visit!

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 3 September 2020

Thank you Alison for taking the time to leave us a review, we are so happy you enjoyed the food :) We look forward to your second visit!! All the best, Chloe

Report
BM
BenMc
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

After being Vegan for 7 months, myself and my partner ventured to 'The Allotment' for tea this past Saturday, and weren't disappointed. From the venue, to its décor and ambience not to mention the Michelin star deserving food, the whole experience was amazing. A must if your a vegan or not, and excellently priced too.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 3 September 2020

Hi Ben, Thank you so much for leaving us this lovely review! We are so glad you chose to eat with us and enjoyed your evening! We are in the process of writing a whole new menu launching very soon, and hope we can see you again and you enjoy it just as much. All the best, Chloe

Report
M
Manos
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very nice food. Nice quiet place I really suggest. Next time i will be in Manchester i will pass over

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 3 September 2020

Wee look forward to seeing you next time! Thanks, Chloe :)

Report
SJ
SarahJ
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great food, experience and service. Definitely returning !

CH
ChantelleH
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 27 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Really nice place. Small and perfectly formed! Nice and chilled vibe.
Customer service was v.good and food was lovely - no complaints at all.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 3 September 2020

Thank you Chantelle for taking the time to leave us this review, we love and appreciate hearing all feedback from our customers! We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us, and hope we can welcome you again soon to try our new menu (launching very soon)! Kind Regards, Chloe

Report
J
Judey
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 26 August 2020
Overall2food1service3ambience5

We were sat down, waited around 10 minutes just to get given menus, had to actually shout someone over to take our order.
Food was mediocre. Quite tasteless really. The only good thing about the ‘fish and chips’ was the chips (which we had to order more as the rest of the dish wasn’t good), it just was not for our liking at all. The tacos were okay. But again, kind of bland.

The cheese cake had 3 layers, but they all tasted the same.

We were expecting great things from here. Really disappointed.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 28 August 2020

Hi Judey, We are really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit with us. We pride ourselves on our fresh, locally sourced, high quality food, and so i can only apologize that it disappointed you. It normally goes down a treat. I will be speaking with the chefs about the comments you have made and make sure this doesn't happen again. We hope this will not put you off trying our restaurant again, we are currently writing a full new menu and would love to welcome you back. Thanks, Chloe

Report
HR
HayleyR
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very impressed. After thoughts that the menu didnt have a lot of choice, the dishes on offer were amazing and so tasty!

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 3 September 2020

Hi Hayley, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us. We have had to reduce our menu since returning back from lock-down, but it means we can make sure every dish is served to the best quality possible. We hope we can see you again soon. Kind Regards, Chloe

Report
SO
SiobhanO
London
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was amazing and the service was excellent!

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 3 September 2020

Thanks so much Siobhan! We hope we can see you again soon :) Kind Regards, Chloe

Report
HM
HazelM
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Quite a small menu choice but so tasty. We chose the sharing board between 3 of us - ample and then we had three different main courses. One of my party said he would have wanted more rice with the main but portion size fine for me. Topped of with hazlenut torte and blueberry cheesecake which we were almost fighting over and shared between 3 again. So lovely, and nice girls serving. Thoroughly enjoyed and will go back again.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Hazel, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! Our menu has been reduced since re-opening from lock down, but we are really glad you enjoyed your food and experience with us. Our menu being smaller also means we can make sure our food is of outstanding quality. We look forward to seeing you again :) Many Thanks, Chloe

Report
HJ
HanJW
London
11 reviews
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great vegan food, lots of choice. Fine dining at a reasonable price

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 27 August 2020

Thanks for the kind review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us, and hope to see you again soon :) Many Thanks, Chloe

Report
DB
DarrenB
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was a really good experience I am not a vegetarian and I work as a head chef so was very sceptical paying for
Vegetarian food but this food is next level really good flavours and taste the service was really good and helpful all I can say is I will be booking again 👍

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 27 August 2020

Thank you for your lovely feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed both the food and service! We are looking forward to seeing you again! All the best, Cordelia

Report
LD
LeahD
London
2 reviews
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was ace, small plates are quite big so the lunch offer is good value. Desserts were OUTSTANDING!

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 27 August 2020

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review Leah. Our vegan desserts are lush are they not!?! We hope we can see you again:) Thanks, Chloe

Report
PO
PeterO
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was outstanding. We are so fed up of eateries where the only options for vegans are bean burgers or mushroom risotto. The Allotment is a refreshing change with innovative and exciting dishes. This was our second visit and we will definitely be returning. The best vegan food I've ever tasted.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 27 August 2020

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and plan to visit again! We hope to welcome you back soon. The Allotment Team

Report
KH
KatieH
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 23 August 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience2

The staff were friendly & helpful. The cocktails were nice but the food was disappointing

AN
AmyNorman93
Manchester
5 reviews
Dined on 23 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Such a lovely restaurant amazing service our waiter was very friendly and helpful! The food was absolutely amazing would highly recommend this place!

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 27 August 2020

We are glad to hear that your dining experience was lovely! And hope to see you back again soon! The Allotment Team

Report
LC
LucyC
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 23 August 2020
Overall2food3service4ambience2

I booked specifically to go for the Sunday roast for my husbands birthday and when I arrived was informed they had stopped doing it- no updates on social media/website to state this was the case beforehand. The meal we had was ok but expensive. The menu isn't very imaginative for the price. If I had known the Sunday roast wasn't on, I would have booked for the Eat Out to Help Out deal on Mon-Weds. I left feeling a bit ripped off to be honest and probably wouldn't go back. The service was good.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Lucy, I'm sorry for any confusion about the menu. We made the decision that we wouldn't do the roasts when we returned from lock-down for a couple of reasons: we had to reduce our menu, we was unsure how busy we would be, the returning months were peak summer and most of the time there is no demand for roasts in summer. We will be continuing them very shortly after the eat out to help out scheme has finished. We hope we can see you when we start them up again! Many Thanks, Chloe

Report
JJ
JudyJ
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 22 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

great venue for those with Coeliac disease as all the food is guaranteed gluten free. So good to have somewhere with choice on the menu!

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 27 August 2020

We are so glad to have been able to cater to your dietary needs! We hope to be able to welcome you back soon! All the best Cordelia

Report
ZR
ZoeyR
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 21 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good food and great service. Will definitely come again.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery
Responded on 27 August 2020

We look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you for your positive feedback! The Allotment Team

Report

FAQs

The Allotment Vegan Eatery does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo. The Allotment Vegan Eatery also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 0161 478 1331.

The Allotment Vegan Eatery is rated 4.4 stars by 540 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.