The Almanack

4.1
156 reviews
£25 and under
Gastro Pub
The Almanack is a modern British gastropub in the heart of Kenilworth, between Abbey Fields & the High Street. We serve high quality fresh seasonal food & great beers, wines & spirits all at pub prices. Open all day, seven days a week, serving breakfast, coffee & cake, lunch, drinks & dinner, we aim to be Kenilworth’s favourite “local”.

Support The Almanack during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
What 156 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
4.1
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
SM
SylviaMC
1 review
Dined on 10 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A wonderful venue for a special meal. Amazing service and food.

The Almanack
Responded on 14 July 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars and the kind words SylviaMC!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
4 reviews
Dined on 8 July 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience3

Always great service.

The Almanack
Responded on 10 July 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars!

Report
JM
JamesMcDonald
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 20 June 2021
Overall5food4service3ambience4

Father’s Day dinner.
As usual excellent roast beef dinner although a tad colder than we would have liked. Beef and ale pie was excellent and extra gravy was no problem.
Overall we enjoyed our visit and meals.
Points to improve on drink service before meal
Could be quicker and should/could be taken as you are seated.

The Almanack
Responded on 24 June 2021

Looks like we didn't quite deliver- we hope to welcome you back again soon and thank you for your useful feedback which we will take on board.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 12 June 2021
Overall2food4service3ambience2

Booked a table for 4, but no table allocated so ended up in walk up area, opposite very noisy bus stop. Initial service very slow, improved later when less tables to serve. Peppercorn sauce not delivered with steak, ordered by app. On asking sauce still not delivered, so had to request a refund ( not offered).

The Almanack
Responded on 13 June 2021

Oh no- that doesn't sound like us. Contact us at reservations@peachpubs.co m, we would love to chat further and make amends. Thanks for providing feedback.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Birmingham
2 reviews
Dined on 9 June 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience4

We asked for brown bread we were given white. We asked for our hot drinks with our breakfast, we like it hot hot. It came out instead within minutes. Waitress said she’ll bring out fresh hot drinks and some brown bread, nothing came. We would have happily paid the extra if necessary (when we paid, we rounded it up to the nearest pound and split he bill between the two of us.)
The food wasn’t anything special. Tasted rather dry and quickly put together, tasted all from bookers. Shame, we were looking for a new lunch spot.

The Almanack
Responded on 11 June 2021

Oh no- that doesn't sound like us. Contact us at reservations@peachpubs.co m, we would love to chat further and make amends. Thanks for providing feedback.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 30 May 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

The place, service and ambiance were all good, but t hi e menu choices were very limited and my friend who doesn’t eat red meat or fried food wanted fish. It was on the menu (I choice) but was not available. There was only then a veggie burger or a veggie curry to choose from. Shame really!

The Almanack
Responded on 3 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback we will take your comments on board. We appreciate it and hope to see you again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 22 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Staff attentive and friendly. Food excellent and lovely atmosphere.

The Almanack
Responded on 23 May 2021

Excellent to hear- thanks so much!

Report
S
Skyblueeb
Los Angeles
6 reviews
Dined on 17 May 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

We felt really COVID secure and the food was very good and served really hot with good hot beverages as well - no rush or over crowding so nice 2 hour lunch in large open dining room that you cannot achieve with smaller venues or many pubs

The Almanack
Responded on 18 May 2021

Thanks for the lovely review- so pleased you enjoyed!

Report
JB
JamesB
Devon
2 reviews
Dined on 16 May 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Had Sunday dinner with my partner. The food was excellent and all the staff were very friendly. I love eating outdoors, but we didn't pick the best day with it being a little windy. Nothing the staff could do about that though!

The Almanack
Responded on 18 May 2021

Thanks for your review James. We hope to see you again soon, especially as finally, indoors is open!

Report
JJ
JacquiJ
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 15 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service snd made my night first date and they even moved to a nicer table under canopy with a hot water bottle very impressive will definitely be going back soon

The Almanack
Responded on 16 May 2021

Thanks for the lovely review Jacqui- Glad to hear you enjoyed!

Report
RJ
RJL82
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great Beef roll and a few beers with friends. Nice!

The Almanack
Responded on 12 May 2021

Thanks for your review- we hope to see you again soon.

Report
KN
KeithN
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

An excellent meal served by helpful friendly people in the trying circumstances created by the pandemic
Looking forward to returning when we can go inside

The Almanack
Responded on 12 May 2021

Thanks for the great review Keith- were so glad you enjoyed! Roll on 17th May- we hope to see you again soon.

Report
LB
LauraB
Warwickshire
3 reviews
Dined on 27 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Comfortable even though outside, plenty of heaters available, Quick friendly service and a great breakfast. Would definitely go again.

The Almanack
Responded on 28 April 2021

Thank you Laura- we are glad you had a good time. Come back soon

Report
AM
AshleyM
Warwickshire
22 reviews
Dined on 23 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food easy to order on the smart phone and very covid secure

The Almanack
Responded on 27 April 2021

Fantastic news, thank you Ashely. Glad we ticked all the boxes. Come back and see us again soon

Report
M
Mayden
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 18 April 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Cheerful friendly service, good food and a sunny location. We enjoyed the breakfast menu and the lunchtime fare looked enticing. Couldn’t make the mobile phone ordering system work but there was no need as the staff were excellent

The Almanack
Responded on 20 April 2021

Few teething issues with our app- but we think we have got it working now! We hope to see you for lunch or dinner soon! Thank you for your review

Report
SC
SarahC
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 12 April 2021
Overall2food4service1ambience2

Nice food very slow service and too expensive nice to go out but disappointed

The Almanack
Responded on 19 April 2021

Oh that's a shame Sarah- can you get on contact direct so we can learn more about your experience? reservations@peachpubs We do really care what our guests think!

Report
m
maggieb
London
1 review
Dined on 27 October 2020
Overall4food1service5ambience3

Food is not consistent ...., small details missed which is so silly ie toast sent out NOT properly toasted !!! Slimy salad with a fab burger ( this happened 2 weeks on the trot)
Also mean portions for price

The Almanack
Responded on 1 November 2020

Thanks for your feedback, we really value all comments- bad and good as it helps us learn, grow and improve. I'm very sorry to hear about your visit and I can assure you this is not our usual standard. We will be sharing your feedback with the team and chef. We do hope you’ll visit again to see our usual standard of service.

Report
MT
MotherT
London
2 reviews
Dined on 19 October 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We like The Almanack because of its relaxed atmosphere, even with Covid restrictions that are well respected. The booths are positioned well so that everyone in your group feels included. The specials offer something a bit different from the regular menu where you can always find old faithfuls like fish and chips if you’re not feeling adventurous.

The Almanack
Responded on 24 October 2020

It's great to hear you enjoy visiting us, thanks for your continued support and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
BT
BethT
London
1 review
Dined on 10 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

In these very strange times it all felt normal, food good, very clean, staff attentive and professional. Recommend

The Almanack
Responded on 12 October 2020

Thanks for the great feedback and recommendation. Hope we can welcome you back again too!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 7 October 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Food was loverly, bit of a wait for dessert but would visit again

The Almanack
Responded on 10 October 2020

Sorry about the wait but hope you enjoyed dessert. Great to hear you would visit again, we shall look forward to seeing you again.

Report
K
Kate
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 19 September 2020
Overall2food4service1ambience1

Seated in a side room and forgotten about, had to go and ask for menus. Ordered 6 main courses, one arrived 10 minutes after the others. Staff very polite and apologetic but not very efficient. Not up to the usual level of service.

The Almanack
Responded on 21 September 2020

We are sorry to hear this Kate. Please do get in touch with us direct at reservations@peachpubscom so we can pick this up with you

Report
JL
JudyL
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A really lovely dinner for two - celebrating a birthday. Service very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Dinner superb, with good and varied menu choices.

The Almanack
Responded on 16 September 2020

Thanks for your lovely review and choosing us for your birthday celebration! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Leicestershire
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2020
Overall1food2service3ambience3

65 pound for a 16oz steak for two no vale I think you need to take your balaclava off sort your menu out thanks

The Almanack
Responded on 11 September 2020

Thank you for your feedback.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent restaurant

The Almanack
Responded on 30 August 2020

Thanks so much!

Report
PM
PeterM
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2020
Overall3food4service4ambience4

Food and service was good, just found prices a little on the high side.

The Almanack
Responded on 26 August 2020

Thanks Peter, most of our suppliers are working on half their workforce so they have had to increase their prices, as we also try to be as responsible and ethical as we can with our ingredients- they also come with a price tag! Look out for our Game Month coming soon- fantastic produce at reasonable prices!

Report
AN
ANiMade
London
3 reviews
Dined on 17 August 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience2

The food was mediocre at best. I had to remind the waitress after 30 minutes that we were waiting for our starters - a sharing board of olives, peppers and whitebait. Nothing complicated. The whitebait was dry and lukewarm. They had obviously been hanging around for a while waiting to be served. We all had burgers. They were ok but a bit dry, and the chips were white and limp. The waitress did not offer any sauces. My second G & T arrived in a tumbler, luckily I still had my first glass to pour it into. I remember when the Almanack first opened, it was such a cool, fun place and the food quality was excellent ‘bistro’ quality. The food is now as bland and dull as the decor and the service poor. Won’t be going back.

The Almanack
Responded on 23 August 2020

This review really saddens us! We love our new look and get great feedback- but I guess its not for everyone. We cant change the paint colours- but perhaps we can change your mind about our food and service? Can we tempt you back? If you think you can be tempted- please email us directly at reservations@peachpubs.comso we can discuss this further. Re opening has been tough and we are finding a 'new way to work'. Its a bit more stressful on the team- but that is no excuse. Please let us know

Report
OV
OccasionalVisitor
1 review
Dined on 12 August 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Average. Food was distinctly average, and felt like a cheaper offer than usual. Service was very detached. Ordered items that were missed, and no check back to be able to ask where they were.

The Almanack
Responded on 15 August 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your most recent visit. It's really disappointing to hear about your experience and let me start by apologising for the inadequate service and meal you were served. We pride ourselves on great service, and food, so it's never good to hear when we've slipped. Please do get in touch with us at reservations@peachpubs.comso we can discuss this in more detail and put things right.

Report
A
Adam
Birmingham
6 reviews
Dined on 12 August 2020
Overall3food2service2ambience3

Went for breakfast , everything well overcooked, service very slow.Manager took drinks off the bill due to breakfast being overcooked

The Almanack
Responded on 17 August 2020

Oh thats a shame- glad we tried to rectify it at the time- would you give us another shot? Please contact reservations@peachpubs.comso we can chat about it and try to put thiings right

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 11 August 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Menu doesn’t have many options for food .
Ambience is good
Staff are good
Chicken dishes are bit dry

The Almanack
Responded on 15 August 2020

Thanks for your feedback

Report
PD
PaulD
Las Vegas
7 reviews
Dined on 8 August 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Nice, fun place to eat. Food is good and staff are very pleasant

The Almanack
Responded on 10 August 2020

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit and do hope we can see you in the pub again soon.

Report
MC
vipMarkusC
Oxford
18 reviews
Dined on 3 August 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Good-comfort food and attentive service

The Almanack
Responded on 10 August 2020

Thanks for the great feedback,we are so pleased you enjoyed and hope to see you again soon

Report
JM
JudithM
Warwickshire
3 reviews
Dined on 20 July 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Ideal meeting place for early supper with family passing through; children’s menu adequate & adult menu showed good variety.

H
Hannah
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Nice meal. Good service. Would have preferred staff wearing PPE given circumstances. Restaurant was set out well for social distancing though.

JW
JonW
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 23 February 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

The lamb roast was delicious but the meal needed more gravy as it was a bit on the dry side and had to ask for extra. Lemon posset was delicious too. Bit on the pricey side and glad that I had a £20 off coupon

OT
OpenTable Diner
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 21 January 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

We where made to feel very at home and the service was fab!!

LA
LindaA
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 24 December 2019
Overall5food3service4ambience5

Great lively atmosphere on Christmas Eve. At first no Prosecco - they’d run out! But then someone obviously went shopping and they got a few bottles in-hurrah!!!

IM
InaM
Warwickshire
2 reviews
Dined on 2 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Birthday meal with family. Great choice of food. Excellent service by Ross. Birthday bottle of wine offer used....even better!

LP
LucyP
London
2 reviews
Dined on 24 November 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Very good roasts, went there with my Mum for Sunday lunch. It’s nice food but a bit too much of a modern pub vibe and really loud to think to go out of my way to go back, but if you’re a local a great place I’m sure.

CD
ChristineD
Dorset
2 reviews
Dined on 17 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The best Sunday lunch out in years...and as a diabetic vegetarian I recommend their veg wellington which was amazing, excellent flavours, well filled and minimal amount of pastry. The staff were attentive without being intrusive, and all looked as if they were enjoying their work!

CP
vipCoPiloteCosner
Bedfordshire
57 reviews
Dined on 16 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food was great, quite loud as it was a Saturday evening. Great service!

FAQs

The Almanack is rated 4.1 stars by 156 OpenTable diners.

The Almanack does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://peach-pubs.vouchercart.com/category/the-almanack-2711.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.