Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Dorset
  4. Poole
  5. Poole
The Avocet Poole - The Avocet, Poole, Dorset

The Avocet

3.3
3.3
134 Reviews
£25 and under
British
Your home away from home, at The Avocet whether you are looking for seasonal and innovative food and drinks, chilled-out Sunday lunch, lounging on our sun terrace or the bustle of weekend nights then look no further for your perfect venue.

We bring our menus to life by creating pub classics and homemade bar snacks from scratch such as scotch egg, sausage roll, charter pie, burgers and fish and chips, to name a few.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 6 times today

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Elegant
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    British
  • Hours of Operation
    Mon–Thu 12:00–23:00 Fri, Sat 12:00–00:00 Sun 12:00–22:00 Happy Hour Mon–Fri 17:00–21:00
  • Phone number
    01202 723155
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress Code
    Casual Dress
  • Executive Chef
    Edward Cracknell
  • Catering
    Our Food We bring our menus to life by creating pub classics and homemade bar snacks from scratch such as scotch egg, sausage roll, charter pie and burgers and fish and chips, to name a few.
  • Area
    Poole
  • Parking Details
    Private Lot
  • Public Transit
    Parkstone train station is a 1 minute walk with car parking.
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Indoor Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Vegan, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What 134 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

3.3
3.3 based on recent ratings
  • 3Food
  • 3.5Service
  • 3.4Ambience
  • 2.9Value

NoiseModerate

134 Reviews
  1. JulieC

    Hampshire

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 January 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 1
    We booked for late Sunday afternoon and the football was on. This wasn’t a problem but it was blaring from all speakers which we should have seen as a bad omen. We decided to stay and our food was extremely disappointing. Luke warm and some of it cold. We had a future booking with family which we quickly cancelled.
    The AvocetResponded on 24 January 2024
    Hi JulieC, Thank you for your honest review. We will take more care on the volume of our sport and ensure this matches the atmosphere of the venue. I will also pass along you comment on the food to the chefs.

    Is this helpful?

  2. Geoff

    London

    4 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 7 January 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    After our last experience wasn’t too good, we decided to give the venue another try. In honesty the start the service was incredible. The young lady behind the bar was fantastic. Very quick with service. Our food was fantastic. However we then proceeded to wait with our plates for much longer even though the venue was pretty much empty with two staff talking on the bar, we were intending on having desserts but because of this decided to pay up and go home. We will be going back to the venue again as the food was fantastic. We just hope that the service has that little push to make things slightly better.
    The AvocetResponded on 24 January 2024
    Hi Geoff, Thank you for the review. I happy to see that your food met your expectations, I will talk to the bar team to ensure they are a little more attentive with our guests.

    Is this helpful?

  3. chrisc

    Dorset

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 31 December 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    All good apart from food which was average… the burgers primarily
    The AvocetResponded on 24 January 2024
    Hi chrisc, Thank you for the review, I will pass your comments regarding the food onto our chefs. We hope you'll give our food another chance soon.

    Is this helpful?

  4. ChloeL

    Dorset

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 23 December 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    When we arrived the place was packed due to the football being on - which is fine but we should have been told on booking - we then waited ages to be seated - then left at the table for around 10 mins before the lady came over and said 'we are way too busy so youll have to order everything at the bar yourself' this was impossible due to the amount of people at the bar and would have taken ages to order drinks and then food - so we left really disappointed with the service
    The AvocetResponded on 29 December 2023
    Hi Chloe, I apologise that you were not informed that sport is on, but we are first and foremost a sports pub. We only offer table service when we have the ability to do so, many other tables were able to order no problem. We are a pub first but we like to offer a more restaurant experience when we can. To mark the food as 1 and value as 1 considering food nor drink was not ordered I regard as unfair, especially when the team work so hard, under the circumstances at this time of the year. There were also no notes on the booking, therefore we didn't have any information provided by you on whether it was for sport, food or just drinks. I would advise utilising these on open table when booking in the future as a courtesy call would have been made had we known the nature of the visit.

    Is this helpful?

  5. AshleyM

    Dorset

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 26 November 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    The room was cold. The toilets were absolutely appalling whereby none of the doors closed presumably due to swelling and these were even colder than the table area. Not a cosy atmosphere at all.
    The AvocetResponded on 24 January 2024
    AshleyM, We do apologise for the toilets. We have taken your review onboard and are having maintenance done as we speak.

    Is this helpful?

  6. EmmaP

    Birmingham

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 November 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 2
    Booked a table for 3pm as we have a small baby and were hungry. Got there to be told the kitchen is shut... why let us book the table for dining then?
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    We are sorry sorry this happened, OpenTable lets people book beyond our control, this day was an exception as this Saturday we were down to one chef, and needed to give him a break, and the tablet for open table didn't load your booking in time. This is obviously not your fault, and we apologise. If you decide to book with us in the future, call us and we will be more than happy to manage the booking process with you. Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  7. PhilipA

    Dorset

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 November 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    We went to order 4 starters to share . Only one was available which was a disappointment as I chose the restaurant on the basis of the starters .
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon now some time has passed and there has been a change in management. Next year we have plans to turn into a more tapas style pub/restaurant, which we are extremely excited about! Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  8. philo

    Dorset

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 November 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    A great evening and nice meal in the restaurant. Food really good quality and good value
    The AvocetResponded on 9 November 2023
    Hi Philo, Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  9. LynnM

    Staffordshire

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 November 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    The food was fine but from a reduced menu so not much to chose from but the alcohol was ridiculous money. Over £10 for a large glass of Rose Wine and over £7 for a pint of Peroni. That seems very over priced to me when I only paid £7 in a hotel in Aberdeen just over a week before.
    The AvocetResponded on 9 November 2023
    Hi Lynn, We are sorry you felt this way, the wine we serve is high quality and we are priced appropriately for the area. Peroni is not £7 a pint, it is £6.50, this is our most expensive lager, as it is in most places, we do have a happy hour live during the time of your visit that has Amstel at £4 a pint, which I do think is a fabulous deal. Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  10. MichelleM

    Kent

    4 reviews

    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 27 October 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    We normally love The Avocet, we were so disappointed to arrive and find 3 things on the menu as they had kitchen staff issues. This should have been on the website as we wouldn't have booked here if we knew. Hopefully this is sorted soon as we do love going there
    The AvocetResponded on 9 November 2023
    Hi Michelle, We have sorted our kitchen issues, we are sorry for inconvenience caused, we hope you return. Kind Regards, Jack, GM

    Is this helpful?

  11. SueD

    Dorset

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 22 October 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    We went on Sunday for a friend's birthday. I found the menu very limited & if you didn't want a roast there wasn't much else. I opted for the vegan cheeseburger & skin on fries which although was ok but a lack of cheese & a brioche bun which I didn't eat. I personally thought £15.50 was quite expensive for what was actually a (no meat) burger & half a potato cut into strips! The sides were also quite expensive which were on the small side too. Also then to be charged £12.50 service charge which we thought was unfair & asked for it to be taken off which it was. We probably will not be returning.
    The AvocetResponded on 9 November 2023
    Hi Sue, Apologies the menu was rather limited, we have had staffing issues for the kitchen, but it is all sorted now. We limited the menu for the chef that had been working lots of hours. we mostly sell roast dinners on Sundays, so this is why. The food is prepared completely fresh, not like most pubs, and the vegan meat alternative options usually hold much more expensive ingredients, especially the burger. The service charge is completely discretionary, it goes directly to the team that serve you at the table. it is completely your choice to have this removed. But you can always opt to place your order at the bar if you do not want the extra service. This service charge will then not be applied. I hope you try us again, as you just caught us on an off day. Kind Regards, Jack, GM

    Is this helpful?

  12. ANON

    London

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 20 October 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 3
    I booked a table to watch the rugby, they stopped serving food at 8 and had live music playing right by me and the screen. I left within 20 minutes and booked another venue. I would recommend that when a sport event is on, they don’t hire someone to play live music. And they keep the kitchen open as people will want to order food.
    The AvocetResponded on 9 November 2023
    Hi, Live music was booked well in advanced every Friday all the way until the end of the year and is advertised on our website and socials, this wasn't an England game, so it wasn't going to be busy enough to cancel, and we showed the game on our other 3 TVs. A team member would of been able to explain this. We cancelled our live music for the Friday after as England was in the 3rd and 4th playoff. We try not to cancel live music unless we have to, as we like to maintain a good relationship with the artists. The Kitchen had to close early, due to an issue that was beyond our control, sorry for the inconvenience caused on this. We hope you chose us again, but please be aware that Fridays will have live music as sport is rarely big enough on this day. Kind Regards, Jack, GM

    Is this helpful?

  13. Cath

    Dorset

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 October 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    Just disappointed that no veggie or vegan options on the lunch menu. Online the menu offered avocado's but these weren't on the menu on the day. £12 for a burger, that was very nice but I think a little over priced
    The AvocetResponded on 10 October 2023
    Hi Cath, We are so sorry that the veggie/vegan option was not available at the time of your visit, with very sporadic trade, its very hard to get stocking right, we try our hardest and missed on this occasion. please try us again in the future, you can also give us a call and check before visiting, and we will definitely hold one back for you. Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  14. GraemeB

    Dorset

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 30 September 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 3
    the butter chicken was overcooked and dried out. I spoke to the who sia she would tell the chef, be he didn't come to the table to sot out the issue. I've given feedback regarding the issue but haven't had a response.
    The AvocetResponded on 10 October 2023
    Hi Graeme, So sorry we did not meet the high standard we strive to achieve, we clearly missed the mark here, and I will speak to the team about the process we follow when someone is not happy. we hope you come back so we can change your opinion, as I know this is not our usual standard

    Is this helpful?

  15. MillerM

    Dorset

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 29 September 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 2
    Very expensive for the quality of the food. Not sure about the service charge being applied to the whole bill including drinks. It should say that a service charge will be added. Also the chips were also charged extra to the burgers which is very unusual. Overall hire disappointing and tempted to get the service charge back
    The AvocetResponded on 10 October 2023
    Hi MillerM, so sorry we did not meet the high standard we strive to deliver. There is a discretionary service charge applied to the bill, which is stated on our menus, which can be removed if that is what you wish. Sides are usually added extra in most fresh food venues, but your comments have been taken on board and we will make sure we as a team communicate this better, we hope you try us again, so we can wow you on your next visit.

    Is this helpful?

  16. JuliaF

    Hampshire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 September 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Jack looked after us and was absolutely brilliant - friendly and efficient. The food was good and reasonably priced, and the ambience great. Would certainly come back for more!
    The AvocetResponded on 3 October 2023
    Hi Julia, thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again very soon

    Is this helpful?

  17. OpenTable Diner

    Dorset

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 23 September 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The service was great the food came out in a timely manner from the time of ordering. Was very lively and busy. My steak was ok but the chips were fried to much and was sopping wet with oil.
    The AvocetResponded on 3 October 2023
    Thank you so much for your kind review. I apologise that the food didn't quite live up to expectations. Our chips are advertised as 'beef dripping chips' as they are covered in our Sunday roast beef dripping. If this is not what you prefer, you can ask to have them without and they are just as tasty! We hop to see you again soon for a 5 star visit

    Is this helpful?

  18. Wings

    Dorset

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 20 September 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 3
    I went for a wings night with a friend and was unpleasantly surprised by the poor quality of the wings. We ordered Buffalo, Korean, and BBQ flavours, but all of them had the same garnish and lacked sauce, making them taste almost identical. I had visited Avocet previously, and my experiences were always really good. I'm not sure what has changed, but hopefully, this was just a one-time issue.
    The AvocetResponded on 3 October 2023
    Thank you for taking the time to review us. We have never had a complaint about the quality of our wings so I'm very sorry that you had this experience. All our wings come with the same garnish (spring onion and celery) and sauce (blue cheese ranch), our menu designers felt that these complimented each of the flavours, we do not advertise that the garnish or side sauce changes, only the flavour of the wings themselves. If you felt there wasn't enough sauce for your taste, you are more than welcome to ask for more, we would rather add than take away. Please do come back for another Wing Wednesday so we can make sure you have the best experience this time.

    Is this helpful?

  19. LeeM

    Cincinnati

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 10 September 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Our seating arrangement was perfect. Just what we wanted.

    Is this helpful?

  20. FionaJ

    Dorset

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 August 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    The atmosphere and ambience was lovely at The Avocet, and the gentleman that greeted and served us was very polite and proactive. The let down was the food, which was underwhelming. For example the nacho loaded fries was supposed to come with salsa and spring onions, which there were none. There was nothing loaded about it, and it essentially cost £5 for some fries with sauce on the top. The truffle mac and cheese we were advised the truffle was mixed in and it came out as plain pasta with a plasticy cheese sauce on top. We were very impressed that the server took our service charge off the bill without us asking as the food took so long, but we were only told after we had eaten that the Chef was in training. I feel we should have been advised of this before we ordered. Otherwise the staff were very friendly and professional.

    Is this helpful?

  21. DONALD

    Dorset

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 26 August 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 1
    although the food quality was reasonable the ridiculous noise level from TV's, music plus rowdy drinkers made it pretty unacceptable to have a pleasant meal.

    Is this helpful?

  22. EmmaB

    Hampshire

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 5 August 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great atmosphere, wonderful waitress, food was ok. The biggest let down was the ladies loos, 3 toilets, 1 out of order and 2 others with doors that wouldn't shut, pretty unacceptable but not many places seem to think these facilities matter!

    Is this helpful?

  23. GunDog

    Dorset

    2 reviews

    2.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 19 July 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 2
    All you can eat wing night. Very unprepared. Very slow service and worst of all badly undercooked wings

    Is this helpful?

  24. CarolD

    Dorset

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 July 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Roast was really good and so was the service. Was a quiet time too which was nice.

    Is this helpful?

  25. Debbie

    Dorset

    2 reviews

    1.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 30 June 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    Waited 50 mins for our food but also 30 mins for our first drinks. I had the green Thai curry which was pretty poor, not very tasty and had 2 massive prawns with it, needed a finger bowl after stripping the prawns. No waiter around to ask, very busy atmosphere ( which you would expect on Friday night ) but as we were eating for a birthday meal at 7.30 it would have been nice to know there was a band on! Too noisy, not enough staff, and very mediocre food all round. Didn’t get offered a pudding menu either…

    Is this helpful?

  26. JemmaR

    Dorset

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 May 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Amazing food and service. Sunday lunch the best in the area by far!
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  27. DeniseL

    Dorset

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 13 May 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Lovely place to eat great food but not a huge choice found it a bit more expensive than other greeneking pubs but food was good staff were welcoming
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon The entire menu is completely fresh and made inhouse from ingredients, this is where we differ from most Greene kings. Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  28. Kalie

    Dorset

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 April 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    Food was lovely, drinks were good. Service a bit slow but good. Live music fantastic !
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  29. David

    Dorset

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 26 April 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    Staff were immediately rude and hostile. Unpleasant experience
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon now some time has passed and there has been a change in management. Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  30. SusanJ

    Dorset

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 April 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    Lovely roast dinner.. Easter Sunday early evening so pub must have been very busy tables needed clearing
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  31. patrickh

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 April 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Lovely food and staff … good service and value for money
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  32. MOR20

    Hertfordshire

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 8 April 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Devin behind the bar was very friendly. The food was really nice Generally a lovely pub
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  33. SharonA

    Dorset

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 1 April 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Friendly staff, Declan was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, thankyou
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon. Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  34. KimJ

    Dorset

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 1 April 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    Booked a table and requested a window table so my son could see the trains ( reason for booking pub) Hadn't reserved us a table, staff rude at bar, me and my son were standing waiting and the guy just served all the blokes coming up pushing in. and service very very slow. Forgot to put some of my order through. Wouldn't return. Far to expensive and very little menu choice. Not child friendly
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon now some time has passed and there has been a change in management. Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  35. Disappointed

    Dorset

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 19 March 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Food was over cooked and only luke warm. Children's cheese burger was a joke to be honest. Huge bun and the smallest "dollop" of beef for what was trying to pretend to be a burger. Only one meal out of the four was acceptable, so for nearly £150.00 I would have preferred to eat at McDonalds.
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon now some time has passed and there has been a change in management. Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  36. AnnaM

    Dorset

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 19 March 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food and excellent service, we had a great time.
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon. Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  37. KMen

    Dorset

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 March 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    Freezing cold! Expensive drinks and not great service
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon now some time has passed, heating issue is well and truly fixed and there has been a change in management. Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  38. Geoff

    London

    4 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 19 February 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 3
    We have been here a few times but this time was not too good, given they was not busy the time waiting for drinks order and food order to be taken was long, and the the wait for food too. We then waited a further 30 minutes for our table to be cleared and desert order to be taken. Also the roast chicken comes out on the bone, this is not an issue as such but there is no mention of this on the menu, mainly being the kids roast also being on the bone, and my son was put off by this. If was mentioned on the menu we would have picked something else.
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon now some time has passed. Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  39. Disgruntled

    Manchester

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 February 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 1
    Hate to say this but there we were on Valentine's Day in an empty restaurant at 1pm, the menu was limited, expensive £16.50 for fish and chips, obviously frozen, drinks £11.70 for a glass of wine. All in all a disastrous lunch, and an embarrassment because we had invited a friend and said how good the menu was that we had downloaded from the website, however, the variety on the website menu and reasonable prices differed greatly from that which we were offered. e.g. Website menu £9.50 for fish and chips as opposed to the £16.50 on the one we were given. As for the Ambience, we were the only table occupied in the entire restaurant and it was still empty when we left 2 hours later. The bill came to £105.47 for just the main, and pudding and 2 glasses of wine and a pint of shandy. What a rip-off! Won't be going there again. You should strike them off your list Open Table, Avocet will give you a bad name.
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon now some time has passed and there has been a change in management. The entire menu is completely fresh and made inhouse from ingredients. Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  40. SamanthaW

    Gloucestershire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 22 January 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Lovely food and staff really enjoyed it. Will definitely be back 👍
    The AvocetResponded on 21 November 2023
    Thank you so much for the review, sorry the reply was missed, we hope you come back soon. Kind Regards, Jack, General Manager

    Is this helpful?

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitising

    • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
    • Contactless payment available

FAQs

The Avocet is rated 3.3 stars by 134 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 6 times today
Google Map for The Avocet

58 Station Rd, Poole, Dorset BH14 8UD

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Area
    Poole
  • Hours of Operation
    Mon–Thu 12:00–23:00 Fri, Sat 12:00–00:00 Sun 12:00–22:00 Happy Hour Mon–Fri 17:00–21:00
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    British
  • Dining style
    Casual Elegant
  • Dress Code
    Casual Dress
  • Parking Details
    Private Lot
  • Public Transit
    Parkstone train station is a 1 minute walk with car parking.
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Executive Chef
    Edward Cracknell
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Indoor Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Vegan, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Phone number
    01202 723155
  • Catering
    Our Food We bring our menus to life by creating pub classics and homemade bar snacks from scratch such as scotch egg, sausage roll, charter pie and burgers and fish and chips, to name a few.
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
Rentalcars Logo
OpenTable Logo