The Boat House.
- Surfaces sanitised between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
- Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waiting staff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Captain's Fish Pie
Tender chunks of smoked cod, salmon and Alaska pollock in a creamy mature cheddar cheese and spinach sauce and topped with buttery mashed potato and a ciabatta crumb. Served with seasonal vegetables and parsley sauce
Mussels in a white wine, onion & parsley sauce served with warm fresh bread
Slow roasted topside with a beef dripping glaze. Served with a selection of seasonal vegetables, Yorkshire puddings, our famous all meat stuffing and homemade roasties from our carvery deck, Feel free to go back for more vegetables
Excellent service and a nice venue for lunch. Lunch was very tasty
Excellent Sunday Carvery as per usual! Had friends come down from our club this week as well on my recommendation and they all said how much they enjoyed their visits. Keep up the good work/ highlight of my week !
The staff was very friendly and helpful due to me being disabled.
What a fantastic place , food was amazing , service was brilliant and enjoyed the whole experience
Shame was so quiet as this is a lovely pub/restaurant but there was no atmosphere as a result
We both had the baked camembert which was lush and then he had the Burger and i had the chicken burger and we both enjoyed our meal we then had cocktails to finish. it was quiet not many people but was a weekday. There is seating outside on the river and we had a window table which was great. The guy serving us was attentive and very helpful. We would recommend The Boat House and can recommend the Sunday lunch also.
Excellent Sunday Carvery as usual guys. Thank you
Where can you start? First impressions were great from the outside and inside and the service was good.
Unfortunately the same could not be said about the food even though the food on the hotplates at the serving area looked appetising it was in in fact insipid, tasteless and only warm!
All of the vegetables appeared to have come out of a freezer, "was anything fresh?" I doubt it! Even the roast potatoes looked and had the taste of good old aunty Bessie's which they even managed to turn into pieces of charcoal and the shop bought Yorkshire puddings were undercooked limp and lifeless.
I suppose the only saving grace would be that the portions were huge (great if you were extremely hungry) but the amount of food left on plates going back to the kitchens would have fed an entire third world country.
Having read so many glowing revues I was extremely disappointed with the food which could be hugely improved by a decent chef who used fresh produce especially the potatoes which make or break a Sunday lunch.
Having been a qualified now retired chef for over 25 years I would like to think that this review is is taken seriously and not just dismissed as another moaner!
I do not expect a reply from the owner but although things appear to be going extremely well now the furore I guarantee will soon start to dry up.
However good luck to all.
Bye the way you are allowed to season and taste the food before it leaves the kitchen.
Hi thanks for the feedback, the only thing that is frozen vegetable wise are the peas. Also the potatoes are made here and not aunt Bessie. I appreciate that you are a retired chef but I'm afraid your review is inaccurate. If you didn't enjoy the food I'm sorry about that, we always try to give everyone the best experience possible. We are extremely busy on a Sunday and have fantastic feedback from our customers that return week after week.
We went at 4pm and it felt like it had been a long day, service wasn't great initially, waited quite some time for drinks even though it wasn't busy. Food was good apart from potatoes, looked like Aunt Bessie's. It was a shame we couldn't help ourselves as it is a carvery, may be to do with covid although you help yourself at Toby. Nice modern place will definitely give it another chance as daughters friends rave about it.
Hello, thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry about your wait on your visit. We have been short staffed with staff self isolating, our usual wait times are very short. The potatoes are made in our kitchen and are not premade. Normally we have very good reviews on our potatoes. Hope you will return again. Many thanks for getting in touch.
Roast carvery for two. Generous portions of delicious roast meats freshly carved in front of us with all the trimmings you could think of. Friendly professional service served with a smile.
Great ambience and excellent value. We will be back!
Staff are always friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Food was delicious as always and so much for yr money. Will always be going back for more .
Loved everything about the restaurant but felt steak should have been on the menu but everything else was really good
Excellent from the warl welcome from staff and table was great. Decorated lovley service was at a nice pace. Didn't feel it was get your food and go .Food was nice I chosed this restaurant because of the menu .Being gluten free they had a great choice of main meals and a couple of starters and dessert.. It very hard to find restaurant that have a choice. All in all a great experience will definitely be going again .I will also try the breakfast and Sunday roast
the chicken shish was terrible dry and hard advised waitress did not seem bkthered
We are sorry that your recent visit to The Boat House did not live up to your expectations. I'm not sure what would have happened here as the kebabs are one of our best sellers. We normally get great feedback on them. I would like to know more Information if your able to email me firstname.lastname@example.org I have however already discussed your comments with my colleagues and we hope you will return to visit us again in the future so we may have an opportunity to deliver a better experience.
What a lovely place! I knew this previously as the riverside tavern (which was great) but this newly renovated pub is amazing. The lunch menu deal was great and the food was delicious, the staff were all friendly and they made me feel comfortable and didn’t bat an eyelid at me having my 6 month old babbling away.
Family friendly and 100% worth the visit, not only will I be returning, I’ll be letting others know about this too!
Been here twice in the last two weeks & thoroughly enjoyed, food was hot & delicious service was brilliant, friendly staff will be going back
Went on a Sunday just before 6pm. Had carvery. Although at the end of carvery service the food was very good. Not too busy(probably due to Covid). Very good service and very good value for money.
Shall go again.
Most of us had the roast, good to see that the potatoes were better.
Shame they had ran out of the starters that we wanted as it was only 4pm. It the soup we had was really nice.
Would like to see more options for main meals too on a Sunday.
Overall we like the boat house have a visited a few times.
Excellent roast carvery, generous portions, great service and a friendly ambience.
Some of the food we ordered was not very good and burnt
Great service, Great food and good experience had by all that attended in our party.
First time dining here and will most certainly be back. We had the carvery and the portions were massive but so delicious!
Food was good, very prompt service. We would go back but maybe on a summer’s day when we can see the river as is a lovely setting!
This is a new restaurant for us, we will absolutely be back. The staff were lovely and the food varied and good quality.
We really enjoyed our Christmas meal here.
Great tasting food and plenty of it.
Nice atmosphere and friendly staff.
We will be back.
Nice surroundings , staff very helpful . Just a shame they had run out of some of the options on the menu but do also appreciate there are supply issues at the moment . Will definitely return .
Ambiance is great at this venue no matter where you sit. Service excellent and food is great value for the price charged.
Service was amazing, food and drink was delicious
Great restaurant with views of the canal. Helpful friendly and professional staff.
Food well presented and good choice.
It is about a 15 min walk from Rochester town centre but well worth the walk.
Really nice location, good food and great service will definitely be back
Great place to go ..food reasonable price, service great, atmosphere relaxed and comfortable,.. recommended
This is a lovely restaurant. I've been a few times now for lunch. Food is lovely, very clean restaurant. Friendly staff. Good value especially if you choose from the weekday lunch menu.
Throughly recommend it.
First time at the Boat House after hearing it advertised on the radio. Went for an early lunch so not overly busy at that time. Nice clean restaurant, comfy chairs & a lovely view. There were a couple of things on the menu that weren’t available which was disappointing but the food we did choose was very good & the mashed potato was particularly yummy. The staff were very friendly and attentive but not overly so, which is nice. Their timing was impeccable so they were monitoring from afar which I prefer. There’s nothing worse than being constantly asked if everything’s ok! After our starters we were asked if we wanted our mains straight away, or to wait a while which I thought was a nice touch. But I guess in busy periods this, would probably be less of an option.
So in summary a very enjoyable lunch with good honest, value for money food presented beautifully and a lovely atmosphere. We would definitely return & I look forward to trying one of their roast dinners.
Lovely food and generous portions also reasonably priced
Excellent evening meal with wife and grandchildren.
Couldn't fault it.Wish I had discovered the boathouse before.
Big portions,we couldn't eat it all!
We will definitely be back.
Outstanding service and atmosphere. The staff were efficient, friendly and kind. I was concerned about my lively 1 year old, but they engaged with him and actively put me and others at ease.
The menu had some great choices and were presented nicely. I had a chicken burger, husband had the house burger. Both were delicious with soft brichoe buns, good flavour and nicely cooked. Cocktails went down well as well!
It would be great to see more homemade desserts on their menu.
Can't wait to go back.
Lovely food, understand is homemade... definitely tastes like it... delicious. Staff fabulous. Can't fault Boathouse at all👍
Lovely meal as usual..we went for lunch on a school day, so it was very quiet but really nice... Christmas tree already up and the meal was lovely... will boom again..
Great pub food, welcoming and friendly staff and a nice location. Will definitely be back.
Well-decorated, beautiful location, friendly staff (particularly the two guys serving the buffet) and a good range on the menu.
We came to have lunch with friends and all went very smoothly until we were ordering dessert. Our server went to check on pudding availability and came back to inform us that unfortunately we would need to move to the bar for dessert - our table was only ours for an hour.
As nobody had informed us on arrival we were somewhat perplexed, particularly as there were other clean empty tables around us that could have been used for newcomers. Staff had not even been quick to serve us or take our order.
We made our way to the bar area and finished with dessert and coffee.
It was a pleasant afternoon and a pleasant place to visit - but a table for only an hour is an issue that would mean we could not bring guests in the future without worrying.
You can order delivery directly from The Boat House. using the Order Online button. The Boat House. also offers delivery in partnership with Deliveroo. The Boat House. also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 01634 719949.
The Boat House. is rated 4.6 stars by 223 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.