The Cinnamon Club

4.2
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
5558 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£41 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Indian
The multiple award-winning Cinnamon Club in St James’ is like no other Indian restaurant you’ve visited. Set in the former Old Westminster Library – a Grade II listed building still with books lining the walls - it has a grandeur and character that perfectly compliments its outstanding food. The team of 18 chefs, headed up by Vivek Singh, have a creative approach and a distinctive knack of layering flavours with stunning presentation. The imaginative lunch and dinner menus change seasonally. Pre and post-theatre menus are also available.
The Cinnamon Club is the ideal venue for private dining in Westminster. We can accommodate groups for sit down meals or standing canapé receptions in one of our elegant and timeless private dining areas or bars.
We can also host civil ceremonies, wedding receptions and civil partnership celebrations.
Please call our dedicated Events Team on 020 7222 2555 and we will be delighted to take care of all your arrangements.

Private Dining

The Cinnamon Club is the ideal venue for private dining in Westminster. Perfectly placed on Great Smith Street, we can accommodate groups for sit down meals or standing canapé receptions in one of our elegant and timeless private dining areas or bars. Our canapé, bowl food and range of set menus give you a range of options to choose from, so your guests can experience classic Cinnamon Club dishes, paired wines and specialty cocktails. We can also host civil ceremonies, wedding receptions and civil partnership celebrations. Enjoy a memorable and mouth-watering wedding breakfast, filled with modern Indian delicacies and take advantage of our expert wedding planners, who can help to create the wedding of your dreams. Please call our dedicated Events Team on 020 7222 2555 and we will be delighted to take care of all your arrangements.

View Private Dining Details

Special Offers

Sunday Jazz Set Menu: £45

£45 per person including Sunday cocktail.
Early Offer 5.30–6.30pm | £38.00 per person
Late Offer 6.30–8.45pm | £45.00 per person

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: 31 December 2019

Ends: 31 March 2020

Availability: Sun 12:00-14:45 17:30-18:30 18:30-20:45

Breakfast With Books £19.50

With unlimited tea or coffee and orange juice.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 8 diners. Includes VAT, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 8 people

Starts: 6 January 2020

Ends: 31 March 2020

Availability: Mon-Fri 07:30-09:45

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1,000 point tables

Sun 7:00PM - 8:30PM
Mon - Wed 8:00PM - 10:30PM

What 5558 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.5
food
3.9
service
4.3
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
CM
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience3

Wonderful meal in lovely room and building. A lovely part of our London night out.

R
Dorset
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Slow service, food lukewarm, over priced. DON'T BOTHER

DB
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food4service2ambience2

We’ve been few times in the restaurant and unfortunately this time we felt left down. All the starters were cold, but being bite size and part of the tasting menu it was hard to understand whether it was on purpose or not. The waitress confirmed it shouldn’t have been cold. Rest of the food was fine.
Service was very slow and overall we didn’t enjoy the evening as expected.

OT
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Bland breakfast, service slow. Great potential but it needs to raise its game.

AT
London
24 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Had a fabulous evening dining with friends. Some of the sauces were just divine. My only complaint is that both the bar and restaurant were slow to take our orders and the wine list extremely pricey. Nonetheless would go back!

RP
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

My wife and the ladies went at the weekend .. so the boys thought we would meet for a client lunch.
I love the decor and the ambience , terrific
Richard

C
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Main course was sent back to the chef twice - undercooked cod (raw). Excellent service and assistance from the staff. Lovely setting - just bad evening for the cod.

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Food undercooked and tasteless. Service non existent. Very expensive for truly bad food.

MM
N. Ireland
1 review
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service from start to finish! Nice drink at the bar, escorted to a lovely table,attentive but subtle service! Excellent food!

The Cinnamon Club
Responded 4 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with regards to the experience you had at The Cinnamon Club. We are glad that you had a great time . We have passed the feedback to the kitchen team We look forward to welcoming you back at the Cinnamon Club. Thank you Team Cinnamon Club Regards, Team Cinnamon Club

Report
RT
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

This is a very classy Indian cuisine experience

AC
New England
16 reviews
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience4

Service was quite slow and inattentive.

MF
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Waited over an hour for a table we had reserved. Finally sat down and they had a prix fixe menu at 100£ / person for the evening, which they didn’t tell us when we made the reservation. Asked the people next to us if it was worth it and they said the food was average and the service was very slow. We left immediately without eating.

OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall3food5service2ambience5

Waited over 1.5 hours to be seated. Restaurant was clearly in crisis on ability to deliver, everything was painfully slow. Once we got the food- it was amazing, and the waiter was truly doing everything he could.

C
London
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall1food5service1ambience1

Unfortunately visit fell well below expectations somewhat ruining our valentines celebration. The food was exceptional but the service was out of this world and not in a good way.

On an evening with a set menu you would expect that service would be simplified, smooth and be of a high standard. Unfortunately on this evening the restaurant staff were largely made up of casual agency staff, who continually walked through the dining area indiscreetly asking I assume the regular staff the locations tables and occasionally dropping cutlery, plates and whole trays, one of which, a tray of drinks on this occasion was dropped on my back and with no eye contact or any attempt at an apology being made. The girl just continued to pick up the broken glass, handed me a napkin and carried on about her evening. For clarification this was a full tray of drinks and after 30minutes passing and with my shirt still sodden I brought this to the attention a suited waiter who apologised because they had a lot of issues agency staff that evening.

Our aperitifs and amuse bouche also didn’t arrive without asking and the general atmosphere was one of tension as numerous dinners periodically voiced their frustrations with the experience.

Also worth noting is the decor in the basement bar was and looked very cheap and chintzy, faux sheep skin rugs and canned spray twigs set around stained seats was below the level of refinement I had hoped for my wife.

In summary the food is excellent as were the regular staff and if you were to go on a standard midweek evening with mid level clients I’m sure the experience would be more positive and the level of service as expected. Though for more refined Indian dining with partners or clients I would highly recommend Benares which delivers on food, service, ambiance and value - unfortunately everything that was missing from our trip to The Cinnamon Club

s
London
10 reviews
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience4

The Valentine's Day tasting menu was not, frankly, up to the quality of food we have come to expect from the Cinnamon Club, having eaten there many times before. At £100 per head, we did not consider it to be good value for money. The wine we ordered, a Gruner Veltliner, was priced at £56 per bottle - which was a shame, since it was only average, and the same wine is available from any supermarket at £8 - 10!

SH
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience3

The staff were overstretched at this Valentine's Night event. For example, the aperitif arrived after the wine we had ordered and at the end of the meal we waited half an hour from the dessert plates being cleared for the waiter to come and ask if we wanted anything else. In the end, as no one appeared, one of us went to find the waiter to order coffee.
The food itself was very nice, but the poor service was not good enough for the price we were paying.

B
Bristol
10 reviews
Dined on 12 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Most enjoyable evening

s
1 review
Dined on 12 February 2020
Overall1food3service2ambience2

Poor service. The host was visibly annoyed we did not order cocktails and we sat with no water for over half an hour. Very noisy. Food unremarkable in every way.

F
London
10 reviews
Dined on 12 February 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Food very good, service likewise, calm and smart environment, I was rather impressed and worked very well for a smart, non-stuffy, business lunch.

DM
London
1 review
Dined on 12 February 2020
Overall5food5service3ambience4

Hi
The lunchtime set menu is excellent and good value for money. We enjoyed it so much on our 3rd return visit.

SJ
London
1 review
Dined on 9 February 2020
Overall2food3service2ambience1

A really disappointing evening, from the moment we walked in to the front of house, we should have known, and left, the two girls on reception were busy occupying themselves, who needs customers ??
The restaurant looks amazing, decor fantastic. I saw the head chef on the tv (Vivek Singh) and thought he was so talented, and passionate about his food, so the next time I went down to London, this was where I wanted to eat.
The main waiter was on the ball, trying to keep the others in some kind of order, the restaurant was quiet, so that can’t be used as an excuse, one of the courses was placed in front of us, ( we had the tasting menu ) and the waiter just left without any explanation as to what the course was.
The food was all ok, nothing stood out as being memorable, looks great on the website, again so disappointing.
We paid the bill and I made a point of speaking to the front of house staff on leaving the restaurant, again they were pre-occupied, my husband asked me why I bothered.

KW
1 review
Dined on 9 February 2020
Overall2food4service2ambience2

Delicious food, though some of the dishes were too cold, but service far below current London standard - long waiting periods, no smiles, automated expressions of "interest". Maybe at dinner the ambiance is better, but Sunday lunch was rather on the cold and empty side. Would neither recommend nor visit again.

JS
1 review
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience5

It was a lovely evening enjoying delicious, 5 stars meal. The restaurant was beautiful and it wasn’t noisy at all considering the fact that it was full. However, the service wasn’t the best - we booked a table for 8pm but only served at 8:40.

CB
London
1 review
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall2food3service2ambience2

Table wasn't ready on arrival.
We were placed in a side room not in the library where we expected to be.
There was a large party of 10-12 near us and it got very noisy and impossible to have a conversation at times.
Took the staff about 20 minutes to get water.
We had the tasting menu which was ok but nothing great.

C
London
1 review
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall3food5service1ambience4

Food lovely but service very poor and not at all attentive.

E
Miami
6 reviews
Dined on 7 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time and didn’t disappoint. The food was incredible, lots of vegetarian options! My favorites though had to be the smoked chicken breast with tikka rilletes, and the lamb mince. The salted caramel tart was absolutely sinful! Will definitely go again.

The Cinnamon Club
Responded on 10 February 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback with regards to your experience at the Cinnamon Club. I am glad that you enjoyed the food as well as you were able to have a varied choice of vegetarian options. I have passed your feedback to the kitchen team. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Cinnamon Club. Regards, Team Cinnamon Club

Report
TE
Buckinghamshire
20 reviews
Dined on 7 February 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Great location. Nice atmosphere. Splendid food but the service was not quite as good as the cuisine. Food arrived quickly but attention to detail around starters and desserts was not quite up to scratch. On balance though the food won as it was a tasty and interesting as it usually is. Always a pleasure to enjoy the menu here.

TW
Kent
1 review
Dined on 6 February 2020
Overall1food4service1ambience3

The service was sooooo bad!
Table wasn’t ready the girl on reception clearly didn’t want to be there.
Food was delicious but only just warm.
Not what I was expecting and very embarrassing as was entertaining clients!

RW
1 review
Dined on 6 February 2020
Overall2food4service1ambience2

We arrived at the restaurant at the booked time of 8pm and was asked if we would like to go and have a drink in the bar as our table wasn’t ready yet. We took a seat in the bar and waited at least five minutes before we were asked what we would like to drink, ten minutes late the waiter came back to say that they had run out of one of our choices so we re ordered. There were around three other groups in the bar and two of those had to go and ask where their drinks were.
After forty minutes no one had been to say that our table was ready and bare in mind that you state that the table is reserved for ninety minutes, so only fifty remaining to have dinner, we went to reception and miraculously our table had just been made available, with I might add no apology.
The service wasn’t much better in the restaurant. We had ordered dessert and the waiter brought the required cutlery, and after around fifteen minutes the same waiter came by and noticed with a questioning expression that our desserts hadn’t arrived so he went to investigate.
It was 10.45pm before we left the restaurant and we would have liked to have got back to Islington for a final drink before going back to our hotel, unfortunately the pubs were closed.
Overall a very disappointing evening and were so looking forward to it. We had better meals and service in the neighbourhood restaurants and at half the cost. The lesson has been learned that it’s better to support the local restaurants who have to work at it than those who think they can get away with it.

DB
London
41 reviews
Dined on 6 February 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience5

Lovely venue, but service was all over the place for the first 20 minutes (but then settled down). Food (at their price point) was ‘ok’ - relying on heavy spice rather than flavour. The mushroom main course was especially questionable.
Wines look ambitiously priced for what they were - even by London standards.

S
London
3 reviews
Dined on 5 February 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

The Starter was delicious, main was cold in the middle and tepid at best, dessert was nice, but not as described. Service started out great, but dropped off after our starter was served and we spent most of the evening with empty glasses. (They didn’t leave the bottle of wine at our table for some reason as they did for other tables). Our main was cleared and when my partner mentioned it was not the best the waiter didn’t seem to care and also didn’t offer to refill our glasses or offer to bring the dessert menu. We shan’t be returning and certainly won’t be recommending to anyone.

W
London
11 reviews
Dined on 5 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

excellent meal - it had been a while. It was a friends birthday treat with a few of us joining and everyone enjoyed the dinner

The Cinnamon Club
Responded on 10 February 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with regards to the experience you had at The Cinnamon Club. We are glad that you had a great time celebrating your friend's birthday treat. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Cinnamon Club. Regards, Team Cinnamon Club

Report
R
Chicago
1 review
Dined on 2 February 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience1

Poor options at Menu and Poor attention ( rude waiter)

T
London
2 reviews
Dined on 1 February 2020
Overall3food5service1ambience3

The service was horrendous. There weren’t even napkins at the table when we arrived. We had to wait over 30 mins between courses. We have a 9:30pm booking and we didn’t leave until 11:30pm.

l
1 review
Dined on 1 February 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Too noisy , very expensive compare to the quality of the meals, the service is poor.

SJ
1 review
Dined on 1 February 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Service was haphazard & slow. Starters were lukewarm which was a shame as the flavours were good. Sent both main courses back as they were cold. Waiter left the only hot fish on the table so this had gone cold by the time our replacement main courses arrived.
We didn’t bother with pudding or coffee.
When I booked I had highlighted this was a 50th birthday dinner, I also called to reconfirm a few days prior & reiterated this was a celebration dinner & that I’d appreciate a lovely table - no acknowledgement of this was made at any point during our time there & our table was just the standard table for 2. Very disappointing evening & I wouldn’t go there again - far better Indian restaurants in London to go to instead

W
London
5 reviews
Dined on 1 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent quality food tried the tasting menu and wines all fantastic we will return.

The Cinnamon Club
Responded on 10 February 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time and sharing your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our tasting menu as well as the choices of wines We look forward welcoming you soon. Regards, Team Cinnamon club.

Report
v
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 31 January 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience4

The starter was excellent but the main course left much to be desired. Service was hurried and a bit pushy. A "lets put through as many as we can in the shortest time possible" attitude. Definitely not worth the rather hefty prices.

OT
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 31 January 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Lovrly dinner for Birthday of our twins!

The Cinnamon Club
Responded on 10 February 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback We are glad that you chose our restaurant to celebrate your kids Birthday We look forward welcoming you. Regards, Team Cinnamon club.

Report
SN
London
8 reviews
Dined on 30 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely food and excellent service

The Cinnamon Club
Responded on 10 February 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your lovely feedback We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality. Regards, Team Cinnamon club

Report