The Classroom

4.5
349 reviews
£26 to £40
British
At The Classroom, our philosophy is simple. Quality ingredients sourced locally, while at the height of their season, and delivered to your table with a smile.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 349 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
LV
LindaV
North Scotland
7 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We had a lovely meal. Granddaughters enjoyed their mocktails. Ambience very good as usual. The waitress was excellent.

The Classroom
Responded a day ago

Hi LindaV, Thank you for leaving us a great review! We really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. :)

Report
AM
AndyM
North Scotland
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

This was our third visit also our first for an evening meal. As expected we were not disappointed as both the quality of food and service were first class. It will be our go to place for food from now on.

The Classroom
Responded a day ago

Hi AndyM, Thank you for leaving us a great 5-star review! We are happy to. hear you enjoyed your evening meal with us and I will be more than happy to pass on your kind comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. :)

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Glasgow
4 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Service was excellent

The Classroom
Responded a day ago

Hello, Thank you for leaving us a great review! :)

Report
DK
vipDavidK
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience3

We eat here regularly and are getting menu burn out.
Thought anew menu would come in new year but we’re disappointed with the tinkering of the pre Xmas menu.

The Classroom
Responded 16 hours ago

Hi DavidK, Thank you for leaving us a review and some honest feedback. We currently have a 2 course set menu running alongside our regular lunch and dinner menu's, available Monday to Thursday, which highlights some new ideas and dishes. Hopefully you will be able to try out some of these until our new menu is ready to launch.

Report
K
Kaya
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful meal with great service. Couldn’t fault anything. Lovely atmosphere.

The Classroom
Responded a day ago

Hi Kaya, Thank you for leaving us a great 5-star review! :)

Report
GF
GordonF
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Staff very friendly and efficient. Nice place to meet and catch up with friends. Good menu. Garlic bread is delicious.

The Classroom
Responded 5 days ago

Hi GordonF, Thank you for leaving us a lovely review! We really appreciate it and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. :)

Report
G
Guest
Spain
1 review
Dined on 8 January 2022
Overall3food3service3ambience4

We found the Classroom as an average wine bar with reasonable food, service wasn't particular out there as great, disappointed in my fillet steak half the thickness of a normal fillet, presentation was disappointing, however they did oblige with serving a blue cheese sauce that wasn't on the menu, good enough for a afternoon lunch.

The Classroom
Responded 2 days ago

Hello, Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent visit to The Classroom. We're disappointed you found our food and service average as we aim to give everybody an excellent experience! We look forward to seeing you again so we can show you the fantastic food and service we strive for :)

Report
JS
JennaS
North Scotland
1 review
Dined on 4 January 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We had a girls lunch, cocktails and drinks and stayed from 1pm until 8pm. The food was beautifully prepared and absolutely value for money. We were waited on by lovely staff and the man serving us never let our drinks go down and continued to top us up throughout the day. We were also pleased with our bill it was so reasonable for the amount of time we stayed. Will definitley be back. Thank you

The Classroom
Responded on 6 January 2022

Hello JennaS, Thank you for leaving us a great 5-star review! We really appreciate it and are happy to hear you enjoyed your catch up with your friends with us at The Classroom! We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon for more catch-ups and cocktails. :)

Report
TR
TraceyR
North Scotland
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2021
Overall5food4service4ambience4

Lovely meal, attentive staff. Enjoyed our evening on NY Eve.

The Classroom
Responded on 3 January 2022

Hi TraceyR, Thank you for leaving us a great 5-star review! :)

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Arrived with a warm welcome for a meal on Hogmanay. All staff were very welcoming and all made extra efforts to ensure we had a good time. The food was amazing - really tasty and good quality, we had the duck special and Thai bowl followed but 2 sweets. The cocktails were also really good with a wide range. We ended up staying longer than planned to have a few more cocktails and shots. We look forward to returning for a end of month treat with family.

The Classroom
Responded on 3 January 2022

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great 5-star review! We really appreciate it and are happy to hear you enjoyed our duck special and marinated pad thai bowl followed by desserts and cocktails! We look forward to welcoming you back again at the end of the month with your family. :)

Report
I
Ibbi
Glasgow
1 review
Dined on 28 December 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience4

We waited an hour before we got our order and food... and we were time limited as my friends needed to be at the airport at 1530

The Classroom
Responded on 31 December 2021

Hi Ibbi, I'm disappointed you had a long wait during your recent visit with us. Would you be able to send me more details regarding your visit so I can find out exactly what happened? You can contact me directly at info@theclassroombistro.co.uk Thanks and apologies.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 28 December 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service , busy and glad we’d booked too ! Food as amazing as always.

The Classroom
Responded on 30 December 2021

Hello, Thank you for leaving us a 5-star review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our food and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. :)

Report
m
malcolmj
Inverness
1 review
Dined on 24 December 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

All enjoyed a very nice meal
Good service
Good atmosphere

The Classroom
Responded on 30 December 2021

Hi malcolmj, Thank you for leaving us a lovely review. We really appreciate it! :)

Report
H
Happy
1 review
Dined on 23 December 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Lovely food and staff wonderful but such slow service unfortunately.

The Classroom
Responded on 26 December 2021

Hi Happy, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the food and were looked after by our team. I'm disappointed you felt the service was slow, our dishes are cooked to order so this may cause a delay, especially on busy nights. We hope you will pay us another visit in the new year. Thank you and we hope you had a good Christmas :)

Report
RD
RebeccaD
North Scotland
1 review
Dined on 23 December 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service and amazing food. Never disappointed when coming for a meal and drinks.

OT
OpenTable Diner
North Scotland
3 reviews
Dined on 21 December 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The staff were warm and welcoming

The menu was excellent.

The food was even better

The Classroom
Responded on 23 December 2021

Hello, Thank you for leaving us a great 5-star review! We really appreciate it! :)

Report
D
Dottycake
1 review
Dined on 20 December 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Lovely food and lovely atmosphere. Service was a little slow, but with everything going on, understandable.
Waitress was lovely.

The Classroom
Responded on 23 December 2021

Hi Dottycake, Thank you for leaving us a lovely review. We appreciate your understanding during these strange times but are happy to hear you enjoyed our food. :)

Report
JS
JoyS
1 review
Dined on 14 December 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service and excellent meal. A lovely lunch in lovely surroundings. Highly recommend X

The Classroom
Responded on 16 December 2021

Hi JoyS, Thank you for leaving us a great 5-star review! We really appreciate your kind words and are happy to hear you had a lovely lunch with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. :)

Report
AH
AnneH
1 review
Dined on 12 December 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

4 of us came here on a December evening to celebrate my daughter’s birthday. Excellent food and a wide choice. The ability to mix and match the Christmas and ‘regular’ menus was appreciated. I had chicken liver pate as a starter and then a buttery apricoty chicken dish with cous cous and pomegranate and it was delicious. We all had starters so sadly no room for dessert. Good value at under £30 a head including soft drinks.

The Classroom
Responded on 13 December 2021

Hi AnneH, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great 5-star review! We really appreciate it and are happy to hear you enjoyed your evening celebrating your daughters birthday with us. I will be more than happy to pass on your lovely comments back to the chefs and team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to maybe try our delicious desserts. ;)

Report
J
Johnny
North Scotland
1 review
Dined on 11 December 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great restaurant, great food, highly recommend to anyone

The Classroom
Responded on 12 December 2021

Hi Johnny, Thanks for leaving such a fantastic review and recommendation!

Report
PS
PaulaS
1 review
Dined on 11 December 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience2

Food was not as good as last time we visited. Menu changed and food was disappointing

The Classroom
Responded on 13 December 2021

Hi PaulaS, I'm sad to hear you didn't enjoy your meal as much as previous visits. We currently have a very popular festive menu to go alongside our dinner menu. Hopefully on your next visit you will find something more to your liking. Thank you for the review and feedback.

Report
a
alisonr
1 review
Dined on 11 December 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Quick service and staff very friendly and attentive...food was freshly made and all enjoyed it .....

The Classroom
Responded on 12 December 2021

Hi alisonr, We are delighted you all enjoyed your time at The Classroom. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review :)

Report
SM
SMAL
Inverness
2 reviews
Dined on 9 December 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Really nice food and was surprisingly quiet for that time of year. We were told it was a bit pricey but the portions are quite big so I wouldn't say it's expensive for the size and quality of the dish.

The Classroom
Responded on 12 December 2021

Hi SMAL, Thank you for leaving us a review! We aim to provide the best quality food and drink we can. We are delighted you enjoyed the quality and portion size.

Report
BM
BevM
1 review
Dined on 6 December 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience4

Food was good, service was not the best seemed to get a lot of orders mixed up. Not all of our 4 dishes came at the same time.

The Classroom
Responded on 10 December 2021

Hello BevM, Thank you for leaving us a review. I apologise your service didn't run as smoothly as we expect. We certainly don't want to allow this to happen again and appreciate the feedback. We look forward to seeing you in The Classroom again soon.

Report
GC
GordonC
Aberdeen
1 review
Dined on 4 December 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and great drinks in a great setting.

The Classroom
Responded on 7 December 2021

Hi GordonC, Thank you for leaving such a great review!

Report
L
Lewis
Inverness
1 review
Dined on 4 December 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Was disappointed with my main meal frozen chips and frozen onion rings. At a cost of over £27 . I would expect this in a weatherspoons.

The Classroom
Responded on 7 December 2021

Hi Lewis, I'm disappointed you didn't enjoy your meal with us. Thank you for leaving a review and giving feedback.

Report
PT
PearTree
1 review
Dined on 4 December 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Gorgeous food, gorgeous cocktails, we had the best night and we'll be back!

The Classroom
Responded on 7 December 2021

Hi PearTree, I'm delighted to hear you had such a good time with us, we can't wait to welcome you back! Thank you for leaving such a good review.

Report
MT
MatthewT
Inverness
1 review
Dined on 30 November 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was better than we expected, beer was very good and service friendly.

The Classroom
Responded on 2 December 2021

Hello MatthewT, Thank you for leaving us a lovely 5-star review! We really appreciate it! :)

Report
J
Jeremy
London
1 review
Dined on 30 November 2021
Overall3food5service2ambience4

The food was amazing however it took over 40 minutes for our order of 3 meals to arrive. The restaurant was no more than half full & as it was such a long wait, I would have expected someone to come over to explain the delay but that didn’t happen & there was no apology when the food did eventually arrive.
When we asked for the bill, we asked for it to be split so that we each paid for what we’d had. However, even though the waitress agreed that this could be done, when the bill arrived it was for all 3 meals & drinks & we had to split it ourselves. Not a big issue & if we’d been told that it wasn’t possible to split it, we would’ve understood.
Overall, the food was fantastic but was let down by under par service.

The Classroom
Responded on 4 December 2021

Hi Jeremy, Thank you for leaving us a review. I can only apologise for the wait your party had receiving your meals, food is cooked to order so sometimes there can be a delay, however, I agree somebody should have come over to explain the situation to your table. I will do some training with the staff to prevent this happening again. I hope you will pay us another visit and experience the exceptional service we strive for.

Report
CC
ChristineC
North Scotland
1 review
Dined on 30 November 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Second time for me at the Classroom recommend good food girls very pleasant pleased with the service

The Classroom
Responded on 2 December 2021

Hi ChristineC, Thank you for leaving us a lovely review! We really appreciate it! :)

Report
CD
ColinD
1 review
Dined on 30 November 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience5

The food was superb, even excellent, however the service was exceptionally slow.

The Classroom
Responded on 4 December 2021

Hi ColinD, Thank you for leaving us a 5-star review! I am disappointed to hear you found the service slow and can assure you this is not our usual standard. We hope to see you back in The Classroom soon :)

Report
MN
MairiN
1 review
Dined on 27 November 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience2

Son asked for plain burger which was served with various toppings & another of the party was disappointed with the “steak” burger as the description didn’t match what was served & ended up having a chip butty. Tables very close together. Had booked for older sons birthday & overall disappointed with food Quality & this cost based on previous visits.

The Classroom
Responded on 4 December 2021

Hi MairiN, I'm disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to The Classroom. It appears there was a miscommunication regarding your parties order and for this I apologise. We hope you will pay us another visit to give us an opportunity to show you the fantastic customer experience we aim for.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
North Scotland
2 reviews
Dined on 27 November 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Great service, friendly & helpful waiting staff. Enjoyable experience 😊

The Classroom
Responded on 29 November 2021

Hello, Thank you for leaving us a great review! We really appreciate it! :)

Report
CG
ColinG
1 review
Dined on 25 November 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic meal in a great setting. All the staff were friendly and professional and I would have no hesitation in recommending the classroom to friends and family.

The Classroom
Responded on 29 November 2021

Hi ColinG, Thank you for leaving us a great 5-star review! We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report
L
Louise
London
1 review
Dined on 25 November 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great vegan options, lovely atmosphere, friendly service

The Classroom
Responded on 29 November 2021

Hello Louise, Thank you for leaving us a lovely 5-star review! We really appreciate it and are happy to hear you enjoyed our vegan options. :)

Report
CB
CharlieB
North Scotland
3 reviews
Dined on 25 November 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food and drink was very good and the reduction in the price was a great help too. Will be back for sure.

The Classroom
Responded on 29 November 2021

Hello CharlieB, Thank you for leaving us a lovely review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Eat Out To Help Out offer during your visit! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. :)

Report
BO
BrendaO
North Scotland
1 review
Dined on 24 November 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was amazing. Staff were lovely. A really nice restaurant, would definitely go back.

The Classroom
Responded on 29 November 2021

Hello BrendaO, Thank you for leaving us a great 5-star review! :)

Report
AW
ArthurW
Inverness
1 review
Dined on 24 November 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Food/plates nice and hot.
Welcoming dog treats and water dish.

The Classroom
Responded on 29 November 2021

Hi ArthurW, Thank you for leaving us a lovely review! We really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you and your dog back again soon. :)

Report
TM
TerryM
1 review
Dined on 23 November 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Good food, even better with the £10 eat out deal and great service

The Classroom
Responded on 25 November 2021

Hi TerryM, Thank you for leaving us a great review! The Eat Out To Help Out offer will be ending Tuesday 30th November so make sure you pop by to take advantage of this great deal! :)

Report
SS
SheelaghS
North Scotland
1 review
Dined on 23 November 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The food was very good. Great range of dishes to order and beautifully presented.

The Classroom
Responded on 25 November 2021

Hi SheelaghS, Thank you for leaving us a lovely review! We really appreciate it :)

Report

FAQs

The Classroom offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 01667 455999.

The Classroom is rated 4.5 stars by 349 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.