The Coal Shed London

4.2
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
687 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British

Top tags:

Pre/post Theatre
The Coal Shed Restaurant London is located at One Tower Bridge on the banks of the River Thames. The Coal Shed was born from the love of cooking the finest meat and seafood over fire.

Open seven days a week, the restaurant uses the highest quality ingredients, sourced as locally as possible. Try the 35-day aged sharing steaks or the South Coast sharing fish for a dining experience to remember.

The Coal Shed London, occupies two floors and a bar for pre and post dinner drinks and cocktails expertly crafted. If you want to host your own event, there is a private dining room on the mezzanine or the restaurant can be exclusively hired for any type of occasion.

Special Offers

London Restaurant Festival: Surf ‘n’ Turf Sharer £45pp

Enjoy the Coal Shed twist on the classic surf ‘n’ turf with a sharing platter of Crayfish boil with smoked beef short ribs, corn-on-the-cob, iceberg, blue cheese & bacon salad, beef dripping chips.
Followed by a delicious pear tatin with cinnamon ice cream.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 2 - 6 people

Starts: 1 October 2019

Ends: 31 October 2019

Availability: Mon-Fri 12:00-16:00 18:00-22:00

What 687 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
SA
London
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 2ambience 3

Food was good service was a bit hit and miss

JK
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

There were 4 of us and had great starters and shared a porterhouse cut which was really good and impressed my guests. Wine recommended was good. The service was not attentive at all... we had to get servers to get our wine order after waiting for 15mins. Also, we had to request serving spoons for sauces and to clear our table for dessert. I felt that we do not need to keep flagging our hand so many times during the meal. Didn’t want to pay for the service charge, but because I was hosting and didnt want to make a fuss with my guests around. But food experience was great.

CA
London
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful food & service. The best Sunday roast we have ever eaten. All good and drinks were beautiful and the staff were so helpful with special dietary needs. Will definitely be having a return visit on our next trip to London

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 2food 3service 3ambience 3

Some items on menu were not available even the peppercorn sauce which I could make in 5 mins!
Disappointing

SJ
Surrey
16 reviews
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

First visit to The Coal She'd and it won't be the last. The menu choice were valued and fairly priced.
The food was fantastic, I had scallops (topped with bacon jam crumb) followed by cod in a caper butter and pine nut sauce, delicious. I even managed a dessert. Hot chocolate cookie with ice cream. There were 6 of us, we all had 3 courses and 3 bottles of red, 1 white and 2 dessert wine, £80 each, amazing.
We will be back ❤️

BJ
London
2 reviews
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had a very nice meal with the fish special for two people served with mussels and clams in a spicy sauce. The wine was delicious and perfectly chilled. Service outstanding.

AE
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 4

Unfortunately disappointed with this experience. Food was not good as thought. Starter was very different than described on the menu. Had a grilled prawns -supposedly and only had 2 prawns in it but was more like a seafood platter which was not expected. Had a distinctive curried taste which was very bizarre. Steak was ok but nothing spectacular as expected. After all I could have a better meal elsewhere for the price paid. I booked it after watching it on the Masterchef but deeply disappointed. Not recommend to anybody.

AP
London
8 reviews
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Good menu and the smoked tomato Bloody Maria is a must. Food very tasty but a bit cold when it arrived. Something a bit different from the major chains.

M
London
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 3

Very long waiting time. Average food, quite fatty with little balance

AR
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service, Great food, great atmosphere. Will be going back as soon as we can.

GF
1 review
Dined on 10 September 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

We went to the Coal Shed after seeing the restaurant on Masterchef. Our expectations were high. The staff were very polite and helpful, this was let down by the dining room which was very average. The food was good, however we were expecting some of the dishes featured on masterchef.

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 14 September 2019

Dear Gerard, Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am glad that you liked the food and service. We are changing our menu quarterly, according to the season so our chefs can work with fresh and high quality ingredients. I am sorry that dishes that you had were not featured on master chef, however we have various selections of special meats and fishes every day. I hope seeing you again in the future! Best regards Lina

Report
PP
1 review
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Took my girlfriend and 8 year old daughter for a Sunday roast, my daughter loves had the steak, she loves it at home and i wanted her to try it in a restaurant.
None of us were disappointed.
We will be back...

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 11 September 2019

Dear Paul, Thanks for leaving a fantastic review. I am very pleased that you and your family enjoyed experience with us. We all are looking forward welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Lina

Report
OT
London
8 reviews
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Loved the sunday roast option. It was absolutely incredible

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely food, great service!

F
London
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 1food 3service 1ambience 2

very poor. Didn't have many items on the menu ( including really easy things like cruditee). service overpowering bordering on rude. Toliets not clean. hardly any sauce for one person in the small serving dish. experience not good - seemed like a restaurant that was struggling -

JF
London
3 reviews
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely evening great food
Rather loud to begin with ( noisy drunken women )
However much better once they left !
Not rushed at all
Rather expensive

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 11 September 2019

Hi Julie, Thanks for leaving amazing review. I am happy to read you enjoyed the experience. I am sorry that your evening was disturbed by other guests. This is not normal at our restaurant, however we had a hen night :) Hope to see you soon! Best regards, Lina

Report
TW
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

A slightly restricted menu for Saturday lunch the a la carte not being available. Mains were good but could have more vegetable accompaniment. One of our party had a very disappointing summer pudding but this was dealt with very promptly and deducted from the bill. The staff were very attentive and friendly and the atmosphere pleasant.

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 14 September 2019

Dear Timothy, Thank you for taking time to write a review. Let me take this opportunity to announce that we launched new A la carte and dessert menu this Wednesday. It is also available for Saturday brunch. I sincerely hope seeing you again to try our new autumn menu! Best regards, Lina

Report
LA
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall 4food 3service 2ambience 4

Gorgeous building and lovely food (the rib-eye steak and chocolate coals for dessert were especially delicious) but we found the table service a bit disappointing and they had run out of chips at 8.40 on a Friday night and seemed to think that was normal!

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 11 September 2019

Dear Lucy, I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the food at our restaurant. Let me apologize regarding the chips. We don't usually run out of items and I am sorry it happened at your expense. I hope to see you again in the nearest future Best regards, Lina

Report
MJ
Brighton
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic service and very happy with ambience, steak was lovely as were sides!

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 11 September 2019

Dear Maggie, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We can't wait welcoming you back again! Best regards, Lina

Report
A
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 3 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Amazing fillet steak...up there with the best I've ever had. Nice wine and good service.

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 6 September 2019

Dear Ashley, Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We are looking forward seeing you again! Best regards, Lina

Report
TJ
London
3 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Very nice steak (porterhouse) and very good service. Modern restaurant without any real ambience. Only irritation was quite a few fruit flies flying around!

S
London
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Friendly,efficient, knowledgable staff make the place special.
Good food, well cooked and presented.
A great place for a pre theatre meal

E
London
2 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 1

Food was delicious, beautifully presented and the staff were professional and helpful- BUT, the noise level was dreadful, exacerbated by the loud music. Hard surfaces don’t help. Sadly, although we would recommend the restaurant for the quality of food, we would have to add the caveat that earplugs are necessary.

OT
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on 30 August 2019
Overall 2food 2service 4ambience 2

4th time I’ve been to coal shed and normally I love it but this time I wasn’t overly impressed. They mixed up the cook of my steak and the seat we were at had fruit flies everywhere. Will give it another chance because the other times were great; hopefully this was a one off bad experience.

SG
Kent
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 2

No bearnaise sauce for the steak. Dry whole sea bream with no sauce. You have to pay extra for side dishes that are not very good. Appalling quality summer pudding. Not good value for money at all. Charge 12.5% service. Not impressed. Will not return

ZP
London
1 review
Dined on 23 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Had the steak and halibut, which both tasted delicious. Fish was fresh and marinated nicely. Steak was how it should be, without too much fanfare.

Good and friendly service too!

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 27 August 2019

Dear Zeph, Thank for your lovely comments. I am very glad you enjoyed the food at our restaurant. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Lina

Report
CL
Lincolnshire
1 review
Dined on 23 August 2019
Overall 4food 1service 4ambience 4

Four of had steak - two were good and two weren’t, they were fatty and chewy, disappointed.

M
London
5 reviews
Dined on 23 August 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 5

Cool place, nice atmosphere, good service. Ok food

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 27 August 2019

Hello Martin, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I am happy to read that you liked the restaurant. However, I am sorry that food was not up to your expectations. We are known for delicious sea food and steaks. I sincerely hope seeing you again for second try. Kind regards, Lina

Report
RA
London
2 reviews
Dined on 22 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

We really enjoyed a light meal before the theatre. The booking arrangements were very straightforward. The service was prompt and attentive but not obtrusive. The food was delicious.

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 27 August 2019

Dear Roger, Thank you for writing such a lovely review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed pre-theatre dinner with us. I sincerely hope seeing again in the future! Warmest regards, Lina

Report
JG
London
12 reviews
Dined on 20 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Picked the restaurant as was going to The Bridge theatre. So glad we did as the food was amazing and was great service from the staff too.

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 24 August 2019

Dear James, Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed our pre-theatre menu. Please, do not hesitate to visit us again. Best regards, Lina

Report
SK
London
1 review
Dined on 20 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Great choice for pre theatre supper. Really good food and well looked after by attentive staff. Highly recommended.

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 24 August 2019

Dear Susan, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are looking forward seeing you again in the future. Best regards, Lina

Report
NB
London
5 reviews
Dined on 18 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 3

The waiting staff are not the friendliest bunch, service could be improved. We bough this to the attention of the Wine waiter who was quite possibly the highlight of our evening, so informative and could only apologise on behalf of his colleagues. He took it upon himself to look after us for the rest of the evening and he completely turned the experience around - Thank you. We will be returning as the food is AMAZING!

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 24 August 2019

Dear Natalie, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We take our guests feedback very seriously and it has been addressed to staff members on duty. I will pass your lovely comments to our Restaurant manager and sommelier - Martin who was looking after you that night. We are looking forward welcoming you back to the restaurant in the future. Best regards, Lina

Report
MC
London
1 review
Dined on 18 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely food, lovely atmosphere and lovely service.

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 24 August 2019

Dear Maxine, I am very excited to read that you had great time at our restaurant! Please, come and visit us again in the future! Best regards, Lina

Report
RF
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Food very good, particularly excellent steaks and desserts. Prices were about what I'd expect for central London. Excellent service, friendly yet professional. Selection of wines by the glass was a bit limited, that's probably the only area for improvement we saw. Would happily go back.

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 24 August 2019

Dear Rod, Thank you for taking time to write a review. Let me assure you that our guests feedback is very important to us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the food and service at our restaurant. Regarding your comment on wines by the glass selection, I will personally pass it to our Bar manager and see how we can improve our wine menu. Best regards, Lina

Report
HT
London
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 3

Quite simply, the food is very good. I had a Jacob's ladder starter followed by the chicken dish with a side iceberg/bacon.blue cheese salad. All high quality and well presented. I didn't like our table (next to one of the waiting stations so we had a lot of movement next to us continually), and the wine per glass was v.expensive. Desert: I had the chocolate bar which was had to get in to as it was v.thick chocolate and v.cold, but the taste was dense and rich. There was a loud child who was rather grating until the group left, but otherwise the atmosphere was fine.

SQ
1 review
Dined on 16 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Yes, it was great and hugely convenient for the Bridge theatre. The only reason we rated service lower was that my friend ordered a white wine and got a red wine... things were very busy pre-theatre so he didn't want to mention it. Otherwise, lovely.

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 18 August 2019

Dear Susan, Firstly, let me thank you for taking your time write a review. I am happy that enjoyed our pre-theatre menu. However, I would like personally apologize for the mistake with your wine order. I hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards, Lina

Report
MH
1 review
Dined on 15 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

An outside table on a pleasant evening, front of house staff and waiters all very helpful, friendly and polite. Attentive without being intrusive.

The food was excellent but costly. Ordered fillet steak medium. It came out what I would call medium well but that's such a personal thing. It was really delicious, as were the perfect chips and the wilted spinach. The olives were lovely too.

The wine was decent but I got the absolute cheapest on offer. They could maybe do with offering more of a selection at the lower priced end of the range.

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 18 August 2019

Dear Marie, Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your experience at the Coal Shed. I will pass your feedback to Felice - the waiter who was looking after you. I bet he will be very happy. Sorry that we missed a mark with steak cooking temperature. I do hope to see you again and make your evening nothing but - perfect. Regards, Lina

Report
S
1 review
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

MY main issue with this restaurant is understaffing. It was a constant chore getting a waiter’s attention and we felt we were not taken care of. For the amount of money this restaurant charges, I would say they need to up their game.

Food was OK. Starters selection not so we thought out.

HE
London
3 reviews
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Lovely meal & great service - will definitely be back. Beautifully cooked sea bass & really helpful waiter - thank you.

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 16 August 2019

Dear Helent, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are looking forward welcoming back you soon! Regards, Lina

Report
OT
San Diego
2 reviews
Dined on 11 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely meal in a posh yet relaxed atmosphere.

The Coal Shed London
Responded on 16 August 2019

Dear Sir or Madam, I am very pleased hat you had wonderful time at our restaurant. I do hope to see again in the nearest future. Warm regards, Lina

Report
1
2
3
18