The Cricketers Warfield

4
509 reviews
£25 and under
British
The Pub The Cricketers is a country pub and dining rooms with a large beer garden and outdoor patio dining in the summer. The pub is a beautifully refurbished and extended early 19th century public house. Once known to the locals as “The Old Orchard House”, we really are a hidden gem on Cricketers Lane in Warfield, just a short drive from Ascot Racecourse, Legoland and Bracknell. We are family friendly and also happy to welcome dogs into our bar and garden areas as we always have a jar of dog treats in the porch. Whether you want to warm yourself in the sun outside in the summer with a glass of Pimms or enjoy a perfect pint of cask conditioned real ale in front of a real log fire in the winter, the Cricketers is the perfect place for a drink. If you are looking for a great venue for a family get together, a working lunch, special occasion or a light snack we’d love you to join us.
What 509 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.0
service
4.0
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
B
Blue
Buckinghamshire
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall2food1service1ambience2

Not for foodies. Maybe OK if just want drinks. Establishment was clean

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded 3 days ago

Hi Blue, we are sorry that the food let down your visit. It would be good to understand just what it was that you were unhappy with. Would you mind emailing us with a little more information at 1614@greeneking.co.uk? Thank you

Report
C
Chris
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Catch meal with a friend, sat outside from 5:30. Lovely warm evening. We both went for the lamb rump. This was fabulous, my friend agreed and I recommend it.

Also the portion size was spot on, not too little, not too much. Washed down with some cider. Will go again.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 10 September 2021

Hi Chris, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience! We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us so much and that yourself and your friend enjoyed the portion size and taste of your meals. We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Report
LB
LouiseB
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Our dining experience was fantastic as it was the first time we went there a couple years ago. The food was incredible and the service was wonderful. The staff all interracted with our 2 year old son and even gave him is own cutlery rather than handing to us (his parents) as most places do which was just a lovely touch.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 10 September 2021

Thank you for sharing your five star review, Louise. We're pleased we made both yourself and your son so welcome, it was a pleasure to have you both and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
SP
SarahP
Berkshire
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We sat outside on a sunny day, the service and food were excellent, a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

SL
SarahL
New Orleans
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2021
Overall2food1service4ambience3

Very very average food. Was expecting a lot better but then again the reviews did warn us. The staff were nice but Definitely won’t be returning.

A
Alice
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience2

My crab starter was awful, cut into it and grey water squirted out. Little to no crab in it either. All our roast dinners looked like they’d been sat on the hot plate all day. The gravy was like jelly. Little veg and the price for the extra sides was expensive for yet more food that wasn’t fresh. We then moved into the garden for a pudding which we waited about 30 minutes for to then discover it had been taken to the wrong table - where no one was even sat which was confusing. The table that was available to sit on in the garden buy the duck pond was broken on one side which is very unsafe for young children that we had with us. This was a very disappointing experience for an extremely special occasion - all for an unbelievable £210!!

JB
JoannaB24
Berkshire
3 reviews
Dined on 29 August 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

A lovely Sunday roast. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Good size portions and very tasty. A real treat not to cook for a change.

DC
DavidC
Berkshire
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent food as always, very friendly and efficient service.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 1 September 2021

Thanks for the 5 star review and great feedback.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 22 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and a lovely venue, will definitely be back.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 27 August 2021

Thanks for the five star review and great feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report
GD
GeraldD
Berkshire
1 review
Dined on 8 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely place in a beautiful setting
Food was excellent

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 17 August 2021

Thanks for the 5 stars and comments. Great to see you love what we do.

Report
JA
JenniferA
London
10 reviews
Dined on 7 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely restaurant, good food and service :-)

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 17 August 2021

Thanks for the 5 stars and great comments. Hope to see you back at the Cricks soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Berkshire
1 review
Dined on 6 August 2021
Overall1food3service2ambience1

Service was slow wait 25 minutes to get served and then another 20 to get a drink and finally got food at half none

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 17 August 2021

Thank you for the feedback. We are very sorry we got it wrong on this occasion and struggled with service times. We will look at levels of team we have at peak times and ensure we do not make this mistake twice.

Report
M
Mazza
1 review
Dined on 4 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fabulous lunch. Great tasty food and super friendly service.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 6 August 2021

Thanks for the 5 star review. Great to see you love what we do.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 1 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best roast I have ever had! Great service and lovely warm pub! Come regularly with my family and we all love it!

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 9 August 2021

Thanks for the great review. See you back at the Cricks soon.

Report
N
Nickk
Berkshire
3 reviews
Dined on 30 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Thanks to Shaun and Sharon & the kitchen team for a relaxed and enjoyable lunch. Steak sandwich very good in particular.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 2 August 2021

Thanks for the five star review. Sharon and Shaun will be pleased to read your comments. Glad to hear you loved the steak sandwich.

Report
RE
RachelE
1 review
Dined on 25 July 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

We really love the Cricketers and this was our first time back. The staff were fantastic and atmosphere was really lovely too, however the food wasn’t as good as it has been previously.

The puddings were fabulous however the Sunday roasts just were not up to their normal high standards. Still had a huge Yorkshire pud and they didn’t skimp on the meat however the roast potatoes and veg wasn’t great. Just a small side of cabbage and the roasties were not crispy or fluffy inside… The pigs in blankets and stuffing was also a bit weird, the stuffing was a sausage meat slice. That said, none of it was bad enough to send it back I just left a little disappointed.

I will go back, it could well have just been an off day, but perhaps I will give the roast a miss next time 😢

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 2 August 2021

Thank you for the review and comments. Sorry to hear your roast wasn’t up to scratch on this visit. We will pick up with the kitchen team and make sure we iron out these issues. We are however pleased that you will be returning as you know this is not our usual standards. Hope to see you back soon.

Report
L
Lullu
Berkshire
1 review
Dined on 18 July 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience2

10% service charge added to already pricey Sunday lunch...nearly £60 for two without alcohol or pudding so would not reccommend

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
9 reviews
Dined on 11 July 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Lovely pub in the country. Great food.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 28 July 2021

Thanks for the review. Great to hear you loved the food.

Report
SM
SteveM
Berkshire
7 reviews
Dined on 5 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent as always. Great food, great staff, great setting.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 13 July 2021

Thanks for the 5 star review. Great to hear you love what we do. Hope to see you back soon.

Report
EK
ElaineK
Norfolk
7 reviews
Dined on 3 July 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Family get together after covid
And reminiscing as used to live in Hayley green as children

SB
SeaBass24
1 review
Dined on 3 July 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Good food although Sea Bass portion was small. More vegetables needed please ! Beer was disappointing - I'm a member of CAMRA and I don't remember Knight of the Garter tasting like that when I last drank it.

Service was excellent but I don't like the practice of adding on 10% service charge. In fact I would have tipped more that 10% so they lost out there !

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 12 July 2021

Thanks for the review and feedback. Sorry to hear about the seabass and beer letting us down. However, good to see that overall you enjoyed your experience.

Report
W
Witchpig01
Berkshire
6 reviews
Dined on 28 June 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Could be slightly more choice for lunch sandwiches (3) …. Most people want a quick bite at lunchtime… i.e. a sandwich… so 5 choices would seem more appropriate.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 12 July 2021

Thank you for the feedback. We will take your comments onboard. Glad to see though that overall you enjoyed your experience.

Report
LM
LesleyM
Brighton
2 reviews
Dined on 27 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a wonderful time the food was lovely and staff were wonderful will definitely go back

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 28 June 2021

Thanks for the five stars and great feedback. The team will be chuffed to read your comments and really pleased you had a wonderful time.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 27 June 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Very good food. Excellent and attentive service

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 28 June 2021

Thank you for your comments and five star review.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Hampshire
2 reviews
Dined on 27 June 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience5

Food was super and it’s a lovely place to eat. They forgot out deserts so service could of been better. Over all very good.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 28 June 2021

Thank you for the review and comments. We are so sorry we forgot your desserts. We are really disappointed we let ourselves down with this. We aim to improve and get sharper on our service

Report
LM
LindseyM
Berkshire
1 review
Dined on 27 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was prompt and polite. The food was outstanding. The price is very reasonable for the value we received.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 28 June 2021

Thank you for the five star review and fantastic feedback. Always great to hear. Hope to see you back in soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Berkshire
1 review
Dined on 25 June 2021
Overall2food1service3ambience1

Ordered the Whitebait and Baby Squid as a starter, what came was not Whitebait bit something else and the baby squid was poor quality squid, both were greasy.

The mains we order were fish and chips which were okay, nothing special at all, you can probably get better fish from your local chippy. The chips that came were good though.

The other main was the short rib burger, this was terrible, the burger was cooked so long it was a tough as an old boot so when I finally could get the attention of a waitress I sent it back. The second one that came was cooked better, but I have to say the patty itself was thin and lacked much flavor at all.

Then came the service, the place was not super busy with people sitting down to eat, but as I mentioned it was difficult to get the attention of the waitress. Then when we had finished eating they did not come and collet the plates and no offer of dessert was asked and to play we had to go and ask for the bill.

My suggestion is call Gordon Ramsey to sort you out.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 28 June 2021

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and give us feedback from your experience. We are really sorry to hear we got it so wrong on this occasion on so many aspects. Both the front and back of house team will take your comments on board and work hard to put these issues right. We hope you give us another chance to see the improvements we have made without Ramsey's help.

Report
f
food
1 review
Dined on 20 June 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

good food, nice atmosphere, helpful and friendly waiters

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 24 June 2021

Thanks for the review and feedback. Although it’s great to see all really positive, next time we aim to make it a 5 star experience.

Report
KH
KeithH
1 review
Dined on 17 June 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We booked for a get together after 15 months of not being able to do so. The waitress service was friendly and helpful. We booked for inside but were able to sit outside with no problem. This establishment is in a quiet location and has plenty of garden space.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 21 June 2021

Thanks for the review and your comments. We are pleased to see that overall you had a good experience but next time we aim to make it a 5 star one.

Report
AL
AnnL
1 review
Dined on 13 June 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Food was really bad my family in sick after eat crap from this pub.
Never ever I will not visit and not recommend to anyone.

Service was really bad and food was very poor quality and expensive.
Not good at all

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 16 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to feedback. We are very disappointed to read your comments and of course very sorry you had such a poor experience. If you could email us personally at info@cricketerswarfield.co.uk we would really welcome the opportunity to go into more detail and get a better understanding of how it went so wrong on this occasion.

Report
P
vipPaula
London
2 reviews
Dined on 12 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing chicken liver pâté
Fab olace for kids

NB
NatalieB
1 review
Dined on 4 June 2021
Overall2food5service1ambience2

Having been here and had a fabulous meal last year, I was sad to see that albeit there seemed a fair few front of house we were not cared for. 25 mins to take our order, having to ask for menus and to order initial drinks. And bringing out our mains whilst starter played were on the table and not taking them! So we cleared them and they sat on the bench next to us all night. Saving grace was good was as wonderful as last time!

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 16 June 2021

Thank you for your comments. It sounds like the service really let us down and for that we are really sorry. We are pleased you have been before and had the opportunity to see the standard of service we always aim to achieve. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and hope you give us another opportunity to Wow you again. We will work hard and grow/strengthen our team to ensure we do not let this slip again.

Report
C
Crispin
London
2 reviews
Dined on 29 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

This is a great place to eat and drink. Really welcoming team and respectful of the safety measures required to make a visit as comfortable as possible.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 16 June 2021

Thanks for the 5 star review. We are really pleased we got it right on every level. We especially appreciate the Covid safety comments as we work hard daily to keep everyone safe.

Report
F
Foxy1
London
3 reviews
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely Sunday lunch thank you

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 16 June 2021

Thanks for the great review. We are really pleased you had a lovely Sunday lunch with us.

Report
P
Puddinggow
London
4 reviews
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience3

The pub is set in nice countryside with cows grazing in the adjacent field. Tables are nicely set apart outdoors and it’s quite a nice setting. We ordered a couple of starters, then waited and waited a long time for our mains. One of the servers did notice we were waiting and came over several times to tell us the mains were on the way Ana explained several other tables ordered only mains. I ordered fish and chips. The chips were good but really quite disappointing with my fish which initially looked nice was a very thin fillet of fish and not of any substance when you cut into it. The roast pork was ok but unfortunately the crackling was covered with gravy which rendered it no longer crispy, feedback from the roast beef was it was so-so. Everyone agreed the roast potatoes were the best part and the Yorkshire pudding and meat were so-so. Unfortunately the food just didn’t quite hit the spot.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 16 June 2021

Thank you for the feedback. Sorry the fish and roasts were not up to standard on your visit. We have fed back to the kitchen team and have ensured the issues you have raised have been resolved. There were a couple of quick fixes and others that we have spent more time to put right. We hope you give us another chance to see the improvements we have made.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Berkshire
5 reviews
Dined on 26 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent place and food is amazing . Staff go above and beyond and always go the extra mile .

GT
GaileT
Dorset
1 review
Dined on 25 April 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Well organised outdoor eating and drinking
Mostly lovely food, only disappointment was the sirloin steak from the specials menu, which was not cooked as requested and the chimichurri sauce was tasteless.
Cheerful helpful staff.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 28 April 2021

Thanks for the review. Sorry about the steak, we will look into your comments

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
5 reviews
Dined on 25 April 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Very overpriced - £18 for two small pieces of roast beef, three potatoes, half a carrot baton and a tablespoon of cabbage! Service was lovey and it’s nice to be back eating out but this level of poor value is too much.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 26 April 2021

Thank you for the review. We will take your comments around portion size on board. Great to hear the service was on point but we have work to do to perfect every aspect.

Report
NT
NinaT
Surrey
3 reviews
Dined on 25 April 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience3

Not enough vegetables , a little too much protein . Our waitress was excellent

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 28 April 2021

Thanks for the feedback. Just shout next time as we would be happy to bring out more. Sorry we didn't rectify this for you on the day.

Report
C
Coz128
London
1 review
Dined on 24 April 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Waited ages for food and when it came, it was awful and very overpriced. Bad service.

The Cricketers Warfield
Responded on 27 April 2021

Thanks for the feedback. Sorry for the delays. We are working on reducing our wait times.

Report

FAQs

The Cricketers Warfield does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo.

The Cricketers Warfield is rated 4 stars by 509 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.