This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitising, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

The Exmouth Arms

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
187 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Pub
Affectionately known as the exmouth, you’ll find us at the heart of the bustling Bath Road, Cheltenham. Whether you’re after a good glass of wine, a fine pint of Arkell’s ale or some great fresh pub food, you’ll find it here, plus lots more besides.

We pride ourselves on fresh simple pub food, using the best local suppliers. Food is served seven days a week, lunch and dinner. Please check our food service hours before reserving a table for dining.

Whether out for a bite with the family or meeting a friend for a pint in the garden, you'll always find a warm welcome at the exmouth.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 187 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
CD
CharlieD
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience1

We came in Saturday at 6 pm and we waited 25 minutes for a drink and we didn’t even get asked for a second drink for ages so we walked out not impressed

The Exmouth Arms
Responded 4 days ago

Charlie, thank you for your review following your visit on Saturday. We aim to get drinks out as quickly as possible, and whilst sometimes there is a bit of a wait at busy times, we do our upmost to correct this. Looking at our till history, I can see that you had your order taken and drinks delivered & cashed off within 10 minutes. I am sorry however if you didn't get the best service in being offered any more drinks. This is something we are working on to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Report
D
Dimples1
London
8 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I was too late for eating from the menu but I had a lovely slab of cake & a glass of wine.Staff as usual very welcoming & apologetic that I couldn’t order a meal,my fault not theirs. See you all soon.Keep Safe,Lyn Xx

JS
JudeS
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As always, great food and great service. Lovely varied lunchtime menu with something for everyone.

B
Billos
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 15 October 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Both my friends and I felt comfortable within the premises and the staff were attentive and friendly.

SC
SamC
1 review
Dined on 14 October 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The food was good the drinks were good and the pricing was fair. We were in the function room upstairs and it was a little quiet. Other than that it was an enjoyable experience.

LW
LorraineW
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 13 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We chose the beer batter fish and chips, with a delicious green salad. It was the best fish and chips we can remember eating. Will definitely recommend it. Great experience 👍😄

AF
AndrewF
1 review
Dined on 11 October 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Took quite a while for the food to come but was lovely when arrived

SF
StephenF
London
2 reviews
Dined on 9 October 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Easy to book a table online, well organised & a good focus on safety, very good friendly service, plenty of choice on the menu, very good food, excellent value for money.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 12 October 2020

Stephen, thank you for your lovely review. It's great you had such a fab visit with us, and you felt safe during your visit. We're looking forward to seeing you soon already :)

Report
IS
IanS
Gloucestershire
8 reviews
Dined on 8 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Friendly safe comfortable. Cheerful helpful staff.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 12 October 2020

Ian, thank you for your great review, I'm glad you felt safe and were looked after by the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report
EI
ElisabethI
Nashville
1 review
Dined on 6 October 2020
Overall2food1service5ambience4

No food after 2! Thats not exodcted for a bustly town like Cheltenham. Very disappointing as this wasnt made clear when booking online

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Thanks for your review Elisabeth, we do ask for customers to check our food service times before booking as our kitchen does close in the afternoon between 2.30pm and 5.30pm on weekdays. I am sorry that you didn't get to eat some lunch with us, but I do hope you'll return soon and give us another try!

Report
JR
JaneR
1 review
Dined on 6 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Good social distancing and cleaning of tables between customers.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Jane, thank you for your recent visit to us and such a great review. It's lovely to know that you felt our covid measures were good. That's what we strive for to make everyone feel safe and looked after. We do hope you will return and visit us again soon

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 6 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service. The staff are very socially aware and directed us to our table and explained that it was completely table service and to ask if we needed anything.

Food was delicious and freshly cooked.

A really good experience, with very friendly staff and excellent service, food and great value for money. Would not hesitate to recommend.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it's always so nice to read that you were well looked after by the team. I will ensure to pass your review on to all our staff, as it really boosts our staff morale! We can't wait to welcome you back again soon

Report
V
Vicky
London
2 reviews
Dined on 3 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Reasonably priced, good portion sizes, dogs allowed, spacious seating, great atmosphere of a friendly pub.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Vicky, thank you for your gracious review following your recent visit to us. It really means a lot to us, and we do hope you will come again and see us soon

Report
RB
RichardB
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 2 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Exmouth is really great, will be heading back there

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Richard, thank you for your review. We're glad you like us and will return soon, we kinda like us too :) We're looking forward to your next visit already

Report
SS
SarahS
London
3 reviews
Dined on 1 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was delicious and the staff very helpful and polite.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Thank you for your kind words Sarah, I'm glad you got to sample some of our delicious food, and that you were well looked after by the team. Great food and good service is what we strive for, and it's great this came across. We hope to see you soon

Report
AS
AnnS
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Indoor spaces out well, and plenty of seating outside

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Ann, thank you for your recent trip to the Exmouth. I'm glad you were looked after by the team, and that you thought we had sufficiently spaced out our tables inside. We do hope you will return and visit us again soon

Report
CD
ClaireD
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, quick service, lovely pub - no complaints at all

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Claire, thank you for your great review, wow! It's so nice to read you were looked after efficiently and that you got to try our yummy food. We do hope you will come back and see us again soon

Report
OH
OliviaH
Bath
1 review
Dined on 26 September 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Food cold and chicken over cooked. Staff slow on service and not helpful.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Olivia, I am sorry to read of your review following your visit to us recently. Your food should be served warm, and we should not have served over cooked chicken. We pride ourselves on great food, and good service, and clearly we let ourselves down on your visit to us, and I can only apologise. We have learnt a lot from your review, and we need to up our game, especially in todays situation. I do hope you will try us again so we can show you that we have improved and taken all comments on board.

Report
J
Jules
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 26 September 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Great atmosphere, lovely service, Would definitely return

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Jules, thank you for your recent review. It's great you had a lovely time on your visit and that you were clearly looked after by the team. I noticed you only gave us a 3 for our food, so any more feedback you had on this would be greatly appreciated so we can improve for next time.

Report
AH
AugustaH
London
1 review
Dined on 26 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The exmouth is an old favourite and has the advantage of a garden. My children love it too.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Augusta, thank you for your fantastic 5* review. I'm glad the Exmouth is a firm favourite in your household by adults and children alike. We're looking forward to your next visit already.

Report
GG
GaryG
Gloucestershire
4 reviews
Dined on 26 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is a super place for a meal, either inside or out.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Thank you for your kind words Gary, it's so heartwarming to read. We think the Exmouth is a pretty super place too :)

Report
SC
SCla
1 review
Dined on 25 September 2020
Overall4food4service2ambience3

The food was fine (not delicious, but good pub food), but the service was not great- we had to ask for drinks menus, food menus, and then when the food eventually came we had to ask for knives and forks too! We were ignored, but the place was nice. Won’t be going back in a hurry, but probably a great place for a pint

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to us, I am sorry to read of your review. Whilst the food was fine, it should have been great! And the service should also be great, which clearly it wasn't. We should be offering drinks straight away and you should have been asked before you were seated if you were eating with us, so we could have given you a menu then. Once your order was taken, you should have been laid up! We have a lot to learn, but I do hope you will try us again!

Report
SS
SharS
1 review
Dined on 25 September 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience2

The food we had was great and it was good value for money. They were very onboard with the social distancing rules and mask wearing.
However, the service was very poor. Despite there being an adequate amount of staff at the front of house, and not an overwhelming amount of customers, the service was slow. We had to ask someone how the table service worked as there were no indications as to whether there was an app or not. We also had to ask for menus to make our food choices. Once our initial drinks order took almost 20 minutes to arrive although food was out in a more reasonable time! The people serving tables were not very attentive at all and it sometimes felt like we were 'putting them out' in asking for something.
Overall, good food, poor service.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Shar, thank you for your recent review. Whilst it's great to read you had great food, and you felt the social distancing was well implemented, I can only apologise for the service. We pride ourselves on good service, and this wasn't the case. You should have been informed of our policies when you were greeted & sat down and asked whether you were looking to eat. We have a lot to learn from your review but I hope you will try us again and receive the service that you deserved.

Report
RC
RachelC
London
1 review
Dined on 25 September 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Need to book ahead, which we did. We had an indoor table. Very slow service and tricky to catch the eye of staff as always busy. Very good food, though the choc brownie needed ice cream or cream. Nice and quiet.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Rachel, thank you for your review, I am sorry to read that you received slow service and struggled to attract the attention of our staff. We should be as attentive and keeping and eye on tables to ensure food and drinks order are taken as quickly as possible, and to check back on tables. Clearly we need a bit more training on this even when we are busy, as everybody should be well looked after. I do hope you would give us another try and see that we have improved on your last visit.

Report
J
Jules
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 24 September 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Lovely food and staff friendly. Nice atmosphere. Only issue was my chair was a little rickety and uncomfortable!

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Jules, thank you for your review following your visit at the end of last month. I am glad you enjoyed your food and were looked after by our team. I am sorry that you found the chair uncomfortable, perhaps we need to take a look at some of them, but feedback like this helps us to :) Thank you, and hope to see you soon

Report
NP
NickPrice
Gloucestershire
3 reviews
Dined on 22 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

I love the Exmouth Arms been going there for years ....alway good food
Nick Price Cheltenham

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Nick, we love you too! Of course we do, thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you soon

Report
CB
ChrisB
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a meal outside. It was well organised and felt very safe - all ordering and payment at the table. Good spacing. We had the added advantage of a table part in shade (for my wife) and part in sun - for me!!

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Chris, thank you for your recent review. I am glad you felt comfortable and safe, and that you felt it was well organized. You got to be able to sit back and be looked after the team, what a great day, and it was truly our pleasure. Hopefully we will see you again soon

Report
CD
ChrisD
1 review
Dined on 20 September 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

A lovely outdoor space with lots of distance between tables, good service friendly staff enjoyed starters & mains Sunday roasts, lots of vegetables & good portions. Proper pub lunch in pub atmosphere. The pizza,s looked amazing not a pizza fan but watched them being prepared ( outside) & served which made us want to come back & try them.
All in all a lovely Sunday afternoon lunch & relax in the heart of Cheltenham

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Chris, thank you for your review. I am glad you got to try one of our yummy Sunday roasts, the lamb is slow cooked in our pizza oven, and we think it's divine, if we say so ourselves ;) Hopefully you can come back and try a pizza when you are next in! Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon

Report
JL
JaneL
Gloucestershire
3 reviews
Dined on 20 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really enjoyable lunch with great food, great food, excellent service. Very impressed with the attention to detail re Covid recommendations. Will be returning again soon.
Thanks to all the staff.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Jane, thank you for your great review. I am glad you enjoyed your food with us and you were looked after by the team. It's always nice to know that people think our covid measures are safe and that we have paid great attention to making this happen, so thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your next visit already.

Report
IG
IndiaGray
Oxford
2 reviews
Dined on 20 September 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Fantastic pizzas, nice coffee, friendly atmosphere and all at a great price.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Thank you for your lovely review India, what more could we ask for! We do think the pizzas are super yummy too but we know we are biased. We hope we will see you again soon

Report
AP
AnneP
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 19 September 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Are in the garden. Good pizzas, cold beer. Service a bit bit and miss.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 8 October 2020

Anne, thank you for your review. I am glad you had to great fundamentals of our business, cold beer & good pizzas! I am sorry that our service let us down though sometimes, it should be great all the time and never hit and miss. We will make sure that this is improved, and hopefully you will give us another try soon

Report
M
Munchie
1 review
Dined on 19 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

My husband & I are new to the area,We have ate on an evening on the help to eat out scheme,made booking via website (easy)sat inside,very pleasant ,Staff friendly & attentive,food very nice.Been on a resent Saturday lunch time,same booking process,sat outside in there large garden, very nice, all the above comments.We would recommend & return.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 21 September 2020

Thank you so much for your kind review, we're lad to hear you had a lovely visit to us! What a great scheme the Eat Out to Help Out Scheme was! It's great to know you revisited us again and had another great visit! We do hope you will come again soon :)

Report
HH
HayleyH
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 18 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing vegan pizza in the garden woth the girls... Live music was great to!

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 21 September 2020

Wow, Hayley, thank you for 5* review, that means so much! We're glad you got to experience our amazing pizzas and enjoy the live music too, it was a truly lovely evening and atmosphere on Friday! Hopefully you'll come and see us again soon :)

Report
P
Phyllis
1 review
Dined on 18 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As always, good food and very pleasant service, would recommend very highly

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 21 September 2020

Phyllis, thank you for your fantastic 5* review. It's so lovely to know you have enjoyed the food, and that you have been well looked after by the team. I do hope that we see you again soon :)

Report
IS
IanS
Gloucestershire
8 reviews
Dined on 17 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Safe, secure and very pleasant. We'll be back. Soon

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 25 September 2020

Ian, thank you for a fantastic 5* review, it really means a lot. It's great to know that you find us safe and secure, as that's our main goal to keep everyone safe. We look forward to your next visit already :)

Report
P
Poohken
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 17 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

This was the second time I have been recently. The first time my friend and I chose to eat indoors where we were slightly neglected but this time we were out of doors and my friend and I both enjoyed our choices enormously. The only thing I might suggest that it would be good to have a steak knife with a steak!

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 25 September 2020

Thank you for visiting us again, it's great you had a much more enjoyable visit this time round and I am glad you weren't neglected. You really should have had a steak knife with your steak, and I am sorry that you weren't given one! I will ensure that all staff know to give a steak knife. I hope that hasn't put you off returning, as we'd love to see you again soon

Report
PS
PhillipS
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 17 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great staff and service - very very COVID Safe and aware - SUPERB

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 25 September 2020

Phillip, thank you for your fantastic review. Wow, it's great you were well looked after by the team. Our main priority is to make customers and staff feel safe during their visit or working day, so it is heartwarming to hear that you felt safe and you felt we were conscious of this. Please do pop by and see us again soon.

Report
DS
DeborahS
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 16 September 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience3

Very well organised re Covid restrictions. My friend and I felt very safe.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 25 September 2020

Thank you for your review following your recent visit Deborah, it's great to know you felt very safe and that you felt our covid restrictions were good but didn't stop you from having an enjoyable visit. I do hope you will visit us again soon

Report
K
Kjr0756
Warwickshire
8 reviews
Dined on 16 September 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Great evening out - band was excellent and food/service to normal high standard

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 25 September 2020

Thank you for such a lovely review. The band the other night were great, we loved them! It's great to know that you had great service and lovely food, and I will ensure to pass your comments on to the team. It's such a hard time out there at the moment, but hopefully a little bit of live music cheered everyone up (social distanced of course!) Hopefully see you again soon

Report
LB
LucieB
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 15 September 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Sat outside in the sun - it was lovely! Both had fish and chips and it was very nice! Will definitely return.

The Exmouth Arms
Responded on 25 September 2020

Lucie, thank you for your recent review following your visit earlier this month! It's great to know you will return (and we hope you have already) to come and have those yummy fish and chips again :)

Report

FAQs

The Exmouth Arms is rated 4.4 stars by 187 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.