- Surfaces sanitised between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
- Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waiting staff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
- Staff temperature check required
- Contact tracing information collected
Pan-Fried Native Scallops
Watercress & Tartare Hollandaise
Buttered New Potatoes
Jimmy Butler's Roast Pork Roll
Stuffing & Apple Sauce
The food was great and the staff are friendly.
The outdoor heating was broken on our table they was the only let down tbh!
The Fishes is always our go to pub to meet friends!
It was good to be back since lock down after what seemed forever!
Ben and his team always makes us feel welcome and stops to have a chat with us.
The food on this occasion was fabulous!! Couldn’t fault it.
The new menu was amazing with lots of choice along side the ‘specials’ board.
We look forward to returning very soon!
Thank you for your warm hospitality!
Ben is a superstar- and the team really have been working hard to make the pub and safe and enjoyable for our lovely guests again. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Please come back and see us again soon!
Lovely setting. Reasonable selection of alternatives to "Sunday Lunch". Overall very good service. Will look to book here again next time we're in Oxford.
Hi Bluemoon- thanks for your review- we would love to chat further, would you mind getting in contact with us reservations@peachpubs Thank you
The main problem here is that after getting our table (a bit of a queue to check in, but not too bad), we ordered drinks but they didn't arrive for 35 minutes. After 20 minutes we managed to catch a waiters eye and ordered food and asked about our drinks, which they promised to chase up but to no effect. It took another 15 minutes to catch their eye again and finally the wine turned up, followed almost immediately by the starters. These were very good. The main courses were not quite so good, and it wasn't helped by the Sunday lunch menu still being the only thing available, though the website seemed to suggest the full dinner menu would be available.
They were very busy for the number of staff... maybe another day would be better.
Thanks for your review John- we are very sorry you had to wait so long- that is not good service. We do have a Sunday best menu on the website which has a selection of roast dinners and a few accompanying options- but not the full menu as advertised during the week. We would like to chat further about your experience, would you mind getting in contact with us at reservations@peachpubs Thank you
Excellent food, great atmosphere and brilliant service. As always!
Thanks for the 5 stars!
A bit cold till the heaters came on
Got to love the British weather! This time last year we were in a heat wave! Glad the heaters did the job in the end. Come back soon!
Great place for lunch or drinks and a nice walk to Oxford
Thank you for your review! Oxford is so beautiful. Come back soon!
Great food and amazing staff, who made sure everyone was having a good time out, for one of their first meals out after the lockdown! Will definitely be back again soon!
Aw thank you! We love our team and we are so lucky they have hung around and waited for us to open again. Looking forward to seeing you return!
We had a table under the marquee at the front of the pub. Although we were given blankets, it was actually quite windy and chilly. The food seemed to take forever to arrive, at least 40 minutes and when one of my friends ordered a pudding and coffee, they arrived separately. Our waitress was helpful and when questioned as to why the wait was so long, seemed to think it was teething troubles.
Thanks for your feedback Anne! The weather hasn't been as kind to us as last year that's for sure! We are so glad to be back open but its been a fair few months and we have fresh team! , We pride ourselves in high standards and so sorry we didn't hit the mark on your first visit back. Give us another go, book again through reservations@peachpubs and we will make sure you get a drink on us . We hope to see you in the pub again soon
Considering we were outside on a very wet and miserable day (albeit it covered and with a heater and rugs) we had a brilliant lunch, and the scallops were absolutely delicious.
Will definitely be returning on my next trip from Cambridge to the West country.
Thanks for the great review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed and the great British weather didn't dampen your day. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again.
Excellent all round as per usual. We made a last minute booking and were able to sit on the veranda outside to enjoy our delicious Sunday roasts. It was a bit chilly but we did have the benefit of parasol heaters above us. This is a pub/restaurant that we have visited many times and have never been disappointed.
Thanks for the lovely review Vanessa! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Outstanding service and food , a must visit !!!
Oh this is lovely to hear- thanks so much Andy!
Lovely evening at The Fishes first time returning since Covid restrictions they have done a very good job with screens separatingsome tables plenty of hand sanitiser one way system
Food very good but salad at 4:50 with just leaves from a little gem lettuce with vinaigrette and a few seeds was very overpriced
Thanks Helen, it's great to see you back and to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Do hope we will see you again soon
Fantastic service wonderful delicious food this was our Anniversary lunch so we will definitely return soon with friends also felt very comfortable with the COVID safety 😀
Thanks for celebrating your anniversary with us, it's great to hear you both enjoyed and that the team looked after you well. We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
We needed a restaurant close to Oxford but with easy parking and a view. there were three of us and one had been a restauranteur. Covid might make things a tad awkward? But no. Everything was handled with care and caution but with friendliness and clarity. The food was excellent, couldn't be faulted....a definite must go again. (I had been before and there was a view of a lake...apparently I went when the river had flooded, so no lake this time...we didn't miss it at all and I sure the pace would be great for sitting out on a warm day...)
Thanks for your feedback Lesley - it's great to hear you all enjoyed dining with and felt our covid safety measures were all in place and that the team looked after you well. Hope we can welcome you back again.
In these times, really safe and welcoming, and still felt like you were going out somewhere special.
Ah that's great to hear, thank you Eileen!
Good steaks, choice of chips, mash or new potatoes, salad or veg.
Free car parking on site.
Starters seemed quite expensive.
Quite a few families with children so a bit of noise but not too loud.
Overall a nice meal and a nice evening.
Thanks for you review Joseph! Hopefully see you again soon!
Good service right from the start, delicious we’ll presented food beautiful setting, a bit pricey but you get what you pay for sometimes overall fantastic & can’t wait for the next opportunity to go again!
Ah thanks for the lovely review Ronnie!
Great food and staff
Thanks so much!
Sat outside on covered decking surrounded by a large garden; very nice.
Crab cakes excellent but whitebait stiff as little boards and dry i.e. overcooked. Fat used was getting old too and thus did not finish the small taster portion.
2x dish of the day which was whole plaice at £17.50 each. Not bad but possibly a mistake to order fish on a Bank Holiday Monday. Nicely browned butter but capers a bit frazzled but a matter of taste. No shaved fennel as per the menu .
Our wine was one produced exclusively for The Fishes in South Africa mainly Chenin Blanc. Very good indeed at £22.40. Citrus, crisp and clean tasting--- from their adventurous selection called After the Clouds.
Service by all was good with care taken re: COVID 19.
Outstanding was Olivia who looked after us very well and charming too.
Thanks for your feedback Jeremy. Sorry you didn't enjoy the whitebait -we have passed your comments to chef. The Chenin Blanc is lovely isn't it - guests are really enjoying this choice- glad you like dit. Olivia is fab isn't she - glad she looked after you well. We do hope we can welcome you back again.
A very friendly welcome and the service was very good throughout. Lots of appealing choices on the menu with the addition of an extensive list of specials. All the food was delicious with generous portions.
Thanks for the great feedback, so glad you loved or menus. Hope to see you again soon.
Portions were large so good value for money and the service was efficent.
Good to hear! Glad you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again soon
Excellent food and service
Thank you very much!
The food was poor quality and the service very poor - they kept forgetting the kids meals.
Oh dear, this doesn't sound great. Could we perhaps chat about this?? If you would contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org we could make amends ?
Order 8oz rump with skinny fries cooked with peppercorn sauce steak arrived fat chips sent it back returned with skinny fries poured sauce over steak cut into it cold and raw!!! Sent it back again after 10 mins another steak arrived cut into it still very bloody and just warm didn't send it back told staff not nother everybody else had eaten they took meal and a drink off the bill but was very disappointed it ruined the nite will not return again
Debbie we are really sorry we didn’t get it right this time. It's really disappointing to hear about your experience. We pride ourselves on great food, so it's never good to hear when we've slipped. We would love to make amends and welcome you back for a steak dinner for 2 on us. Please book directly by emailing email@example.com m and we will arrange this for you. Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback
Again we enjoyed our lunch at the Fishes this time with my sister and her partner
Thanks for returning Peter- Have you have signed up to our news letter so you know all about our latest offers! Look out for 'Weekend Wellingtons!'
Wonderful selection of food! Glorious!
So glad you love our menus - just to let you know we have a brand new menu out later this month - hope to see you again soon!
Nice place to eat, fairly easy to park cars and walk to the pub.
Thanks Leslie, hopefully see you again soon.
Pleasant place. We ate in the bar at a quiet table by the window but noted one of the other rooms was very noisy. We were impressed by the moveable screens between tables. The food was perfectly OK but nothing special.
Thanks for you review Janet- Quieter times are often weekday lunch times and Sunday evenings, try popping to us then. We are changing our menu end of September, hopefully see you again soon!
We had absolutely fantastic service from a young man named Paul. The food was great, the weather was awful( nothing to do with the fishes) but what made the experience 11 out of 10 was Paul’s attentiveness, his honesty, his gentle confidence and his charm
Thanks for the 5 stars! Wow what a review. Paul is just fantastic isn't he- one our our celebrated pride and joys. So pleased you had a good time- we hope to see you back very soon
Excellent, thank you. Good service, food, atmosphere, and huge car park - so important!
Thanks for the 5 stars! And thank you for comments, we are so glad you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon
The fishers is friendly with excellent service and beautiful food with lots of specials every week to choose from.
Oh that's great to hear- its nice to be nice. Glad you enjoy what we do! Did you know you can take us home with you now? Not the team- we do Take Away to!
The food was very enjoyable and service is always friendly and attentive. The menu is varied, with great specials available every day. Enjoyable family meal.
Thanks for the lovely review!
They’re going above and beyond to make you feel safe. Very friendly waiter who made sure we understood all their regulations. Nice to be back but the food is nothing like as good as it used to be. My friend had a very dried up piece of chicken with some rather soggy chips. Can’t complain about the cost but we have Rishi to thank for that!
Thanks for your feedback, we are so pleased to hear you felt safe and the team looked after you well. We pride ourselves on our high standards of food and service so it's disappointing to hear not everything was right with your food on this occasion, but thank you for your feedback. We do hope we can welcome you back again.
Ben and his team couldn't be more helpful and professional. We couldn't fault the ambience as that's down to covid not the Fishes!
The lamb and the prawn/salmon cocktail were delicious as was the cheeseboard. We will return definitely regularly.
Cheers for the 5 stars, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit. Ben and his team are great aren't they! They will be delighted to read your feedback, thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
I felt covid secure with loads of sanitising opportunities and plenty of fresh air going through the restaurant as well as being socially distanced .There was a good choice of food and ‘specials’and was a very enjoyable meal . I would recommend this place for eating safely and for having an enjoyable meal with good service .
Its been tough but we got there in the end - it’s a fine balance! thanks for the review- It means a lot, see you in the pub soon!
The atmosphere was very relax. It was well-organised and we enjoyed the food.
Cheers for the 5 stars Peter, so glad you enjoyed and hope to see you soon.
Great setting, large restaurant area indoors with more than acceptable distances for social distancing, and this generally was well managed. Garden and terrace looked really good especially for families. Food was mediocre especially for price, fat chips were good though. Ice cream for children obviously forgotten about by staff and served with much melted, this suited the children but we felt that an additional scoop to improve the look would have exonerated this error. One member of staff was cheerful and pleasant and thankfully mostly served us. The others were not rude, but could have added smiles and a little warmth to their service to improve our customer experience. We would return because it's a great location to meet up, park and lovely walks from the restaurant, pub.
Wonderful meal, beautiful pub and village location. Nice walk over from the centre of Oxford
We were well looked after in this new environment and the food was excellent.
The Fishes offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 01865 249796.
The Fishes is rated 4.5 stars by 251 OpenTable diners.
The Fishes does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://peach-pubs.vouchercart.com/category/the-fishes-2721.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.