The Fleece Inn

4.3
640 reviews
£25 and under
Home cooking
Welcome to the Fleece Inn!
The Fleece Inn is the perfect rural retreat. Just a stone's throw from the beautiful Cotswolds and boasting roaring open fires for the winter months, open garden and apple orchard for the summer sun and a friendly welcome all year round. With real ales and ciders aplenty this historical pub is a favourite with Real Ale lovers, and the welcoming atmosphere and good food attract visitors from all over the world.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 640 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
R
Robert
New York Area
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Very pleasant surroundings and excellent food and service.

SJ
StevenJ
Cheshire
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

nice food although my wife's portion of smoked haddock was a little meagre but my chicken n asparagus pie was fabulous - great choice of beers and good safe outdoor spaces

JM
JudithM
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Friendly staff who found us a warm table & abided by all the COVID regulations.
Only came for the asparagus which was a little disappointing.

p
patb
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience3

The weather was blustery, wet and cold and we were very early.The staff were very accommodating and pleasent seating us quickly and safely.
The heaters were not very efficient and need some improvement.
The service was quick and friendly.The choice was great and the food delicious.We will come again on a sunny day

g
gdbkcj
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Windy and wet but everything was done to make sure we were as warm as possible as only outside dining permitted. Under cover and a heater close by so we were as comfortable as we could be. Staff (as usual) were very busy but we did not have to wait long for drinks or the food. Always a pleasure to visit the Fleece

OT
OpenTable Diner
Birmingham
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place with delicious food! A lot of outdoor seating places, just with this weather need to dress really warm!

HC
HelenC
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Despite horrific weather we couldn’t fault our experience at The Fleece. Staff were happy and couldn’t do enough to help, whilst getting totally drenched.
Great food which was on our table within 15 minutes of arriving.
Can’t wait to go back when the suns shining again!

ME
MichaelE
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Fleece in a beautiful place with a wonderful large garden and plenty of shelter. Service was absolutely brilliant; friendly and attentive. Social distancing guidelines were immaculately followed and we were still made very welcome.

The food was really good, and good value. Great asparagus cooked perfectly, delicious pie and really nice burgers. We also had lunch envy when we saw some other guests’ fish and chips come out, and the side servings of onion rings looked brilliant.

Thanks for a great meal and looking after us so well. Highly recommended.

JB
JulietteB
Worcestershire
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Super set up outside.
Very well organised
Lovely food.

JC
JohnC
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food2service3ambience2

Cold food, unkempt garden lots of weeds. Place needs sprucing up. Owner looks like a hobo.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food5service3ambience4

Lovely food. They could have been more organised with the seating as we wanted a table outside in the garden rather than under the marquee . Even though there were about 8 tables free and had to ask several times to be allowed To do so.

EB
EstherB
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Fabulous afternoon. Service was great and pizza fantastic.

KA
KathrynA
Worcestershire
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very friendly an efficient staff. Spacious garden with inovative outdoor dining solutions. Food was quick to arrive and piping hot. Excellent quality and full of flavour.

KW
KateW
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Lovely food. Friendly staff and efficient service. Well set up for socially distanced comfortable outdoor dining. Protected from mixed weather.

K
Kate
Worcestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 30 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always enjoy eating here. Food is great, garden area is beautiful & relaxing

CF
CharlesF
London
1 review
Dined on 30 April 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Good pub grub and friendly service. They’ve done really well with the COVID security as well

CT
CatherineT
Worcestershire
1 review
Dined on 30 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely setting, great service and delicious food. We will definitely be visiting again

SM
SarahM
Worcestershire
1 review
Dined on 29 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellently done outside space and delicious food!

LN
LorraineN
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on 29 April 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Looks like tablet ordering system not working properly as had to wait 35 mins for drinks to arrive. Food very good when it did arrive however it looks like short staffed as long wait for food. So staff doing their best in current circumstances so perhaps management needs to address staffing and systems.

JC
JimmyC
London
34 reviews
Dined on 29 April 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

With pubs and restaurants having only recently been allowed to open, and only for outdoor seating, the staff obviously faced a challenge. However, we received a cheerful greeting and our table was in a tent close to a heater, which was very welcome on a cold day.

All the staff were friendly and efficient. The food and drinks were very good and reasonably priced. The four of us had travelled an hour and a half to attend a funeral, so this pub is not local. Which is a great pity, because if it was I am sure we would become regulars.

AV
AngelaV
Gloucestershire
3 reviews
Dined on 28 April 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Booked a table for one of the cold chilly nights with a brisk north wind blowing. We were given one of the horse boxes with comfy seats and a heater. However because there was no front or back to the box it was still extremely cold even with the heater. Not the Pub's fault though.
Food was all very good and the waitress's friendly.
Only negative about the meal were the decaf coffees which were extremely weak which is why I've given 4 stars instead of 5.
Menu prices are reasonable- I paid £27 for sirloin steak which was cooked to perfection and absolutely delicious!

LL
LisL
London
3 reviews
Dined on 28 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We booked for lunch on a really miserable weather day. Cold winds and showers.
The Inn has done everything possible to make the place as welcoming as possible with marquees, horse boxes and sheltered eating. Pretty well heated too. Staff are brilliant offering throws, attentive to needs and running around in quite a large area.
Food is great, freshly cooked, generous portions and tasty.
Highly recommended. Will definitely go back soon despite it being an hours drive!

E
Ellejo
Worcestershire
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Beautiful setting,the village is gorgeous. Staff were attentive and service was very good. Asparagus season so say no more! delicious and plentiful. Am looking forward to visit when the pub is open.

L
Leswards
Warwickshire
3 reviews
Dined on 27 April 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Booking lunch was quick and easy via OpenTable portal.
Parking is difficult close to the pub
On entry, Covid precautions well organised with QR checkin and social distancing.
Only two of us but allocated large round table under marquee.
Converted horse boxes looked ideal for a bubble get together.
Male urinal block in garden had hand sanitizer dispenser but no sink to wash hands.
Ordered bitter and cider, both good.
Had local starters - asparagus with ham hock & asparagus soup with sourdough bread.
Mains enjoyed were Steak & Ale Pie with chips and Lamb Tagine.
Asked a waitress for the bill but she simply pointed to another member of staff then both ladies walked past us for a few minutes before I could get attended to.
In conclusion, great setup in the garden, excellent food and drinks only spoilt by slow payment and lack of sink to wash hands.

RH
RobertH
Brighton
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely location staff very attentive and the food was excellent

TH
TonyH
Gloucestershire
10 reviews
Dined on 26 April 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience3

Fabulous food in a fabulous garden setting. Well worth a visit.

AR
AR123
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2021
Overall3food3service1ambience3

Poor service, very slow and the venue wasn’t busy at the time.

CG
CliveG
Worcestershire
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We've been visiting the Fleece off and on for years. Its a wonderful place with great beer and food, and so was the clear choice for a 60th Birthday celebration. It was a beautiful afternoon and the staff made us most welcome - even negotiating the covid rules as unobtrusively as they could.
Thanks very much, we all really enjoyed it.

PA
PeterA
London
2 reviews
Dined on 26 April 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience5

We were outside in the Orchard due to lockdown restrictions - very pleasant location and sunny! Food was Ok, but the Steak and Ale pie was quite dry and the chocolate dessert arrived without 2 of the components ~(which was rectified promptly). Staff very pleasant and service was good, particularly in view of the long walks needed to service the outdoor dining.

G
Geoffc
London
3 reviews
Dined on 26 April 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Main course was very good, desert was poor.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

PY
PeterY
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 25 April 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Good food as usual. Service a little slow on a Sunday but no real problem

OT
OpenTable Diner
Worcestershire
1 review
Dined on 25 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First meeting with family from Devon in a year! Travelled from Suffolk and met ‘halfway’

L
Local
London
3 reviews
Dined on 25 April 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

This pub is getting back in to the swing of being open. Congrats on your hard work.
A couple of the wait staff seemed jaded, but there were certainly more than last week which made service quicker. In fact so many of them we didn't know who to leave a tip for, is there a tip jar? So service was speedier than last week but then it was made clear to me that the table was needed for a later booking and we only had so long. I think the roast beef was reheated. and the pork crackling not crunchy, but it is so lovely to enjoy a sunny Sunday lunch, with a local ale, at a pub again. Good value and lovely environment.
When booking be specific as to whether you want to be under cover, no smoking, and away from dogs. There were a couple of uncontrolled barking dogs there which made for a stressful environment.

JC
JulieC
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 25 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely Sunday lunch, great setting and service. What’s not to like?!

JS
JohnS
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 25 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Very good Sunday roast. Outdoor seating and rather chilly day. Unfortunately the meal wasn’t piping hot when served, but otherwise a good experience.

T
Tony
Worcestershire
1 review
Dined on 24 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Most enjoyable afternoon with family. Staff very helpful when part of group were late. Beer flavoursome.

The Fleece Inn
Responded on 27 April 2021

Thanks for taking the time to review. So pleased you had a great time with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon Nigel Smith Landlord

Report
DS
DeborahS
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 23 April 2021
Overall3food4service1ambience2

After arriving, we were asked within 10 minutes what drinks we would like. We then waited 40 minutes for them. We ordered coffee and waited 20 minutes - upon chasing was told by the girl who took our coffee order that there was no record of us ordering them! Overall was good to get back with friends and the food was very good. Just didn’t seem to have enough staff or an effective system for prioritising drinks as the people on the table near us received theirs before us after arriving after us. I have done sympathy due to the COVID situation and would normally recommend The Fleece to others and will go back in the future, but not while current restrictions are still valid.

JH
JuliaH
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 23 April 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Such a disappointing experience and a waste of money. There was a huge wait for our food which when it arrived was dry and over cooked. Customers on most tables were complaining about the amount of waiting time to order food and drink and then receive it. One table left without ordering having waited an hour. There was clearly a problem with the number of staff available in the kitchen/serve and the management should have been more proactive in managing this eg alerting diners to the wait time on arrival. the serving staff did their best & we're very apologetic but not obviously being supported by management.There were also 2 tables who were making little/no attempt to social distance from one another which went unchallenged. We usually enjoy visiting the Fleece but it will be a long time before we consider doing so again

The Fleece Inn
Responded on 27 April 2021

Hi Thank you for taking the time to review and apologies for for your poor experience here at the Fleece. It would be really appreciated if you would contact me by e-mail so I can have a chance to discuss this matter more fully and perhaps chat with you on the phone about it. My e-mail is nigel@thefleeceinn,ci,uk Assuring you of my best intentions regarding this matter. Kind regards Nigel Smith Landlord

Report
JT
JaneT
Birmingham
2 reviews
Dined on 23 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fab food service location. Great to be outside on a sunny lunchtime.

The Fleece Inn
Responded on 27 April 2021

Hi and thanks for taking time to review us. Glad you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back soon Best wishes Nigel Smith Landlord

Report
SK
SevernK
Devon
6 reviews
Dined on 23 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The sun shone, there was blossom in the orchard, the numerous staff were smiling and cheerful, the food was great, the wine cold and the coffee hot. Service was prompt, but sadly the chickens were penned. Last time we ate here they were free ranging round our feet.
Oh yes, and you-know-what restrictions were all in place.

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from The Fleece Inn using the Order Online button. The Fleece Inn also offers delivery in partnership with Just Eat. The Fleece Inn also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 01386 831173.

The Fleece Inn is rated 4.3 stars by 640 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.