Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Manchester/Greater Manchester
  4. Manchester
  5. Manchester
The Fountain House, Manchester, Manchester

The Fountain House

4.3
4.3
332 Reviews
£25 and under
Contemporary British
Stag and his team are ready and raring to welcome you to The Fountain House, a beautiful pub and restaurant overlooking Manchester Town Hall and Albert Square. Whether you’re hoping to enjoy cocktails with a leisurely lunch on our outdoor terrace, you’d like a quick bite with your pint in the bar (pooches welcome!) or you’re looking for a vibrant spot for dinner with friends, come on in, relax and enjoy! We change our menus seasonally and pride ourselves on our delicious and innovative dishes. Don’t forget, our beautiful events space is perfect for meetings and occasions, just get in touch and we’ll do the rest.

Do you have a special occasion on the horizon? Here at The Fountain House we have two private rooms perfect for all celebrations; weddings, birthday dinners, graduations, baby showers.. you name it! For all private hire enquiries please email our sales and events executive via events@thefountainhouse.co.uk

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 6 times today

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    Contemporary British, British
  • Hours of Operation
    Tue–Sat 12:00–23:00 Sun 12:00–22:30
  • Phone number
    0161 834 1866
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress Code
    Casual Dress
  • Executive Chef
    Mitchell Gillibrand
  • Catering
    We offer a range of options, from 2 or 3 course set menus to canapes, hot buffets and late night munchies!<br />We are proud to cook all of our food fresh in house, so if you have any questions or special requests please do not hesitate to ask!
  • Private party facilities
    Here at The Fountain House we have two stunning private dining rooms which are perfect to make your occasion extra special. Our Thomas Worthington Suite and Memorial Hall are situated on the 1st floor of our grade II listed building. The basement restaurant is also a great space to hire exclusively.
  • Private party contact
    Callum Consterdine : 07557 373974
  • Area
    Manchester
  • Cross Street
    LLoyd st and Southmill St
  • Parking Details
    None
  • Public Transit
    We are a 2-minute walk away from St. Peter's tram stop.<br />We are a 10-minute walk away from Deasgate tram stop.<br /><br />We also have near-by train stations such as Oxford Road station and Deansgate station.
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Dancing, Dog Friendly, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Vegan, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What 332 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.3
4.3 based on recent ratings
  • 4.4Food
  • 4.4Service
  • 4.2Ambience
  • 4.2Value

NoiseEnergetic

Loved For

  • Manchester/Greater Manchester

    Good for business meals

  • Manchester/Greater Manchester

    Good for business meals

  • Manchester

    Good for business meals

  • Manchester

    Good for business meals

332 Reviews
  1. OpenTable Diner

    Manchester

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 1
    We had to wait 20 minutes to be seated after arriving on time. The waitress was lovely and the food very good but it was so noisy I couldn't wait to leave. I was sat opposite my partner and had difficulty hearing her. She has the advantage of being able to lip read! Most of the noise was from the bar upstairs as there is a 1M gap in the ceiling at the outside wall. I don't think I'll be going again.
    The Fountain HouseResponded 2 days ago
    Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review and letting us know your feedback. We're sorry about the noise - when the pub upstairs is busy the noise does travel unfortunately. We have fed this back to Metro, our parent company, and hope to have this rectified on an upcoming refurbishment. We're pleased you enjoyed the food and service though. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  2. BadAndy

    Exclusive

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 8 May 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Great service, lovely food - will definitely return.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 10 May 2024
    Hi Andy, Appreciate you taking the time to leave his review and we do hope the food and ambience is better for your next visit to give you a full 5 star experience! Cheers! The Fountain House Team

    Is this helpful?

  3. Han137

    Liverpool

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 4 May 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely restaurant, hint of industrial and modern decor, nice to see a restaurant that does industrial in a very tasteful not overpowering way. Courteous staff. Food tasty, didn’t have time to stay for dessert but would have done. Meal price average - £15 burger and chips.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 7 May 2024
    Hi Han, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review! We're really glad the food, service, and decor all came together to give you a great experience. Be sure to come back again soon and try some of our amazing desserts! All the best, The Fountain House Team

    Is this helpful?

  4. CarlP

    Manchester

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 26 April 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Both sides on one of the main meals were both cold on service. When they returned with 2 new sides, 1 remained cool at best.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 28 April 2024
    Hi Carl, Thank you for leaving us a review and for letting us know about your experience. We're really sorry to hear that some of the food wasn't right for you and we've fed this back to the kitchen team to make them aware. Again, our sincere apologies for this, but know we use constructive feedback to help us learn and grow moving forward, and it is always appreciated. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  5. OpenTable Diner

    Barcelona

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 25 April 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Nice ahtsmophere good food, we really enjoyed it. the service was great there was a bit of noise from upstairs but all in all great
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 3 May 2024
    Hey there, Thank you for the review and for such kind words We're glad to see you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  6. AndreaE

    Manchester

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 21 April 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food. Lovely make over under new name. Friendly staff.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 24 April 2024
    Hi Andrea, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review! We're so glad you had a great visit and will have more exciting changes to look forward to soon! See you next time! The Fountain House team

    Is this helpful?

  7. AndrewH

    Manchester

    45 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    45 reviews

    Dined on 12 April 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    gorgeous fish and chips .. just a bit chilly in there either from air on or draughts from an open door
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 13 April 2024
    Hi Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're really pleased to see you enjoyed the food and the service, but we're sorry about the draught from upstairs! Glad that when we relocated you though it was much better. We hope to see you again soon and that you enjoyed the show! Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  8. DavidH

    Yorkshire

    5 reviews

    3.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 6 April 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 3
    Food was good and good value But the service was not the best Would not go again
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 8 April 2024
    Hi David Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and for mentioning the food quality. We're obviously disappointed to see you felt the service wasn't up to standard. If you wouldn't mind we'd really appreciate some specific feedback to help us improve and grow moving forward - please email info@thefountainhouse.co.uk, this would be truly helpful. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  9. OpenTable Diner

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 30 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Great food beautifully cooked and presented.well worth visuting
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 31 March 2024
    Hey, Thanks for the 5 stars and the recommendation. We're really pleased to see you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  10. OpenTable Diner

    Manchester

    9 reviews

    4.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on 16 March 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Staff fantastic, clean and food came quickly. Definitely worth a second visit
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 18 March 2024
    Hey, thanks for the review! Great to read about our team being so great, and that you felt we're good enough to visit again soon! We hope to see you in, did you know we're launching a new food menu from the 21st of March!? Make sure to check us out. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  11. ErinN

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely Mother’s Day meal. Food was fantastic and so was the service. Thank you
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 13 March 2024
    Hi Erin! We're so glad we could show you all an amazing time on a special day. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review and we do hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, The Fountain House Team

    Is this helpful?

  12. OpenTable Diner

    Manchester

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 8 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Food was lovely, and decent prices. Huge portion of fish and chips.soft shell crab burger recommended. Deserts were nice, especially the Manchester tart. Good drinks selection. Service was excellent.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 10 March 2024
    Hey there, Thanks for the lovely review and for the 5 stars! We're really glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  13. KarenB

    Manchester

    7 reviews

    4.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 6 March 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    Choice of menu and quality of food really good. Attentive staff too. Will definitely be back!
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 7 March 2024
    Hi Karen, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review! We're take a lot of pride in delivering great food and service and we're glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to host you again soon! All the best, The Fountain House Team

    Is this helpful?

  14. LeenaA

    Manchester

    12 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    12 reviews

    Dined on 1 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Okay food, good service! Sometimes over salted so watch out
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 7 March 2024
    Hi Leena, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review! We're so glad the service was up to par and will pass on this feedback to the kitchen to make sure that the food can match the quality of the service! We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Fountain House Team

    Is this helpful?

  15. PaulineB

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 1 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely food, great atmosphere and lovely staff. Perfect t location.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 3 March 2024
    Hey PaulineB, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. It's great to see you enjoyed your visit, both the food and the team! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  16. OpenTable Diner

    London

    7 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 29 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great experience, value, quality of food & service. Will definitely be back.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 1 March 2024
    Thank you for the kind words! We cannot wait to welcome you back soon! Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  17. LesleyP

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 25 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Went for Sunday lunch with family. Food is amazing and great value for money, will definitely go back.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 29 February 2024
    Hey Lesley, Thanks for the review, its brilliant to see you enjoyed your visit with your family. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  18. HJ23

    Manchester

    5 reviews

    3.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 25 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 5
    We had a lovely time at The Fountain House and enjoyed a roast dinner and sticky toffee pudding. The roast was lovely apart from the beef being poor cuts of meat with lots of hard fat throughout, which was disappointing, especially when you’re paying almost £20 per plate. It was supposed to come with horseradish, but it came with an apple sauce, which was odd, but it was a nice meal overall. Red cabbage was particularly tasty. The sticky toffee pudding was absolutely delicious! Staff were nice. Atmosphere good.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 29 February 2024
    Hey HJ23, Thanks for the review and the recommendation. Sorry to hear you felt the beef wasn't up to scratch, we'll certainly be feeding this back to the kitchen and the butcher! Glad you enjoyed the Sticky Toffee - an absolute fave! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  19. Sarahqemg

    Manchester

    4 reviews

    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 25 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 5
    The food was delicious and the service timely. However, when we arrived we told the member of staff we have a voucher, she said that there was no issue and to provide it at the end. We told the lady who provided us with the bill at the end of the meal that we had a voucher. She said we couldn’t use them on a Sunday! (We checked the small print which said it could be used on a Sunday) We also explained that we’d checked with the original waiter at the start of the meal. This made the situation awkward.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 29 February 2024
    Hey Sarah, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Apologies for the confusion over the vouchers - were these Manchester Confidentials Vouchers? If so we can confirm that the ones valid to use on a Sunday actually expired earlier in Feb and were updated via their app - did this not happen for you? There are a new batch of vouchers on sale currently that are limited Tuesday - Friday. Please let us know or email us at info@thefountainhouse.co.uk so we can ensure all details are correct. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  20. OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 25 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Food was great (I had the fish and chips) and it’s a lovely restaurant to be in. The drinks took quite a while to arrive so service wasn’t the best but otherwise no complaints.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 29 February 2024
    Hey there, Thanks for leaving us a review and letting us know you enjoyed the food. We'll certainly take the time to invest in improving the speed of service when it comes to drinks though - apologies for this. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  21. Diner

    London

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 25 February 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    Do not get the sunday roast. Poor quality and overpriced
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 29 February 2024
    Hi there, We're really sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit and that you felt the Sunday roast was poor - this is disappointing as we receive loads of positive feedback usually. If you wouldn't mind emailing us - info@thefountainhouse.co.uk, with more info on how we got it wrong that would be greatly appreciated, as it will help us to grow and improve moving forward. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  22. MotorCityCobra

    London

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 23 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Very good service. Warm, friendly welcome from staff, and service was attentive throughout. Food was very nice, and good value.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 24 February 2024
    Hey MotorCity, Thank you for the review. We're pleased to see you enjoyed the visit, and will certainly be striving to ensure we hit 5 stars all around for your next visit. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  23. OpenTable Diner

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 22 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely restaurant. The service was fast and the food was amazing
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 23 February 2024
    Hey there! Thank you for the 5 star review. It's great to see you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon hopefully. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  24. HODGY58

    Manchester

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 21 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Great food yet again. Will definitely be back 👌👌👌
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 22 February 2024
    Hey HODGY58. Thanks got such a great review, loving the emojis! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  25. AndyMac

    Cheshire

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 20 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    The venue is very central and the food was beautiful would definitely recommend
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 23 February 2024
    Hey AndyMac Thanks for the review and for recommending us. Really pleasing to hear you enjoyed the food - all made fresh and in house, something we're super proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  26. SarahA

    Toronto

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 20 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Service was good with both waitress and waiter whom we dealt with were friendly. We didn't feel rushed and food was really good, couldn't fault it. The only one thing I'd say and I'm really picking holes here, is that nobody greeted us near the door. I didn't know if I should be going upstairs or on the ground level. I had to go over to the bar and speak first whereas normally saying Hello and have you got a table booked but that's the only thing. We would go back to The Fountain House
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 22 February 2024
    Hey Sarah, Thanks for the review, it's great to see you enjoyed your visit and that you felt everything was on point. We appreciate your feedback regarding entry - this is why we have the big chalk board directing people where to do, right by the entrance. Keep an eye out for it on your next visit, which hopefully will be soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  27. HelenB

    Cheshire

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Roasts were great .. could just be a little bit warmer - otherwise v tasty. Service was good - had a lovely time
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 20 February 2024
    Thank you for your kind review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your roasts, we will pass on the temperature comments to the kitchen. Hopefully see you again soon. Kind regards, Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  28. JoeH

    New York City

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Really enjoyed our meal here only downfall was £25+ service charge being put on the bill which was quickly removed when asked i did leave my own tip which is the way it should be and it just makes what was a lovely night a little awkward towards the end i would recommend to others we all enjoyed it
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 19 February 2024
    Hi Joe, Thanks for leaving us a review and for recommending us. It's great to see you scored us 5 out of 5 for food and service, both things we're proud of here! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  29. Couchkopite

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food and great service. Wheelchair access ok but could be improved.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 19 February 2024
    Hey Couchkopite, it's great to see you enjoyed your visit and that you scored us top marks in all areas! we look forward to seeing you again soon hopefully. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  30. NatalieD

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Food was absolutely lovely. We were a party of 6 and opted for a few starters each and they were all very nice but the lamb filled spring roll was my favourite. Good service and nice atmosphere.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 19 February 2024
    Hey Natalie, Thank you for recommending us and for leaving a 5 star review! We agree, the Lamb Spring roll, amongst others, it's absolutely delicious. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  31. ShirleyA

    Manchester

    9 reviews

    5.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on 15 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    The service was good, a tiny bit slow at times but because we had not seen each other for a while it didn't matter too much as we had time to chat. It's good to have a break between courses. The staff were lovely and the ambience was good and we weren't rushed to leave.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 17 February 2024
    Thank you for your review. Apologies the service was slow at times but I am glad to hear you enjoyed your evening overall. We can't wait for your next visit. Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  32. RyanS

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 13 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Really lovely place, friendly staff, and the food was delicious! Will definitely be recommending this to friends
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 14 February 2024
    Hey Ryan, Thank you for the 5 star review and the recommendation. We're glad you enjoyed the visit, the food and the team! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  33. ChristopherO

    Yorkshire

    2 reviews

    2.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 11 February 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    No fish options st all, which was disappointing, as they’d had no fish deliveries. Very poor.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 14 February 2024
    Hi Christopher, We're sorry to see you didn't enjoy your visit and that you were let down by there being a lack of fish options. Things like deliveries are sometimes out of our control, and when we're let down by a supplier there is only so much we can do. Again, apologies you felt rough end of the stick. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  34. Gillybann

    Lancashire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Really good service from friendly staff and will definitely be returning
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 5 February 2024
    Hey Gilly, Thank you for recommending us and for giving us 5 stars! It's brilliant to read bout great service from our team - something we're super proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  35. EmmaW

    New York City

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 1 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 2
    We arrived for our meal to a room full of people for a private do. It was loud and busy and not the date night I had planned. I was told multiple times by the private do that it was a “private do” even though it was being held in the same area as the restaurant! None the less after a table change to a quieter part away from the party, the food was lovely and so were the staff
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 3 February 2024
    Hi Emma, Apologies for the beginning of your recent experience - we don't expect our guests to be spoken to in the way by other guests, we're sincerely sorry for that. We are glad that after being relocated you enjoyed both the food and service, and hope that you will visit us again for date night soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  36. AdrianM13

    London

    3 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 1 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 2
    This was a very disappointing experience, we've eaten here twice before and both occasions were a success. This time we were greeted qitb a large corporate function in full flow and we were expected to sit at a table amongst it! Eventually we were shown a table downstairs, but was told that some menu items weren't available so choices were limited. The main came, schnitzel was heavily seasoned, my partner gave up on it, my fish and chips was as disappointing with the batter being soggy and tasteless. After complaining the managers response was to take the service charge off the bill!!! Ridiculous! We paid it and left, never to return.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 3 February 2024
    Hi Adrian, We're sorry to hear about your recent experience. Our team are trained and expected to carry out check-backs when guests dine with us so that we can rectify things at the time and avoid this kind of thing. Should you decide to dine with us again, or elsewhere, please let your server know when they conduct a check back and we/they can fix things for you. Our sincere apologies once again. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  37. OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 28 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The food is always good the staff are attentive but not too much. Great cosy homely feel to the place. Will definitely be back again.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 31 January 2024
    Hey, thanks for the 5 star review and the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  38. JulieK

    Manchester

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 28 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Best Sunday lunch! The beef was amazing! The chicken and pork too All veg lovely, and cooked!
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 1 February 2024
    Hey JulieK, Awesome to see such a lovely review and we're thrilled you enjoyed the Sunday Roast - best in Manchester (we think!) We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  39. CarenA

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 28 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Really lovely place, food was delicious and the service was spot on.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 31 January 2024
    Hi CarenA, Thank you for the review and for the recommendation, its brilliant to see the service and food was spot on! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  40. kellym

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Lovely food amazing staff, great atmosphere, service was quick
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 28 January 2024
    Hey Kelly, Thanks for the 5 star review and the recommendation! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

The Fountain House is rated 4.3 stars by 332 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 6 times today
Google Map for The Fountain House

The Memorial Hall Albert Square, Manchester, Manchester M2 5PF

Additional information

  • Cross Street
    LLoyd st and Southmill St
  • Area
    Manchester
  • Hours of Operation
    Tue–Sat 12:00–23:00 Sun 12:00–22:30
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    Contemporary British, British
  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Dress Code
    Casual Dress
  • Parking Details
    None
  • Public Transit
    We are a 2-minute walk away from St. Peter's tram stop.We are a 10-minute walk away from Deasgate tram stop.We also have near-by train stations such as Oxford Road station and Deansgate station.
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Executive Chef
    Mitchell Gillibrand
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Dancing, Dog Friendly, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Vegan, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Phone number
    0161 834 1866
  • Catering
    We offer a range of options, from 2 or 3 course set menus to canapes, hot buffets and late night munchies!<br />We are proud to cook all of our food fresh in house, so if you have any questions or special requests please do not hesitate to ask!
  • Private party facilities
    Here at The Fountain House we have two stunning private dining rooms which are perfect to make your occasion extra special. Our Thomas Worthington Suite and Memorial Hall are situated on the 1st floor of our grade II listed building. The basement restaurant is also a great space to hire exclusively.
  • Private party contact
    Callum Consterdine : 07557 373974
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Impressum
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo