Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Manchester/Greater Manchester
  4. Manchester
  5. Manchester
The Fountain House, Manchester, Manchester

The Fountain House

4.2
4.2
316 Reviews
£25 and under
Contemporary British
Stag and his team are ready and raring to welcome you to The Fountain House, a beautiful pub and restaurant overlooking Manchester Town Hall and Albert Square. Whether you’re hoping to enjoy cocktails with a leisurely lunch on our outdoor terrace, you’d like a quick bite with your pint in the bar (pooches welcome!) or you’re looking for a vibrant spot for dinner with friends, come on in, relax and enjoy! We change our menus seasonally and pride ourselves on our delicious and innovative dishes. Don’t forget, our beautiful events space is perfect for meetings and occasions, just get in touch and we’ll do the rest.

Do you have a special occasion on the horizon? Here at The Fountain House we have two private rooms perfect for all celebrations; weddings, birthday dinners, graduations, baby showers.. you name it! For all private hire enquiries please email our sales and events executive via events@thefountainhouse.co.uk

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 18 times today

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    Contemporary British, British
  • Hours of Operation
    Tue–Sat 12:00–23:00 Sun 12:00–22:30
  • Phone number
    0161 834 1866
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Cash not accepted, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress Code
    Business Casual
  • Executive Chef
    Mitchell
  • Private party facilities
    Here at The Fountain House we have two stunning private dining rooms which are perfect to make your occasion extra special. Our Thomas Worthington Suite and Memorial Hall are situated on the 1st floor of our grade II listed building. The basement restaurant is also a great space to hire exclusively.
  • Private party contact
    Callum Consterdine : 07557 373974
  • Area
    Manchester
  • Parking Details
    None
  • Public Transit
    We are a 2-minute walk away from St. Peter's tram stop.<br />We are a 10-minute walk away from Deasgate tram stop.<br /><br />We also have near-by train stations such as Oxford Road station and Deansgate station.
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Dancing, Dog Friendly, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Vegan, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What 316 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.2
4.2 based on recent ratings
  • 4.3Food
  • 4.3Service
  • 4.2Ambience
  • 4.1Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Manchester/Greater Manchester

    Good for business meals

  • Manchester/Greater Manchester

    Good for business meals

  • Manchester

    Good for business meals

  • Manchester

    Good for business meals

316 Reviews
  1. OpenTable Diner

    London

    7 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined 1 day ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great experience, value, quality of food & service. Will definitely be back.
    The Fountain HouseResponded today
    Thank you for the kind words! We cannot wait to welcome you back soon! Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  2. LesleyP

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Went for Sunday lunch with family. Food is amazing and great value for money, will definitely go back.
    The Fountain HouseResponded 1 day ago
    Hey Lesley, Thanks for the review, its brilliant to see you enjoyed your visit with your family. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  3. HJ23

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 5
    We had a lovely time at The Fountain House and enjoyed a roast dinner and sticky toffee pudding. The roast was lovely apart from the beef being poor cuts of meat with lots of hard fat throughout, which was disappointing, especially when you’re paying almost £20 per plate. It was supposed to come with horseradish, but it came with an apple sauce, which was odd, but it was a nice meal overall. Red cabbage was particularly tasty. The sticky toffee pudding was absolutely delicious! Staff were nice. Atmosphere good.
    The Fountain HouseResponded 1 day ago
    Hey HJ23, Thanks for the review and the recommendation. Sorry to hear you felt the beef wasn't up to scratch, we'll certainly be feeding this back to the kitchen and the butcher! Glad you enjoyed the Sticky Toffee - an absolute fave! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  4. Sarahqemg

    Manchester

    4 reviews

    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 5
    The food was delicious and the service timely. However, when we arrived we told the member of staff we have a voucher, she said that there was no issue and to provide it at the end. We told the lady who provided us with the bill at the end of the meal that we had a voucher. She said we couldn’t use them on a Sunday! (We checked the small print which said it could be used on a Sunday) We also explained that we’d checked with the original waiter at the start of the meal. This made the situation awkward.
    The Fountain HouseResponded 1 day ago
    Hey Sarah, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Apologies for the confusion over the vouchers - were these Manchester Confidentials Vouchers? If so we can confirm that the ones valid to use on a Sunday actually expired earlier in Feb and were updated via their app - did this not happen for you? There are a new batch of vouchers on sale currently that are limited Tuesday - Friday. Please let us know or email us at info@thefountainhouse.co.uk so we can ensure all details are correct. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  5. OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Food was great (I had the fish and chips) and it’s a lovely restaurant to be in. The drinks took quite a while to arrive so service wasn’t the best but otherwise no complaints.
    The Fountain HouseResponded 1 day ago
    Hey there, Thanks for leaving us a review and letting us know you enjoyed the food. We'll certainly take the time to invest in improving the speed of service when it comes to drinks though - apologies for this. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  6. Diner

    London

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    Do not get the sunday roast. Poor quality and overpriced
    The Fountain HouseResponded 1 day ago
    Hi there, We're really sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit and that you felt the Sunday roast was poor - this is disappointing as we receive loads of positive feedback usually. If you wouldn't mind emailing us - info@thefountainhouse.co.uk, with more info on how we got it wrong that would be greatly appreciated, as it will help us to grow and improve moving forward. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  7. MotorCityCobra

    London

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Very good service. Warm, friendly welcome from staff, and service was attentive throughout. Food was very nice, and good value.
    The Fountain HouseResponded 6 days ago
    Hey MotorCity, Thank you for the review. We're pleased to see you enjoyed the visit, and will certainly be striving to ensure we hit 5 stars all around for your next visit. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  8. OpenTable Diner

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 22 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely restaurant. The service was fast and the food was amazing
    The Fountain HouseResponded 7 days ago
    Hey there! Thank you for the 5 star review. It's great to see you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon hopefully. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  9. HODGY58

    Manchester

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 21 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Great food yet again. Will definitely be back 👌👌👌
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 22 February 2024
    Hey HODGY58. Thanks got such a great review, loving the emojis! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  10. AndyMac

    Cheshire

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 20 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    The venue is very central and the food was beautiful would definitely recommend
    The Fountain HouseResponded 7 days ago
    Hey AndyMac Thanks for the review and for recommending us. Really pleasing to hear you enjoyed the food - all made fresh and in house, something we're super proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  11. SarahA

    Toronto

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 20 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Service was good with both waitress and waiter whom we dealt with were friendly. We didn't feel rushed and food was really good, couldn't fault it. The only one thing I'd say and I'm really picking holes here, is that nobody greeted us near the door. I didn't know if I should be going upstairs or on the ground level. I had to go over to the bar and speak first whereas normally saying Hello and have you got a table booked but that's the only thing. We would go back to The Fountain House
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 22 February 2024
    Hey Sarah, Thanks for the review, it's great to see you enjoyed your visit and that you felt everything was on point. We appreciate your feedback regarding entry - this is why we have the big chalk board directing people where to do, right by the entrance. Keep an eye out for it on your next visit, which hopefully will be soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  12. HelenB

    Cheshire

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Roasts were great .. could just be a little bit warmer - otherwise v tasty. Service was good - had a lovely time
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 20 February 2024
    Thank you for your kind review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your roasts, we will pass on the temperature comments to the kitchen. Hopefully see you again soon. Kind regards, Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  13. JoeH

    New York City

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Really enjoyed our meal here only downfall was £25+ service charge being put on the bill which was quickly removed when asked i did leave my own tip which is the way it should be and it just makes what was a lovely night a little awkward towards the end i would recommend to others we all enjoyed it
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 19 February 2024
    Hi Joe, Thanks for leaving us a review and for recommending us. It's great to see you scored us 5 out of 5 for food and service, both things we're proud of here! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  14. Couchkopite

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food and great service. Wheelchair access ok but could be improved.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 19 February 2024
    Hey Couchkopite, it's great to see you enjoyed your visit and that you scored us top marks in all areas! we look forward to seeing you again soon hopefully. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  15. NatalieD

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Food was absolutely lovely. We were a party of 6 and opted for a few starters each and they were all very nice but the lamb filled spring roll was my favourite. Good service and nice atmosphere.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 19 February 2024
    Hey Natalie, Thank you for recommending us and for leaving a 5 star review! We agree, the Lamb Spring roll, amongst others, it's absolutely delicious. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  16. ShirleyA

    Manchester

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 15 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    The service was good, a tiny bit slow at times but because we had not seen each other for a while it didn't matter too much as we had time to chat. It's good to have a break between courses. The staff were lovely and the ambience was good and we weren't rushed to leave.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 17 February 2024
    Thank you for your review. Apologies the service was slow at times but I am glad to hear you enjoyed your evening overall. We can't wait for your next visit. Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  17. RyanS

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 13 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Really lovely place, friendly staff, and the food was delicious! Will definitely be recommending this to friends
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 14 February 2024
    Hey Ryan, Thank you for the 5 star review and the recommendation. We're glad you enjoyed the visit, the food and the team! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  18. ChristopherO

    Yorkshire

    2 reviews

    2.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 11 February 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    No fish options st all, which was disappointing, as they’d had no fish deliveries. Very poor.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 14 February 2024
    Hi Christopher, We're sorry to see you didn't enjoy your visit and that you were let down by there being a lack of fish options. Things like deliveries are sometimes out of our control, and when we're let down by a supplier there is only so much we can do. Again, apologies you felt rough end of the stick. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  19. Gillybann

    Lancashire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Really good service from friendly staff and will definitely be returning
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 5 February 2024
    Hey Gilly, Thank you for recommending us and for giving us 5 stars! It's brilliant to read bout great service from our team - something we're super proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  20. EmmaW

    New York City

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 1 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 2
    We arrived for our meal to a room full of people for a private do. It was loud and busy and not the date night I had planned. I was told multiple times by the private do that it was a “private do” even though it was being held in the same area as the restaurant! None the less after a table change to a quieter part away from the party, the food was lovely and so were the staff
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 3 February 2024
    Hi Emma, Apologies for the beginning of your recent experience - we don't expect our guests to be spoken to in the way by other guests, we're sincerely sorry for that. We are glad that after being relocated you enjoyed both the food and service, and hope that you will visit us again for date night soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  21. AdrianM13

    London

    3 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 1 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 2
    This was a very disappointing experience, we've eaten here twice before and both occasions were a success. This time we were greeted qitb a large corporate function in full flow and we were expected to sit at a table amongst it! Eventually we were shown a table downstairs, but was told that some menu items weren't available so choices were limited. The main came, schnitzel was heavily seasoned, my partner gave up on it, my fish and chips was as disappointing with the batter being soggy and tasteless. After complaining the managers response was to take the service charge off the bill!!! Ridiculous! We paid it and left, never to return.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 3 February 2024
    Hi Adrian, We're sorry to hear about your recent experience. Our team are trained and expected to carry out check-backs when guests dine with us so that we can rectify things at the time and avoid this kind of thing. Should you decide to dine with us again, or elsewhere, please let your server know when they conduct a check back and we/they can fix things for you. Our sincere apologies once again. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  22. OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 28 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The food is always good the staff are attentive but not too much. Great cosy homely feel to the place. Will definitely be back again.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 31 January 2024
    Hey, thanks for the 5 star review and the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  23. JulieK

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 28 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Best Sunday lunch! The beef was amazing! The chicken and pork too All veg lovely, and cooked!
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 1 February 2024
    Hey JulieK, Awesome to see such a lovely review and we're thrilled you enjoyed the Sunday Roast - best in Manchester (we think!) We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  24. CarenA

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Really lovely place, food was delicious and the service was spot on.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 31 January 2024
    Hi CarenA, Thank you for the review and for the recommendation, its brilliant to see the service and food was spot on! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  25. kellym

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Lovely food amazing staff, great atmosphere, service was quick
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 28 January 2024
    Hey Kelly, Thanks for the 5 star review and the recommendation! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  26. KerenR

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 26 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Food staff and service excellent. The only thing that let it down was there was no mash even though it was on the menu. The skin on fries and beef dripping chips were frozen, which I had to have even though I don't like them because there was no alternative.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 27 January 2024
    Hey Keren, Thanks you for leaving us a review and for recommending us! We really appreciate the feedback and will most certainly take it on board moving forward! Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  27. AndrewH

    Manchester

    43 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    43 reviews

    Dined on 25 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Love this place. such friendly service and cosy and excellent value when there’s a deal on confidential. My only regret is choosing the burger as my friend had the fish and chips and they were fabulous. i’ll have to try and persuade another friend to come with me so I can have the fish and chips next time :-)
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 27 January 2024
    Hey Andrew, Thanks you for the kind words! We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and that both the food quality and service were fabulous. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  28. Ashton5

    Yorkshire

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 21 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Fantastic staff who couldn’t do enough for us. The food was excellent too. Will definitely be back!
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 24 January 2024
    Hey Ashton5, Thank you for the review and the recommendation! It's always pleasing to read about the team delivering great service and food. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  29. PaulT

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 21 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great service and food as always, would 100% recommend to anyone
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 24 January 2024
    Hey Paul, Thank you for the lovely words and the recommendation. It's fantastic to see you enjoyed both the food and service - both things we pride ourselves upon here at them fountain house. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  30. OpenTable Diner

    Yorkshire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 21 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Good service, they where happy to try to accommodate our requests. Party of six and we all enjoyed our food choices.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 24 January 2024
    Hey there, Thanks for the 5 star review and the kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  31. duncsdinners

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 20 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Perfect venue for meeting up with friends. Superb food, imaginative menu, great ambiance. Service was excellent. Tiny bit on the pricey side, but the food is made from quality ingredients and is absolutely delicious. I thoroughly recommend The Fountain House.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 24 January 2024
    Hey Duncsdinners, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and for such kind words. It's great to hear about a guest recognising the quality in our ingredients and process, and that the service was excellent too! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  32. KarenC

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Fountain House provides good choice of menu with tasty food
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 22 January 2024
    KarenC Thank you fir the glowing review, we cannot wait until your next visit. Many Thanks Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  33. RominaT

    Manchester

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 13 January 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 2
    While the starters and staff were outstanding, the main dishes and certain elements of the ambiance left room for improvement, in my opinion. MAIN COURSE: they fell flat and lacked the same punch as the starter. AMBIANCE: the restaurant itself has a lovely aesthetic with charming brick walls that create a warm and inviting environment. But this is somewhat disrupted by the stark lighting from the open kitchen, which contrasts with the restaurant's dim lighting. Also, while there's absolutely nothing wrong with classic jams like 'Africa' by Toto and 'Love Shack', they felt completely out of place. These songs are great, but they didn't quite harmonize with the overall vibe the restaurant seems to aim for. I think that with a few adjustments, this restaurant has the potential to offer a more cohesive and enjoyable dining experience.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 17 January 2024
    Hey Romina, Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lengthy and detailed review. It's pleasing to hear you enjoyed the majority of your visit and we appreciate you pointing our areas that we can improve upon, this helps us moving forward! We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  34. OpenTable Diner

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 11 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    The lamb spring role, with Harissa was very tasty and a good serving. I especially enjoyed the sticky toffee pudding , which was recommend by the waitress, and I would go has far as saying it is the best sticky pudding I have eaten. The service was excellent and very attentive.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 17 January 2024
    Hey, Thanks for the kind words and the lovely review. We really appreciate you mentioning our waiting team and glad you enjoyed the recommendation, the Sticky Toffee is top notch!!! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain house

    Is this helpful?

  35. OpenTable Diner

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 11 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Never been here before but would certainly go again. The food was good and the service was good. Can’t fault it.
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 12 January 2024
    Hey, Thank you so much for the 5 stars and the kind words. It's brilliant to see you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  36. HayleyW

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 December 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Food and service were outstanding! The sourdough dips with the bread were delicious
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 3 January 2024
    Hey HayleyW, Thank you for the kind words and the top notch rating! Kitchen team are pleased to hear you enjoyed their food and look forward to you dining with us again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  37. OpenTable Diner

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 31 December 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent location and service was really impressive . Thank you
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 3 January 2024
    Hey! Thank you for the 5 stars and to very kind words, you are absolutely welcome! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  38. Zens

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 31 December 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Everything was amazing ! Food and staff were exceptional
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 3 January 2024
    Hey Zens Thanks for leaving us a review and for being so complimentary! We're really glad you chose to dine with us on new years and pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  39. MickH

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 December 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food well prepared and presented, in a really nice setting
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 29 December 2023
    Hey Mick Thanks foe the 5 star review and for the recommendation, we really appreciate it. We're glad to see you enjoyed your visit, the food and the atmosphere, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

  40. AndrewB

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 24 December 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Wait staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the meal
    The Fountain HouseResponded on 27 December 2023
    Hey AndrewB, Thanks for leaving us such a lovely review and for mentioning how helpful and friendly our team were. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Fountain House

    Is this helpful?

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitising

    • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
    • Contactless payment available

FAQs

The Fountain House is rated 4.2 stars by 316 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 18 times today
Google Map for The Fountain House

The Memorial Hall Albert Square, Manchester, Manchester M2 5PF

Additional information

  • Area
    Manchester
  • Hours of Operation
    Tue–Sat 12:00–23:00 Sun 12:00–22:30
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    Contemporary British, British
  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Dress Code
    Business Casual
  • Parking Details
    None
  • Public Transit
    We are a 2-minute walk away from St. Peter's tram stop.We are a 10-minute walk away from Deasgate tram stop.We also have near-by train stations such as Oxford Road station and Deansgate station.
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Cash not accepted, Mastercard, Visa
  • Executive Chef
    Mitchell
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Dancing, Dog Friendly, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Vegan, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Phone number
    0161 834 1866
  • Private party facilities
    Here at The Fountain House we have two stunning private dining rooms which are perfect to make your occasion extra special. Our Thomas Worthington Suite and Memorial Hall are situated on the 1st floor of our grade II listed building. The basement restaurant is also a great space to hire exclusively.
  • Private party contact
    Callum Consterdine : 07557 373974
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
Rentalcars Logo
OpenTable Logo