The Fox Inn

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
118 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British
Top tags:
  • Sunday Lunch
  • Cosy
  • Lunch
This Virginia creeper clad, Cotswold stone inn with flagstone floors, exposed beams, open fireplaces and a collection of antiques is the quintessential British Pub. The Fox Inn is a perfect setting for either a cosy, romantic meal or a larger family get together, or maybe you want to escape from it all and enjoy a relaxing break away in this wonderful part of the Cotswolds.
What 118 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
MS
Oxford
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food, brilliant staff, relaxed atmosphere. Fabulous!

W
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Everything was great , disappointed to have had £10 added to my bill for a starter i didn’t have , a practice which is creeping in with other restaurants, a mistake or am i being over cynical !

LD
41 reviews
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

A really charming old pub will oodles of character. The food is very good indeed and is served by attentive staff. A starter of scallops was cooked to exactly the right degree and my chicken main dish was also very good. In the absence of a soufflé, which I would always choose if on the menu, I enjoyed an affogato.

MJ
1 review
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food, service, ambience, value for money all excellent. We shall return.

TT
London
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food.
Sublime servicec
Whats not to like !
Go !

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely food in a beautiful setting

S
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Great pub! You really feel like one of the locals when you come here. Would definitely recommend sitting in the back garden.

S
Birmingham
30 reviews
Dined on 23 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely meal; nice Malbec; great service from friendly and respectful staff
Will definitely return if I am in the area

O
London
29 reviews
Dined on 23 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great welcome and service, excellent food (best burger ever eaten!). A bit pricey but it is determinedly gastro, and its (very good, well-established) reputation goes before it, so not s surprise. Just need to make sure the many wasps at front window are kept under control.

OT
London
2 reviews
Dined on 22 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 3

Food superb

MI
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 22 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

We invited our guest here and pleased we booked on Open Table as their phones were out of order!!
Food and ambience was as good as ever but menu we felt was restricted and was our only concern.

LG
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We found this restaurant to be very inviting and pleasant, and the food as well as the service were excellent. We were delighted with everything we had, and the staff was very friendly and attentive. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

PB
1 review
Dined on 15 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The Fox restaurant offers a relaxed, comfortable ambience with excellent food and very attentive, helpful service. The double-baked cheese souffle was absolutely amazing.

OT
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Great menu, food delicious and we were so well looked after.

R
London
7 reviews
Dined on 13 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful
Lovely ambience and fabulous Thomas

RM
1 review
Dined on 12 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The friendly, warm welcome is matched by the exquisite food. Don't be looking for giant portions but beautifully prepared and presented dishes that still leave you fully satisfied at the end of a 3 course meal. Don't be looking for cheap either, good food costs. Whilst not exorbitant it will be a pricey meal but you should have no problem paying for such excellence. The cheese souffle is becoming near world famous it seems. If you are in the area do yourself a favour, book a table and spend a few wonderful hours having a fantastic meal. French influenced dining at its tres bon best.

IB
London
188 reviews
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Lovely country gastro-pub. Very good food cooked to a consistently good standard with some interesting wines on offer too.
Will definitely go back!

FD
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 9 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Delicious food, brilliant atmosphere and amazing staff!

T
1 review
Dined on 8 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely to be back on a sunny day. The food and service as good as ever

AM
London
1 review
Dined on 4 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We live in a nearby village, and only once before had we visited. This time we had Sunday lunch. The beef was cooked to perfection and the quality very good. Already thinking of the next time we visit - even thinking of moving to be near it!!!

SJ
London
5 reviews
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fabulous slow garden long lunch in August - but in cold and ran would have been just as good given cosy interiors. Highly recommended.

BB
London
2 reviews
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Good food, good service and just around the corner from home-perfect
Thank you!!

BG
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 25 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Always happy to book The Fox, food is great and the Team running the place our attentive, genuinely nice people. Always feels a little more special than a norma gastropub...... Looking forward tour next visit

MB
London
3 reviews
Dined on 24 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

The food at dinner was very good with an imaginative menu and fresh ingredients. Service was professional and cheerful. We stayed the night and the breakfast was one of the best.

DL
Gloucestershire
3 reviews
Dined on 24 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Have visited here on a number of occasions and have always been impressed with the service and food. Would definitely recommend this to our friends.

P
London
12 reviews
Dined on 21 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Very good Sunday lunch. Attentive waiting staff. Sam carried many heavy plates with great aplomb. The Fox is back on my destination list after a few years of average service. Some decent moderately priced wine too.

SC
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 20 July 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 5

Lovely evening. Only comment would be that service was slow. One diner in our party found their meal wasn’t hot enough and this was dealt with efficiently and amiably. The staff are helpful and welcoming.
NB: please remove the cobwebs from the skylight!

The Fox Inn
Responded on 22 July 2019

Dear Sarah, Thank you for your review. We confirm that Saturday night at The Fox is one of the busiest shift. We aim to serve food in a reasonable time but insuring the quality is our priority. The cobweb have been removed but nature is already back at work! we ll keep a close eye on the skylight! Best Regards Thom

Report
PR
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall 3food 2service 5ambience 3

We were sat at a round table by a bow window. Both my partner and I had the table digging into our legs throughout our Meale as the window sit was to high and the table to low. All of our starters were wonderful, but mum and I both picked Scollops for our main, they were over cooked and Luke warm. Mum left three of hers. My partner had ribeye steak, which is normally very tasty, but on this occasion it was not, although it had been cooked as requested. Unfortunately on my return home after eating the scallops I had s very upset stomach.

The Fox Inn
Responded on 16 July 2019

Dear Petina, Thank you for your feedback. We recall you were sitting at a table near the bay window. I am sorry you were not comfortably sat, if we had known the problem we would have offer you an alternative solution instantly. Your very nice mum, had a cheese souffle to start, then a scallops as a main course, i recall she said it was a little too much for her. Our Scallops are freshly delivered each morning. We look forward to seeing you again soon Best Regards Thom

Report
OT
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent pub dining in idyllic Cotswolds setting. Impeccable service.

SD
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 28 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The welcome was warm and genuine as was the service - offering to move umbrellas around as it was a hot day.
Food was fabulous - the twice baked cheese soufflé living up to its reputation and the pea and mint soup was a real taste of the lovely summers day! My onion and thyme tart was a revelation and all four of us enjoyed our main courses - sadly none of us had room for dessert which was a shame as they all sounded delicious.
It was the first visit for all of us but we all agreed it definitely won’t be the last - our new favourite place!

a
Perth / WA
2 reviews
Dined on 18 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fabulous food and service when we visited for lunch and dinner last week. What a find!

OT
London
4 reviews
Dined on 16 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Loved The Fox Inn, beautiful Sunday lunch and great service

JW
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 14 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Superb as always - we used to live in the area and whenever we visit we try and call in. Food , wine and service excellent

PB
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 14 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great place to dine.We have been three times over last year when holidaying and will be going again,

SS
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on 14 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Superb meal & absolutely excellent service. This place has always been good but it’s lately gotten even better with friendly, informed staff. 5 stars!!

C
Bath
1 review
Dined on 12 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

We loved the Fox, the staff were very warm friendly and helpful.
My meal was slightly on the cold side when it arrived but the staff immediately sorted it out and returned a much hotter meal.
We loved the atmosphere and decor .
If we lived closer we would return, sadly we were only visiting the area.

AA
Bergisches Land
1 review
Dined on 12 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

All very fine. My potatoes were undercooked but the problem was quickly and quietly resolved. Everything else was first rate.

OT
London
2 reviews
Dined on 9 June 2019
Overall 2food 1service 4ambience 3

There is something very off putting about ordering something and it arriving at your table 90 seconds later. Two of us had fish and chips and as well as speed of delivery being a little disconcerting, the batter had the consistency of rubber. It looked like something that had been prepared several hours earlier and been reheated. I had broccoli and Stilton tart, and that was hot in a way that only something straight out of a microwave can be.

However the people working there are very polite and if that is what you are looking for this might be the right place for you.

The Fox Inn
Responded on 11 June 2019

Dear Guest, thank for your feedback. The timing of your meal was obviously too fast we all agree. I just want to explain that on Sunday (as I believe it was the day of your visit) we constantly have our delicious homemade tart in the oven and fish and chips being prepared. I can only guarantee that you meal you had was fresh and definitely not microwaved!... we all apologise for the impression we gave you, and hope you will visit us again to repair this memory. Best regards Thom and the team.

Report
EA
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 4

Kitchen service slow. Value for money poor.
Waiters were attentive, but food took absolutely ages to arrive (80 mins to main course). We had to gesture that we were prepared to leave unfed before the food arrived at our table
My £11 starter arrived cold but after the long wait I didn't mention it.
My partner's £26.50 lamb main was very mean in terms of quantity. 2 very small pieces of lamb.
Overall this restaurant is over-priced and slow with pretty average food. Hence our disappointment.

OT
1 review
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We’ve been to The Fox several times - last night the service and food was outstanding! Thank you :-)

1
2
3