Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. East Sussex
  4. Hartfield
  5. Hartfield

The Hatch Inn Hartfield

4.5
4.5
303 Reviews
£26 to £40
Gastro Pub

As a quick note to customers we would like to inform you that all of our reservable outdoor tables are under cover and have heating. Also standard seating is indoor seating.
Proprietor Nicholas Drillsma and partner Sandy Barton have built an enviable reputation over the past 25 years in producing the highest quality, locally sourced food, complimented by an extensive wine list.
The daily changing menus reflect our customer profile in delivering quality food and service in a cosy, quintessentially English public house.

Make a booking

2 people

December 2021
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
19:00


Booked 15 times today
  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Cuisines

    Gastro Pub

  • Hours of Operation

    Mon–Sat 12:00–23:30
    Sun 12:00–16:00

  • Phone number

    01342 822363

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress Code

    Casual Dress

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitising

    • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
    • Contactless payment available
  • Physical distancing

    • Limited number of seated diners
    • Distancing maintained in common areas
    • Extra space between tables
  • Protective equipment

    • Waiting staff wear masks
    • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
    • Contact tracing information collected

Menu

At present, we do not have menu information for this restaurant. Please see their website or wait to visit the restaurant to learn more.

What 303 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.5
4.5 based on recent ratings
  • 4.5Food
  • 4.6Service
  • 4.5Ambience
  • 4.3Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • East Sussex

    Best Overall

  • East Sussex

    Best Ambience

  • East Sussex

    Lunch

  • East Sussex

    Neighbourhood Gem

  • East Sussex

    Outdoor Eating

  • East Sussex

    Romance

  • East Sussex

    Special Occasions

  • East Sussex

    Sunday Lunch

  • East Sussex

    Vibrant Bar Scene

  • East Sussex

    Most Booked

Sort by

Filters

  1. PM

    PeterM

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    The Hatch is a regular when I’m in Forest Row. The food is wonderful and the ambiance is great. One of the best local pubs and never disappoints.

  2. AC

    AnnaC

    Brighton

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall4food3service5ambience5

    The Hatch Inn is in the most lovely setting and is a delight to visit. We have been going for many years and have always rated Sunday lunch as the best around. Sadly it was lacking yesterday.Noted for honey roasted carrots ,delicious parsnips, and huge Yorkshire puddings , we found instead, a fairly average meal, no honey roasted carrots and in fact no parsnips on my plate at all , a small ? Aunt Bessies Yorkshire and boiled cabbage. Will we go again? Probably as our love of Ashdown walks ending in a meal at the Hatch is enough for us to remain optimistic for the best roast to return. Value for money? Well, personally I think £300 was expensive for what we ate considering very little alcohol was consumed but you can’t put a price on ambiance and setting.

  3. AK

    AndyK

    London

    8 reviews

    5.0

    8 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Truly great evening - superb food and great service for a group of eight. Would thoroughly recommend.

  4. SP

    SaraP

    London

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    The Hatch Inn is our local pub and we can walk to it across the forest. It is full of character with its low ceilings, sparkley lights and a log fire. Warmly welcomed by delightful staff we enjoyed very good food (including several vegetarian options and an excellent vegan pudding of brownies and sorbet). It was the perfect venue for a weekend birthday lunch.

  5. C

    Chris

    West Sussex

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall3food3service3ambience4

    We’ve always enjoyed dining at The Hatch but our recent experience was disappointing. Slow service, part of a meal missing, cold cheese, and no advice not to order a side salad when there was one already on the plate. We know it’s difficult times with Covid and staffing issues but let’s hope they get back to 5 stars soon.

  6. A

    Anca

    East Sussex

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall3food3service4ambience2

    Other than the fact that parking is difficult and our coffees were not hot we had an enjoyable visit.

  7. CR

    CaronR

    New York Area

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall3food4service3ambience1

    Being of a certain age where covid is a concern, we were disappointed to see that the tables are not socially distanced, difficult in an old pub but still necessary. We were also cold, there was no heating on at all. The food as usual was very good. Unfortunately a very boisterous table nearby meant that we could not hear our own conversation, not the pub's fault obviously but dented our enjoyment.

  8. MK

    MarieK

    Kent

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 28 November 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    An absolutely fantastic find! We walked for a couple of hours before finally reaching the Hatch Inn. It was a perfect place for a cosy drink and a fabulous Sunday roast- we could not fault it and will definitely return xxx

  9. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 November 2021

    overall4food4service5ambience4

    Lovely little pub. Been quite a few times now, usually summer. First time in winter. Met with friends, very accommodating as had our small old dog with us, who slept in the corner. Roast was plentiful and tasty. Very busy little pub, note: time limit on tables of 2 hours. If not booked out after, they let you linger. Gave blankets out as main door was giving Baltic blasts with constant opening. But log fires going and was warm & cozy. Lovely location in the forest with superb walks to and from the pub. Staff were friendly, professional & efficient.

  10. P

    Paul

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 November 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    It’s always a pleasure to go to the Hatch, the food and service was excellent!

  11. JS

    JohnS

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 November 2021

    overall3food3service4ambience2

    Slightly disappointing / average on this occasion. We are regular customers and felt the food was not as good as usual. The staff appeared very stressed which did not help create a relaxed feel. Could do much better.

  12. SM

    StefanM

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 November 2021

    overall4food4service2ambience4

    Food is always excellent - a cut above most other pubs in the area

  13. D

    Debbie679

    Kent

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 27 November 2021

    overall4food4service4ambience4

    Great wholesome food exactly as menu . Nicely presented.

  14. J

    Jacq

    London

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 27 November 2021

    overall3food3service4ambience3

    Gosh and chip portions noticeably smaller, Hester not working in Marquette and noisy crying babies but other than that was great!!!!!!! 😬

  15. BC

    BenC

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 November 2021

    overall1food3service1ambience2

    This was a disastrous meal which ruined a rare family get together with my wife's 80 year old parents, and their 8 year old grandson. The pub manager did not charge us for our meal which was gracious and the right thing after more than 2 hours of waiting in chaos. Our feedback would be that if the pub is short staffed for whatever reason, better to get in touch and actually cancel the meal rather than put customers through a miserable experience in the process of trying to accommodate a full suite of bookings with no capacity to deliver.

    The Hatch Inn HartfieldResponded on 28 November 2021

    I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to us recently, my apologies for the error with your food order but this was a simple mistake by a junior member of staff. You were not waiting in chaos for 2 hours. You complained the moment you arrived that you weren't happy with your table allocation & you could clearly see that the team were under pressure. The issue here was not staff but simply many customers arriving all at once which was out of our control

  16. SP

    SteveP

    London

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 23 November 2021

    overall4food4service4ambience5

    Brilliant as always (now a fairly regular visitor). Good quality food. Staff can't do enough for you and food is very generous portions!!

  17. MR

    MichaelR

    Berkshire

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 22 November 2021

    overall2food2service3ambience3

    It is two years since my last visit. Sadly it has gone downhill. Good menu but poor delivery. The new management needs to up its game before I return

  18. m

    melissac

    Brighton

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 21 November 2021

    overall2food2service2ambience2

    Sunday lunch is very limited to one vegan choice (nut roast!)- and my husband ordered lamb, but got beef! The food mid week is much better than at the weekend. Service was ok - wine not great. Very cold by door as people kept leaving the door/curtain open.

  19. CW

    CharlotteW

    London

    9 reviews

    5.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on 21 November 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Excellent food, especially the puddings. The service was very good as well

  20. EH

    ElliottH

    East Sussex

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 20 November 2021

    overall5food4service5ambience3

    Food was delicious, very attentive and friendly staff would definitely recommend

  21. DP

    DeniceP

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 19 November 2021

    overall4food5service4ambience4

    Excellent food, very pleasant and polite staff. On this occasion we did wait a long time for our food; it was very busy, and like most places at the moment, we suspect they are without some staff. It won’t put us off, but hope next time it is not close to an hour from ordering to delivery.

  22. JE

    JaneE

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 19 November 2021

    overall4food3service5ambience5

    Lovely pub and the staff were engaged and Welcoming.

  23. PA

    PatA

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 November 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience4

    Really enjoyed lunch here. Great food & charming waitress

  24. CP

    ChrisP

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 13 November 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience4

    We've eaten at The Hatch Inn on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed by the service or the food. The menu can appear a little limited but in many cases that only serves to ensure the ingredients are fresh and the range of options is still broad enough to have something for everyone. If the place is full then service won't be lightening quick but we know that and plan accordingly to just sit and enjoy the atmosphere

  25. J

    Jacq

    London

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 13 November 2021

    overall4food4service4ambience3

    Thankfully no ping from the troublesome cesspit today and service was brisk although was surprised we were in the tent and not indoors - had specified table indoors on booking

  26. SC

    SueC

    London

    4 reviews

    4.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 13 November 2021

    overall4food5service4ambience5

    Lovely staff, great food, efficient booking system

  27. R

    Rosie

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 12 November 2021

    overall3food5service1ambience2

    Food was amazing but service was shocking and the language used by some of the staff when talking to each other was seriously disappointing.

  28. KB

    KenB

    East Sussex

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 12 November 2021

    overall4food4service5ambience4

    Friendly, helpful service. Good food in an interesting old pub. Get there early for easy parking.

  29. K

    Krda

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 11 November 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Lovely service and delicious well presented food. Will come again.

  30. MD

    MartinD

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 November 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Well kept Harveys, friendly staff, delicious food, portions more than generous all set us up for a lovely walk on the Forrest.

  31. KH

    KirstH

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 7 November 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Lovely pub and truly delicious Sunday roast! Would definitely recommend.

  32. MC

    MikeC

    New England

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 7 November 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Excellent Sunday lunch. Roast beef superb quality. Staff so helpful and friendly. Will definitely return.

  33. SB

    SamBrickman

    East Sussex

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 7 November 2021

    overall1food2service1ambience1

    Leaves a Bad Taste in the Mouth - Abysmal Customer Service Be sure to arrive as a total party or be subjected to constant interrogation over when the remainder will be joining you minutes after your booking starts. I both witnessed this and experienced this today. You are made to feel like an imposition and reminded that they are turning people away (despite their policy being bookings only) it leaves a bad taste in the mouth. Our starter arrived at the same time as our roast dinner. Despite spending almost £100 between a party of three we were told to vacate the table five minutes before our allotted time was up and the waitress had the gall to ask if we'd leave a tip ... "try treating your paying customers with respect!" Absolutely abysmal service, won't be returning. 10 out of 61 reviews on your Facebook page don't recommend you as a venue.

    The Hatch Inn HartfieldResponded on 8 November 2021

    Hello Sam, please be aware that one of your party arrived over an hour early for your reserved table at 1.00, you arrived ten minutes late! (our CCTV images confirm this). You will also be aware that we had pre booked customers waiting to sit at your table as you were late to leave. Your 'starters' was actually a bread board to share between three of you!!. We have countless reviews that contravene your comments.

  34. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Derbyshire

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 7 November 2021

    overall5food4service5ambience4

    Friendly service, lovely location. Visiting the area and well worth a bite to eat

  35. JM

    JaneM

    East Sussex

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 5 November 2021

    overall4food4service4ambience4

    Lovely traditional country pub. A crowd pleasing menu, something for everyone. I’m sure we’ll be back.

  36. f

    foodienomad

    New York Area

    19 reviews

    5.0

    19 reviews

    Dined on 3 November 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Lovely old pub with delicious imaginative food, and friendly and attentive service. The noise problem was almost certainly a one off, due to a large and loud birthday celebration at the next table

  37. AF

    AlexF

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 November 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Great service, lovely food and nice atmosphere for my birthday lunch. We all really enjoyed it. Thanks you.

  38. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    East Sussex

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 November 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Lovely welcome. Great ambience and wonderful food.

  39. S

    Samme123

    London

    14 reviews

    5.0

    14 reviews

    Dined on 31 October 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience4

    This is one of the best Sunday roasts we’ve had in the area. The Hatch Inn is a proper local country gastro pub. The wine was delicious, a Rioja to compliment the beef. Everything was cooked fresh and despite us having a late sitting, the beef was cooked as it should and all vegetables were fresh. The cheeseboard was incredible too.

  40. EB

    EmmaB

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 30 October 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Fantastic meal out, one of the party was gluten free and so much choice on the menu, we ate in the marquee which was heated. Fantastic pub we will be back

FAQs

The Hatch Inn Hartfield is rated 4.5 stars by 303 OpenTable diners

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.

Make a booking

2 people

December 2021
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
19:00


Booked 15 times today
Google Map for The Hatch Inn Hartfield

The Hatch Inn Coleman's Hatch Hartfield, East sussex TN7 4EJ

  • Area

    Hartfield

  • Hours of Operation

    Mon–Sat 12:00–23:30
    Sun 12:00–16:00

  • Cuisines

    Gastro Pub

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Dress Code

    Casual Dress

  • Parking Details

    On street parking

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Additional

    Beer, Beer Garden, Indoor Fireplace, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Copyright © 2021 OpenTable International Ltd. Fourth Floor, 14-18 Finsbury Square, London EC2A 1AH - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo