Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Gloucestershire/Wiltshire
  4. Stow-on-the-Wold
  5. Stow-on-the-Wold
The Horse and Groom Inn, Moreton-in-Marsh, Gloucestershire

The Horse and Groom Inn

4.6
4.6
631 Reviews
£26 to £40
Pub
  • Charming
  • Good for special occasions
  • Dog-friendly
The Horse and Groom Inn aims to provide great food and drink in a quintessential, traditional 16th century country inn. Dining is relaxed and informal in a friendly atmosphere. We stock a wide choice of wines by the glass, cask conditioned ales, lagers and ciders.

Our guests can enjoy dining in our cosy bar or restaurant areas. We welcome well-behaved dogs on leads. Children are welcome if accompanied by an adult and supervised at all times. We also have a comfortable outdoor terrace and garden area with picturesque babbling brook.

We also have a small in-pub coffee shop and delicatessen! Selling the best of local produce, bread, milk and a selection of luxury food and drink items, the shop is open whenever we are. We also provide great coffees to drink in or take away.

Our menu focusses on great steaks and seafood (vegetarian/ vegan always available).

Note: There are two pubs called the Horse and Groom in the area - we are the Horse and Groom Inn at Upper Oddington.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 10 times today

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Price
    £26 to £40
  • Cuisines
    Pub, Grill, Seafood
  • Hours of Operation
    Lunch Mon, Thu–Sat 12:30–14:30 Sun 12:00–15:00 Bar Mon, Wed, Thu 12:00–22:00 Tue 15:00–22:00 Fri, Sat 12:00–23:00 Sun 12:00–21:00 Dinner Mon–Thu 18:00–20:00 Fri, Sat 18:00–20:30 Sun 18:00–19:15
  • Phone number
    01451 830584
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress Code
    Casual Dress
  • Executive Chef
    Norman Liu
  • Private party facilities
    We have flexible spaces which can be made available for private dining. Please contact us directly to discuss your requirements on 01451 830584 or via our web site or OpenTable app. A deposit and pre-order may be required for groups of larger than 10 guests dining with us. Please call us on 01451 830584 to discuss your reservation.
  • Area
    Stow-on-the-Wold
  • Parking Details
    Car park for guests of the pub with c25 spaces available to the rear of the pub. Parking is free.
  • Public Transit
    Nearest railway station is Kingham on the London Paddington to Worcester/ Hereford line. The station is a taxi ride to the pub, approximately £20 one way.
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cafe, Cocktails, Dog Friendly, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, High Tea, Indoor Fireplace, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Wine

What 631 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.6
4.6 based on recent ratings
  • 4.5Food
  • 4.7Service
  • 4.6Ambience
  • 4.3Value

NoiseEnergetic

Loved For

  • Gloucestershire/Wiltshire

    Best Service

  • Gloucestershire/Wiltshire

    Best Value

  • Gloucestershire/Wiltshire

    Great for scenic views

631 Reviews
  1. OpenTable Diner

    Oxford

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    This was our second trip here, and the food, service and general attention to detail was excellent. Last time we had the seafood special, this time I was going to try the steak but there was a monkfish tail on special so had to try this. It was the best monkfish I have ever had. Fantastic place to go and eat. Try it.

    Is this helpful?

  2. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 6 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely food in nice surroundings. Food is not necessarily the cheapest you’ll find but quality was excellent one of the best meals out we can remember having for along time. Staff were friendly with good service. We enjoyed it so much we’re going back tonight!

    Is this helpful?

  3. OpenTable Diner

    Oxford

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 July 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Quality of food was amazing and a great choice on the menu. Service excellent, would definitely recommend

    Is this helpful?

  4. Lins

    London

    4 reviews

    2.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 15 July 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 3
    Used to be a regular favourite of ours years ago and was a shock to go back and see how much it’s declined - poor service as always having to ask twice for stuff, being rushed to order food before we’ve even received our drinks, being served dishes with the sauce missing and no apology or even recognition that the kitchen forgot it. It wasn’t a pleasant experience sadly. Adding comment due to venue’s inaccurate and defensive response- of course we raised these issues at the time and the kitchen sent up sauce for the seabass once we had said something. The waitress was also asked 3 times for the ice and twice for the ketchup for the fries (she merely said she forgot for all of it) - she was uninterested and there wasn’t a single other person around either behind the bar or wandering around. So we did politely say something and the chef was well aware of the forgotten sauce, then paid and left. Do not print here that we said nothing and then left this review as that is a lie. If your staff didn’t tell you our comments that’s on you not us.
    The Horse and Groom InnResponded on 16 July 2024
    Thank you for your review, however we are puzzled by it as we don't recall any issues with the service concerned. We really do aim to please all our guests and in most cases I'm pleased to say most guests leave delighted with the service and their experience - as most other reviews indeed confirm. I'm sorry we didn't get it right in your case but also sorry that you didn't raise your concerns with us at the time. We would always do our best to put things right. It's hard to do when you've left without saying anything...

    Is this helpful?

  5. OpenTable Diner

    County Durham

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 July 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 1
    Very disappointed, the honey roasted parsnips , were not roasted and were not glazed with honey. The beef was cut wafer thin, the gravy had no flavour and the carrot and swede mash was like baby food.
    The Horse and Groom InnResponded on 16 July 2024
    Thank you for your review and feedback. We aim to produce a fabulous Sunday roast and in most cases do so. I am sorry you felt on this occasion we didn't meet your expectations.

    Is this helpful?

  6. OpenTable Diner

    London

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 14 July 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We had a wonderful Sunday lunch. Great food. Lovely staff.

    Is this helpful?

  7. andrewf

    Devon

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 13 July 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    It was a lovely evening great good would go again when next in the area

    Is this helpful?

  8. OpenTable Diner

    Gloucestershire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 July 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    excellent service and helpfulk staff have recommended to friends

    Is this helpful?

  9. OpenTable Diner

    Glasgow

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 5 July 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely, welcoming place. We enjoyed our vegetarian and vegan dishes.

    Is this helpful?

  10. OpenTable Diner

    Gloucestershire

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 June 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    Lovely food and venue apart from all the dogs. Very friendly and courteous staff.
    The Horse and Groom InnResponded on 5 July 2024
    Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased you found the staff to be friendly and courteous, we are very proud of the attention they give to our guests. Also, great to hear that you enjoyed your food. I'm sorry if you were made uncomfortable by the dogs. We are a dog-friendly pub but recognise that not all guests want to be around dogs. Next time, if you ask to be seated in an area free of dogs we will be happy to seat you somewhere away from dogs. We always try to keep an area of the dining area free of dogs for guests who prefer this.

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

The Horse and Groom Inn is rated 4.6 stars by 631 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 10 times today
Google Map for The Horse and Groom Inn

Upper Oddington, Moreton-in-Marsh, Gloucestershire GL56 0XH

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Area
    Stow-on-the-Wold
  • Hours of Operation
    Lunch Mon, Thu–Sat 12:30–14:30 Sun 12:00–15:00 Bar Mon, Wed, Thu 12:00–22:00 Tue 15:00–22:00 Fri, Sat 12:00–23:00 Sun 12:00–21:00 Dinner Mon–Thu 18:00–20:00 Fri, Sat 18:00–20:30 Sun 18:00–19:15
  • Price
    £26 to £40
  • Cuisines
    Pub, Grill, Seafood
  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Dress Code
    Casual Dress
  • Parking Details
    Car park for guests of the pub with c25 spaces available to the rear of the pub. Parking is free.
  • Public Transit
    Nearest railway station is Kingham on the London Paddington to Worcester/ Hereford line. The station is a taxi ride to the pub, approximately £20 one way.
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Executive Chef
    Norman Liu
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cafe, Cocktails, Dog Friendly, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, High Tea, Indoor Fireplace, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Wine
  • Phone number
    01451 830584
  • Private party facilities
    We have flexible spaces which can be made available for private dining. Please contact us directly to discuss your requirements on 01451 830584 or via our web site or OpenTable app. A deposit and pre-order may be required for groups of larger than 10 guests dining with us. Please call us on 01451 830584 to discuss your reservation.
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Impressum
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo