The Jolly Gin and craft
PLEASE NOTE OUR OPENING HOURS PAST 6.30PM ARE FOR FUTURE BOOKINGS FROM 17TH MAY.
- Surfaces sanitised between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
- Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waiting staff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
- Contact tracing information collected
Service was extremely slow, was sitting for at least 20-25 mins then had to actually get up and ask someone to come over to the table to take our order when they said at the start it was table service only. Very poor service considering it wasn’t even busy at the time.
Service is way to slow it took 35 mins for us to get our first drink
Service was a little slow but we got told at half 8 that we had to leave immediately as the people who had our table next was here. They did say there’s a problem with a system however was told that after we said we’d like to finish our drinks first and they are we had to leave immediately as the people were there to take our table next. I believe we should of been told about this right at the beginning and let known of a little warning as as far as we knew we had the table for 2 hours as said on the opentableapp
I believe they should of been told (those waiting in our table) that we could have another 10 minutes as when we asked about having another 5 / 10 minutes to finish our drinks and they told us we couldn’t
Absolutely wonderful evening and so happy to be back
Not clear on their covid rules, amount of food you had to order and when you had to order last drinks! Also never asked us through the full stay if we wanted another drink, only had one with our food and all needed refills but by time we caught waitress we weren’t then allowed before closing time as we had finished our food. NEVER explained to us and “manager” was very rude and abrupt when we asked about it. Bottom line we explained we were there to help local businesses in these times but we won’t be back! Terrible service and attitude!!
Hi Bryan We were following the Scottish government rules. A main meal is what we were told by the local eho and that is what we worked with. I can only apologies that we missed you but because we did and the food was finished we couldn't bend the rules because a breach of covid regulations could have led to the goverment grants being withdrawn. Sorry for letting you guys down
The staff were lovely, & we had a lovely time. But the quality of the food was absolutely atrocious. Limp warm lettuce leaves, a burger with nothing other than a burger inside.. We will not visit again unfortunately.
Use this place regularly but was very disappointed. Food was below average. Booked a 2 hour slot. Was told we only had 1.5 hours ordered a glass of wine which came before our meal. Finished our meal and it were a cocktail. To be told we couldn't have another drink as our plates had left the table? I said we had the table for 1.5 hours and you literally just took our plates. The guy then got cheeky saying don't blame me rules are rules. You can only drink with food. Why then could we have wine 25 mins before our food arrived but not right after. We won't be back
Hi Rosey Im sorry you were left disapointed but the rules set out by the goverment don't allow alcohol to be ordered after your meal has been finished. You can order drinks before the food arrives as this is seen as with a meal but once the plates are cleared this is seen as the meal ending.
First time visit.. food was delish ... cocktails amazing .. following all covid guidelines .. fab service.. look fwrd to visiting again when we can
Food was amazing for a change, booked again, nachos so good
Delicious food, great service. Would definitely recommend.
After reading some or most of the reviews we were not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. The staff were extremely friendly. The place was nice and clean. COVID rules and regulations were in force as they should be. There were only two up front staff members serving around 4 or five tables. This made service a bit slow but under the circumstances it was totally acceptable. They had ran out of steak which was a bummer but I opted for the chicken burger and I was not disappointed at all, it was delicious. Everyone in our party was really impressed with the place and would definitely go back. So where the people get their ideas for the bad reviews from I do not know, they must have just been rather unlucky during their visit.
Me and my husband went here for dinner one night last week, the food was next level amazing! You definitely feel safe also
Food was excellent with plenty of Gluten Free options will definitely be back.
Excellent high quality food and cocktails. Highly recommend
On arrival there were no free tables. We were told because we had not informed them we were running ten minutes late that we could not be seated as the restaurant was closing at 8pm. I was extremely disappointed and am not keen to return.
We were refused entry due to being ten minutes late for our booked table! Apparently tables had been given away.....extremely disappointing! Also you turned away 2 other couples behind us for same reason!
It was a goverment cut of stipulated in the covid hospitality guidance where last entry was allowed we had to follow this. sorry for the upset
Very disappointed in the service. Once we arrived we were told we could not be seated and it would be a wait for our tables, which we had booked! To then be told we couldn’t dine as we wouldn’t be out in time!
Booked a table for 6pm and when we first arrived we were greeted with " we have been shuffling tables around all day as people don't want to leave". We were told numerous times that our table was just being cleared and we would be seated soon even though it was clear nobody was leaving their table. After standing at the main door for 20 minutes we were finally seated a table that had been empty the full time. 5 minutes later I had to ask for menu's to be brought to our table. The waiter did apologise for our wait and offered us 50% off our food bill due to our wait however another 10 minutes passed and we still hadn't been asked for a drinks and or food order (we left 40 minutes or so after our booking without even placing an order) I fully appreciate bars and restaurants are busy after being closed for so long however my experience on Saturday was completely unacceptable . Do not take bookings you cannot fulfill! All of my experiences have been "slow" at The Jolly Gin however Saturday has made me very unlikely to return & pay money for a service that is very very poor.
Service very slow and haphazard
First night back with alcohol allowed for weeks though
£5 was knocked off bill without us asking though
Food good but would prefer plates. Instead of wooden boards which don't seem as hygienic
Menus should be laminated and wiped between each customer service
no Christmas tunes atmosphere was a bit flat
Service was terrible- waited ages for drinks and when they did come - some were wrong
Empties weren’t cleared from table and we had hardly any room as it was a small table for 2 we had
Terms of the table for 2 hours weren’t explained to us. No option for a sweet or a coffee. We weren’t even offered
Food was ok - just the bar service wasted it
Also when paying the bill they were originally going to charge a higher different price that was quoted on the bill
If they knew they were busy they should have had the staff on to cope with the demand
Lovely place, staff were were very good but the food wasn't the best, probably just picked the wrong thing, not the best fajitas I've had too much peppers not very much chicken
Terrible. Booked a table at 1900hrs and was left standing for about 25 minutes waiting for it and then spoken to by the manager in a patronising and condescending manner. No jolly, no gin
Service and safety measures were fantastic! Took all details for track and trace and server was friendly and welcoming. Food was absolutely incredible! Thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely be back!
Food was delish and half price we couldn't believe it when the bill came!! Staff are lovely will defo be back
We booked a table for the jolly gin and craft and you can imagine our disappointment when we turned up at 4pm and it was closed. We were not informed and still allowed to book even though they were closed.
Great place for lunch and drinks. Food was awesome and service was spot on.
Was amazing!!! Will defo be back!! Best burger I’ve ever tasted
Excellent service and food.
Great value for money, will definitely return.
Good food but prices didn’t reflect the quantity.
Food was good, drinks were delicious. Money is well spent but be prepped to wait for ages to get order taken and for the stuff to come
Great service. Lovely cocktails at very reasonable price. Amazing chicken wings.
I've been here twice recently for food. Food is lovely. Good cocktails. Fab customer service. Good cocktails
No problems with booking. Decent covid procedures. Seated quickly and served quickly. Waiter knowledgable about the menu. Lovely meal with a good friend.
Food wasn’t great. Steak pie entirely inedible. Service so slow so didn’t bother mentioning it to staff as didn’t have time to wait. Only paid for it as it was a half price deal. Wouldn’t have paid full price.
Lovely place with beautiful decor. We went during the COVID pandemic so it was very quiet.
Many options for tables. You could sit at the bar, sit at the tall tables or sit on normal tables. Would be perfect for parties once things are normal again
There was also a reduced food and drinks menu at the moment but we still had a great time.
The cocktails were amazing the food was very good but what I would say as a vegetarian there was not really very good choice it could be better. The service was good the guys worked really hard but it is take a while sometimes to get drinks as only one girl working behind bar but they were worth the wait we would defo go back for sure.
Everything was amazing! I had the chicken fajitas with the pink cloud cocktail!
Great food and service! Will definitely be back 😁😁👍
Fab meal & service as usual. Great menu selection & delicious cocktails.
Great place for food and drink and would definitely go back 👍🏻
The Jolly Gin and craft does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo.
The Jolly Gin and craft is rated 3.3 stars by 72 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.