Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Manchester/Greater Manchester
  4. Manchester
  5. Manchester
The Library Champagne Bar, Manchester, ENG

The Library Champagne Bar

4.4
4.4
116 Reviews
£25 and under
European
Welcome to a secluded setting surrounded by beautiful books and original art in the heart of Manchester. Somewhere to relax and sip Champagne; enjoy charcuterie, artisan cheese and à la carte classics, or a place to savour one of Manchester’s best afternoon teas, freshly prepared in-house by The Library’s pâtissiers. The Library has also curated a collection of cocktails on the subjects of art, fashion and culture inspired by the handbound books of Assouline, the iconic French publishing house.

Make a booking

2 people

21:30


Booked 3 times today
Experiences are available.

Additional information

  • Area
    Manchester
  • Cross Street
    Southmill St, Manchester
  • Parking Details
    None
  • Public Transit
    St Peter Square Tram Stop - 1 min walk
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, High Tea, Indoor Fireplace, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Experiences

  • Nyetimber with Spring / Summer Afternoon Tea

    £34.00 per person

    11 Apr - 1 Sept 2024
    Inspired by the flavours of spring and summer, this Champagne afternoon tea in Manchester brings together a set of delicious scones, finger sandwiches and patisseries, including a rhubarb and strawberry gâteau roulé. Our Spring/Summer afternoon tea menus are available Thursdays to Sundays from 11th April to 1st September 2024. Choose from: Traditional Afternoon Tea £34 per person with a glass of Nyetimber Champagne Afternoon Tea £44 per person served with a glass of Moët & Chandon Brut Impérial NV Rose Champagne Afternoon Tea £46 per person served with a glass of Moët & Chandon Rosé Impérial NV
    Nyetimber with Spring / Summer Afternoon Tea photo
  • 25% off Spring / Summer Afternoon Tea

    £25.50 per person

    11 Apr - 1 Sept 2024
    Thursday-Friday, 12:00-16:00 The Library Champagne Bar is a modern, relaxed setting to enjoy one of Manchester’s best afternoon teas. This season, our afternoon tea menu brings together tiers of scones, sandwiches and cakes inspired by the flavours of spring and summer. Think apricot buttermilk scones and a rhubarb & strawberry gâteau roulé. To accompany, choose from a coveted selection of 17 fine loose leaf teas, as well as an optional glass of bubbles. • Traditional Afternoon Tea £34pp • Champagne Afternoon Tea £44pp • Rosé Champagne Afternoon Tea £46pp We are currently offering 25% off afternoon tea on Thursdays and Fridays, until 1st September 2024.
    25% off Spring / Summer Afternoon Tea photo
  • Traditional Afternoon Tea -£34

    £34.00 per person

    Multiple dates available
    Savour one of Manchester’s finest afternoon teas, freshly prepared in-house by The Library’s pâtissiers. A set of delicious sandwiches made using the most exceptional produce is followed by a handcrafted selection of pâtisseries and scones complemented by Newby Teas – the world’s most awarded luxury tea brand.
    Traditional Afternoon Tea -£34 photo

What 116 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.4
4.4 based on recent ratings
  • 4.5Food
  • 4.4Service
  • 4.4Ambience
  • 4.3Value

NoiseEnergetic

116 Reviews
  1. OpenTable Diner

    West Wales

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 May 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A wonderful Afternoon Tea to celebrate my friend’s birthday. This place is cool, classiness! Made to feel special by the well trained attentive staff & loved the extra birthday plate laid on by staff ☺️
    The Library Champagne BarResponded 5 days ago
    Dear valued guest, We are truly delighted to know that you had a wonderful afternoon tea experience on your friend's birthday at our place. It brings us immense pleasure to know that our attentive staff could contribute to making the celebration special. We believe in creating memorable experiences for our guests, and it's wonderful to know that we succeeded in doing so on this occasion. The birthday plate is a small gesture to show our appreciation and to celebrate our guests’ special occasions. Your feedback serves as a great encouragement to our team. We strive to continue providing excellent service and look forward to welcoming you back soon for another classy and cool experience. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  2. OpenTable Diner

    Manchester

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 May 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great atmosphere that’s good value for money. In my opinion too many sweet treats and lacking savoury.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 11 May 2024
    Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and found it to be good value for your money. We also appreciate your input regarding our afternoon tea menu. Your perspective is valuable and helps us strive for a balanced offering that caters to a variety of tastes. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable experience. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  3. OpenTable Diner

    Hong Kong

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 May 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    I quite enjoy the afternoon tea in the Library Champagne Bar of the Edwardian Manchester 🥂. Food and beverage quality is excellent, and services are impressive. Thank you John & Fweas 🫶🏻
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 11 May 2024
    Dear Guest, We appreciate your lovely feedback about your afternoon tea experience at The Library Champagne Bar. It's wonderful to hear your commendation about the quality of our food and beverages, and we're equally thrilled that John and Fineas made a positive impression with their service. Thank you for choosing us. We eagerly anticipate your next visit. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  4. VanessaV

    Miami - Dade

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 8 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    The food and tea were lovely. Great location to walk to. My favorite was the Madagascan vanilla and William pear choux!
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 9 March 2024
    Dear VanessaV, It is heartening to hear that you enjoyed our food and tea, especially the Madagascan vanilla and William pear choux. Your kind words truly encourage us on our journey to become the best restaurant in Manchester. Our location is indeed a convenient one and we're glad you found it accessible. We look forward to hosting you again and continuing to serve you with our variety of dishes and teas. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  5. TonyB

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    1.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 3 March 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    This was a disaster from start to finish , the service provided was atrocious and the misleading way your afternoon Tea package was presented was very poor. We waited 45mins and had to approach the waitress to be served , we were served the wrong drinks and told by the waitress that the Champagne was part of the afternoon Tea package , the sandwiches were stale and had obviously been standing for hours. Only when we went to pay the bill did we find the Champagne was not included , this was very embarrassing to say the least. I cannot find the words to express our anger at your shocking service , not least to say we will not be back and thanks for ruining my birthday . Regards Anthony & Janice Booth
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 12 March 2024
    Dear TonyB, I am deeply sorry to hear about your distressing experience at The Library Champagne Bar. Providing exceptional service is our highest priority, and it's clear we fell short during your visit. Your comments regarding the afternoon tea and the confusion over the champagne are duly noted. We always strive to provide clear and accurate information about our offerings, and it's disheartening to learn that this did not happen in your case. I sincerely apologise for the delay and the mix-up with your drinks. Lastly, I am truly sorry to learn about your dissatisfaction with our sandwiches. Freshness and quality are key elements of our food offering. Please accept my deepest apologies for the disappointment caused. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  6. MelindaT

    Manchester

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 2 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Fab afternoon tea for my friends birthday. Just service was a bit slow
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 6 March 2024
    Dear MelindaT, Your feedback is invaluable to us. It's wonderful to hear that our afternoon tea added a special touch to your friend's birthday celebration. We truly aim for each occasion spent at Peter Street Kitchen to be memorable. In regards to the service speed, we take your comment into account. As a top restaurant in Manchester, we continuously thrive to offer the best experience possible. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  7. OpenTable Diner

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 2 March 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Great afternoon for the wife and MiL They had a great day, only issue was the English Breakfast Tea was a bit floral and left a strange taste in the mouth….. Other than that it was great the floral tea didn’t spoil the afternoon Would highly recommended
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 6 March 2024
    Dear valued guest, It's delightful to hear that your wife and mother-in-law had a wonderful afternoon at the Library Champagne Bar. Your commendation surely inspires us to keep delivering quality dining experiences. Your note about the English Breakfast Tea is duly noted. We constantly work on refining our offerings to suit the varied palates of our esteemed guests. Your feedback is a valuable part of this ongoing process. We are elated that despite this minor setback, the overall experience was enjoyable and your recommendation is much appreciated. We continue to strive towards being the best restaurant in Manchester and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  8. OpenTable Diner

    Manchester

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 24 February 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 4
    Would never come back just because of the service. We had afternoon tea. The sandwiches were dry but we really enjoyed the desserts and scones. I only had one drink due to the lack of service so can only say the earl grey was nice! I wouldn’t have minded the 12.5% service charge if it was actually half decent. We had to go to the bar and find someone because we had no server around for so long. I waited 45 minutes for my second drink and after asking twice and still being ignored we just paid the bill and left. Also make sure to check the bill before paying, they tried to overcharge us so we had to get it rectified.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 27 February 2024
    Dear Guest, I am truly sorry to learn about your experience during your visit to our restaurant. It is our ultimate aim to provide exceptional service to our guests, and it is disappointing to hear that we fell short this time. Your comments regarding the service and the sandwiches are noted, as we consistently strive to enhance our guest experiences. It is encouraging to hear that you enjoyed our desserts, scones, and the Earl Grey tea, as we take pride in our menu. Your feedback about the delays in service and the billing discrepancy is certainly concerning. Please rest assured that this is not the standard we aspire to. We would appreciate if you contact us directly to discuss further your experience. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  9. JulietP

    Las Vegas

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Outstanding location for afternoon tea in relaxing but modern surroundings. The food was excellent and staff extremely friendly and professional.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 21 February 2024
    Dear JulietP, Your positive reflections on your afternoon tea experience at our restaurant are highly valued. It's heartening to hear that our choice of location and ambiance contributed positively to your visit. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our food. As a Japanese and contemporary Mexican restaurant, we take great pride in crafting dishes that are both delicious and visually appealing. Moreover, we're glad that our staff made your experience even better with their professionalism and friendliness. We are continually striving to be recognized as the best restaurant in Manchester and your kind review highlights the elements that we focus on in achieving this goal. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  10. MCLJ

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent setting for an excellent afternoon tea. Food was delicious and the service 5star. We passed a lovely afternoon, thanks to all the staff who made my birthday treat special.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 21 February 2024
    Dear MCLJ, Your kind words have truly delighted us. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our unique blend of Japanese and Mexican cuisine and found our afternoon tea to be a delightful experience. It's always a pleasure for us to be involved in making special occasions even more memorable. Your birthday is no exception, and we're glad that our team could contribute to making it special. Your compliments about the delicious food and excellent service are much appreciated. At Peter Street Kitchen, we aspire to be the best restaurant in Manchester, and feedback like yours fuels our ambition. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more exquisite culinary experiences. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  11. YClark

    Yorkshire

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 4
    Food was brilliant. Service wasn’t so great. The waiter for our table didn’t ask what hot drink we would order and brought next table’s drinks to ours.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 13 February 2024
    Dear YClark, Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed the culinary experience at the Library Champagne Bar. However, we deeply regret that your experience with our service did not meet your expectations. Excellent service is something we aim for consistently, and it is unfortunate that there was a mix-up with your hot drinks order. Your feedback gives us the opportunity to reflect and continuously improve our services for our valued guests. We hope that you will give us another chance to showcase our commitment to exceptional service on your next visit. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  12. AnthonyS

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely venue with a fantastic selection on the afternoon tea
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 6 February 2024
    Dear AnthonyS, It's heartening to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea at our venue. Our team works diligently to offer a diverse and appealing selection, and your words affirm their efforts. We're delighted that you found our venue to your liking. Your glowing feedback is much appreciated and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  13. dawnl

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 26 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A delightful Afternoon tea celebration. service excellent
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 30 January 2024
    Dear Dawnl, It indeed warms our hearts to hear that you had a delightful afternoon tea celebration at our establishment. Your kind words about our service truly mean a lot to us. At our restaurant, we believe that excellent service is integral to a delightful dining experience. Our dedicated staff always strives to provide our valued customers, such as yourself, with the highest standard of service. Your recognition of their efforts is truly appreciated. We hope that your experience here has created wonderful memories that will entice you to visit us again. We look forward to serving you more delightful meals and experiences in the future. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  14. MelanieH

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 20 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely afternoon tea before watching the ballet yesterday. In an excellent position for the Opera House. Service was excellent, staff were so friendly and helpful. The lounge was beautiful with a lovely atmosphere, food was great but we couldn't manage all the cakes, thank you
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 23 January 2024
    Dear MelanieH, Reading your delightful feedback truly made our day. It's heartening to know that you had a lovely afternoon tea experience with us and appreciated our location, ambiance, and food. We're absolutely thrilled to know our staff's service lived up to your expectations, as we always strive to provide our guests with exceptional experiences. Please don't worry about not being able to finish all the cakes. There's always room for more during your next visit! Once again, your encouraging words are sincerely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  15. MatthewW

    Manchester

    3 reviews

    2.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 30 December 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    We booked afternoon tea. It took 20 minutes for our tea to arrive and 40 minutes for the cakes. We had to wait a further 10 minutes when our tea ran out. The sandwich bread was rather dry, as were the scones. A rather disappointing start to our visit.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 3 January 2024
    Dear valued guest, I'm genuinely sorry to hear about your experience with our afternoon tea service. Our aim is to ensure our guests enjoy a seamless and delightful experience, and it's clear we fell short in your case. Regarding the waiting times, we strive to serve our guests promptly, and your feedback has highlighted an area where we can improve. I also regret to hear about your comments on the sandwich bread and scones. We pride ourselves on using fresh, quality ingredients, and it's disappointing that this was not reflected in your experience. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and provide a more satisfactory experience. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  16. AshleighG

    London

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 25 December 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Had a meal here on Christmas Day evening. Waited over an hour for steak and chips. Front of house and staff apologised for our wait but nothing was given to compensate this (maybe a top up on the champagne would have helped). Food came and the portion size was no where near appropriate for the price.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 29 December 2023
    Dear AshleighG, Your recent visit to our restaurant on Christmas Day evening is greatly appreciated. It is regretful to hear about the extended wait you experienced. Our team is dedicated to offering prompt and efficient service, and it appears we fell short of our standard during your visit. We understand that the portion size of your meal did not meet your expectations relative to the price. Feedback such as this is very valuable to us as it helps us to continuously improve and provide a better dining experience. We hope that you will consider dining with us again in the future, so we can deliver the top-notch service and food that we pride ourselves on. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  17. PJF2

    London

    5 reviews

    4.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 17 December 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Excellent service and superb value for money. The bar is a hotel bar and so for afternoon tea is slightly lacking in atmosphere. The food offering is not the Midland but the price is a lot less. The service from Pascal far exceeded the price level.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 21 December 2023
    Dear PJF2, Your kind words about the service you received from Pasquale are greatly appreciated. We take pride in our staff and the high level of service they provide. Pascal will surely be thrilled to hear about your positive experience. We understand your comments about the atmosphere during afternoon tea. Our aim is to provide a cozy and comfortable atmosphere, and we're always looking for ways to enhance our guests' experiences. Thank you for mentioning our value-for-money proposition. We strive to offer an exceptional dining experience at a fair price point, and we're glad that this was reflected in your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  18. DagmarS

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 December 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    I recommend it, a nice experienece for foreigners, very pleasant
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 21 December 2023
    Dear DagmarS, Your recommendation is truly appreciated. It is delightful to know that you had a pleasant experience at our restaurant. We always strive to provide a welcoming and unique atmosphere for both local and foreign guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  19. LinneaJ

    New York City

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 December 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 4
    Bad service. Hard to get in touch with the waiter and everything we ordered took a very long time to get. We were also trying to call the restaurant in advance to rescheduele our reservation but impossible go reach.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 12 December 2023
    Dear LinneaJ, Your recent dining experience at our restaurant seems to have been less than satisfactory and for that, we sincerely apologize. Our aim is always to provide excellent service and timely delivery of meals. It is disappointing to hear that we fell short in this instance. In regards to the difficulty in contacting us for reservation changes, we appreciate this feedback. We strive to make every interaction with our restaurant smooth and convenient. Please accept our apologies once again and know that we are continuously working to enhance our service. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  20. AdrianM

    Manchester

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 December 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    They tried hard but the place was extremely busy and noisy. Not their fault. My main complaint is that they added 12.5% service charge to the bill. I didn’t complain as it was my wife’s birthday treat so I didn’t want to cause a fuss.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 12 December 2023
    Dear AdrianM, Your feedback is valued and insightful. It's regrettable to hear that the ambiance was not as anticipated due to the high volume of patrons. On special occasions such as your wife's birthday, a more serene atmosphere is understandably desired. As for the service charge, it is our policy to include it in the final bill, but it is absolutely discretionary. If you prefer, it can be removed or adjusted. We hope this didn't dampen your celebration and we look forward to providing you with a more satisfactory experience on your next visit. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  21. OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 9 December 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 5
    Great afternoon tea, lovely atmosphere. It was a busy Saturday and service was a little slow but we still thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 12 December 2023
    Dear Patron, It is heartening to note that you had an enjoyable afternoon tea at our restaurant. Your words about the lovely atmosphere truly reflect the ambiance we aim to provide. We note your comment about the service on a busy Saturday. It's our constant endeavor to enhance our patrons' dining experience and we are grateful for your patience on this occasion. We're glad it didn't hamper the overall enjoyment of your visit. Your positive feedback is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another delightful experience. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  22. ShelleyI

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 19 November 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We came here for afternoon tea for a friends birthday after a recommendation. We were not disappointed! The staff were so attentive but in a kind of discreet way, not overpowering or in your face, and they were all amazing! The food was delicious and the atmosphere was perfect! Highly recommend!
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 21 November 2023
    Dear Shelleyl, Your high praise is truly appreciated. It's heartening to hear that the attention of our staff contributed to the delightful experience you had during your afternoon tea. It's always our goal to provide service that is attentive, yet unobtrusive, and it's wonderful that you noticed our efforts. We're also thrilled to learn that our delicious food and the perfect atmosphere made your friend's birthday celebration even more special. Your recommendation is the best compliment we could receive. We're looking forward to serving you again in the future. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  23. Megmor

    Manchester

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 11 November 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A lovely day and Stefania our waitress was superb We will be back in the future
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 13 November 2023
    Dear Megmor, Your kind words about your recent experience at our restaurant have certainly brightened our day. It's highly gratifying to learn that Stefania was able to contribute in such a meaningful way to your visit. Her commitment to providing superb service is a testament to our philosophy of ensuring every guest feels extra special. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another memorable dining experience. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  24. DorothyF

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 November 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 2
    The Afternoon tea was ideal as the scones and cakes were light and not too filling. The service was excellent.

    Is this helpful?

  25. LouiseJ

    Manchester

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 13 October 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    The food was presented well and was very tasty and the service was great. The price advertised is not the price you are charged as a "discretionary service charge" is added without asking if you would like to pay an extra 12% for your visit which is unfair when you have budgeted for the price advertised.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 20 October 2023
    Dear LouiseJ, It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our food and service during your recent visit. We take pride in offering delicious meals and a friendly atmosphere to our guests. Regarding the pricing issue you mentioned, we understand your concern. We aim to maintain transparency in our dealings, and it's regrettable if any misunderstanding has occurred. The discretionary service charge is a common practice in many establishments, intended to acknowledge the hard work of our dedicated team. Rest assured, we're committed to providing great value for our guests and we appreciate your feedback. We hope this doesn't deter you from visiting us again and enjoying the culinary delights we offer. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  26. susanW

    Manchester

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 September 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Lovely afternoon tea with unusual and varied sandwiches with different breads used. Beautiful fresh scones and amazing cakes. Had the champagne option but rather expensive for one glass! Nice get together with old friends.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 29 September 2023
    Dear SusanW, Your review warms our hearts. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our afternoon tea with its varied sandwiches and fresh scones. We take pride in our unique selection of breads and cakes and it's wonderful to know it added to your experience. We understand your thoughts about our champagne option and we appreciate your honesty. We aim to provide a balance of quality and value, and your feedback is valuable as it helps us do just that. We're thrilled that our restaurant could be the backdrop for your nice get-together with old friends. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  27. Megmor

    Manchester

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 28 September 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Our visit to the library was a late birthday present from my daughters. It was wonderful with lovely food and outstanding staff. I must apologize for not asking for your names but you were all lovely. Will rebook soon
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 29 September 2023
    Dear MegMor, Your heartfelt feedback is gratifying to receive. We're absolutely thrilled to hear that you had such a delightful experience at our restaurant and that our team was able to contribute to making your day special. The joy of serving you and your daughters is ours, and it's particularly rewarding to know that our efforts were appreciated. Hearing that our lovely food and outstanding staff left a positive impression truly makes our day. We eagerly anticipate your return and the opportunity to serve you once more. Please feel free to share any other thoughts or suggestions; we're always here to listen. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  28. DavidS

    London

    25 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    25 reviews

    Dined on 23 September 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    We had a lovely afternoon with great food and our servers were excellent especially Lenny who really looked after us
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 29 September 2023
    Dear DavidS, Your kind words have made our day! It is always a delight to hear from guests who had a wonderful dining experience with us. Your words of appreciation for our food and service, especially towards Lenny, will certainly be passed along. We are committed to providing our guests with memorable experiences and your feedback serves as an affirmation of our efforts. It was our pleasure to have you dine with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for another lovely afternoon. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  29. HeatherR

    Key West

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 22 September 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great relaxing place for Afternoon Tea. Great service- Javan, Lenny and Dan took good care of us :)
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 26 September 2023
    Dear HeatherR, Your words are music to our ears! We're absolutely thrilled to hear that you've enjoyed our relaxing Afternoon Tea ambiance. It's particularly pleasing to know that Javan, Lenny, and Dan contributed to making your experience a memorable one. Our team always strives to provide exceptional service and it is wonderful to see their efforts being recognized. They will surely be delighted to hear your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable afternoon. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  30. JeanM

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 7 September 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    would recommend this to anyone wanting to be treated that little be extra special
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 9 September 2023
    Dear JeanM, It warms our hearts to hear such kind words about our restaurant. We take immense pleasure in providing an exceptional experience for our patrons, and your recommendation truly validates our efforts. Your words inspire us to uphold our commitment to deliver service that goes above and beyond. We're looking forward to hosting you again soon. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  31. Sabina

    Exclusive

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 1 September 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    I had rang ahead letting them know its my friends 30th and if they were able to do anything for it. I was told they'll being to write Happy birthday on a plate ect but nothing was done which was very disappointing. The waiters did acknowledge we're celebrating a birthday so I expecting something to come out but nothing. I was unable to tell address the issue as she was with me and I didnt want her know.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 8 September 2023
    Dear Sabina, I am sincerely sorry to hear about the inconsistency in celebrating your friend's special day at our establishment. Your expectation was not only reasonable but also a priority for us. We genuinely value such moments and it is always an honor to be part of our customer's celebrations. It's quite regrettable that your experience did not match your expectations. We assure you that such situations are not typical at our restaurant and we are taking note of your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and create a more memorable and happy experience for you and your friends. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  32. Jenniffer

    New South Wales

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 26 August 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 2
    Not up to what was expected. sandwiches quite dry and stale and far too much sweets. One glass of champagne. Only two tables, so very little ambience. Not value for money.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 30 August 2023
    Dear Jenniffer, I am sincerely sorry to hear about your recent experience at our restaurant. Your comments regarding the sandwiches and the overall ambiance have been noted. As a restaurant, we take pride in offering a variety of quality meals to our customers, and it's disappointing to hear that we missed the mark during your visit. We understand the importance of every meal experience and we're truly sorry if we fell short of our standards. We appreciate your candid feedback as it helps us understand where we need to improve. We can assure you that we always strive to provide an enjoyable dining experience and great value for our customers. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you better in the future. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  33. VickiL

    Birmingham

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 20 August 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Afternoon tea was beautiful a great selection of food and drinks, served by lovely staff
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 22 August 2023
    Dear VickiL, Your kind words are greatly appreciated. It warms us to know that you enjoyed our afternoon tea selections alongside our range of beverages. Our staff is dedicated to providing exceptional service, and it's heartening to hear that they contributed to your delightful experience at our restaurant. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  34. ColH

    Manchester

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 20 July 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Lovely afternoon with delicious food . Too much cake for us.!
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 24 July 2023
    Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon and had a good experience with our food. We appreciate the feedback regarding the portion size of cake; we understand that it can be too much for some customers and have noted this feedback for future reference. At our restaurant, it is important to us that all customers have a great experience and leave full and satisfied. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  35. GailR

    London

    13 reviews

    4.0

    13 reviews

    Dined on 15 July 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    Lovely staff, good choice if food. Would recommend for a laid back atmosphere
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 17 July 2023
    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm Regards Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  36. JaneG

    Manchester

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 14 July 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely afternoon tea, great service and very personal as it was to celebrate my daughter’s birthday, she got a small but thoughtful extra. All in all a lovely experience.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 17 July 2023
    Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted to hear that you and your daughter had a lovely time celebrating her birthday with us. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are pleased that our staff was able to provide personal service to make your experience extra special. We take great pride in providing excellent service for all our guests - it was our pleasure to celebrate this special occasion with you. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  37. KatieS

    Manchester

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 July 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    I really enjoyed my afternoon at the Library. The afternoon tea was stunning and staff really lovely. I was just a bit disappointed as we boxed some of the afternoon tea up as we couldn’t finish it all and left it in the fridge as we walked round town, but when we got back the staff couldn’t find it which was a shame.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 17 July 2023
    Thank you for your kind words about the Library. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful afternoon here and that our staff were lovely. We strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests and we’re sorry if we did not meet that goal on this occasion when you returned to the hotel. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  38. ElizabethS

    Manchester

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 8 July 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Wonderful service by one of the most personable waiters I've met in a long time. Particular mention goes to the patisserie chef and the sandwich maker...both were fabulous. My only criticism, and this is a small niggle, is that the Japanese inspired metal teapots are way too heavy and awkward to handle.
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 10 July 2023
    Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the service of our waiter, as well as our patisserie chef and sandwich maker. We appreciate your feedback and it is our aim to ensure that all of our guests have the best experience possible. Although we understand your comment about the teapots, we believe that this attention to detail reflects the quality of service that we strive to provide in every aspect of our restaurant Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  39. NeilM

    Manchester

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 6 July 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    My visit with my daughter was a birthday present from my husband. It was a really lovely afternoon tea, with very helpful and friendly staff. The food was excellent, such a choice and the champagne was delicious!!
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 17 July 2023
    Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing The Library Champagne Bar to celebrate your daughter's birthday. We are delighted to hear that you and your daughter had a great experience with us. Our team takes a lot of pride in providing delicious food, friendly service, and a warm atmosphere. We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

  40. Aaron

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 July 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    I booked the traditional afternoon tea for me and my partner and it was such a lovely experience. The customer service was exceptional and the food was amazing!
    The Library Champagne BarResponded on 17 July 2023
    Thank you for your kind words about our traditional afternoon tea. We are delighted to hear that you and your partner had such a wonderful experience and that the customer service and food met your expectations. Your kind words are highly appreciated. We strive to provide each of our guests with an enjoyable experience and we thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Warm Regards, Domenico Raimondi General Manager

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

The Library Champagne Bar is rated 4.4 stars by 116 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

21:30


Booked 3 times today
Experiences are available.
Google Map for The Library Champagne Bar

Free Trade Hall, Peter Street, Manchester, ENG M2 5GP

Additional information

  • Cross Street
    Southmill St, Manchester
  • Area
    Manchester
  • Hours of Operation
    Mon, Sat, Sun 10:30–23:30 Tue, Wed 10:30–17:00 Thu 11:00–17:00 Fri 11:00–23:30
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    European
  • Dining style
    Casual Elegant
  • Dress Code
    Business Casual
  • Parking Details
    None
  • Public Transit
    St Peter Square Tram Stop - 1 min walk
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, High Tea, Indoor Fireplace, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Impressum
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo