The Northey Arms

4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
195 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British
Coming Soon!
What 195 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Great service and lovely to sit outside. Smart interiors and delicious food but a shame that the specials had all run out and one of the desserts. Also would of loved a Sunday roast despite it being evening. I’ll definitely be back though, the fish and chips were great! Charming staff, thank you.

The Northey Arms
Responded 3 days ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're delighted to hear you had a lovely meal with us and hope to welcome you back soon to try more of our delicious dishes!

Report
B
Bella
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Excellent meal , fun and efficient service. Obvious a bit "different" due to the current restrictions - i.e. quieter than normal, but the staff were so helpful and it all felt very safe. Must repeat - excellent food !!

The Northey Arms
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Bella, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we're delighted we could make your special occasion a night to remember! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
ST
StaceyT
Bath
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Very enjoyable evening with good food and a good atmosphere. Pub is done very nicely

The Northey Arms
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Stacey, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so pleased to hear you had a lovely evening with us!

Report
B
simonB
1 review
Dined on 10 September 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

very nice meal with very helpful staff. really enjoyed ourselves

The Northey Arms
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Simon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're delighted to hear you have a lovely visit with us!

Report
R
Rheam
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Staff are amazing I would highly recommend and the food was lovely the only down fall is that the vegetarian/vegan option is not there especially when lots of people are nowadays. But the atmosphere made up for this

The Northey Arms
Responded 7 days ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so pleased to hear that you had a lovely visit and we'll definitely make sure we're considering a broader range of dietary requirements as we evolve our menu!

Report
HM
HelenM
Bath
3 reviews
Dined on 4 September 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Fantastic food, very good social distancing arrangements, nice friendly staff, would definitely recommend.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 7 September 2020

Hi Helen, Thank you for writing a review, we're delighted to hear you had a great visit!

Report
IH
IanH
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Good experience fir an evening meal supported with government donation towards costs making it even better value

The Northey Arms
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi Ian, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so pleased to hear you had a good evening with us!

Report
k
kevin
London
2 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We had variable reviews about the Northey , but were very impressed by the quality of the food although the portions were slightly small. Very helpful and friendly service

The Northey Arms
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving us a chance! We're pleased you had an enjoyable meal with us!

Report
L
Lyme06
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Have recently been twice in the evening and most recent bank holiday for lunch.
On all occasions staff have been very polite, happy and helpful.
Food has been delicious. Only criticism on Monday my friend ordered the sea bass the proportion size of the fish was very small, very tasty. When we made comment to the waitress it was handled in the correct manner and we were supplied With extra potatoes.

Following COVID-19 guideline, very smooth operation.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so pleased to hear you've enjoyed your recent visits with us and have been well looked-after!

Report
B
Bobbie
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

We waited to be seated for over 5 minutes and just an acknowledgment would have helped. The table was right next to the door so it was cold although staff did shut it for us when requested. The menu was limited but we didn’t mind this as it was to be expected with Covid. The food was average and usually the food here is awesome which is why we booked. We were disappointed but didn’t say anything as we got some money off. All in all a very average meal.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 7 September 2020

Hi Bobbie, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and i'm sorry your experience was not at the standard we strive to deliver. We have many measures in place due to Covid, and one of them is seating guests for table service as we can't allow them to walk straight in, saying this the wait shouldn't have been that long and we apologise for this. Please can you email us at thenorthey@ohhcompany.co.uk as i would like to find out more about your experience and what food you had.

Report
WF
WanderingFoodie
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience3

I am glad the eat out to help out offer was on as I do not think the food would have been good value at full price. The scampi was sold out so my mother went for the fillet of plaice they were offering as a replacement, which turned out to be really small, with the rest of us offering her food from our plates to make up for the small portion. The service was good and the waiter was friendly, but even after we had paid the bill, the desert plates were still on our table dirty as they had shown no intention to take them away. It’s a shame as I have heard good things about the Northey in the past, but I can’t see myself returning to pay the full prices. Sorry.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're sorry to hear your recent visit was not reflective on the standards we strive to deliver. We'd love to talk to you more about your experience and invite you to email us directly.

Report
SM
SamanthaM
London
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Last minute booking for breakfast; one of the few places we could find open and not somewhere we had been before. Excellent food and service; would definitely go here again.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi Samantha, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're delighted we could get your day off to a great start!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Bath
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience5

Booked the same day so was happy to have a table available. Got there on time to be told someone was sat at our table but we were found a different table in another area away from the bar area but quite near the busy kitchen door where we could overheat the kitchen staff.. luckily most of it was just loud laughing which was actually quite pleasant to listen to. We were quickly given a menu between us but nobody came to take our drinks order for a while. The roast dinner was very nice apart from the roast potatoes which had been petrified by Harry Potter it seemed. Perhaps a bit more gravy was needed but overall a decent roast. The beef was excellent. Had to go to the bar so that I could order more drinks as we felt forgotten about. The interior of the pub/restaurant is brilliant and would definitely go back for the lovely Ale! Thank you to the young gentleman that served us the most promptly and was apologetic about the wait.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit overall and sincerely appreciate your honest feedback - there's always room for improvement so we will definitely review your points and work harder to make sure your next visit is an excellent one!

Report
AN
AnikoN
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a very pleasant place. The people welcoming us at the restaurant were kind and the food served was very enjoyable and appetizing.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi Aniko, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're delighted to hear you had a great time on your recent visit!

Report
IH
IanH
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Good food and service even had a sweet, not such good value as main course

The Northey Arms
Responded on 31 August 2020

Hi Ian, Thank you for writing a review, we're pleased to hear you had a lovely visit!

Report
RM
RebeccaM
Bath
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Amazing food and atmosphere! Would definitely be going again!

The Northey Arms
Responded on 31 August 2020

Hi Rebecca, Thank you for writing a review, we're thrilled to hear you had an excellent visit with us!

Report
H
Hewwie123
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2020
Overall2food1service3ambience3

Very expensive on the whole. The starter was minute. The mains duck was tough which my Husband had. I asked for a Medium rare steak - the steak produced was rare, very tough and impossible to cut with a steak knife. I complained to the waitress and was told that I should have asked for a sharper knife! The dessert again was disappointing for the very small portion.

We would not recommend and would not go there again to eat.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm sorry your recent experience with us left you feeling disappointed. We'd love to talk to you more about your visit and would invite you to email us directly.

Report
H
Haileyg
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

The food was overall very good, the starters where amazing. I had squid which was tender and well seasoned, my partner had scotched egg which was very tasty.
The only negative thing I could say is the main, my duck was a touch over cooked so the ends were a little chewy and the jue was lacking in flavour, my partner had the monk fish and found there was the same amount on his plate as my squid starter, but he did enjoy it.
We had cheese board to finish and this was lovely.
We love the northey and overall was still one of the best places to go and eat

The Northey Arms
Responded on 31 August 2020

Hi Hailey, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit and we'll share your feedback with our kitchen team!

Report
R
Rumps
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Yet again cannot fault food, service and above all the homemade bread! Try and have different food each visit but always side towards the duck! Never lets me down improves (if that is possible) each time.
If there is any ground for complaint, that is that the price of mediocre wine is rather vicious (sorry but true).

The Northey Arms
Responded on 28 August 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're delighted to hear you enjoy visiting us and we'll take a look at our wine list and see if there are any changes we can make!

Report
B
Beaker1970
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 26 August 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Lovely pub, great ambience, very good service. Food a bit pricey for the size / quality.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 29 August 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're pleased to read you were well looked after during your visit!

Report
ST
StephenT
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

One our favourite ohh pubs. Visited many times , never disappointed. New covid measures in place worked well and didn't spoil the experience.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 28 August 2020

Hi Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so pleased to hear you had a lovely visit with us!

Report
LD
LucyD
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

A lovely lunch at the Northey with friends. We were lucky enough to be able to sit outside which was great until I was stung by a wasp! However, one of your staff was kind enough to bring out some ice which soothed the pain a little!
Pleasant staff and good measures in place for the current situation - well done.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 29 August 2020

Hi Lucy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm so sorry to hear your visit was interrupted by a wasp! I hope you are feeling better!

Report
B
Birthdaygirl
Bath
2 reviews
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience4

I chose the same dish as in a previous visit as it was the only vegetarian option. In choosing the waitress had to check if it was still available, she said it was, but in reality I don’t think it was a full portion. Also meant to come with broad beans, but peas were substituted instead with no explanation. It tasted lovely, but I ended up feeling hungry, even after a delicious starter! We also had a side of mash potato ( £4!) and tbh it wasn’t even as big as an ice cream scoops worth !
Possibly we came towards the end of service and they didn’t have enough to go round? Everything we ate was lovely, but we have eaten there a lot of times before and I have never come away hungry , like I did this time

The Northey Arms
Responded on 29 August 2020

Hello, Thank you for writing a review, we're sorry to hear your meal was disappointing. We'd love to talk to you about your visit and invite you to contact us directly so we can discuss your experience further!

Report
JS
JulieS
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely food and great service. One of the waitresses who served us told us that it was her first shift. We would never have known! She was excellent.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Julie, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We'll make sure to pass your comments on, it always gives us such a boost to hear when our customers have had a great time!

Report
JF
JFOODIE
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall3food2service5ambience5

Whilst appreciating operating and giving value for money is difficult with covid 19 and also bearing in mind we received the £I0 discount for each meal would like to make the following comments. The menu could have been it more varied. The dessert menu especially.
We had haddock and chips . The chips were not cooked enough. We had ice cream for dessert. 3 small scoops at £2.50 a scoop exorbitant !
Service and ambience excellent ,shame about undercooked food and over inflated dessert prices.
Having had excellent meals in the past at The Northey Arms we were a little disappointed.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 28 August 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're sorry to hear you were disappointed on your recent visit. We'll discuss your feedback with our kitchen team and make sure your next visit is an excellent one!

Report
MA
MATTHEWW
London
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Good quality food . Efficient, courteous, friendly service in a pleasant environment with appropriate care taken over Covid arrangements.
Will definitely visit regularly in future..
Well done!

The Northey Arms
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Matthew, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're delighted to hear you had a great meal with us and can't wait to welcome you back!

Report
MG
MatthewG
Bristol
5 reviews
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Superb food, although very pricey with a cake dessert at nearly £9......

The Northey Arms
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Matthew, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We'll take our look at our menu and make sure the dishes are priced accordingly with the cost of the ingredients we use. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
z
zippie
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience2

I have already messaged The Northey Arms with this message at the following address
thenorthey@ohhcompany.co.uk :-

Before I post a review, I thought it only fair to give you our feed-back first.

My husband and I have been taking advantage of the "Eat Out to Help Out" As we tend to eat regularly at the same restaurant, we thought it would be a good opportunity to try out a few others. We thought the inside of The Northey Arms was beautiful and the staff very friendly.

Last night was a big mistake, our starters came mixed up, my husband ordered black pudding scotch eggs which came with my almonds and mayo, I ordered squid which came with his piccalilli, I did mention to the waitress that they'd got it wrong and she did apologise. We both ordered steak, which we both like cooked medium, my husband's T-bone was overdone and my rib-eye was almost blue, tasteless and grisly. I'd eaten the majority of mine hoping that it might improve, but things only got worse, we weren't asked until near the end of our main meal whether everything was alright, I did say that my steak was undercooked, and the waitress asked if I'd like the remainder sent back to cook further, by then everything else had been eaten and given the quality of the steak I thought it pretty pointless, I took the remains home for my dogs. We even had to ask for the cutlery for our main meal! To say we were thoroughly disappointed last night would be an understatement, especially since when we last ate there the food was superb.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 1 September 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. and as you are aware we have been in contact via email.

Report
RK
RonnieK
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

The cheese board was very overpriced for the amount of goodies on offer.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Ronnie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do try to use the best ingredients from local suppliers but we'll look at whether there are any refinements we can make to our cheeseboard.

Report
NB
NicolaB
1 review
Dined on 23 August 2020
Overall3food4service5ambience5

Over priced menu and not a great selection. Hard to understand what the desserts were

The Northey Arms
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Nicola, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving us some important feedback to consider. We're constantly refining our menu and updating dishes so we'll definitely take your comments into consideration with our changes!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 23 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service was responsive and polite and the food was better than we expected based on previous reviews.

The roast beef was perfectly pink, and the portions were perfect for those with an appetite!

The Northey Arms
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so pleased to hear that you had a lovely meal with us!

Report
ER
EileenR
London
1 review
Dined on 21 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really lovely meal in nice surroundings. The service is just right, you are left to eat your meal but when you need anything, the hard-working staff are on hand to help. Very Covid safe.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Eileen, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we're so pleased to hear you had a lovely visit with us!

Report
SS
SidS
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 21 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Manager super friendly and helpful.
Food excellent.
Staff attentive.
One of our favourite place to eat.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Sid, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we're delighted to hear you had such a great time with us!

Report
LC
LouiseC
Bath
3 reviews
Dined on 21 August 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Two adults and a child refused their 4 seater table ( next to the loo) and were put on a table for two with an extra seat at the table less than 3 feet from me. There were two at the table that were in arms length from me and I felt very uncomfortable. The manager should have told these diners that due to social distancing their original 4 seater table was all that was available. Children ran in and out of the exit door to the garden and were collected by members of their family, ignoring the one way system. Not enough attention to safety.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Louise, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do brief guests about the Covid safety measures in place and ask our guests to adhere to social distancing guidelines but we will make sure we are looking at ways we can remind guests of this throughout their visit.

Report
F
vipFran
London
6 reviews
Dined on 20 August 2020
Overall3food5service1ambience4

The food was delicious and the restaurant is very nice.
Service was more or less self service. I can get the covid things but in a restaurant like that (and its the first time that happen to me since 4th of july) it's unacceptable that I have to set up my own table.
Moreover, in my booking I reported that i wanted to use my opentable cheques. Only at the "bill time" I discovered that i couldn't and the guy didn't even know what we were talking about.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 1 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We take Covid very seriously at the Northey Arms and have many safety measures in place: Bringing the cutlery to the table on a tray, as we don't want to leave these on the tables where guests walk by. We also don't want to lean over our guests setting up a table. I understand other restaurants may be different, and over time we may change the way we serve. Unfortunately we do not accept open table cheques, and that is why the waiter was unsure.

Report
JR
JaneR
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 20 August 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

A really enjoyable meal - the Cornish plaice was excellent.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Jane, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're delighted to hear you had a lovely meal with us!

Report
AJ
AJF74
1 review
Dined on 19 August 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Old time favourite. Along with The Old House at Home. Both still OHH Pubs, no idea what has happened to The Northey.

Food used to be so good here.
Rib Eye Steaks were poor. Chewy. Tasteless. About 7 chips on the plate. Seven!? Cheeseboard fit for a child, not enough cheese or biscuits. Going back a while, bread was always brought to the table with oil and balsamic vinegar - no sign of this any more - non existent.

Thankfully we received the Eat out to Help out discount so received £10 off each. If I had paid £22 (plus £3 for a tiny pot of sauce) for that Steak I would have been mortified.

Service, took 15-20 minute to clear our empty plates before we were offered pudding?

What has happened to this once great restaurant?

Felt rather embarrassed as it was my suggestion and recommendation for the 4 of us to go here. Truly disappointed, I really hope The Old House at Home has not followed suit.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 24 August 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm sorry to see that your recent visit was not reflective of the standards we strive to achieve. We'd love the opportunity to discuss your experience further and invite you to contact us directly so we can learn more about how we can improve and make your next visit an excellent one!

Report
JB
JillB
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 19 August 2020
Overall1food1service3ambience3

Very disappointed with the smoked haddock with chips and root vegetable soup.
Soup was cold, chips hardly cooked and not hot. Waited half an hour for the first course
the soup. Have passed this Inn several times over the past years and was looking forward
to actually having an Evening meal there at last. However very disappointed indeed

The Northey Arms
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Jill, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit. We'd love to hear more about your experience and invite you to contact us directly so we can learn more about where we can make improvements.

Report
BB
Babs27Bristol
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 19 August 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

The menu very limited we should of checked before. Steak was chewy and the chunky chips tasteless. The chicken burger was very small. Even with the £10 discount will not go again. Not good value for money.

The Northey Arms
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're sorry to hear your recent visit fell short of the standards we strive for. We hope we can welcome you back in the future and show you how great we can be.

Report
WR
WillowRose
Gloucestershire
3 reviews
Dined on 19 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food. Adhered to Covid regulations. Slight delay in taking order but understandable. Staff pleasant. Happy to recommend

The Northey Arms
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we're so pleased to hear you had a safe and comfortable visit with us.

Report

FAQs

The Northey Arms is rated 4 stars by 195 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.