The Old House at Home

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
138 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
International
The Old House at Home is a wonderful old ivy-clad country pub located in the village of Burton, only two miles from Castle Combe. With a soulful and unpretentious vibe, the award-winning, family-run restaurant has a cosy dining room with a roaring open fire and down-to-earth staff. Head Chef Anthony Jones has created a classic British menu using seasonal produce. Fresh fish is delivered to The Old House at Home daily from Cornwall, along with beef from Scotland. Favourite dishes include the guinea fowl served with apricot stuffing and a redcurrant and Grand Marnier sauce; the spicy salmon and crab cakes with a fresh tomato and basil sauce; and the scrumptious chocolate and Bailey's cheesecake.
What 138 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
IJ
IanJ
Cornwall
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

An excellent evening with beautiful Indian cuisine served by friendly staff. Would definitely recommend.

The Old House at Home
Responded 18 hours ago

Hi Ian, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're delighted to hear you enjoyed our Curry Night and hope to see you again at the next one!

Report
M
Michael
Bath
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Excellent Sunday Roast . Attentive staff , enjoyable atmosphere

The Old House at Home
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Michael, Thank you for writing a review - we're so pleased to hear you had a lovely visit!

Report
KL
KarenL
Orlando
2 reviews
Dined on 13 September 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Our 2nd visit for Sunday lunch. Warm welcome but waiting staff didnt know what beers or soft fruit juices were available. Covid safe and spaced tables. Food wasnt great. Tough lamb and beef. Luke warm and cold Yorkshire pudding. Strange choice of veg too. Beetroot, red cabbage and mongetout. Not what I would call traditional. In hindsight we should of complained. Had it just been my husband and I, we would of raised it.
I would usually recommend this place but not so sure now.

The Old House at Home
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Karen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent meals. The vegetables with our roasts do change according to what is fresh and the best quality from our grocers each week but we take on board your feedback and will make sure we're communicating this better with our guests so they can make the choice that's best for them. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report
NW
NinaW
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely atmosphere, food was outstanding and service was great!

The Old House at Home
Responded 7 days ago

Hi Nina, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so pleased to hear you had a fabulous visit!

Report
MM
MarilynM
Bath
2 reviews
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

The food and service were excellent. Prices slightly higher than I expected but considering the limitations on numbers able to attend at this time not too bad I suppose.

The Old House at Home
Responded 7 days ago

Hi Marilyn, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're delighted to hear you had a lovely time with us!

Report
FD
Food2Di4
Shropshire
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

An excellent choice for an evening out. Food was of a good standard and well presented.

The Old House at Home
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we're delighted to read that you had a lovely meal with us!

Report
KT
KarenT
Bath
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Friendly and welcoming staff. Great service and food. Would definately visit again. Felt very comfortable with the COVID standards

The Old House at Home
Responded on 14 September 2020

Hi Karen, Thank you for writing a review, we're delighted to hear you were well looked after on your visit!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 9 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food, great service and atmosphere. You wont be disappointed

The Old House at Home
Responded on 12 September 2020

Thank you for the review! We're delighted to hear you had a great visit!

Report
J
Joanna
London
15 reviews
Dined on 9 September 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Really lovely food, something a bit different and friendly staff!

The Old House at Home
Responded on 12 September 2020

Hi Joanna, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're thrilled to hear you had an excellent visit with us!

Report
JB
JeremyB
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2020
Overall2food2service5ambience5

Hi ,we have been to the old house at home on several occasions and found everything to be really good.
On this occasion the bruschetta starter was fantastic and really tasty.
The main meal was good apart from the beef was not cooked well, my wife's beef was almost raw and the roast potatoes were nice ,but hard to cut open with the knife, all the veg and the gravy/sauce were excellent.
As it was our anniversary we decided not to complain on this occasion.
We will be back again, but we will try something else on the menu.
Regards
Jeremy & Carole Britton

The Old House at Home
Responded on 12 September 2020

Hi Jeremy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're sorry to read that you were disappointed with your meals on your recent visit. I hope we'll be able to welcome you back in the future so we can make sure your next visit is an excellent one!

Report
SB
SharonB
1 review
Dined on 4 September 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

All very good, would definitely recommend it. The only minor drawback is that the road is quite busy but accommodation is set back a bit. The food is delicious, perfect for a special occasion.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 9 September 2020

Hi Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're delighted to hear you had a lovely visit!

Report
JW
JanetW
1 review
Dined on 1 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The food that we had was absolutely lovely and we will return!!

The Old House at Home
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi Janet, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report
E
Edward51
Bath
5 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Eaten here many times. Consistently good, always tasty well cooked food. Brilliant chef.
Staff friendly and helpful. Will keep going back

The Old House at Home
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi Edward, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we can't wait to see you again soon!

Report
JP
JohP
London
2 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Old House at Home is always perfect for us. Great food, great staff and great ambience.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
ME
MartinE
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Scallops with pink grapefruit and the black pud scotchegg starters were brilliant starters, Great steaks and sea bream for main. Will definitely return.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi Martin, Thank you for writing a review, we're thrilled you enjoyed a lovely meal with us!

Report
MW
MichelleW
Bath
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience2

Food average, for the prices they charge I would expect more, sadly the staff weren’t seen so sadly no curiously check after serving meals. They didn’t expect cash as payment which wouldn’t of been an issue if we were informed at the time of booking a table, felt unwelcome.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit. We will review your feedback as a team and make some improvements and hope we can make your next visit an excellent one!

Report
ES
ElaineS
London
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Took advantage of Eat Out scheme - so excellent value. Food is high quality - not just average pub food, and particularly excellent desserts with great attention to detail.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi Elaine, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit with us.

Report
T
Tipps
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Food was excellent and a good choice for lunch,and the service was even better.
Does not seem to drop there standards, in these disruptive times we are all going through!
Regards

The Old House at Home
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so pleased to hear you hear you had a great lunch with us!

Report
PE
ParrisE
Bath
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Myself and my other half wanted to go away for a last minute break for bank holiday weekend. We only stayed one night but I wish it had been longer. The food at the pub was sooo tasty and everyone was really welcoming and friendly. The room was gorgeous, extremely clean and exactly what we wanted. I would happily stay again and recommend.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi Parris, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so pleased to hear you had a lovely stay with us!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Bath
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fabulous Sunday roast

The Old House at Home
Responded on 5 September 2020

Thank you so much!

Report
AN
ANNB
Dorset
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience3

We really enjoyed our meal. Service was good and friendly. The starters were fantastic, the butternut squash dumplings were well cooked and the sauce had a fiery kick. The scotch egg was beautifully seasoned and had a taste of black pudding. We both had the special a gilt head bream with prawn and chorizo. Really tasty and plenty of it. Fish was really fresh. Best fish fish I’ve had for some time. No need for a dessert.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi Ann, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we're delighted you had a lovely meal with us!

Report
MN
MarilynN
London
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Warm friendly welcome, lovely food, would go back tomorrow!

The Old House at Home
Responded on 31 August 2020

Hi Marilyn, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're thrilled to hear you had a lovely visit with us!

Report
SB
StevenB
Bath
4 reviews
Dined on 28 August 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience2

The welcome was non existent, staff were more interested in talking with each other than customers. The entire team seemed to be young part timers with no experienced leader setting a standard.
Food was good pub quality although the seasoning was very uneven one bite of a steak had no seasoning and the other was far too salty.
I would say you can get the same pub quality elsewhere at a lower price.
It was very noisy from the bar area.
Its a shame because the location and building is nice

The Old House at Home
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi Steven, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, feedback is vital to keep us at the top of our game! We'd love to speak to you more about your experience and invite you to email us directly. Best wishes, Lucy

Report
AB
AndrewB
Bath
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Been a customer here for a few years. As always the food & service was excellent. Only gripe was that they served my pint of cider in a lager glass= flat pint of Thatchers... Hey Ho, can’t have it all. Will of course be back...

The Old House at Home
Responded on 5 September 2020

Hi Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I know we had been waiting on some new glassware to be delivered so on your next visit there should be some Thatcher's glasses available!

Report
W
Wilber
Bristol
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent Liver dish and the Sea bass on the special was outstanding

The Old House at Home
Responded on 29 August 2020

Hello, Thank you for writing a review, we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your meals with us!

Report
SS
SheilaS
Bristol
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Excellent evening and very impressed with how the tables were isolated and the discreet Perspex separating some sections. We did feel that the full price meals were on the high side compared to similar venues. It was a lovely evening and will return.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 29 August 2020

Hi Sheila, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so pleased to hear you had a lovely evening with us!

Report
K
Ksmi
Bath
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food, fabulous value. Service was great. Decor and surroundings wonderful. We’ll be back very soon!

The Old House at Home
Responded on 28 August 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we're delighted to hear you had such a lovely experience with us!

Report
JM
JaneM
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was excellent with a good range to choose from. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would fully recommend The Old House At Home to a friend.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Jane, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're delighted to hear you were well looked after during your visit!

Report
N
Naomi0302
Bath
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic evening. Will go back and recommend. Felt safe during social distancing

The Old House at Home
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Naomi, Thank you for writing a review, we're delighted to read you had an excellent visit with us!

Report
JP
JohnP
Bristol
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Most enjoyable only criticism would be,it was a limited lunch menu

The Old House at Home
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi John, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we're so happy to hear you had a great time and we'll take a look at whether we can expand our lunch menu at the moment. Hope to see you again soon!

Report
N
Nutty
Bath
1 review
Dined on 23 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sunday lunch was amazing, and love the refurbishment that has been carried out!!

The Old House at Home
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so pleased to hear you had a great meal with us!

Report
DL
DonnaL
Bath
1 review
Dined on 21 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food, lovely pub with helpful attentive staff

The Old House at Home
Responded on 24 August 2020

Hi Donna, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're delighted to hear you were well looked after on your recent visit!

Report
T
Trace
1 review
Dined on 19 August 2020
Overall3food5service2ambience4

Unfortunately the menu we were given did not include all the ingredients which resulted in one person ordering a meal that included ingredients that they were allergic too. The staff were good to begin with until friends turned up and then the level of service provided dropped dramatically as they were only interested in serving their friends. These two incidents put a damper on our experience.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 24 August 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that your recent visit fell short of the standards we strive to deliver. We'd love to talk to you more about your experience and invite you to contact us directly so we can further understand what went wrong. Best wishes, Lucy

Report
JA
JaneA
Bath
1 review
Dined on 19 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had an enjoyable evening with a friend. Food was tip top, as were the staff...friendly and courteous. I'd booked because of the reputation and having not been to the pub for years, wanted to try it again, so it was a real billy bonus discovering participation in the 50% scheme. Loved it so much that i've rebooked for next week...and i will return after that.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 24 August 2020

Hi Jane, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're delighted you hear you had an enjoyable visit and can't wait to see you again soon! Best wishes, Lucy

Report
W
Wemdoc
London
2 reviews
Dined on 19 August 2020
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Fabulous food in a great outdoor space - really great place but we did wait nearly 2 hours for our food ...

PH
PHILG
London
1 review
Dined on 18 August 2020
Overall2food1service3ambience2

Worst rib eye steak ever Ruby & White meat suppliers need to improve in quality I feel sorry for landlords

The Old House at Home
Responded on 24 August 2020

Hi Phil, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we'll discuss your feedback with our butchers.

Report
CR
ChrisR
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We stayed at the OHH for four nights, had dinner there twice and breakfast each morning. Well recommended.
Although the beef burger was nice enough, the trio of pork and breakfasts were exceptional.
Staff were very friendly and service was great.
Very busy Monday-Wednesday with the Eat Out scheme so worth booking, though a little quieter on Thursday which I preferred. Would definitely eat here again if we are ever in the area.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 27 August 2020

Hi Chris, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so happy to hear your recent stay with us was so enjoyable! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
DL
DebL
Bath
2 reviews
Dined on 17 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our second visit , this one for my husbands birthday . Food was very well presented and tasted great . Staff friendly .
Thank you

The Old House at Home
Responded on 24 August 2020

Hi Deb, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so pleased to hear you had a great meal out!

Report
DW
DebW
Bath
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A lovely meal again! love your new decor and nice to be back out to some sort of normality.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 22 August 2020

Hi Deb, Thank you for writing a review, we're delighted to hear you had a great visit!

Report
MS
MikeS
London
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Our first visit to this pub and we really liked the staff who were welcoming and attentive. We felt very safe inside with proper controls and distancing being adhered to. The food was very tasty, a little more expensive than I would ordinarily pay but not overly pricey. My wife felt the batter on her fish was too soft and needed cooking more but she should have addressed that at the time, otherwise all was good and we would definitely consider eating there again.

The Old House at Home
Responded on 19 August 2020

Hi Mike, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're delighted to hear you had such a lovely visit and were made to feel safe and welcome. We hope yo see you again soon!

Report

FAQs

The Old House at Home is rated 4.4 stars by 138 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.