The Old Thatched Cottage

4.5
222 reviews
£25 and under
Steakhouse
As a proudly independent, family-run restaurant, we bring together over 50 years of expertise and the very freshest ingredients around to create a first-rate, affordable dining experience in Weston-super-Mare.

Our menus are refreshingly honest, simple and uncomplicated; we serve brilliant steaks and top-notch seafood and our daily specials are second-to-none. We’ve got a great selection of wines and our bar is stocked with locally-sourced ales, continental beers and small batch spirits. There's a great cocktail list too!

The restaurant itself offers the perfect mix of old and new… original features, period charm and the only remaining thatched roof in Weston-super-Mare, combined with a laid-back atmosphere and a really-very-cool, beach-facing terrace area complete with glowing fire pits.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 222 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
LR
LeeR
Bath
1 review
Dined 18 hours ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and a nice venue will definitely be going again

SL
SarahLou27
1 review
Dined 19 hours ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time out since lockdown was recommended to go to The old Thatched cottage
🟢 We were show to our table straight away didn’t have to wait. the service was second to none very friendly help to us to our needs remember our drinks we had great touched.

🟢Oh it was outstanding food was delicious hot fresh worth paying.

🟢The starters simple very taste


🟢I had fillet steak melted In the mouth.
Didn’t try a pudding to full but looked yummy

🟢We finished our food was offered to go outside to enjoy the atmosphere of beautiful sunset evening . We were sat next to fire pit was amazing experience
We didn’t want to leave until our taxis came
🟢 Young lad waiter Adam I think his name very helpful all the staff were just fabulous made us felt very safe

🟢When going to toilet very clean impressed

🟢 Will definitely be coming back ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

🟢 Thank you so much see you soon

SL
SarahL
Bath
2 reviews
Dined 19 hours ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and service.
Arrived and someone was sat at our reserved table (they'd turned up late and overrun their timeslot).

Waiter was considerate and looked to find another suitable table (we'd booked one with a firepit over looking beach).
At first we were going to be sat at a different firepit one, but down the side, but one overlooking beach became available, so he quickly cleaned it for us!

Food and drinks arrived promptly.
Great service (again)

L
Laura
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Lovely setting and food, we had the brunch. My friend got caught in traffic so was running a bit late and 4 times I had waitresses come up to me to order because of the time snd it made me feel so uncomfortable as I couldn’t help my friend being late, I was there on time snd yet I was made to feel very uneasy about it all. Was a shame as other than that we had a lovely time

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely fantastic, everything perfect.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 5 hours ago

Awesome thank you, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that everything was perfect. We hope to see you again soon

Report
VR
VickiR
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great food. Lovely staff. COVID restrictions adhered to well

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 5 hours ago

Thank you Vicki, first and foremost we are pleased you felt safe. The team have worked really hard to make sure that we go over and beyond with the Covid measures. Great to read that enjoyed the food and the team were lovely. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
AK
AngelaK
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The table was booked for me as a birthday present, my husband and I annoyed it that much we have booked again for the 26th of this month for my daughter and son-in-law's wedding anniversary .

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 5 hours ago

Hi Angela, thank you for the great review. We are hoping you meant enjoyed rather than annoyed from the feel of the review : ) - We really appreciate the great feedback and that you have booked to visit us again, we very much look forward to welcoming you back

Report
GY
GuyY
Bath
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great restaurant, staff, service, value. That good I’m taking my national sales team there after our quarterly sales meeting in July

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 5 hours ago

Hi Guy, thank you for the great review and we are so pleased you enjoyed the experience. We are really grateful that you would come back and bring your team to eat with us, that means a lot. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you, along with your team in July. Many Thanks

Report
LT
LynnT
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Pre booking really easy and reminders on point . Service fabulous , greeted at the entrance , checked in and given option to sit inside or out . All social distancing , one way system and cleanliness adhered to but in a friendly and welcoming way . Menu had plenty of choice and told up front what was not available or running low , only two dishes , shoes fresh ingredients used . Only observation would be more options for vegetarians/vegans would be an idea ,however this may have been available had we needed them .
My husband had T Bone and I had fillet steak . BEST STEAK EVER! Just melted in the mouth , disappointed didn’t have room for dessert as options looked fabulous! Keep up the great work and will definitely be back when we return to WSM. Taylor’s from Telford Shropshire

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 5 hours ago

Hi Lynn, thank you for the amazing and detailed review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the steaks and service was fabulous. You are absolutely right on the vegetarian/vegan options, we agree is there is more we can offer. We had to limit the menu a little whilst the team settled in, but that plan would be to expand the offering a little more in the next few weeks. We very much look forward to welcoming back when you next visit Weston and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Report
SF
SueF
Norfolk
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Superb food, lovely staff and great service. Thank you for a lovely evening.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 5 hours ago

Hi Sue, you are most welcome and thank you for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report
JM
JosieM
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were once again impressed with The old Thatched cottage, although this was the first time we took our 2 children aged 3 and 1. We had Sunday lunch and the service was incredible and my children were treated like a king and queen. It was so lovely to see the staff including the chef include my children and not ignore them. The chef even came out to talk to my eldest and said he was sorry for making her wait for her chips (which there wasn’t much wait at all) and said he now owes her an ice cream, however we already had asked if they do push up ice pops, as my daughter had said she wanted one of them after dinner, so I thought we would have to wait until we left and go to a shop on the seafront. Then the chef said he had her bought one, she was so happy and this meant we could continue eating in peace.
Family values were really obvious and the food was so delicious, customer service was perfect. Honestly the best restaurant I’ve visited in a long time. It was my parents first visit to this restaurant and they were so impressed, we all can’t wait to return.

One very pleased Mum here, who often worries about dining out with kids especially after lockdown, where children haven’t been in these situations for a long time.

Thank you so much for a pleasurable experience as always.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Hi Josie, thank you for the amazing review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with all the family. We remember your table, you were sat just in front of the bar and your children were wonderfully behaved and your daughter an absolute delight. We are so pleased you felt as comfortable as you did with the children, we are a family restaurant and they are always welcome. We can't wait to welcome you all back again soon.

Report
LI
LITSAT
Bath
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely Sunday roast, very tasty and big portions. Would definitely recommend

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Thank you for the recommendation. We are so pleased you enjoyed that Sunday roast. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again soon

Report
LS
LouiseS
Bath
1 review
Dined on 6 June 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Really great food, lovely outside table and lots of room.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Thank you for the great review Louise. We are so pleased you enjoyed the food and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Report
L
Lottie
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 6 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a beautiful place! The food was delicious, service was fantastic and the members of staff were absolutely wonderful. The place is lovely and we couldn't fault our experience! They even catered for our little dog. Thank you!

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Hi Lottie, thank you for the great review and we are delighted the food was delicious and the service was fantastic. We love our four legged friends as much as our two legged friends, so your dog is always welcome too. Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
K
Kija
Bath
1 review
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The food was very good but the portions could be a bit bigger for the price.

Lovely ambience but expect noise as it is next to the main road....unavoidable if you want the sea view while eating.

We got a table outside which was a lovely surprise, the staff were very attentive and quick even though it was busy.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Thank you for the great review and we pleased you enjoyed the experience. You are absolutely correct that the main road can be a little noisy at times. The restaurant inside is quiet, but then you don't have the view, so a bit of a compromise. Please let us know what meal you had and we shall look at the portion size. We always want to deliver value, so keen to look at this for you. Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback, it really is appreciated.

Report
AN
ANITAY
London
1 review
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall1food2service2ambience1

Really disappointing.
Tried to put me and my friend on a table with a roudy bunch of people, not very COVID safe so we refused.
Food was pretty tasteless and felt that they were catering for the tourists.
Waitress kept touching things not very COVID compliant and they went from table to table without sanitising.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

We are very sorry to read this review and indeed the first review we have received reference us not being very Covid safe. The team have worked very hard to make sure that this is a priority for us. We have reviewed the cameras and the team were sanitising at the drop off stations (so every time the clear a table). Please let us know what food you had and we shall look into this for you. In terms of sharing space, we make sure that everyone is socially distanced, but happy to discuss with you

Report
CC
CharlotteC
Bath
3 reviews
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic brunch on a lovely sunny day. Perfect setting!

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Thank you Charlotte, we are so pleased you enjoyed your brunch with us. The sun shining always helps. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Bath
1 review
Dined on 4 June 2021
Overall3food1service4ambience4

Fantastic service fantastic starters it was just the mains that let it down. My friend wanted to swap her salad with her steak for Mediterranean vegetables when asking she was told no straight away. When our dishes arrived her steak was burnt on one side, whilst me and my friend have the same dish the vegetables were lovely but the meat was tasteless. Such a shame as I have been there before I had a wonderful meal

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry you did not enjoy your main courses. It is quite unusual for that to be the case so we would very much like you to get in touch and speak to us. Did you let the team know on the day as we cannot see any complaints logged? Please do get in touch, we would like to understand the experience in a bit more detail so we can resolve for you. Many Thanks

Report
K
K200
Bath
1 review
Dined on 4 June 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Value for money poor, two small dry chicken kebabs for £16+
Salmon salad nice
Tasteless prawns nice sauce

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Sorry to read the chicken was dry, hopefully you let the team know and they changed it for you? We understand what you are saying about value for money, but we do try to buy the best ingredients possible, including the olives, feta and olive oil that goes with the Greek salad which are all expensive. We shall continue to review this and we appreciate the feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the salmon and the sauce and sorry the prawns weren't very tasty, did you tell the team?

Report
Y
Yorkie
Bath
1 review
Dined on 4 June 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Enjoyable meal and service - will be back.
,...........

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Thank you for the review and we are pleased you enjoyed your meal. Great to hear you will be returning and we hope we can make your 4 star a 5 star when you next visit. Thanks again

Report
JF
JennyF
Bath
1 review
Dined on 4 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful summers day stopped for lunch and sat outside.
Service was swift food was really nice it felt as if we were abroad.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Thanks Jenny, you are absolutely right - when the sun is shining it really does feel like you are on holiday. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
AL
AndreaL
Bath
1 review
Dined on 3 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely atmosphere. Great location and staff were helpful

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Thanks Andrea, we ae so pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere and the team were helpful. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 2 June 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Good food great service , staff made us feel welcome immediately and when we asked to move outside between starter and main, it wasn’t an issue at all. Thank you

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

You are very welcome and we are pleased we were able to accommodate you. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
SJ
SamJ
1 review
Dined on 2 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food was devine, so where the views and lovely warm fire in front of us. Service was great and polite. We had no cash to leave a tip and there was no way to do it by card - be good to add that feature on as we would have loved too.

Towards the end a large group of beach goers sat down across 2 tables next too us which I think ruined the vibe of our night and the restaurant. But we were just finishing up anyway.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Hi Sam, thank you for the feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed the experience and that the food was divine. There is a facility to leave a tip on card, apologies the team did not make that clear. In terms of the other guests, we are trying to be super careful to make sure we don't impact the vibe, but at the same time being as inclusive as possible, its a difficult balance. We 100% get what you are saying though and it is something we shall keep focusing on. We hope to see you again soon

Report
A
Annette
1 review
Dined on 2 June 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Prompt service, very clean, polite staff who cleaned and were dressed smart, felt Covid safe. Excellent lovely quality food, great choice both food and drink

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Hi Annette, thank you for the great feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and the food and service were good. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report
EC
EvaC
1 review
Dined on 2 June 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Lovely place, so glad we choose this place! Food was good, lovely terrace, staff really friendly/professional and covid-safe, overall a great place.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Thank you for the review Eva, we really appreciate it. We are pleased the food was good and the staff friendly. We shall keep working hard on the food and the value to make sure we can turn those into 5's for the next time you visit. We hope to see you again soon

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 1 June 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience5

Food was lovely but portions could be bigger and disappointed we booked a fire pit table and it was not lit so little disappointed as that inflates cost meals and drinks

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Thank you for the feedback. Did you ask the team to put the firepit on and they didn't? The only time we don't turn them on is when it is too hot, but we are always happy to light them. The firepits do not inflate the price, our pricing is the same whether you sit inside or out, so it is all the same. Please let us know what meals you had, we are very keen that we deliver value to all our customers and we shall happily review. Thank you for your feedback, it really is appreciated

Report
SB
SusanB
Bath
3 reviews
Dined on 1 June 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience2

This is my 5th visit and again, everything was great, the fist time I’ve eaten inside and the atmosphere wasn’t amazing, but I put this down to it being a Tuesday evening so I’m sure when I visit again on a Friday or a Saturday the vibe will be buzzing!! Always pleasant staff and food is very good

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Thank you Susan, we ae pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your continued custom. We are always very grateful to all our regular customers. Tuesdays are a little quieter, but as you say the weekends are buzzing. We look forward to seeing you again on a weekend and please let us know what you think

Report
KB
KirstenB
Bath
1 review
Dined on 1 June 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Good food, drinks and service. Lovely old building with a good location. Vegetarian options limited.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Hi Kirsten, thank you for the review and we so pleased the food, drinks and service were all good. You are absolutely right on the vegetarian options, this is something we need to extend. We had limited this whilst the team got back into it and we plan to extend this within the next few weeks. Thank you again for your feedback, we really do appreciate it and we hope to see you again soon

Report
CW
ClareW
Bristol
1 review
Dined on 31 May 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Lovely menu, although slightly reduced at the moment. The staff were more than helpful and very attentive. The food is of a high quality and portion sizes are good.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 2 June 2021

Thank you Clare, we are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and that team were helpful and the food high quality. We very much appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
DR
DaniR
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on 31 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was delicious, a couple of the menu items were unavailable and there isn’t much vegetarian choice. Ended up having a halloumi salad which is very highly priced for what it is. Although delicious I can never understand charging £14.95 for 3 pieces of halloumi, salad leaves, a few cherry tomatoes and a handful of croutons.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 2 June 2021

Hi Dani, thank you for the note and apologies we had sold out of a few dishes. We do make everything fresh which means that sometimes we can run out of some items. We agree that we could extend the vegetarian options a little more and this is something we shall look at. Halloumi is a tricky one, as best quality (which we buy) is more expensive per kilo than some of the steaks we purchase. Thank you for your feedback, it really is appreciated and we shall continue to review the value offer.

Report
GB
GrahamB
London
1 review
Dined on 31 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very nice venue. Good food with quick service. A nice family meal. Have visited several times and never disappointed.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 hours ago

Hi Graham, thank you for the great review and for your continued custom. We really are grateful to all our regular customers for choosing our restaurant. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and that the service was quick. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report
HB
HayleyB
Bath
1 review
Dined on 31 May 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience4

Lovely food service slow never came back for us to order dessert however I guess they are just setting back in to this.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 2 June 2021

Hi Hayley, thank you for the feedback and apologies the service was a little slow. We can see that you visited on Bank Holiday Monday which was one of our busiest days of the year. Absolutely no excuse at all, as we would expect to deliver great service everyday, but the team were a little stretched on that day. We are very sorry we didn't offer you dessert as they are amazing and we definitely want to sell them. We hope you will give us another try to show you our usual standard of service

Report
MH
MartinH
Bath
1 review
Dined on 31 May 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Chicken skewers very nice but a little dry
Steak very nice

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 2 June 2021

Hi Martin, thank you for the feedback and apologies you found the chicken a little dry. That is not usual and the chefs usually do a great job. We are pleased you enjoyed the taste of the chicken and that the steak was good. Hopefully you will give us another chance and we hope that we can do a better job for you next time. Thank you again for the honest feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
PM
PatriciaM
Bath
1 review
Dined on 31 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good good, clean and safe environment. Friendly staff.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 2 June 2021

Thank you Patricia, we are delighted that you found the environment safe and that the team were friendly. We really appreciate the review and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
D
Dancer1
London
1 review
Dined on 30 May 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

A very nice afternoon at the Thatched Cottage. The food was excellent and the team were very hardworking and pleasant at all times. The new outside area is perfect to relax in the sun and has a really good vibe. Highly recommend!

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 31 May 2021

Thank you very much for the recommendation and we are delighted that you enjoyed the food and that the team were hardworking an pleasant. Great to read that you like the new outside area, we are doing whatever we can to make our guests comfortable in the outside space. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
j
jodyd
1 review
Dined on 29 May 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Excellent food and friendly service. Nice outside tables with fire pits to keep warm. You feel a little bit exposed to passers by sat at the front however.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 31 May 2021

Hi Jody, thank you for the great review and we are delighted the food was excellent and the staff were friendly. We hope the glass screens offer some protection from the passers by, but we always have the trade off with a busy sea front as people walk by, but we also want to give people a great view. We really appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon

Report
DA
DavidA
Bristol
1 review
Dined on 29 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, lovely atmosphere and all round good service would highly recommend and loved the fire pit table we definitely be returning for another lovely evening 5*

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 31 May 2021

Hi David, thank you for the fantastic review. We are delighted you enjoyed everything from the food to the atmosphere. We really appreciate the 5 stars and the recommendation and hope to see you again soon.

Report
CT
ChristineT
Bath
1 review
Dined on 29 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We always eat here when visiting Weston Super Mare, always had a lovely meal and service is very efficient and staff are friendly.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 31 May 2021

Hi Christine, thank you for the great review and for your continued custom. We are so pleased that you chose to dine with us when you visit Weston and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report
AL
AdrianL
1 review
Dined on 29 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food as always. Service fantastic....as always!

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 31 May 2021

Thank you Adrian, we are so pleased you enjoyed the food and the service. We are always so happy when we get a 5 star rating from your lovely customers. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report

FAQs

The Old Thatched Cottage is rated 4.5 stars by 222 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.