Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Bath/Somerset
  4. North Somerset
  5. Weston-Super-Mare
The Old Thatched Cottage, Weston-Super-Mare, Avon

The Old Thatched Cottage

4.5
4.5
823 Reviews
£25 and under
Steakhouse
As a proudly independent, family-run restaurant, we bring together over 50 years of expertise and the very freshest ingredients around to create a first-rate, affordable dining experience in Weston-super-Mare.

Our menus are refreshingly honest, simple and uncomplicated; we serve brilliant steaks and top-notch seafood and our daily specials are second-to-none. We’ve got a great selection of wines and our bar is stocked with locally-sourced ales, continental beers and small batch spirits. There's a great cocktail list too!

The restaurant itself offers the perfect mix of old and new… original features, period charm and the only remaining thatched roof in Weston-super-Mare, combined with a laid-back atmosphere and a really-very-cool, beach-facing terrace area complete with glowing fire pits.

Make a booking

2 people

23:30


Booked 16 times today

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Cuisines

    Steakhouse, Seafood, Beer Garden

  • Hours of Operation

    Mon–Thu 12:00–22:00 Fri 12:00–23:00 Sat 10:00–23:00 Sun 10:00–22:00 Lunch Daily 12:00–17:00 Dinner Daily 17:00–21:30

  • Phone number

    01934 621313

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress Code

    Casual Dress

  • Catering

    We love a good party! Mark the occasion (whatever that may be) with a big ol’ bash with family and friends and let us wine and dine you in our private dining room. Exclusive hire of the restaurant for weddings and celebrations is also available.

  • Area

    Weston-Super-Mare

  • Parking Details

    There are a number of car parks just a few steps away from our front door. We recommend parking at The Royal Hotel (postcode: BS23 1JP) or Old Colonial Hotel (postcode: BS23 2AW). There’s also roadside parking nearby.

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Indoor Fireplace, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Popular dishes

What 823 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.5
4.5 based on recent ratings
  • 4.6Food
  • 4.5Service
  • 4.4Ambience
  • 4.3Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Bath/Somerset

    Outdoor Eating

  • Bath/Somerset

    Scenic View

  • Bath/Somerset

    Most Booked

Sort by

Filters

  1. JM

    JasmineM

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    My partner and I had a date night on 03/07/2022, we sat outside by the fire pit looking over the seafront. Our first table was quite windy & the lovely waitress offered us a different table so we moved (although we wouldn’t have asked to move it wasn’t really a problem) It was a lovely experience from the surroundings, to the service and the fillet steak was amazing with the red wine and Stilton sauce. 5* recommend.
  2. RP

    RachelP

    Warwickshire

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Great quality food, meat was delicious and you get a good amount. Needed more gravy so asked for that, waiters/ waitresses attentive but had a funny comment back when asked for mayonnaise. Other than that food is always lovely, even though there didn't seem a lot overall it was very filling and we enjoyed our meal. Will definitely be back again thank you.
  3. RB

    RitaB

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    The best Sunday lunch that we have eaten this year. We chose one lamb and one beef so that we could share the meats which were plentiful with a delicious gravy. What a treat to have cauliflower cheese included and not charged as an add on. The Shiraz wine by the glass was a £9.25 for a 250ml glass which adds a considerably to the bill but it was high quality and delicious. I would definitely return.
  4. ST

    ShaneT

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Service, food, location, staff, atmosphere, prompt, comfortable, warm, just amazing all of it. Can’t wait to come back again

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded todayHi Shane, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased your visit to us was amazing and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

  5. SV

    SarahV

    Birmingham

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We sat outside and had a fire pit table. Perfect.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 1 day agoHi Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed one of the firepit tables. We hope to see you again soon.

  6. V

    Vc21

    Bath

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall3food3service3ambience5
    Really enjoyed dining by the firepit, we had starters for our mains rather than main meals was a little dissapointed there were no specials, puddings were lovely, service was OK but food didn't come out in one go so some of it was getting cold while waiting.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 1 day agoHello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your meals and pudding. We are very sorry to hear all your meals did not arrive at the same time, this is not our usual service, we do apologise and hope you give us another chance.

  7. LP

    LeeP

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food was superb, cooked perfectly, staff friendly and very helpful, even when it rained, they were always ready to help.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 1 day agoHello Lee, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased your food was superb and our team were friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon.

  8. D

    Dave

    Bath

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 26 June 2022

    overall2food3service1ambience2
    Service was terrible. Customers were inconvenience to them. Could not be brother to give a menu had to ask 20 mins after bring seated. Then was told can't order anything. Even through we book table for dinner. Service continue be poor all the through our meals. Food was overall good.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded todayHi Dave,we are sorry you did not rate the service,pleased that the food was good.You booked a table for 6pm but arrived at 5.30.Our team did advise that our kitchen was transitioning from Roast to A la Carte,so we wouldn't be able to serve you until 6pm,which you were fine with.When you received your meals our team checked in with you to make sure you were happy, you advised all was good. No customer is an inconvenience to us,so we are sorry you felt this way.We do hope you will visit us again.

  9. TW

    TanyaW

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 26 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Never had a bad experience here, staff are polite and helpful, food was amazing yet again

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 1 day agoHi Tanya, Thank you for leaving a review, we are so happy our team were polite and helpful and your food was amazing. Thank you for your continued custom and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  10. G

    Goldust

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 26 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Lovely clean, well decorated, welcoming place to visit. Food was excellent, good value for money. Staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 1 day agoHello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased your food was excellent and our team could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We hope to see you again soon.

  11. JC

    JohnC

    London

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 25 June 2022

    overall4food4service5ambience4
    Great location by the sea. Food was good quality well cooked and presented. The wines were a little on the expensive side but overall reasonable value. The waitresses were attentive and friendly

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 1 day agoHello John, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so happy your food was good and our team were attentive and friendly. We hope to see you again soon.

  12. MS

    MargaretS

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 24 June 2022

    overall4food3service4ambience5
    The food is always good quality and the atmosphere enjoyable. We love the outside tables, especially as the table fire pit are always optional. I was just a little disappointed with the garlic prawn starter this time as not as hot as usual and it seemed there were less prawns.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 1 day agoHello Margaret, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you thought the food was good quality and you enjoyed the outside seating. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your starter, we do apologise for this, we hope this never happens again but if it does please tell a member of the team who will be happy to sort any problems for you. We hope to see you again.

  13. B

    Bill

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 23 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    It's just overall the best place to eat in weston

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 1 day agoHi Bill, Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, we are so pleased you think its the best place to eat in Weston, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  14. TM

    TinaM

    Surrey

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 19 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    From first arriving until we left the staff were very good, cant fault anything

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 21 June 2022Hi Tina, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and our team were very good. We hope to see you again soon.

  15. J

    Jane

    Bath

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 19 June 2022

    overall2food2service2ambience1
    Music was too loud, couldnt hear each other at the table. Service was somehwhat painful, drinks were slow. Table was cramped in the corner. Been here twice before had poor experiences, tried again no good.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 26 June 2022Hi Jane, we are very sorry to read that we did not reach your expectations when you visited. We would of been happy to move your table and reduce the music volume if requested. We always want our customers to feel as comfortable as possible. We are sorry the drinks were a little slow in getting to you. We hope you give us another chance and you can always request where you would like to sit when booking. Thank you for the feedback and we shall also pick up with the team

  16. DG

    DanG

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Top quality food. Top service, brilliant atmosphere. Recommend highly. We will visit again, thank you

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 21 June 2022Hi Dan, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so happy you enjoyed your visit to us and your food was top quality. Thank you for the high recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  17. TG

    TraceyG

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Booked outside table online only one hour before visiting. Had a warm welcome by Janis (pronounced Yanis). Had a table with fire pit which kept us warm on a breezy rainy evening. Ordered fillet steak which was absolutely divine. Could not fault anything. Will definitely go back again.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 21 June 2022Hello Tracey, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and Janis gave you a warm welcome. Glad you enjoyed one of our firepit tables, they do keep you warm of an evening. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

  18. IM

    IainM

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 June 2022

    overall5food5service4ambience5
    The food was excellent and the service friendly and non-intrusive. The setting is superb if sitting outside and the fire at the table just made the whole experience perfect.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hi Iain, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your meals, our team were friendly and you enjoyed the setting. We hope to see you again soon.

  19. C

    Chloe

    Bath

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 14 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We had a lovely time here sitting outside in the beautiful weather! Service was brilliant, food was delicious and drinks were nice and chilled. Always a favourite!

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hello Chloe, Thank you for leaving a review, we are so happy your meals were delicious and service was brilliant. We hope to see you again soon.

  20. KD

    KerryD

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 12 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We had a beautiful Sunday roast on 12/06/22. Although the roast dinners are a bit more expensive than others in the area, everything was cooked perfectly and the meat portions were really good. Looking forward to our next visit.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hello Kerry, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and we hope to see you again soon.

  21. AS

    AndyS

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 11 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food was lovely. Service from all the staff was impeccable. Had a fabulous experience.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hi Andy, Thank you for leaving a review, we are so pleased your food was lovely and our team were impeccable. We hope to see you again soon.

  22. W

    Wezza

    New York Area

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 11 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Fantastic food, service and setting. Outstanding value too!

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased your food and service were fantastic. We hope to see you again soon.

  23. YM

    YvetteM

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Excellent service,very friendly and helpful staff. Food was amazing

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hello Yvette, Thank you for leaving a review, we are so happy your food was amazing and our team were friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon.

  24. M

    Mic00

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 June 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience1
    Was very disappointed for a restaurant. The tables were poorly set, No table cloth, cutlery not set out, no wine glasses, staff very rushed. Not a patch on Michelangelo’s ambiance.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 18 June 2022Hi Mic, sorry to read you were disappointed. We like to bring what the customer needs when they arrive in terms of wine glasses etc and we removed the tables cloths around 7 years ago when we understood the environmental impact of washing them daily. We have solid oak and teak tables which we like and we are sorry you don't agree. We ae a very different restaurant to Michelangelos, with different focus on sourcing produce etc. They do a great job, as do we and we are sorry you were disappointed

  25. EH

    EmilyH

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 6 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    Brilliant would definitely come again, food was delicious- staff were friendly and extremely competent. Overall vibe was perfect.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hi Emily, Thank you for leaving a review, we are so pleased your food was delicious and our team were friendly. We hope to see you again soon.

  26. SI

    SarahI

    Oxford

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 5 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Despite the rain we sat outside and had a great mark and were well looked after

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hi Sarah, So pleased you enjoyed your visit to us, we hope to see you again soon.

  27. AH

    AnnH

    Bath

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 5 June 2022

    overall4food4service3ambience4
    Very tasty Sunday Lunch but we waited over half an hour for our main course

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hello Ann, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us, we do apologise for the wait for your main courses this should never happen, we hope you give us another chance and hope to see you again soon.

  28. FS

    FranS

    Bath

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 5 June 2022

    overall4food5service4ambience4
    Fantastic food and service. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hello Fran, Thank you for leaving a review, we are so pleased your food was fantastic and you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves. We hope to see you again.

  29. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Yorkshire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 4 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Evening meal whilst on holiday . Lovely setting , great food and service

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your meals with us whilst on holiday.

  30. CR

    ChristopherR

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 4 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food was amazing. Staff were brilliant. Very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend. We will definitely be going back. Keep up the good work x

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hi Christopher, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased your food was amazing and our team were brilliant, thank you for the recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.

  31. CS

    CaroS

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 4 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food was presented, hot & tasty. The Staff were friendly & attentive. We enjoyed being seated outside by a fire pit. Well done Thatched Cottage 👍

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hello Caro, Thank you for leaving a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your meals with us and also enjoyed the outside seating area with one of the firepits. We hope to see you again soon.

  32. RY

    RobY

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 4 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Excellent service, beautifully cooked steaks and a few glasses of wine with my lovely wife - what’s not to like?

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hi Rob, Thank you for leaving a review, we are so pleased both you and your wife enjoyed your meals with us, we hope to see you again soon.

  33. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 4 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We had booked this restaurant as it is a favourite of mine when I visit WSM with work. We were greeted upon arrival and shown to our table, the kids menu had enough to keep our 5 year old occupied, and his meal was great value. We had calamari & king prawns for starters, and for main the Lamb Kleftico and Souvlaki… both courses were amazing. The atmosphere and service was wonderful. Faultless in fact! Thank you!

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and we hope to see you again soon.

  34. NW

    NicoleW

    Birmingham

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 3 June 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Lovely food and staff. The only downside was we were sat next to the window and there were flies all over it which was quite off putting, also the restaurant was cold.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hello Nicole, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased your food and our team were both lovely. I'm very sorry about your table being by the window and the window having flies on it, did you mention this to a member of staff? They could have moved you to another table if we had one available. We hope to see you again.

  35. LJ

    LizzieJ

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 June 2022

    overall2food5service2ambience4
    There was an issue with our main meals coming out. This was addressed and we couldn’t fault the food itself but it did slightly spoilt the evening, (which was a big birthday celebration) that we waited in excess of an hour and a quarter for our food.
  36. SS

    SurS

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 1 June 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Amazing night thank you the staff were outstanding

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hi Sur, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you had an amazing night with usa nd our team were outstanding. We hope to see you again soon.

  37. RA

    RoseA

    Bath

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 1 June 2022

    overall4food5service4ambience3
    The food was very good, but the service was a little slow even though it wasn't very busy. The staff were friendly and polite.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hi Rose, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased your food was great and our team were friendly and polite. I do apologise the service was a little slow, i hope this has not put you off visiting us again. We hope to see you soon.

  38. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Bath

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 31 May 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Very very good food ; great service , nice location , good drink selection
  39. A

    Annie

    Birmingham

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 May 2022

    overall2food2service3ambience3
    I’m vegan and although there were vegan starters there were no vegan mains! I checked with the server about the orzo salad who went off to check as she didn’t even seem to know what vegan was. She came back and said it would be fine. So I ordered it and when it came it was a hot dish! Hot pasta with all the salad stuff in. It was very unpleasant. Hot salad?! Glad I’m not local as I certainly won’t be going back!

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 2 June 2022Hi Annie, Thank you for the review and apologise you did not like the vegan main course (which is listed as vegan on the menu). The dish is very popular with our regulars and a warm orzo salad is a traditional Mediterranean dish. We are sorry it was not to your liking and thank you for the feedback. Unfortunately this is not something we will be changing given the feedback from other customers. Best Wishes

  40. MH

    MaryH

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 May 2022

    overall4food4service4ambience3
    Food was excellent, steak cooked exactly how I requested. Staff very attentive and friendly.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 16 June 2022Hello Mary, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased your food was excellent and your steak was cooked exactly as requested, glad you enjoyed your meals with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitising

    • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
    • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
    • Contactless payment available
  • Physical distancing

    • Limited number of seated diners
    • Distancing maintained in common areas
    • Extra space between tables
  • Protective equipment

    • Waiting staff wear masks
    • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
    • Staff temperature check required
    • Contact tracing information collected

FAQs

The Old Thatched Cottage is rated 4.5 stars by 823 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

23:30


Booked 16 times today
Google Map for The Old Thatched Cottage

14 Knightstone Road Weston-Super-Mare, Avon BS23 2AN

Additional information

  • Area

    Weston-Super-Mare

  • Hours of Operation

    Mon–Thu 12:00–22:00 Fri 12:00–23:00 Sat 10:00–23:00 Sun 10:00–22:00 Lunch Daily 12:00–17:00 Dinner Daily 17:00–21:30

  • Cuisines

    Steakhouse, Seafood, Beer Garden

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Dress Code

    Casual Dress

  • Parking Details

    There are a number of car parks just a few steps away from our front door. We recommend parking at The Royal Hotel (postcode: BS23 1JP) or Old Colonial Hotel (postcode: BS23 2AW). There’s also roadside parking nearby.

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Indoor Fireplace, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

  • Phone number

    01934 621313

  • Catering

    We love a good party! Mark the occasion (whatever that may be) with a big ol’ bash with family and friends and let us wine and dine you in our private dining room. Exclusive hire of the restaurant for weddings and celebrations is also available.

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo