Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Bath/Somerset
  4. North Somerset
  5. Weston-Super-Mare
The Old Thatched Cottage, Weston-Super-Mare, Avon

The Old Thatched Cottage

4.5
4.5
885 Reviews
£25 and under
Steakhouse
As a proudly independent, family-run restaurant, we bring together over 50 years of expertise and the very freshest ingredients around to create a first-rate, affordable dining experience in Weston-super-Mare.

Our menus are refreshingly honest, simple and uncomplicated; we serve brilliant steaks and top-notch seafood and our daily specials are second-to-none. We’ve got a great selection of wines and our bar is stocked with locally-sourced ales, continental beers and small batch spirits. There's a great cocktail list too!

The restaurant itself offers the perfect mix of old and new… original features, period charm and the only remaining thatched roof in Weston-super-Mare, combined with a laid-back atmosphere and a really-very-cool, beach-facing terrace area complete with glowing fire pits.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 19 times today

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Cuisines

    Steakhouse, Seafood, Beer Garden

  • Hours of Operation

    Mon–Thu 12:00–22:00 Fri 12:00–23:00 Sat 10:00–23:00 Sun 10:00–22:00 Lunch Daily 12:00–17:00 Dinner Daily 17:00–21:30

  • Phone number

    01934 621313

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress Code

    Casual Dress

  • Catering

    We love a good party! Mark the occasion (whatever that may be) with a big ol’ bash with family and friends and let us wine and dine you in our private dining room. Exclusive hire of the restaurant for weddings and celebrations is also available.

  • Area

    Weston-Super-Mare

  • Parking Details

    There are a number of car parks just a few steps away from our front door. We recommend parking at The Royal Hotel (postcode: BS23 1JP) or Old Colonial Hotel (postcode: BS23 2AW). There’s also roadside parking nearby.

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Indoor Fireplace, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Popular dishes

What 885 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.5
4.5 based on recent ratings
  • 4.5Food
  • 4.5Service
  • 4.4Ambience
  • 4.2Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Bath/Somerset

    Hot Spot

  • Bath/Somerset

    Outdoor Eating

  • Bath/Somerset

    Scenic View

  • Bath/Somerset

    Most Booked

Sort by

Filters

  1. PO

    PaulO

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    The food is amazing and good choice of food and ales, the staff are very friendly and helpful, this is how pubs should be run, lovely area outside to watch the sun go down, Definitely worth it
  2. AC

    AndrewC

    Mid Wales

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Very nice place. Good food, acceptable prices. I would have liked more choice of drinks but overall very happy.
  3. S

    Spen37

    Bath

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Overall a 4 out of 5 - the food and place and surroundings was lovely. For the food; starters - grilled halloumi and prawn cocktail was fantastic. Good portions! Mains - A little too much creamy sauce with the pork chops which became too over powering in the end. For the Lamp chops - the sauce was under whelming. Dessert - the brownie was nice with ice cream. Big portion for 1. Good value.
  4. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Bath

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    Really lovely food, excellent service and lovely views, really lovely night, nothing rushed, sirloin steaks wonderful.
  5. AN

    AmandaN

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall1food1service1ambience1
    Arrived 15 minutes early to be told they couldn't take our food order until our booked table time. Fine.... Asked how long food wait time was they explained 20 minutes, it was in fact closer to 45 minutes. Having my 3 year old wait 45 minutes for fish and chips is absolutely ridiculous. When my food finally arrived, the chicken was dry, pitta bread hard as a rock. At that point I just wanted out of the restaurant, complete disaster.
  6. LM

    LouM

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food and service was lovely. Portion size was very decent.
  7. HC

    HollieC

    Birmingham

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall5food5service4ambience5
    Great views, a nice atmosphere and brilliant food.
  8. SM

    SandyM

    Birmingham

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall3food4service2ambience5
    We arrived at the restaurant at 19:35 for our reserved table, we were given menus and then left. I went into the restaurant after 15 mins and asked if we were to order inside to be told no it was table service -After 40 mins we were asked for drinks and food order.
  9. SI

    SarahI

    Oxford

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    Lovely evening great service and food
  10. DB

    DeeB

    Yorkshire

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 8 August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Lovely kids food and delicious Caesar salad. Staff are friendly and efficient, we really enjoyed our visit
  11. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 7 August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Very good value for money!
  12. F

    Family

    Warwickshire

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 7 August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    A warm welcome and a lovely Sunday lunch. Lots of vegetables and extra gravy made it.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased to hear our team welcomed you warmly and you enjoyed a lovely Sunday lunch with us, we hope to see you again soon.

  13. ER

    EllenR

    Herefordshire

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 7 August 2022

    overall3food3service5ambience5
    Always been pleased in the past but was disappointed in this occasion. Meat didn't seen the same quality as previously and also the food wasn't warm enough. The meal (Sunday lunch) was served with one large slice or carrot and one slsrfe slice of parsnip. They only other veg they brought was one dish between 4 people that contained half peas abd half cauliflower cheese. It wasn't awful but not great either. We were disappointed.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 7 days agoHi Ellen, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are very disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your Sunday lunch with us, all our meat is sourced locally and we haven't changed butchers so this is something we will definitely be looking into. Sorry the vegetables were not enough for your table please in future ask a member of the team and they can bring you more out. We do hope you will give us another chance to prove what we can do. We do hope to see you again.

  14. JH

    JaneH

    Bath

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 6 August 2022

    overall3food3service2ambience2
    I booked and took some friends for dinner as I have been before and enjoyed the food. Unfortunately everyone was very dissapointed as we waited for over an hour for our food. When it arrived we had all lost our appetites. It's not cheap so you do expect a better service and the place wasnt exactly busy.
  15. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Devon

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 6 August 2022

    overall3food4service3ambience3
    Birthday celebration. They seemed to be very busy even though they had a lot of empty tables. We were greeted and seated quite quickly however we were left for some time before our drinks orders were taken and once they were we waited 20 minutes for those drinks to be served. The food was very good and the outside tables with fire pits made for a lovely ambience. Sadly the speed of service continued to disappoint and we therefore will not use this restaurant again.
  16. S

    Sundaybest

    Bristol

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 6 August 2022

    overall3food4service1ambience2
    Booked 1 week in advance advising that one of our party was disabled so could we sit near the entrance so we wouldn't have problems fitting the mobility scooter in . On arrival we were given a table for 8 in the middle of the room which was totally unsuitable and also probably the spot where it was most windy of all. We were moved and so ordered drinks Now, between arriving and and ordering drinks and food which we had all selected prior from online menu ,it was 40 mins before we got our starters,this proceeded throughout our meal,we arrived 6.25 pm and left at 9.15pm...the whole service was very very slow and the staff all seemed really unhappy . One of our party ordered a drink and it arrived when he finished his meal. The food was very delicious but small in portion size and overpriced. We would not visit again because of this,it definitely isn't value for money.(2 x lamb cutlets £18.95)

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 7 days agoHello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are very sorry our team seated you in the middle of the restaurant but happy to hear they moved you to a different table. We do apologise we were not as organised as we should have been when you visited. We are delighted the food was delicious but disappointed you thought the portion sizes were not big enough, this is something we will be looking into. We do hope you will give us another chance to prove what we can do.

  17. YM

    YvetteM

    Bath

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 5 August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Very good service and excellent food

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hi Yvette, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so happy to hear our team were good and your food was excellent. We hope to see you again soon.

  18. H

    Helen

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 5 August 2022

    overall5food5service3ambience5
    It was good but the fire pits smell very strongly of gas.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hi Helen, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are happy to hear your visit to us was good, sorry about the firepit smell but unfortunately they are gas firepits so nothing we can do about the smell. We do hope it hasn't put you off visiting us again.

  19. LB

    LeeB

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 4 August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great food. Great wine. Great service on a lovely august evening

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hi Lee, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so please your food was great and you enjoyed the wine. We hope to see you again soon.

  20. ND

    NadineD

    Birmingham

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 August 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    Quite disappointed with the food considering the price! Starter portion definitely wasn't worth the money. Fish and chips were cooked beautifully but tasted of absolutely nothing! Kids meals ok size and pudding for them was great. Very clean and friendly place, dogs also welcome outside which was great for us.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hi Nadine, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are sorry yo hear you didn't think the starter was worth the money (could you please tell us what you had) and your fish and chips didn't taste of anything. we are happy to hear portions size for the kids was good and they enjoyed their pudding. glad you found our team to be friendly and our restaurant clean. We hope to see you again.

  21. KG

    KatieG

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Lovely food and great service, bit on the pricey side but you pay for what you get and quality of food was amazing. Will definitely go back for a special occasion

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hi Katie, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased to hear your food was lovely and our team were great. We hope to see you again soon.

  22. RM

    RachelM

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 August 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience4
    Super super amazing service and even had a birthday surprise for my partner that was amazing and super secret!! Would just love more vegetarian options as very very limited and think paying that much for salads is a bit crazy - maybe a veggie burger or use the halloumi from the halloumi pitta to make a halloumi burger? I don't know, was just underwhelmed with veggie options :( still 10/10, amazing evening x

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hello Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased to hear your visit to us was a 10/10. Thank you for your feed back on the vegetarian options this is something we will look into. We hope to see you again soon.

  23. L

    Leapaul2010

    Birmingham

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 2 August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Lovely food, but the portions were a little on the small side, love the coal fires nice addition when chilly X

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased to hear your food was lovely sorry you thought the portion size was a little on the small side, we will take this feedback on board. Glad you enjoyed one of the firepit tables. We hope to see you again soon.

  24. S

    Suzanne

    Warwickshire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 August 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Really enjoyed our visit. Great staff, delicious food. Would definitely visit again.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hi Suzanne, Thank you for leaving a review, we are so pleased to hear your food was delicious and our team were great. We look forward to seeing you again.

  25. S

    Sallyt

    Bristol

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 July 2022

    overall2food3service4ambience3
    I feel the main course (souvlaki) was overpriced; certainly considering it was more like a starter. Two small chicken skewers, a pitta cut in half and a salad garnish, not forgetting the smallest container of tzatziki that could be found. I found most of our party had to order side orders of chips (£3.95) to fill out the meal. A bit "mean" with the portions all round. Service good, and food quality OK, but why be so stingy with it. Back to "Dimitris" for Greek food next time....always good and generous.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 7 days agoHi Sally, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are very sorry you didn't feel the portion sizes were big enough its something we will look into. We do source all our meat from local butchers which makes it a little more expensive, we do try our best to deliver great value. We hare happy to hear the service you received was good and we do hope you will give us another chance.

  26. B

    Beau

    Bristol

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 July 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Lovely fresh food , good waiting staff . Sat a table with a heater of coals and flames will definitely go back

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased your food was lovely and fresh and our team were good, glad you enjoyed the firepit table. We hope to see you again.

  27. RM

    RachelM

    Birmingham

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 July 2022

    overall4food5service4ambience5
    Beautiful food - good portions. Lovely location. Food service was a little slow.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hello Rachel, Thank you for leaving a review, we are so pleased to hear your food was beautiful. We are sorry your service was a little slow hopefully you will visit again and we will try and do better. We hope to see you again.

  28. KW

    KellyW

    Bath

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 July 2022

    overall3food4service3ambience3
    Sunday lunch.... huge portions of meat. 3 small roast potatoes, half a carrot and half a parsnip peas and cauliflower cheese The meal was just disappointing. Usually with a roast dinner you would have seasonal veg. Not just peas and cauliflower cheese. For £16.95 a head i expected better. Also drinks way over priced.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 7 days agoHi Kelly, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your Sunday lunch with us, we do take your comments on board and we will look into this. We do hope you will give us another chance.

  29. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Gloucestershire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 July 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Food was delicious and service was brilliant.
  30. W

    Wsmlocals

    Bath

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 July 2022

    overall3food3service3ambience4
    Food was disappointing for me. A lack of vegetables and the meat was dry and chewy. Some service ok but dropped things off without question and rushed off so you couldn't discuss anything with them. I personally won't be back as had better elsewhere. Dont get me wrong, it was ok but thats it.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 7 days agoHello, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so sorry to hear your food was disappointing. We source all our meat from local butchers and its very unusual that the meat was chewy but it is something we will definitely be looking into. We do hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves.

  31. DW

    DaveW

    Bath

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 30 July 2022

    overall4food5service5ambience3
    Very busy, the member of staff that looked after us was lovely and very helpful. A very varied menu and a lot of choice, not a very big portion but fine for us so if your a big eater maybe not best to go here. Also was quite expensive £18 for chicken skewers but very tasty.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hello Dave, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are happy to hear you were looked after by our team and they were lovely and helpful. We hope to see you again.

  32. LP

    LaurenP

    Bristol

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 30 July 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Lovely evening for my Nans 70th Birthday! Staff were amazing and nothing was too much.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hi Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you had a lovely evening with us and our team were amazing. Wish your nan a happy 70th Birthday from all of us at the Thatched Cottage and we hope to see you again soon.

  33. CP

    CatherineP

    Warwickshire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 30 July 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Fantastic place to eat. The waitress was excellent, the food amazing, the fire pit was brilliant! Thank you so much 🙏

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hello Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased to hear your food was amazing and the waitress was excellent. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the fire pit and we hope to see you again soon.

  34. LD

    LesD

    Bath

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 30 July 2022

    overall3food2service3ambience2
    King prawns were ordinary prawn size approx 6 in a soup with two slices of sourdough bread. The chicken skewers were very dry and accompanied with two dry pita breads and a rough salad with too many oversize olives. The decor was as expected for an old building with some modern lighting thrown in. It wasn't busy, but the waitresses were struggling to keep up.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 7 days agoHi Les, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. In relation to the king prawns, we do not have king prawns on our menu we only have king tiger prawns on our menu and this is the size of them. Sorry the chicken was dry this is very unusual for our team to get this wrong but it is something we will look into. We do hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves, we do hope to see you again soon.

  35. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 29 July 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience4
    Lovely food, staff busy but attentive. First wine for my friend was warm and quickly replaced by staff with no fuss. Always a pleasure coming here
  36. HA

    HannahA

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 29 July 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Just beautiful. Gorgeous food and lovely setting. One of Weston’s finest.

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hi Hannah, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we are so happy to hear it was just beautiful and thank you for the lovely compliment. We hope to see you again soon.

  37. WP

    WendyP

    Bath

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 July 2022

    overall3food2service4ambience4
    My steak was returned as not cook properly the lady next to us returned her steak twice for the same reason and mine was still not correct

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded 7 days agoHi Wendy, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so sorry to hear your steak was not cooked how you asked for it to be cooked, we do have experienced chefs that cook our steaks and this is not normal for us to have steaks not cooked properly, we will definitely look into this and all we can do at this stage is apologise and hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves. We do hope to see you again.

  38. JH

    JennyH

    Bath

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 24 July 2022

    overall4food4service3ambience4
    Have eaten and drunk at The Thatched Cottage twice over the weekend. Would definitely recommend, if you are nervous about crowded places. Dog friendly table on the patio with heating and windbreaker. Great place for watching the world go by 😃
  39. SH

    StephanieH

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 23 July 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    Good food, service was very good, friendly and just the right attentiveness. Certainly will be going back

    The Old Thatched CottageResponded on 8 August 2022Hi Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased to hear you food was good and our team were friendly. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  40. CM

    ChristieM

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 23 July 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Lovely restaurant really nice atmosphere and lovely food would def go again

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitising

    • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
    • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
    • Contactless payment available
  • Physical distancing

    • Limited number of seated diners
    • Distancing maintained in common areas
    • Extra space between tables
  • Protective equipment

    • Waiting staff wear masks
    • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
    • Staff temperature check required
    • Contact tracing information collected

FAQs

The Old Thatched Cottage is rated 4.5 stars by 885 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 19 times today
Google Map for The Old Thatched Cottage

14 Knightstone Road, Weston-Super-Mare, Avon BS23 2AN

Additional information

  • Area

    Weston-Super-Mare

  • Hours of Operation

    Mon–Thu 12:00–22:00 Fri 12:00–23:00 Sat 10:00–23:00 Sun 10:00–22:00 Lunch Daily 12:00–17:00 Dinner Daily 17:00–21:30

  • Cuisines

    Steakhouse, Seafood, Beer Garden

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Dress Code

    Casual Dress

  • Parking Details

    There are a number of car parks just a few steps away from our front door. We recommend parking at The Royal Hotel (postcode: BS23 1JP) or Old Colonial Hotel (postcode: BS23 2AW). There’s also roadside parking nearby.

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Indoor Fireplace, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

  • Phone number

    01934 621313

  • Catering

    We love a good party! Mark the occasion (whatever that may be) with a big ol’ bash with family and friends and let us wine and dine you in our private dining room. Exclusive hire of the restaurant for weddings and celebrations is also available.

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo