The Old Thatched Cottage

4.6
121 reviews
£25 and under
Steakhouse
As a proudly independent, family-run restaurant, we bring together over 50 years of expertise and the very freshest ingredients around to create a first-rate, affordable dining experience in Weston-super-Mare.

Our menus are refreshingly honest, simple and uncomplicated; we serve brilliant steaks and top-notch seafood and our daily specials are second-to-none. We’ve got a great selection of wines and our bar is stocked with locally-sourced ales, continental beers and small batch spirits. There's a great cocktail list too!

The restaurant itself offers the perfect mix of old and new… original features, period charm and the only remaining thatched roof in Weston-super-Mare, combined with a laid-back atmosphere and a really-very-cool, beach-facing terrace area complete with glowing fire pits.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 121 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
CP
CraigP
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall3food3service4ambience3

When booking a week in advance we expected to seated by the fire pits. These seemed to all allocated and any spare seemed to given to the locals!

E
Edge
Bath
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Good to see a decent sea front restaurant. You will pay more, but you are receiving good quality food in a nice and modern setting.

m
mollyg
Bath
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Beef was dry & solid, couldn’t eat it. Asked to sit on the heated tables but was told rudely they were reserved, after being there for an hour & a half no one used any of the tables with heaters we could of sat on. Was over priced & found the lady that served us rude. Wouldn’t return in a hurry & wish we went next door.

CC
CharlotteC
Bath
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience4

First time we have had the Sunday lunch. The roast dinners were incredible. Probably the best we've ever had. Really generous portions, fresh,tasty food.
The only downside was the noise level, being outside, on the seafront on a weekend it was very noisy. Other than that it was fantastic. We're really looking forward to booking again for when we can eat indoors.

AB
AdamB
Bristol
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

The food is so nice and service was great and very polite outstanding experience and would go again very soon.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Adam, thank you so much for the great review and the feedback. We are so pleased that your experience with us was so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report
K
Kirsty
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food and service great! Would definitely recommend to others.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you Kirsty, we really appreciate the feedback and the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and we are so grateful for the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
RM
RachelM
Bath
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food4service2ambience2

Requested a table with fire pit - told when got there not available which was.l annoying

KH
KatieH
Bath
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Wonderful environment, delicious food and fabulous cocktails. Just a shame there’s not a few more fire pits/ heaters.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Katie, thank you for the great review. We are so pleased the food was delicious and the cocktails fabulous. The firepits have been a huge success and we also wish we had more. It has been very challenging trying to build a solution for the outdoor dining only. We are looking forward to the 17th May when we will be able to serve customers inside on those colder days. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon

Report
r
rowlansdr
Bristol
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food4service4ambience3

Need more heaters in centre area not just perimeter
It was too cold
Stopped is buying more drinks after meal so had to leave

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. We have done what we can in terms of firepits and we know it is frustrating when it is cold. It is very challenging trying to operate for 5 weeks outside only, but we are looking forward to the 17th May when we are able to welcome guests inside on those cold days. Hopefully when you return, if you specify, we can reserve a fire pit table for you. In terms of the drinks, we would only have stopped serving at the point of last orders. Thank you again for the feedback.

Report
DR
DebbieR
Bath
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a thoroughly nice time for our anniversary meal. The table was spotless, the service was excellent, and so was the food. Would recommend to anyone.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Debbie, thank you so much for the great review and we are so pleased we did not disappoint for your anniversary. Cleanliness has always been key for us, which is why we operate an open kitchen policy, so we are pleased this gave you some comfort. The team will be thrilled to read the service and the food were both excellent. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
T
Tigger
Bath
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Nice and clean up good food, table service ok but did have to ask several times for drinks that were ordered but not supplied.
Overall a lovely evening had by all 6 of us.
Definitely would go again

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food and that you would be keen to return. Apologies our team weren't to their usual high standards with the drinks delivery. We shall be sure to keep an eye on this and make sure that we continue to improve. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Report
LW
LWlocal
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 5 days ago

Thanks for the 5 star review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your meal and the staff were helpful. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
ND
NeilD
Bath
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Albeit extremely windy and cold, even with the fire pits, the food was amazing!! The staff were very friendly and all covid regulations were in place and followed. Definitely have a new regular customer.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks for the 5 star review Neil. It's great to hear you enjoyed your meal and that the service was of our usual high standards. I'm also pleased our safety and hygiene measures allowed you to feel comfortable during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
WB
WendyB
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Really enjoyed our Anniversary celebration meal…a bit chilly around our legs, but at table height lovely and warm thanks to the fire pit at the table! The starters, main steaks (Ribeye and Fillet) and shared brownie dessert was all delicious.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 5 days ago

Thanks for your review. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and the food, but I'm even happier to read that you had a nice anniversary meal with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report
M
Mitz
Bristol
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Lovely food , good prices. They have outside under cover seats with fire pits , unfortunately we didn’t get one and it was very cold and windy. They did their best to put us under an umbrella but we didn’t stay too long. Make sure you book undercover if you are outside and it’s not summer.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 5 days ago

Thanks for the review. We're sorry the weather wasn't kind to you during your visit - as I'm sure you can imagine, with the current outdoor dining only restrictions in place, we have been very busy and our fire pit and covered tables have been getting booked up early. As soon as we open up for inside dining (from 17 May), we'll have much more space to seat everyone. I'm glad to read you enjoyed the food and hopefully, we'll see you again.

Report
HG
HelenG
1 review
Dined on 4 May 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Good food and very nice outside area. Fire pit tables are amazing (but best to book one in advance as they are very popular) Staff were friendly and helpful.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 5 days ago

Thanks for your review and for supporting our restaurant. It's great to read that you enjoyed your meal outside on our terrace area. You're right, our fire pit tables do get booked up quickly, but we will be opening up for indoor dining soon (from 17 May), so we'll be able to welcome more people to the restaurant - we can't wait!

Report
MW
MichelleW
1 review
Dined on 3 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It's was amazing place, first time I have been and I would so come back

PB
PeterB
1 review
Dined on 3 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Given very adverse weather conditions the outside area was protected and warm. The service and food were excellent.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 5 days ago

Thanks for the review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, the food and the service and that you were comfortable despite the weather conditions. We hope to welcome you back again soon - indoor dining will reopen from 17 May :)

Report
PS
PeterS
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great food, i loved the fish and chips and tiramisu.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thanks for the fab review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic vibe sitting outside at the tables with the heaters, loved it service was fab and the staff were good fun too! We will definitely be back if we’re in the area.

LW
LizW
Worcestershire
6 reviews
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall4food5service2ambience3

Steaks were very good ( Rib eye & T bone). Service was a bit intermittent and original drinks order didn't arrive but soon corrected.
Unfortunately we didn't have a fire pit so was very windy/cold. We know to reserve one next time.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thanks for your review Liz. I'm glad you enjoyed your steaks but I'm disappointed to hear you didn't rate our service as highly. It's been a very busy few weeks for us and the team are working extremely hard, but we appreciate your comments and will do all we can to make any necessary adjustments. I'm pleased we corrected your drinks order - apologies for the mistake. Hopefully see you again soon.

Report
EJ
EmJM
Bath
1 review
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience4

We went for a Sunday roast. It wasn’t the best in town but it did the job. Drinks are a reasonable price. Waiting staff are lovely and helpful.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and Sunday lunch. We welcome any further suggestions and feedback you may have on how you think we might be able to improve, and we do hope you'll visit us again soon.

Report
AB
AndrewB
1 review
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall5food4service3ambience4

Lovely place, nicely furnished, excellent food, very expensive for a pint that was pretty flat.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and the food was excellent, but sorry to hear you thought your drink was flat. If you'd have informed us at the time, we would have happily replaced your pint or offered you an alternative. I do hope you'll return so we can show you that this was a one-off.

Report
MA
MARIEO
1 review
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very good highly recommend one of the best places for food and location in Weston 😊

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thank you for your review. It's so nice to hear you think our restaurant is the best in town. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report
TM
TaylorM
Bath
1 review
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall3food5service3ambience4

Setting and food was amazing but hot drinks were tepid and our drinks were only 3/4 full. It was a shock to order a baileys coffee for £4.30 and find a baileys hot chocolate charged us a whole hot choc and a single baileys coming in at over £6!!! We had a lovely time and the food really hot the spot but definitely a few improvements for us as above.

JT
JoeyT
Bath
1 review
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall4food5service1ambience5

We were kept waiting 30 minutes to have our drink/food order taken! Then had to wait a further hour for it to come out! Food was amazing though!
Got charged wrong for drinks but didn’t question it at the time as we were running late for a doctors appointment!

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 6 days ago

Thanks for your review Joey. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your food but disappointed to read that the service was a little slow. Our chefs cook all dishes from scratch which does sometimes take a little longer, but I'm sorry to hear you also had to wait for your drinks. If there's a mistake on the bill, please give us a call, email or pop in and we will look into this immediately for you. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Bath
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outstanding service and yummy food! Highly recommend. The waiting staff are absolutely wonderful!

IE
IsobelE
Bath
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a lovely time! The staff were all very friendly and attentive. The drinks were lovely and good value for money. The fire pit tables are perfect for the evening. Would recommend it to anyone.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thanks for the 5 star review Isobel. It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit and that you would recommend us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
JC
JoCartridge
Hampshire
3 reviews
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a fantastic evening, delicious food and a warming fire pit. The staff were efficient and friendly.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thanks for the 5 star review. It's great to read that you enjoyed everything about your visit. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
PY
PaulaYou
Cheshire
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lively food and service and stayed nice and cozy with the fire pit tables!

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thanks for the 5 star review. I'm pleased you enjoyed the food and service and that the fire pits kept you warm. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
AF
AndrewF
London
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Great food, lovely setting. Slow service and expensive wine took the edge of a little. Overall good.

S
Sophie
Devon
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Amazing atmosphere, staff and outside seating area. We were sat next to one of the fires which was perfect for when it got colder. Food was okay but dry, drinks are also very overpriced.

The Old Thatched Cottage
Responded 5 days ago

Thanks for the review. I'm pleased to read you enjoyed our visit but disappointed to read your comment about the food. We'd be keen to know more about your visit, including what you ordered, the date and time of your visit, so we can look into this further - we don't receive comments like this very often, so will do all we can to investigate further.

Report
C
Christine
Bristol
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience5

Brunch food options were good and tasty but service was rather slow.

MP
MarisaP
Bath
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience4

Slow service, items missing from plate (brunch menu)

T
Tweets
Bath
1 review
Dined on 30 April 2021
Overall3food2service3ambience4

We had a lovely evening here, the fire pit table was great, drinks were good, but sadly the food was definitely not worth the money. I think you're paying for the novelty of the fire pits here and as they have the monopoly on this at the moment they probably feel they can charge what they like, but I don't feel they represent what you actually get. I wouldn't say don't go here as we had a lovely time, but be prepared for pricey food that doesn't live up to the pictures on the website!! I would go again, but probably just for drinks.

VM
VivetteM
Bath
1 review
Dined on 30 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food wonderful service would definitely recommend

k
kish
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 30 April 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Its a while since we last eat here and have to say it far exceeded our expectations. Great meal and lovely outdoor eating area, shame the online booking (openTable) didn't have the table choice option but we nevertheless got a great table in the sun and it was all good.

JC
JanC
Berkshire
1 review
Dined on 29 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our first time at The old Thatched Cottage it was amazing. Highly Recommend and will definitely be going back.

SM
SharonM
Bath
1 review
Dined on 29 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very attentive smiley staff. Setting was fab. Left at 9.p.m. Still glowing from the wonderful coal heating from the centre of our dining table.
Thoroughly recommend.

JH
JennyH
Bath
1 review
Dined on 29 April 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Spur of the moment decision, booked online, Lovely outdoor atmosphere with various fire pits lit all around court yard adding warmth to a sunny but chilly day, food delicious, service good.

FAQs

The Old Thatched Cottage is rated 4.6 stars by 121 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.