The River Deck Cafe
- Surfaces sanitised between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Waiting staff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
- Contact tracing information collected
We had a lovely lunch out on the deck with brilliant service from the girls. Almost all members were really happy with their meals but the fish and chips was quite disappointing for one guest (quite frozen tasting/dry). Overall it was wonderful and we’d absolutely return.
Great lunch. Batter on the fish a bit undercooked but otherwise outstanding.
Always thoroughly enjoyable. Our ‘go to’ for breakfast
food was lovely. We were a bit shocked that it didn't open until 9am but that's ok .
The girls were very nice and the view is stunning .Well done
A delicious meal in a delightful location. Only disappointment was that the menu on OpenTable was not the same as the menu on the day (for those that like to choose a meal in advance or scope out what's on offer).
Thank you for your review Michelle, I'm glad you enjoyed your meals and our beautiful outlook! Thank you for your feedback and bringing this to our attention, we had requested that menu section to be closed off as we update and promote our ever changing menu via our website, but that update has obviously not gone through! Thank you again for letting us know! We look forward to your next visit with us again soon! Warm regards; ~James
Great food,staff and location .Will definitely be back
Thank you Linda, we're so glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Warm regards; ~James
Great service and food. Construction work being conducted next door was a bit noisy.
Thank you for your review Keith, we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! As you mentioned council are currently working on upgrading the facilities behind our venue, we do our best to minimise any obtrusions, and we truly appreciate our guests being so understanding! We look forward to having you dine with us again soon! Warm regards; ~James
This venue is consistently good. Great food and wine.
Attentive and competent staff.
Simple decor by Australia’s best river.
Thank you Ellen for those very lovely comments! I'll be sure to pass them onto our team, they have worked very hard and diligently to get up to speed these past months, and I'm sure they'll be thrilled to hear such positive feedback! We have a great love of wine ourselves, and its always a pleasure to share that with our guests! Warm regards; ~James
Lovely food, service & atmosphere. Would definitely dine here again.
Thank you Sara for your lovely feedback, we cant wait until the next time you dine with us! Warm regards; ~James
Loved the customer service and the food was great too!
Thank your for your warm review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us, we love our new menu items, and the team work diligently to look after our guests! We look forward to your next visit with us soon! Warm regards; ~James
Overall was a good meal most of our party were happy but limited simple food as some things weren't to everyone's taste. Meal for the price could have been a little more but meant we ordered more
Hi Dani, thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear your party enjoyed the meals on the day, we cater options for a wide variety of tastes, and dietaries within our current selection of 27 items over our breakfast and lunch periods, of which some may not be to everyone's tastes, and we love and welcome our guests feedback on all of our dishes! We look forward to your next visit with us where you may find more options to your liking! Warm regards; ~James
Very enjoyable experience, food, service and atmosphere were great, hosted visitors from Yass who will, no doubt, spread the word. Thanks John.
Thank you John! We're glad to hear you all enjoyed your dining experience with us! It's great to see so many of our guests able to catch up with one another once again, and we look forward to seeing you, and our out of town guests again next time they're in the region! Warm regards; ~James
Food is usually outstanding but tiday was very disappointing and expensive
Thank you for your feedback Robyn. Did you mention your concerns with the team on the day? I would love to hear more feedback on what you though on the menu options you chose on the day, and where you felt that they weren't to the standards that we set out to provide! Feel free to send me an email and I can organise a time to discuss with you! Warm regards; ~James
Lovely brunch, in fact no issues overall. The waitress on greeting us was not over friendly , in fact quite unwelcoming. This happens occasionally especially these days with dble vax checks.
Would Definately revisit restaurant
Thank you for your review Vicki, I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us here at the Riverdeck! I'm sorry to hear you didn't feel our team as welcoming on your visit. They are all diligent and professional whilst serving our guests, and thoroughly enjoy seeing our visitors experience what we set out to achieve! I will pass on your comments to the team, and we look forward to seeing you next time! ~James
Friendly staff, amazing food.
This is my favourite place to eat
Thank you for your kind review, the team work diligently to try give our guests the best experience possible, and I'm pleased to hear you've enjoyed our recent menu! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Regards; ~James
Unfortunately we weren’t told that we would only have one hour for our booking at 2 pm. The bill was brought over and that’s how we were told.
I really want to support the Riverdeck but I won’t be rushing back.
James was as professional as always
Thank you for your feedback Susan. I'm sorry that you were not told upfront about our trading hours, we do have all hours of trade publicised on our website, socials, and online bookings program for our guests convenience. I hope your friend enjoyed her birthday afternoon celebration, as we were more than happy to have been able to extend our trade that day and continue to serve you, and several other of our tables past our trading hours! Regards; ~James
Beautiful setting by the river, friendly staff and good menu options. Quick service, would highly recommend
Thank you for your review Sheeree! We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us, and look forward to seeing you and your guests again with us soon! Warm regards; ~James
Food was great. $33 for fish and chips was a steep and really for me the only thing worth ordering.
Thank you for your review Ian, I'm glad to hear you found something from our selection for your tastes, and that you thoroughly enjoyed it! Regards; ~James
We had a great time your staff couldn’t have treated us better . Our meals were awesome and our selection of wine was unknown to us but was such a bonus all in all nice experience. My only complaint I don’t need as much communication.
Good afternoon Margaret, I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us! It's always a pleasure to be able to share our love and experience of our wine selection with our guests, and am glad you found a few you enjoyed! We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back with us again soon! Warm regards; ~James
Great atmosphere and service. The food is always to a high standard, would highly recommend to anyone.
Thank you for your kind review! ~James
Wait for food was minimal. Ordered the hot cake and realized it was raw in the middle. Notified staff and they were very helpful and happy to cook a new one. Overall a good experience, will definitely go there again,
Thank you for your kind review Tiffany! I believe I remember that day, thank you again for being so happy to let us know about the hotcake! We always endeavour to achieve and produce a high level of quality, and on the rare occasion we do miss something, its always wonderful that guests like yourself are happy and comfortable to let us know so we have the opportunity to give you the experience we set out for! We look forward to seeing you and your guests with us again soon! ~James
My family enjoyed their breakfast, although the servings are huge.
The service was excellent and the position out on the deck is brilliant looking out over the Murray River. A very enjoyable experience.
Thank you for your feedback Ross, I'm glad to hear you and the family thoroughly enjoyed their breakfasts with us! We do have a few options in our selection that well and truly cater for a morning hunger, and we too all love our beautiful backdrop here at the restaurant! We look forward to seeing you and the family again soon! Warm regards; ~James
I can see the vision that the river deck has in their menu, but while the service and ambiance was adequate the food fell short for me
Thank you for your feedback Em, I hope you found a time to discuss your dishes with one of our friendly front of house team on the day! We always welcome feedback on our dishes to pass on for you. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon! Warm regards; ~James
Friendly service from start to finish - loved that we felt well looked after even while staff were incredibly busy! Recommend the sourdough crumpets with honeyed butter!!!!
Thank you for your review Cher! We are pleased to see our guests coming out more these days to visit us, and we love the vibe of a bright, busy venue too! The crumpets and honeycomb butter is quickly becoming a fan favourite, and it was our pleasure serving you and your guest that morning! Look forward to seeing you all back with us again soon! Warm regards; ~James
A great experience, the food and service was fabulous, we were celebrating our mothers birthday, they made her a beautiful cake, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely location, strong compliance to COVID regulations but not intrusive, we will definitely return.
Thank you for your kind feedback! It was out pleasure to have been able to look after you and your guests, and we're so happy your Mum enjoyed her birthday cake, it's always a special occasion to celebrate someone's 90th!! I'm happy to hear you appreciate our efforts under the current regulations, the team do a fantastic job creating a safe and pleasant environment for all of our guests! We thoroughly look forward to being able to host you and the family again soon! Warm regards; ~James
Delicious food very reasonably priced, excellent service, lovely riverside park setting.
Thank you for your kind review Diane! We love that you enjoyed your experience with us here! I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the team, and we look forward to seeing you with us again soon! Kind regards; ~James
Considering how many staff were working. Service seemed very slow and disappointing. Ordered a Pinot noir, after 15 minutes was brought a Pinot gris, then waited again for the drink I ordered. To be asked if you want to order your food before you even receive your drink, doesn't make for a relaxing, enjoyable experience. Food was good, large servings. I must say I was impressed by your whole cleanliness after patrons left.
Thank you for your feed Simone, I'm sorry that we mixed up that wine delivery on the day! We are continuously training our new staff members day to day, and I have passed on your comments to the team at our last meeting. We look forward to welcoming you both back with us again soon to experience the service we all set out to achieve! Warm regards; ~James
Speedy service and good food. Only thing would be that waitress didn’t clarify size of coffee so was charged $6.30 for a oat latte (based off the assumption that when you order a coffee without saying large you will get a small/regular size).
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! We're continuously training and improving our new teams service day to day, and we always welcome feedback from our guests! I have passed on your comments to our team on the day, and was a great reminder for them! We look forward welcoming you back to dine with us again soon! Warm regards; ~James
Always amazing food and service. Highly recommend!
Thank you for your kind review Grace! We're so glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Warm regards; ~James
The menu was new and I loved the duck leg salad. Coffee is always great. The staff were very respectful. The Covid care was great.
Thank you for your warm review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the new menu, the duck leg salad has quickly become a fan favourite to our guests, and we love being able to showcase wonderful local produce from our suppliers! I've passed on your comments to the team at our last meeting, and we all look forward to welcoming you back with us again soon! ~James
Lovely spot for lunch by the river, great food & friendly service
Thank you for the lovely review! We all feel very lucky to be able to be in such a gorgeous location, and thoroughly enjoy being able to share it with our guests! We hope you and your guests will be able to join us again in the future! Warm regards; ~James
The food was fabulous as always. Service was not of the normal high standard.
Thank you for your feedback Susan, I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed our wonderful new menu! I'm sorry to hear you feel our service was not up to our usual high standards. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to dine with us again soon to deliver the experience we set out to achieve! Warm regards; ~James
Food good, service slow. Staff looked run off their feet. Took 45min to get a cup of coffee. Riverdeck did remove the coffee from bill. Still, it’s a lovey place for a Sunday lunch.
This is a lovely setting and the food was very nice. Meals were generous sizes.
Great place for breakfast, particularly in Spring after rain & with a fill river running close by. Service was spot-on & the early morning (9:00am) provided a very relaxed atmosphere. Food was just right although the amount of bacon could have been reduced - great taste & cooked nice & crispy.
Great location service & delicious food. Highly recommend.
Magnificent location, lovely establishmebnt but very dissappoionted in the food and the price of same.
Good afternoon Alan, thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us! I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meals during your visit, had you discussed this with the service staff at the time? If you would like, please feel free to send me an email with details about your experience as I would be more than happy to take time to discuss with you. Warm regards; James
Great service, delicious food. Only down side is that they close at 3pm. Coming from Melbourne, I really miss having a cafe/restaurant where you can have breakfast/lunch, and if you're having a great time, be able to just stay and have the next meal there. Otherwise great.
Don’t bother looking at this menu! It’s out of date! Went there hoping for a pork belly, not available on the new menu! Ordered flathead fillets instead, but they were out of them. Tried barramundi instead, but it was deep fried, so it tasted very dry.
Thank you John for taking time to review us. I'm sorry we didn't have the items you had your heart set on that day. As you would have noted on the website, it states our menu is indicative and subject to change. With recent circumstances we moved to a temporary bespoke menu for our service, and the team on the day should have conveyed the changes to our fish dish upon being seated. We are launching our new menu next week, and we look forward to inviting you back again to try it out! ~James
Not a lot of choice on the menu for lunch. The previous menu was better . No more burger? Seafood basket?
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us Sandy! I'm sorry to hear none of the items on our temporary bespoke menu took your fancy. Now with recent events settling down, we're excited to be launching our new menu mid October, and look forward to inviting you and your guests back to see what you think! Warm regards; James
The River Deck Cafe offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at (02) 6023 5980.
The River Deck Cafe is rated 4.4 stars by 707 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.