The Rocks Mornington

4.1
505 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$41 to $100
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Lunch
Located directly opposite the Mornington Pier, as part of the Mornington Yacht Club. We offer two dining environments, the inside restaurant or the covered deck with overhead heaters and plastic blinds at the front that pull down when Melbourne's weather is unkind.

The deck area only works in a first in first basis for breakfast & lunch, where as the restaurant is available for bookings at these times.
Dinner reservations are available for both the restaurant & deck please note your preference when booking & we will endeavour to accommodate your request, without guarantees.

Our menu has a strong seafood focus with modern Asian flavours and designed to be shared. Visit our website for more information. The Rocks has recently been awarded the second year running RCA Savour Award for best seafood restaurant in Victoria & Tasmania.


What 505 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
BR
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 2food 1service 4ambience 3

Very disappointing unappetising food for the price point.

Report
Helpful
T
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

From the moment we were shown to our table, we felt welcome. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I did struggle a little with the menu as I was expecting more seafood choices. The few Asian selections didn’t seem to compliment the remainder of the menu. Overall a lovely night, good food and atmosphere. 5 stars for the staff.

Report
Helpful
NC
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 3

Excellent food enjoyed by all at our table, including a vegan and a vegetarian, served by a professional and friendly waitperson. The view is also excellent. This was a special occasion outing for my 90 year old mother and she thoroughly enjoyed her self. I would definitely visit again and would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Report
Helpful
AM
Melbourne / VIC
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Lovely location with sea views. Food highlight was the chilli calamari.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 3

The seafood was extraordinarily delicious. We shared the seafood tasting plate presented on an ice bowl (pippis, mussels, oysters, prawns, frittura (school prawns split BBQ prawns; octopus tentacle with pea puree mussels cooked in tomato and finished with a Greek salad. Everything was perfectly cooked & very tasty, so much so that we ordered a second serving of the barbecued prawns! Cocktails were delicious too. Waitstaff were initially inattentive (I had to call someone to our table after waiting 20 mins), but after placing our order, food was quick to arrive. In all fairness, it was a busy night and the quality of the food, made the entire experience worthwhile. Will definitely return as soon as we're able.

Report
Helpful
AB
Melbourne / VIC
4 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We couldn't hav wished for a better day to sit out on the deck and enjoy some of the best food we have eaten in a while. The meals were generous, well-cooked and beautifully presented. The menu was predominantly seafood with lots of choice. We will definitely eat here again.

Report
Helpful
DS
1 review
Dined on 16 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Awesome food in a very special setting , 3 courses all amazing , the kitchen are right on the ball , we enjoyed a great lunch for our anniversary and would Definetly return for another special occasion .
Did I say yummy food , ohh yes indid

Report
Helpful
D
1 review
Dined on 14 April 2019
Overall 3food 2service 5ambience 3

Nice location but was disappointed with the food for the price you pay.

Report
Helpful
KJ
1 review
Dined on 14 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely atmosphere and great food. The service was also excellent

Report
Helpful
FS
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 12 April 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Good menu would have liked better wines by the glass good service

Report
Helpful
MM
1 review
Dined on 9 April 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 5

Our fish was over cooked the sweet potato chips were warm the salads was bland. Theprofliteroles were burnt. The best part was the potato chips they were hot and crunchy. Altogether not a meal we will remember fondly.

Report
Helpful
h
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 7 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

great spot for taking visitors, good food slow service, a bit too pricey though, and car parking is a nightmare !

Report
Helpful
s
1 review
Dined on 4 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Great food, great views, great service! Locals love it!!

Report
Helpful
JG
London
2 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing food & service. Would go back in a heartbeat

Report
Helpful
r
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

Celebrated our Anniversary in the Outdoor dining area which was pleasantly warm on a bitter Autumn night.
Ordered the feed me menu which provided a select taste of the menu. Fantastic food with the Lamb should and Swordfish being magnificent.
Table service was spot on - well done.

Report
Helpful
M
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

Appreciated he view of the bay, the atmosphere was generally good, albeit a little dark during dinner. The starters were delicious and interesting. Our main was disappointing, we shared a grilled snapper but it was not rescaled proper. Fortunately we were not charged for the fish. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
CN
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Fresh fish with appetising salads and great sweet potato chips. Family friendly.

Report
Helpful
KM
1 review
Dined on 29 March 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Have visited many times. First time booking on line. I was nervous, am an ageing woman, worked a treat. Do not find time slots friendly. Never felt pressured but if a special occasion would not book. One of the Peninsula’s treasures.

Report
Helpful
LC
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 23 March 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

It was very noisy being so busy but that’s forgivable.
Food was absolutely amazing but all mains were a little undersize.
Drinks were a bit of a wait and some got forgotten. 3mains came out together but another was 5 mins later.

Overall, still highly recommend

Report
Helpful
JM
1 review
Dined on 21 March 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 3

I would recommend it purely for the position it’s in with it’s stunning views. We have been several times but I do feel the quality of the food has gone downhill and tge menu is limited.

Report
Helpful
GM
1 review
Dined on 20 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Really enjoyed the oysters, mussels and exquisite marinara overlooking the marina with the city lights in the background.

Report
Helpful
B
1 review
Dined on 20 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Rocks. Food wonderful, service friendly and obliging. My overseas visitors had a great experience, enjoyed Mornington pier, wandering around the markets and finished with a lovely lunch. Perfect day!

Report
Helpful
PS
Melbourne / VIC
2 reviews
Dined on 18 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Always a great meal! Best seafood restaurant in Mornington

Report
Helpful
TM
1 review
Dined on 17 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

We love coming to the Rocks for a quiet drink on a sunday afternoon. This time we invited our friends to come with us and have a late lunch. They were curious about where good restaurants in Morninginton were. The service and food were brilliant - mussels were fresh and the fish and chips my partner and friend had were crispy battered. My gyoza was perfect size entree. It was just a bit noisy in the restaurant and my older friends did have a bit of a problem hearing over the noise. Yes we will come back. We love the Rocks and look forward to our next cold beer overlooking the bay.

The Rocks Mornington
Responded on 20 March 2019

Thank you Trevor for your review, and pleased to hear you enjoy your visits with us at the rocks mornington and particularly your recent one with your friends. We are mindful of noise which is why we limit size of group bookings in our restaurant, and offer our private MYC function room when available. However, we cannot help on some days there could be an excitable bunch of people catching up and yes the noise levels then cannot be helped. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
Helpful
CH
1 review
Dined on 16 March 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

I am really disappointed with this restaurant. We were a table of 9 and attended for a birthday dinner. I arranged with the functions lady for a birthday cake to be provided beforehand and I also asked for a balloon for the table. There was no balloon provided on the night. I thought the cost of the cake, $90 excessive as it was quite small in size, 8 inches only. My father's entree consisted of 2 prawns only at a cost of $22! My husband's main course, snapper, was really tiny when it arrived, served with salad. My swordfish cutlet from the "specials" menu ended up being just a crumbed fish patty. The prices for the main meals was exorbitant at $39 each. The restaurant location is superb and my previous meals there have been lovely.

The Rocks Mornington
Responded on 20 March 2019

Hello Catherine, I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit for your father's 90th birthday. I was the one you spoke with who organised the cake and was very surprised to hear about the balloons, as I do not recall you asking for, as that is something we do not normally arrange, however would have recommended a local company that could deliver and arrange for you. Hoping your dad enjoyed his birthday all the same. Look forward to hopefully seeing you another time.

Report
Helpful
BG
Melbourne / VIC
3 reviews
Dined on 15 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 2ambience 4

Unfortunately I cannot write a good review. Went there for a special anniversary night. First waiter mixed up our drink menu. Then ordered a second drink , it never came . To finish I was charged for three drinks . My meal was lovely dumplings then mussels. My husband had fish n chips he did not like it at all. The two maître d’s were good asking if we were ok with open window . We did not stay for dessert sadly as by this time we wanted to just go.

Report
Helpful
MP
1 review
Dined on 15 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

We were both very happy the food and the service on the night as it was our first time at the Rocks. The noise level of background noise was a bit loud but settled down later in night

Report
Helpful
MS
1 review
Dined on 13 March 2019
Overall 3food 5service 3ambience 4

When I booked online I mentioned it was for a 50th birthday. Considering the restaurant wasn’t booked heavily at 8pm and front tables were empty I was disappointed we were put at a table one back. After being seated and checking out the menu I had to grab waiters attention to come over and asked for children’s menu. He returned with the specials menu. I then had to ask another waiter that was serving another table for the children’s menu- she returned with them. The food was delicious. The cocktail had a huge ice block in it and considering it was $22 I thought it wasn’t value. We were asked if we would like dessert which we did so he cleared the place mat menus and were told there was a slightly different dessert menu to what was on the place mats. He returned with them and they were exactly the same. I again had to grab his attention and ask for the children’s menu- he returned with exactly the same menu.
I expected something for the 50th for example happy birthday written in chocolate or something on my husbands plate however nothing was.
Yes I would return however I will lower my expectations.

The Rocks Mornington
Responded on 24 March 2019

Thank you for your feedback Mattina, and will definitely be addressing service points with our team. Our sequence of service is to remove all placemats after the main meal, as often are dirty and like to return with actual dessert menus. Yes there is a separate children's menu which possibly needs to be included with the full dessert menu.We always arrange a candle in a dessert should our guests request, as not everyone likes the attention.Do hope your husband enjoyed his 50th. Regards Kirstine

Report
Helpful
BR
1 review
Dined on 13 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The great was great, food was great, wine seems a bit pricey.

Report
Helpful
KS
1 review
Dined on 11 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It is in such a unique position - we eat there often and always "outside". The food is outstanding and it makes for a fantastic stop on our way up to Melbourne or down to Sorrento. The service is generally fast and efficient, even when very busy.

The Rocks Mornington
Responded on 20 March 2019

Thank you Kay for your feedback, and we look forward to hopefully seeing you another time soon.

Report
Helpful
J
1 review
Dined on 9 March 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 4

Found fish scales in the ceviche, the calamari was gritty with sand and the maitre d' seemed distracted and uninterested. For the price, expected much better.

Report
Helpful
ND
1 review
Dined on 9 March 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 2

From start to finish the dining experience was disappointing. We had to continuously ask for drinks including water for the table. Our menu was taken and had to ask the waitress to return for our side order. The sides then came after our mains where served and half eaten. The desserts all came at different times and had to be eaten separately as the ice cream on one of them was melted.

I’m not sure if it was because we where positioned outside or if it was because it was a Saturday night and the restaurant was busy. It felt disorganised, and this is our 4th visit to the restaurant therefore are able to compare to previous evening of an attentive dining experience.

Report
Helpful
RL
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 3 March 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 4

Great location and food, but the service let the whole experience down. I
We received our mains before our drinks and we never got the bottle of water for the table that we ordered twice.
Overall we would go there again, but won’t be rushing back.

Report
Helpful
CE
1 review
Dined on 3 March 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Lovely venue and a very nice feel and ambiance. Food was delicious with a great variety - and the seafood was exceptional. Be aware of the lack of parking, and try to find something before turning into Schnapper Point Drive.

Report
Helpful
KH
1 review
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food...the seafood was very fresh and well cooked. Beautiful location. Friendly staff who were very accommodating and attentive. Drinks were good too.

Report
Helpful
S
London
5 reviews
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A definite gem. Fish was wonderful, service excellent and we sat outside to the sound of the sea. What more could you ask for?

Report
Helpful
S
1 review
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

Been here a few time now. Normally excellent across board.
This accassion the service from our waiter was brilliant. Food was not at 5 star level as per normal. Still good but not exceptional. The night was very hot no air con. My wife is 35 weeks pregnant which waiter picked up on but another person I think owner or manager grabbed all fans (2) and put on facing one table all fit able looking people. Took away from old people and we were on fringe of it. It was then too hot for wife so we left before desert which we love at rocks.
Still overall 3 star but we don't go to the rocks for 3 star dining.
Ryan Smith

Report
Helpful
JK
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 2food 2service 4ambience 2

After hearing a lot about this restaurant, but reading very mixed reviews, we thought we would give it a try. We found it a very weathered feel inside, old scratched glasses, poorly washed plates, dirty toilets, very small meal sizes (a big plate of mussels but with very small mussels inside), particularly for the prices and everything had the feel of a very casual, poor quality cafe at best. The only upside - the desert was nice. We are not the type to write reviews, but it was that much of a let down we felt the need to warn others. Overrated at best.

Report
Helpful
a
1 review
Dined on 1 March 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

I love the location of the Rocks and always want to come back and give it another go but location aside it’s overpriced. There was no aircon so it was pretty uncomfortable with temperatures in the high 30s. The gyoza is usually beautiful but someone had decided to turn the heat up further and it was overloaded with chilli. I had the calamari which I thought was going to be stuffed, it was simply sliced on s chimichurri bed with peppers.Bland and about $36, no sides. My husband had the pork schnitzel that was equally uninspiring. We had a Yarra valley Chardonnay that was beautiful. The meal was $175 and we both felt completely underwhelmed. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
C
1 review
Dined on 24 February 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 4

Staff very nice and attentive . Food is average, prices are kind of high. Im guessing its the location that you're paying for. I was looking forward to eat there but now not really keen to go back. Overestimated and overpriced.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13