The Rocks Mornington

4.1
520 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$41 to $100
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Lunch
The Rocks Mornington, sitting on Mornington's waterfront, is a vibrant waterside eatery specializing in tantalizingly fresh seafood dishes with a slew of Asian-inspired plates, served in its relaxing and elegant restaurant. For starters, the seafood tasting ice plate, a mix of todays seafood from the raw bar and the tempura soft shell crab slider are excellent selections. Some of The Rocks Mornington's main dishes include the bbq whole Queenscliff calamari with roasted peppers & chimichurri, the whole lamb shoulder, slow cooked on the bone overnight with jus & roasted rosemary chats and the Gippsland grass fed O'Connors dry aged porterhouse with fava bean puree & balsamic caramelised baby shallots, all of which are brilliantly prepared. Always offering a daily selection of fresh market fish and specials. The donut-like profiteroles served with espresso ice cream and callebaut chocolate makes an irresistible meal ender.
What 520 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
DF
1 review
Dined on 8 July 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Food was nice but it was very expensive View over the harbour was nice.

Report
Helpful
DS
1 review
Dined on 7 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

GREAT FOOD GREAT SERVICE WE WILL DEFINITELY GO BACK AGAIN

Report
Helpful
VL
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Stick with seafood you be right. The seafoods were great.
I had waygu beef burger and it come with so much mayo and the beef patty so dry and tough I couldn’t finish it.
The customer service are great and very friendly.
I didn’t get the balcony table which was disappointing but it was late booking.
Overall it was good.

Report
Helpful
LW
1 review
Dined on 5 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our waiter was amazing , a rare thing these days I find. Food was interesting, very well presented and tasted fantastic we had a lovely evening thank you

Report
Helpful
AG
1 review
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 3food 5service 3ambience 4

The food was amazing as always at the rocks . Our waitress was great and very knowledgeable. Unfortunately the restaurant manager i found very rude. I do not expect my bill to be dumped on my table without being requested or anything being said. We would have ordered more drinks and it left a bad last impression of the place. It was like being told to leave and it was only 9pm.

Report
Helpful
AC
1 review
Dined on 14 June 2019
Overall 3food 1service 5ambience 3

Served with a cold plate, and a very cool meal, my partners meal was warm enough, and she said it was “OK”, within 15min eating mine my lips and gums started to go numb.
The dumplings where rubbery and not exactly what I call warm.
I’m not allergic to seafood, that’s the reason I went to the Rocks, for a seafood meal....
I got a refund on the meal.
Service however would have to be one of if not the best waitress we have ever had.
She was soooo patient, warm and friendly, she still got a tip, even if the food didn’t.

Report
Helpful
C
1 review
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

The fish was beautiful but over priced considering the meal size. My friend had a beef burger and chips. At $27 you would get better value at a fish and chip shop.
Although they had plenty of staff I was disappointed when i had to ask twice for a servette that did not come with my meal and it was only after the waitress had cleared the table that she remembered.
For the price you pay I would have expected better service.

Report
Helpful
WG
2 reviews
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

The venue has great views which highlights the seaside theme. The food has a great variety.

Report
Helpful
C
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 25 May 2019
Overall 1food 1service 4ambience 2

Sadly the meal was very ordinary. The beans wrapped in some sort of prosciutto were pale green and soggy. Had been cooked far to long. And the prosciutto tasted strange. We then realised why the restaurant was half empty on a Saturday night.

Report
Helpful
H
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 20 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We normally eat on the deck but today we enjoyed the restaurant. We all ordered grilled flounder and pavlova. Delicious food! Warm and welcoming service. Amazing view as well. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
JV
1 review
Dined on 12 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Service was top class . Food was amazing and no delays. You pay for what you get and I would go again and again . Absolutely delicious. Best place to dine with a view to die for . Thank you .

The Rocks Mornington
Responded on 15 May 2019

Thank you Jo for your feedback. How lovely to read your comments & are pleased you enjoyed. If you would like to stay up to date with whats on at the rocks please follow us on Facebook or instagram. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
Helpful
TM
1 review
Dined on 4 May 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

I booked The Rocks for my boyfriends birthday dinner. We had a wonderful experience- the food was amazing and the service delivered by the staff was incredible. We mentioned that it was my boyfriends birthday, and his dessert cam out with a candle on top, which was so thoughtful and unexpected. Thank-you so much for giving us an amazing night- we will be back :)

The Rocks Mornington
Responded on 15 May 2019

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit for your boyfriend's birthday. If you would like to stay up to date with whats on at the rocks & have access to, please follow us on Facebook or instagram. We look forward to hopefully seeing you another time soon.

Report
Helpful
AS
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 28 April 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

The Rocks provided a perfect venue for lunch on a Sunday afternoon. The seafood selection was diverse and the choices we made made for a delicious food experience. Great arrived topped it off.

Report
Helpful
t
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

I rang to say we were running 30 mins late and it wasn't a problem at all
Staff very competent, friendly and whole restaurant appeared to be running very smoothly
Thankyou we will return again

Report
Helpful
KS
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

It’s always great. We often stop in on the way to or from Sorrento. I always have the nigiri (which is to die for) and the prawns. Sensational.

And, needless ro say, the position is amazing.

Report
Helpful
BR
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 24 April 2019
Overall 2food 1service 4ambience 3

Very disappointing unappetising food for the price point.

Report
Helpful
T
1 review
Dined on 23 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

From the moment we were shown to our table, we felt welcome. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I did struggle a little with the menu as I was expecting more seafood choices. The few Asian selections didn’t seem to compliment the remainder of the menu. Overall a lovely night, good food and atmosphere. 5 stars for the staff.

Report
Helpful
NC
1 review
Dined on 21 April 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 3

Excellent food enjoyed by all at our table, including a vegan and a vegetarian, served by a professional and friendly waitperson. The view is also excellent. This was a special occasion outing for my 90 year old mother and she thoroughly enjoyed her self. I would definitely visit again and would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Report
Helpful
AM
Melbourne / VIC
2 reviews
Dined on 20 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Lovely location with sea views. Food highlight was the chilli calamari.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 20 April 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 3

The seafood was extraordinarily delicious. We shared the seafood tasting plate presented on an ice bowl (pippis, mussels, oysters, prawns, frittura (school prawns split BBQ prawns; octopus tentacle with pea puree mussels cooked in tomato and finished with a Greek salad. Everything was perfectly cooked & very tasty, so much so that we ordered a second serving of the barbecued prawns! Cocktails were delicious too. Waitstaff were initially inattentive (I had to call someone to our table after waiting 20 mins), but after placing our order, food was quick to arrive. In all fairness, it was a busy night and the quality of the food, made the entire experience worthwhile. Will definitely return as soon as we're able.

Report
Helpful
AB
Melbourne / VIC
4 reviews
Dined on 20 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We couldn't hav wished for a better day to sit out on the deck and enjoy some of the best food we have eaten in a while. The meals were generous, well-cooked and beautifully presented. The menu was predominantly seafood with lots of choice. We will definitely eat here again.

Report
Helpful
DS
1 review
Dined on 16 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Awesome food in a very special setting , 3 courses all amazing , the kitchen are right on the ball , we enjoyed a great lunch for our anniversary and would Definetly return for another special occasion .
Did I say yummy food , ohh yes indid

Report
Helpful
D
1 review
Dined on 14 April 2019
Overall 3food 2service 5ambience 3

Nice location but was disappointed with the food for the price you pay.

Report
Helpful
KJ
1 review
Dined on 14 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely atmosphere and great food. The service was also excellent

Report
Helpful
FS
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 12 April 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Good menu would have liked better wines by the glass good service

Report
Helpful
MM
1 review
Dined on 9 April 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 5

Our fish was over cooked the sweet potato chips were warm the salads was bland. Theprofliteroles were burnt. The best part was the potato chips they were hot and crunchy. Altogether not a meal we will remember fondly.

Report
Helpful
h
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 7 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

great spot for taking visitors, good food slow service, a bit too pricey though, and car parking is a nightmare !

Report
Helpful
s
1 review
Dined on 4 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Great food, great views, great service! Locals love it!!

Report
Helpful
JG
London
2 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing food & service. Would go back in a heartbeat

Report
Helpful
r
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

Celebrated our Anniversary in the Outdoor dining area which was pleasantly warm on a bitter Autumn night.
Ordered the feed me menu which provided a select taste of the menu. Fantastic food with the Lamb should and Swordfish being magnificent.
Table service was spot on - well done.

Report
Helpful
M
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

Appreciated he view of the bay, the atmosphere was generally good, albeit a little dark during dinner. The starters were delicious and interesting. Our main was disappointing, we shared a grilled snapper but it was not rescaled proper. Fortunately we were not charged for the fish. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
CN
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Fresh fish with appetising salads and great sweet potato chips. Family friendly.

Report
Helpful
KM
1 review
Dined on 29 March 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Have visited many times. First time booking on line. I was nervous, am an ageing woman, worked a treat. Do not find time slots friendly. Never felt pressured but if a special occasion would not book. One of the Peninsula’s treasures.

Report
Helpful
LC
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 23 March 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

It was very noisy being so busy but that’s forgivable.
Food was absolutely amazing but all mains were a little undersize.
Drinks were a bit of a wait and some got forgotten. 3mains came out together but another was 5 mins later.

Overall, still highly recommend

Report
Helpful
JM
1 review
Dined on 21 March 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 3

I would recommend it purely for the position it’s in with it’s stunning views. We have been several times but I do feel the quality of the food has gone downhill and tge menu is limited.

Report
Helpful
GM
1 review
Dined on 20 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Really enjoyed the oysters, mussels and exquisite marinara overlooking the marina with the city lights in the background.

Report
Helpful
B
1 review
Dined on 20 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Rocks. Food wonderful, service friendly and obliging. My overseas visitors had a great experience, enjoyed Mornington pier, wandering around the markets and finished with a lovely lunch. Perfect day!

Report
Helpful
PS
Melbourne / VIC
2 reviews
Dined on 18 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Always a great meal! Best seafood restaurant in Mornington

Report
Helpful
TM
1 review
Dined on 17 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

We love coming to the Rocks for a quiet drink on a sunday afternoon. This time we invited our friends to come with us and have a late lunch. They were curious about where good restaurants in Morninginton were. The service and food were brilliant - mussels were fresh and the fish and chips my partner and friend had were crispy battered. My gyoza was perfect size entree. It was just a bit noisy in the restaurant and my older friends did have a bit of a problem hearing over the noise. Yes we will come back. We love the Rocks and look forward to our next cold beer overlooking the bay.

The Rocks Mornington
Responded on 20 March 2019

Thank you Trevor for your review, and pleased to hear you enjoy your visits with us at the rocks mornington and particularly your recent one with your friends. We are mindful of noise which is why we limit size of group bookings in our restaurant, and offer our private MYC function room when available. However, we cannot help on some days there could be an excitable bunch of people catching up and yes the noise levels then cannot be helped. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
Helpful
CH
1 review
Dined on 16 March 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

I am really disappointed with this restaurant. We were a table of 9 and attended for a birthday dinner. I arranged with the functions lady for a birthday cake to be provided beforehand and I also asked for a balloon for the table. There was no balloon provided on the night. I thought the cost of the cake, $90 excessive as it was quite small in size, 8 inches only. My father's entree consisted of 2 prawns only at a cost of $22! My husband's main course, snapper, was really tiny when it arrived, served with salad. My swordfish cutlet from the "specials" menu ended up being just a crumbed fish patty. The prices for the main meals was exorbitant at $39 each. The restaurant location is superb and my previous meals there have been lovely.

The Rocks Mornington
Responded on 20 March 2019

Hello Catherine, I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit for your father's 90th birthday. I was the one you spoke with who organised the cake and was very surprised to hear about the balloons, as I do not recall you asking for, as that is something we do not normally arrange, however would have recommended a local company that could deliver and arrange for you. Hoping your dad enjoyed his birthday all the same. Look forward to hopefully seeing you another time.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13