Traveller's Rest

4.5
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
162 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Pub

Top tags:

Casual
Sunday Lunch
Cosy, family run, 17th Century inn with flagstone flooring, open fires and beamed ceilings. Nestled between Mawgan Porth and Watergate Bay, the pub is ideally located to relax and unwind as you take in the sights of the North Cornwall coast.

We have a limited number of dog friendly tables - please let us know in the booking notes if you are bringing a dog with you.

Should your plans change please do let us know in order that we can offer your table to another party.
What 162 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
DH
Cornwall
4 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Regular visitors to the pub and restaurant. Everything good as usual and being Steak Night the steak was really good. This time visited with 1 year old granddaughter who had the use of the attachable high chairs which are a brilliant idea, not only space saving but comfortable too. We always recommend to our guests too.

LB
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 2

Hi,

The food was pretty poor, I had read some reviews and maybe expected a little more.

However the company I was with picked Vegan options and they were horrendously dry. (granted its Vegan, but still)

I had the burger which was no different to spoons burger.

Lovely staff, and to be fair I didn't mention this to them, but than again, if this is the standard of food there isn't much more they could of done, but remade with the exact same outcome.

Considering the prices are like low-mid I did expect a little more.

RJ
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Down in Cornwall for a week & we were recommended the Travellers rest, what a fantastic little locals pub, really friendly and welcoming, even offered us a blanket for our dog to lay on after a wet and windy walk, along with treats.
After several visits and sampling the fine ales on offer we decided to eat there and we weren’t disappointed, great choice of starters through to desserts although we didn’t get that far as we were both full after a starter and main.
Looking around at what others were eating and believe me their cod and chips looked far better than a famous chefs we had tried the day before!! We settled on shared nachos with the bestest beef chilli with real chunks of tender beef, followed by a very generous portion of steak and ale pie, again with very tender chunks of steak, proper chunky chips and mixed veg, excellent food, great ales and fantastic friendly service, you won’t be disappointed and have already recommended to others, hence the 5 stars, will definitely be returning.

KB
1 review
Dined on 7 October 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

We planned the pub meal to meet with friends from Colchester who are on holiday in nearby Tregurrian who we had not seen for over 12 months.
We all received a warm welcome on arrival and the staff went out of their way to help first with drinks, arranging to place them on our table and then placing us on a large table enabling our dogs to have some space between them as one of our friend's dogs did not take to our cocker spaniel (it was the first time of meeting as ours is still a young dog).
We had three different meals, two had the Steak and Ale Pie, one had Fish and Chips and I had the Lamb Kofta kebab, all the food was nicely presented and tasted great.
It was quiet in the pub being a Monday night but would definitely eat there again and recommend it to friends.

DS
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 6 October 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 3

We had Sunday Carvery. Roast potatoes appearred reheated from previous occasion. Beef was tough and lots of grissle. The rest of veg was ok.

BP
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 5 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Gorgeous food, lovely and attentive staff in beautiful surroundings....who could ask for more?! Highly recommend :)

f
London
5 reviews
Dined on 29 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

We had a delicious Sunday lunch here. The carvery was great but unfortunately, because we were the last table but despite booking, they had run out of some food like stuffing and some veg. There was no cauliflower cheese. But the good that was there was really good and we would go back but book earlier (it was a 2.15 booking so not late). Service was friendly. The musician was great but could have played later on to keep people there as the place emptied quite quickly.

S
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had food here twice whilst visiting Cornwall , was able to take our dog which initially was one of the reasons that attracted us we loved how dog friendly it was and the food was amazinggg!! Both nights thoroughly enjoyed.

NW
1 review
Dined on 24 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

We had a lovely evening just a shame that when the young man cane to clear the plates we asked for another drink which he replied he would come back to take our order. Sadly after waiting for 15 minutes for him to return we decided to leave. Apart from that we had a lovely meal.

RW
Cornwall
2 reviews
Dined on 22 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Excellent carvery, chef even browned the meat for us as too pink for our taste. Dog friendly and pretty inside. Excellent service. Would recommend but booking might be required. Lots of people turned away.

SB
1 review
Dined on 20 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

I am disappointed the seafood linguine is no longer on the menu, that was my all time favourite

MT
Cornwall
3 reviews
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Nice relaxed friendly pub. Good food. Nice Sunday roast but other options too including vegetarian. So something for everyone. Dogs welcome. Love the chickens!

MA
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Great to return after quite a few years away! Lots of changes to the layout - for the better. Carvery was excellent - the extra large plate fooled us but we managed to finish off our lovely meals If you going in season I'd advise booking. Well worth the trip!

MT
1 review
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food, excellent service and very reasonable on price.

CS
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2019
Overall 2food 1service 2ambience 2

For people who don't go out much, are geriatric or fat this might be a 3 or 4, but for anyone else a 2 at best. This is below average 'pub food'.

I walked up from Mawgan Porth because this was rated number 1 and was massively disappointed, since I walked past several better looking places to get here.

The olives were massively briney, the humus tiny and unpleasant the burger was hard and grisly. While the chips were actually very good the ketchup wasn't Heinz, so, still rubbish.

Yuk, Yuk, Yuk

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 15 September 2019

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. As a business we are open to customer reviews about food and service, however it really isn't fair for you to be so rude with regards to other customers of which we get many that are happy with their visit to our cozy pub. Do we always get things right...no. Do we do our best to rectify issues when we are made aware of them...yes. Had you let us know at the time we would have been more than happy to rectify the issues you had with the food.

Report
SM
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really enjoyed our meal and experience on Saturday lovely well cooked food

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 15 September 2019

Hi Sheila, We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report
D
London
1 review
Dined on 3 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Lovely steak pie with puff pastry topping, plentiful vegetables. Friendly staff and efficient service.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 15 September 2019

We are so pleased you enjoyed your pie and found our team friendly and efficient. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report
S
London
1 review
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall 3food 5service 5ambience 1

Welcoming and attentive staff serving really tasty and good value meals, but the experience spoilt by the large number of barking and growling dogs allowed in the restaurant. Fine if you are a dog owner, but not if you just want a quiet meal of good tasty pub grub.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 15 September 2019

Hi Sam, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are dog friendly but we do understand this won't be to everyones liking. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your meals and found our team welcoming and attentive. Let us know if you'll be visiting again and we'd be happy to offer you a table in a quieter part of the pub. Kindest regards The Travs Tribe

Report
MR
Cornwall
2 reviews
Dined on 29 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 2ambience 5

Our Third time in two weeks tells you how good this place is and we’ve never been disappointed it’s simply excellent.
Service not it’s usual best though tonight let down with tired looking staff struggling to smile which is so out of character for this place.

M
Cornwall
2 reviews
Dined on 26 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing as always, great food, great service, good choice on the menu for everyone

SW
London
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Love this pub! Sunday carvery is very tasty! And you have to try the cheesecake pudding. Best beers on tap too from St Austell Brewery

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 15 September 2019

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback Simon. We are so pleased you love our pub. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report
BW
Cornwall
7 reviews
Dined on 25 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Once again a great Sunday carvery good service and lovely surroundings. Everything about this pub is good .
Don’t take my word for it try it yourself I think you will be pleasantly surprised

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 28 August 2019

Hi Bill, Thanks so much for the 5* review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit - thanks for recommending others give us a try - we really appreciate it. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report
K
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Brilliant food , great service and s nice place to eat , we are local so will be going back

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 28 August 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback Kat. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report
PB
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2019
Overall 3food 5service 5ambience 3

We thought the food and service were excellent. We appreciate it is high season but the table was a bit sticky and the chair upholstery was all ripped. It was a bit noisy for me but great for families on holiday. Outside needs a bit of attention as many of the plants were dying. Dog friendly- great!

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 28 August 2019

Hi Phillip, Thanks so much for your feedback. Unfortunately a mindless vandal ripped the chair upholstery. As we are so busy at the moment we can't send it away for repair just yet but rest assured its on our maintenance list for the winter. We spend a lot of time on our plants and garden and are unsure which plants you felt were dying. Some have come to the end of their season whilst others are starting to bloom. On a positive note, we are delighted you found the service and food excellent.

Report
MT
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service great food could not fault anything,highly recommended

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 28 August 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback Martin. We are so happy to see you enjoyed your visit. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report
OT
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 23 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

With high season the venue was packed with customers as expected. Staff were pleasant, food was enjoyable but a few items ran out after being order.. When served a few orders were delivered late but not unduly.. Overall a good experience.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 28 August 2019

Thanks for your feedback. Although its rare we are sorry to hear we sold out of a few items during your visit. We serve 200-300+ people a day during high season and sometimes everyone seems to fancy the same dish. Having a small kitchen means we don't have the space to keep indefinite amounts of ingredients to make the twenty seven different dishes we have on the main menu. As well as this everything is cooked fresh to order. On a positive note we are pleased to see you enjoyed your visit.

Report
MT
Cornwall
3 reviews
Dined on 23 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very busy bank holiday Friday. Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was good. Excellent service.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 28 August 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback Michele. It was a busy weekend and we really appreciate receiving such positive feedback. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report
MR
Cornwall
3 reviews
Dined on 21 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really busy with large party but staff were exceptional in ensuring we had a great evening. Food as usual 100% spot on. Be there again very soon

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 28 August 2019

Thank you so much for the fab review Mark. We really appreciate your feedback. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report
HL
1 review
Dined on 21 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Friendly and welcoming at reception. The children (5 and 2.5) were given crayons and activity sheets and were happy. My husband had the ale and steak pie and I had the beef chilli- both were good portions. The children’s hotdogs unfortunately came in very stale rolls. Service was prompt. Nice and relaxing atmosphere and an enjoyable meal overall.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 28 August 2019

Hi Hannah, We have investigated your comments as the hot dog rolls are delivered fresh daily so we needed to workout why they appeared to be stale. We now realise if they are under the hot lamp they do crisp up and can see how they may have appeared to not be fresh. We've revised our procedures so thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please let us know on your next visit if something isn't right so we can rectify the issue at the time. We are pleased you enjoyed your other meals.

Report
S
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 19 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Nice to see genuinely happy, friendly staff who are enjoying their work, gorgeous food: Lamb Koftas, and the Steak pie are highly recommended!!

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 15 September 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback Shellyprosecco. We are so pleased you found our team friendly and that you enjoyed your meals. Thank you for recommending us to others it really does mean the world to us. Kindest regards Natalie

Report
SM
London
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 2food 1service 5ambience 4

We have eaten here before and had an amazing meal. This time my food was awful. My husband didn’t want me to send it back. I ordered the lamb kofta. The pitta bread was inedible and I had to spit it out. The lamb kofta was cold and chewy. It had obviously been warmed up in the microwave which altered the texture of the bread. Very disappointed but to be fair I didn’t give them chance to correct it! I am very nervous to send food back. The server however didn’t comment when she cleared my plate which was uneaten!! The salad was ok. Strange thing was I had seen this plate of food one lunchtime, a couple of months ago and it was a completely different plate of food. And yes it was the lamb kofta I saw!! This was just awful. We will not be revisiting.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 19 August 2019

This dish is definitely not microwaved, is one of our biggest sellers, for which we receive lots of fab feedback and is the same as the 1st day it appeared on the menu. We give ample opportunity for feedback during a visit and go above and beyond to rectify any issues that may arise. Unfortunately we can't do anything now to rectify the issues you had. Absolutely gutted you didn't give us the opportunity to rectify the issues you have stated despite scoring the service you received a 5/5.

Report
CA
West Sussex
2 reviews
Dined on 16 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Family meal out (mum, dad, two teenagers (grumpy males), super atmos on a horrible night, cosy, modern beamy, child and dog friendly...twinkle lights around the ceiling.
Good pub food, very speedy and efficient service both in terms of taking the order and delivering the food. All staff we came into contact were very friendly and helpful .definitely recommend , definitely will return :)

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 19 August 2019

Hi Catherine We are delighted you all enjoyed your visit and are very much looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report
JC
1 review
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely place to eat if your on holiday in the area. Need to book as always popular.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 19 August 2019

Thank you so much for your 5* review - we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report
KE
1 review
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Service excellent
Food was hot, beautiful and well presented
Overall a great place to eat or just have a drink.
Thank you for an excellent evenning

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 19 August 2019

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and thank you for the fantastic review. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report
CH
1 review
Dined on 9 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Took my partner for a meal here on the friday evening. We liked the rustic feel both inside and out and the food was delicious, unfortunately because it was during the holiday season the place was very loud and overcrowded. Service was great apart from a small issue where i was overcharged for my drink but this was quickly rectified. Overall I would reccomend but if your looking for a quieter experience would suggest a visit in the winter months.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 19 August 2019

Thanks so much for the review Callum. Sorry to hear you were overcharged for a drink but great to hear we rectified this for you quickly. As you have stated we get extremely busy in the school summer holidays and agree if someone is looking for a quieter experience then outwith the holidays is a fantastic time to visit. Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report
OT
Wales
1 review
Dined on 8 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing food, friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere. Always our place of choice when on holiday.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 19 August 2019

Thank you so much for the 5* review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and found the food amazing. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're on holiday.

Report
OT
London
4 reviews
Dined on 8 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 3

Good pub food, very reasonably priced. The service was excellent.

MH
1 review
Dined on 7 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic place, Excellent service and food. Would highly recommend the Travellers Rest.

CB
Cornwall
2 reviews
Dined on 6 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Excellent Food in a very nice pub :) Will definitely return when in the area

PM
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 5 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Stunning, great food and the staff really make you feel welcome. Will be back later in the holiday👍

1
2
3
5