Traveller's Rest

4.5
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
186 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Pub

Top tags:

Casual
Sunday Lunch
Cosy, family run, 17th Century inn with flagstone flooring, open fires and beamed ceilings. Nestled between Mawgan Porth and Watergate Bay, the pub is ideally located to relax and unwind as you take in the sights of the North Cornwall coast.

We have a limited number of dog friendly tables - please let us know in the booking notes if you are bringing a dog with you.

Should your plans change please do let us know in order that we can offer your table to another party.
What 186 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
NJ
NicolaJ
Brighton
1 review
Dined on 15 March 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Great food and service. Only reason for slightly lower rating on ambience is because the restaurant was quiet, probably due to our early dinner reservation of 6pm and the Coronavirus keeping visitors away.

JE
JulieE
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 8 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love everything about this place. The atmosphere, the new lay out, not been since last Oct as we live up country but always go for a meal every time we’re down here. The food is always beautiful and the staff are friendly and polite. Will be in touch soon to book for 24 people for a pre wedding meal for our daughter in May 👍😍

LM
LeahM
1 review
Dined on 1 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Outstanding service and food as always, I travel for an hour to here a lot because it's totally worth it, reasonable section of food, good price, lovely staff and owners, and the site it's self it's wonderful lovely views and some animals too are favourite are the ducks, always a pleasure to go down and have good with the family

NC
NatalieC
Kent
1 review
Dined on 1 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really lovely carvery reasonably priced and huge portion but wish they had chicken or turkey

GM
GemmaM
1 review
Dined on 23 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Lovely meal and good atmosphere. Nice food and enough space for a buggy.

LE
LESLEYC
1 review
Dined on 23 February 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Lovely warm friendly pub.food very good.service quick.would definitely go again.

ML
MLML
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2020
Overall4food4service2ambience3

First visit here during a weekend away.
Busy on arrival and although we were early they managed to seat us early as previous table had already left.
Service was a bit hit and miss. We were seated, but I had to ask on separate occasions firstly for some menus and then to order our meals. We ordered 2 carvery (1 veggie) with 2 kids meals. I had to ask separately what the system was as when we ordered the waitress didn’t explain about the ticket situation before you went up.
Plenty of food and didn’t feel like we had to scrimp. Noticed that it was topped up often.
I had the veggie roast which for £11 was teeny but very tasty and probably the best I’ve tasted.
Meal itself was really lovely & we all finished the meal!
We waited for the table to be cleared so we could pay but in the end we decided to go to the bar as got fed up of waiting.
Didn’t have dessert so can’t comment on that.
Food was great, service wasn’t so. Can appreciate it was busy but not hard to check back, ensure we had menus, ready to order etc, clear table etc.
Would return though :)

K
Kizzyhood
London
2 reviews
Dined on 16 February 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Came with friends we had staying with us. Whenever they stay they always want to visit the Traveller’s Rest. Fab, friendly service & yummy food as always.

TM
TracyM
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 2 February 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

The food, the service, the ambiance was excellent. My only problem was the loud pounding on the ceiling above us. It sounded like kids running around & around for the whole meal. We were sat at table 25.
I will still return as it’s a great place.

JB
JulieB
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 1 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had been past this pub lots of times but never actually went in!- lovely staff, lovely food will most definitely return!

IL
IainL
Shropshire
2 reviews
Dined on 26 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Second time there and really enjoyed it. Will be back again

L
Lottie
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 18 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We had a delicious meal - Fantastic food and great value for money !

WL
WLB1969
London
2 reviews
Dined on 12 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A regular visitor whoever we’re in the area.
The carvery can not be beaten in our view and also welcome our dog!
Look forward to our next visit

J
Jules
1 review
Dined on 5 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First visit and very impressed except was quite dark where we were sat. Not sure I liked this much as difficult to see what you were eating. Other than that would definitely go again, would just ask to sit somewhere with more light. Staff very friendly and helpful.

DS
DanielleS
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 3 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excelllent as always- great food, great service, great atmosphere!

f
fiona
Edinburgh
6 reviews
Dined on 28 December 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Good honest pub. Food as you would expect. Lively and friendly.

HT
HarryTrout
1 review
Dined on 27 December 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Very welcoming and friendly. The waitresses really looked after us and made a real effort with the kids to make it a special occasion. Recommend the Nasi Goreng and Buddha Bowl. We were staying nearby on a 2 night trip and we eat here both nights and loved it. Great atmosphere, would definitely return.

KW
KathieW
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 22 December 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

We have eaten here before which prompted our return and were not disappointed.We will certainly go again,thankyou

S
Shar26
Bath
2 reviews
Dined on 15 December 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

The Sunday lunch was delicious, I had the turkey, to be honest I’d go just for the Yorkshire pudding, which are the best. Great atmosphere, staff are very friendly. We had the bonus of seeing the annual pram push arrive! Well done everyone, super job for charity.

SF
SalF
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 24 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

fantastic Sunday lunch.
Child friendly
Good music
would recommend to a friend

WL
WLB1969
London
3 reviews
Dined on 17 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always pick Travellers for Sunday lunch when in the area

BW
BillW
Cornwall
8 reviews
Dined on 31 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We usually go for lunch at Traveller’s but decided to try evening this time great . Food excellent service excellent would definitely recommend the travellers for a great meal and great ambience.

SB
StephanieB
1 review
Dined on 20 October 2019
Overall3food2service4ambience3

A little disappointing. The choice of vegetables was limited to turnip, carrot/ parsnip roasted, roasted potatoes, red cabbage and green cabbage. For a Sunday Carvery there are lots more veg options including new potatoes, cauliflower cheese, broccoli, sweet corn, peas, green beans. My judge of any good meal is ' hot plates' they were vaguely warm at best. Sorry for this review, but at more that £12 per head for a roast, they could have given better value for money. I suggest they look at what they offer, particularly in terms of vegetables. The beef was good, but needed a steak knife as opposed to regular knife to cut. I am a good cook and just love being 'treated' to a Sunday roast. Overall the service was excellent, lovely welcoming people, but suggest you look at what you offer in your Carvery.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 2 November 2019

Thank you for the constructive feedback. We are currently reviewing our veg offering on the Carvery. Unfortunately much of the veg you have mentioned do not maintain their quality even when topped up regularly. Broccoli goes mushy, peas&sweetcorn are best served fresh. We try to rotate our veg offering and newies, green beans& cauli cheese do occassionally feature, I would like to point out we charge £11 for a very large portion and we are often told its great value for money. Thanks again

Report
JB
JanineB
London
4 reviews
Dined on 19 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very friendly staff who made us welcome. Food was good too

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 2 November 2019

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report
DH
DeclanH
Cornwall
4 reviews
Dined on 16 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Regular visitors to the pub and restaurant. Everything good as usual and being Steak Night the steak was really good. This time visited with 1 year old granddaughter who had the use of the attachable high chairs which are a brilliant idea, not only space saving but comfortable too. We always recommend to our guests too.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 2 November 2019

Thank you for the fab feedback Declan. Its always a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report
LB
LukeB
1 review
Dined on 15 October 2019
Overall2food1service3ambience2

Hi,

The food was pretty poor, I had read some reviews and maybe expected a little more.

However the company I was with picked Vegan options and they were horrendously dry. (granted its Vegan, but still)

I had the burger which was no different to spoons burger.

Lovely staff, and to be fair I didn't mention this to them, but than again, if this is the standard of food there isn't much more they could of done, but remade with the exact same outcome.

Considering the prices are like low-mid I did expect a little more.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 2 November 2019

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meals. Its unusual for us to receive such negative feedback with and we are sorry you didn't expand more on what the issues were in order that we could investigate & make any necessary changes. If you had informed us on the evening of your visit we would have been more than happy to rectify the issues you had with your meals. Slightly confused by your comment re low-mid prices and your expectations. On a positive we are pleased you found the team lovely.

Report
RJ
RichardJ
1 review
Dined on 12 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Down in Cornwall for a week & we were recommended the Travellers rest, what a fantastic little locals pub, really friendly and welcoming, even offered us a blanket for our dog to lay on after a wet and windy walk, along with treats.
After several visits and sampling the fine ales on offer we decided to eat there and we weren’t disappointed, great choice of starters through to desserts although we didn’t get that far as we were both full after a starter and main.
Looking around at what others were eating and believe me their cod and chips looked far better than a famous chefs we had tried the day before!! We settled on shared nachos with the bestest beef chilli with real chunks of tender beef, followed by a very generous portion of steak and ale pie, again with very tender chunks of steak, proper chunky chips and mixed veg, excellent food, great ales and fantastic friendly service, you won’t be disappointed and have already recommended to others, hence the 5 stars, will definitely be returning.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 2 November 2019

Hi Richard, We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you all back again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kindest regards The Travs Tribe

Report
KB
KathrynB
1 review
Dined on 7 October 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

We planned the pub meal to meet with friends from Colchester who are on holiday in nearby Tregurrian who we had not seen for over 12 months.
We all received a warm welcome on arrival and the staff went out of their way to help first with drinks, arranging to place them on our table and then placing us on a large table enabling our dogs to have some space between them as one of our friend's dogs did not take to our cocker spaniel (it was the first time of meeting as ours is still a young dog).
We had three different meals, two had the Steak and Ale Pie, one had Fish and Chips and I had the Lamb Kofta kebab, all the food was nicely presented and tasted great.
It was quiet in the pub being a Monday night but would definitely eat there again and recommend it to friends.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 2 November 2019

Hi Kathryn Thank you so much for your feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you for recommending us to others, we very much appreciate it.

Report
DS
DavidS
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 6 October 2019
Overall3food2service3ambience3

We had Sunday Carvery. Roast potatoes appearred reheated from previous occasion. Beef was tough and lots of grissle. The rest of veg was ok.

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 2 November 2019

Hi David, Thanks for your feedback. We will discuss the issue with the beef with our supplier. Our roasts are freshly cooked so we are sorry if they seemed they were not. We will investigate this further also. Thanks again for letting us know.

Report
BP
BeckyP
Cornwall
1 review
Dined on 5 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Gorgeous food, lovely and attentive staff in beautiful surroundings....who could ask for more?! Highly recommend :)

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 2 November 2019

Hi Becky Thank you so much for your amazing feedback. We really appreciate your comments. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards The Travs Tribe

Report
f
franc
London
5 reviews
Dined on 29 September 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We had a delicious Sunday lunch here. The carvery was great but unfortunately, because we were the last table but despite booking, they had run out of some food like stuffing and some veg. There was no cauliflower cheese. But the good that was there was really good and we would go back but book earlier (it was a 2.15 booking so not late). Service was friendly. The musician was great but could have played later on to keep people there as the place emptied quite quickly.

S
Steph
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had food here twice whilst visiting Cornwall , was able to take our dog which initially was one of the reasons that attracted us we loved how dog friendly it was and the food was amazinggg!! Both nights thoroughly enjoyed.

NW
NickW
1 review
Dined on 24 September 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience5

We had a lovely evening just a shame that when the young man cane to clear the plates we asked for another drink which he replied he would come back to take our order. Sadly after waiting for 15 minutes for him to return we decided to leave. Apart from that we had a lovely meal.

RW
RuthW
Cornwall
3 reviews
Dined on 22 September 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Excellent carvery, chef even browned the meat for us as too pink for our taste. Dog friendly and pretty inside. Excellent service. Would recommend but booking might be required. Lots of people turned away.

SB
SusanB
1 review
Dined on 20 September 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

I am disappointed the seafood linguine is no longer on the menu, that was my all time favourite

MT
MicheleT
Cornwall
3 reviews
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Nice relaxed friendly pub. Good food. Nice Sunday roast but other options too including vegetarian. So something for everyone. Dogs welcome. Love the chickens!

MA
MarkA
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Great to return after quite a few years away! Lots of changes to the layout - for the better. Carvery was excellent - the extra large plate fooled us but we managed to finish off our lovely meals If you going in season I'd advise booking. Well worth the trip!

MT
MikeT
1 review
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food, excellent service and very reasonable on price.

CS
ColinS
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2019
Overall2food1service2ambience2

For people who don't go out much, are geriatric or fat this might be a 3 or 4, but for anyone else a 2 at best. This is below average 'pub food'.

I walked up from Mawgan Porth because this was rated number 1 and was massively disappointed, since I walked past several better looking places to get here.

The olives were massively briney, the humus tiny and unpleasant the burger was hard and grisly. While the chips were actually very good the ketchup wasn't Heinz, so, still rubbish.

Yuk, Yuk, Yuk

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 15 September 2019

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. As a business we are open to customer reviews about food and service, however it really isn't fair for you to be so rude with regards to other customers of which we get many that are happy with their visit to our cozy pub. Do we always get things right...no. Do we do our best to rectify issues when we are made aware of them...yes. Had you let us know at the time we would have been more than happy to rectify the issues you had with the food.

Report
SM
SheilaM
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really enjoyed our meal and experience on Saturday lovely well cooked food

Traveller's Rest
Responded on 15 September 2019

Hi Sheila, We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report

FAQs

Traveller's Rest is rated 4.5 stars by 186 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.