Twenty, Princes Street, Grill & Smokehouse

4.2
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1552 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Twenty Princes Street presents an elegant and stunning setting that is sure to bewitch even the most cosmopolitan of patrons with a seamless mix of traditional elegance and contemporary design. A distinguishing feature of the restaurant is the lush, capacious banquettes carefully positioned to make the most of the vistas. And with massive triple-height windows that offer picture perfect views of the skyline. Chef Elzane Louwrens demonstrates his culinary flair with an inventive and eclectic menu that keeps pace with the seasons and uses the finest locally sourced ingredients. There’s an exciting choice of fish and seafood dishes while the selection of steaks are a signature of the restaurant. This restaurant offering guests a trendy and sophisticated hangout whatever the occasion, where dining is refreshingly informal and an atmosphere that’s glamorous but not glitzy. And for pre- or post-prandial drinks and conversations, our bar Juniper is the perfect destination.
What 1552 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
c
cliffordthedragon
Edinburgh
14 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience3

Ambiance affected by Covid procedures somewhat but excellent steaks. Limited wine list. Service good and brought a treat as we were there for an anniversary, great meal given current situation. Thanks.

m
maryf
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

3 diners had starters then sharing board. everything was just delicious. Great cocktails. Fabulous surroundings. Lovely staff, very attentive. not the usually busy, noisy atmosphere but perfect for a lovely calming lunch with daughter and granddaughter.
All precautions for socially distancing in place and no need for mask once seated. Happy and memorable occasion.

S
Shivonparkash1
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food1service2ambience1

Booked for special occasion, did not enjoy the food overpriced. Ordered steak but believe we never got the right cut ordered sirloin and my guests and myself were not happy explained to waitress and she insisted it was the right. Ambience was very quiet no music very boring experience and my family from London were visiting. Will not come back unfortunately did not enjoy the dinner and it was £169 we spent a good amount.

BE
BarryE
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food2service4ambience3

The food was extremely disappointing. Prawns tasted like they'd been sat in an ashtray all day. That's not an exaggeration, they literally tastes like that. Perhaps, the josper has sat dormant too long or something, creating that taste.

The steaks were OK. They weren't amazing. The ribeye was overcooked but it was' fine'. The desserts were as disappointing as the rest.

The service was good. No complaints there.

I wouldn't demand my money back but I also wouldn't recommend it to friends and family and I wouldn't rush back.

LD
LeanneD
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food3service5ambience2

The steaks were lovely, however you are charged £3 for the sauce side which comes in a tiny dish. I don't mind paying extra for sauce, however paying £6 for 2 tiny sauces is a bit extreme.

RW
RachelW
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was so nice. The service was really good. Will definitely be back.

DM
DebbieM
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Great food and outstanding service . One way system in place which worked very well.

AM
AlisonM
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food4service3ambience3

Great location for an overdue catch up with my friend. Excellent starter and the burger was amazing....could do with a few more choices for main courses though

KM
KenM
London
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Enjoyed our meal and felt safe at all times .
We will come again .

AW
AilsaW
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food5service3ambience5

Service was a little slow, had to ask a couple of times for the dessert menu and the bill but a great experience overall. Staff were friendly and all wore masks. Social distancing not a problem as huge space and food was delicious and great value as they are doing the 50% off government scheme. Hand dryer wasn't working in the toilet and there were no paper towels left but staff sounded keen to rectify that quickly when I let them know

OT
OpenTable Diner
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely food, great service, fantastic view. Very clean

EL
ELAINEI
Glasgow
3 reviews
Dined on 4 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was my first dining experience since lockdown eased. I felt very comfortable and confident that all precautions had been taken. The food was lovely as always.

KT
KirstyT
1 review
Dined on 4 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing service. Staff were very helpful, friendly and polite. Prompt service. Food was outstanding, full of taste and flavours. Steak was cooked to perfection. Would definitely go back when I next visit Edinburgh.

LR
LocalResident
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 4 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was excellent, staff friendly and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch.

L
Lyne
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined on 4 August 2020
Overall1food1service5ambience1

BECAUSE I BOOKED THROUGH OPEN TABLE WE WERE NOT OFFERED TWENTY MENU. ONLY A LA CARTE. NOT SUITABLE FOR LUNCH

C
Colsbols
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 1 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food in fine surroundings with a lovely view! Highly recommended 👍

GH
GeorginaH
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 1 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best steak I have ever had was so tasty. Would defiantly be back again.

RM
RoselynM
1 review
Dined on 1 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service and food at twenty was excellent . We will definitely be returning again.

T
Taxman
1 review
Dined on 31 July 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

This is a new restaurant only second day of opening since covid. The name of the restaurant suggests french cuisine, however guests should check out menu before booking.

DM
DamianM
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 31 July 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience3

Never seen a well-done steak cooked better. Prawns starter wasn't cooked properly and seemed raw in parts.
Peppercorn sauce was too runny.
Nice feel to the spot though and plenty of space.

NH
NeilH
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 31 July 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

First impression was wow and it got better and better. Highly recommend for anyone in Edinburgh wanting a lovely evening with lovely food and great service. Not the cheapest but certainly one of the best.

CM
ChristineM
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined on 29 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really enjoyed our visit to the restaurant . Food was amazing and freshly cooked , drinks were perfect and service was excellent . Will defenitely be back .

JJ
JohnJ
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 28 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was great. Food and cocktails were amazing would definitely come back

JM
JoanM
1 review
Dined on 28 July 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Lovely food. Not too filling. Restaurant very quiet but I appreciate due to lockdown people are still nervous about eating out. Marvellous view of the Edinburgh skyline. Water topped up with requests.

t
tima
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

I had a steak, me wife fish. Accompanied with a glass of wine. Everything was lovely. I especially appreciated the very kind service. The view on old Edinburgh was also a plus

NB
NadB
1 review
Dined on 26 July 2020
Overall1food5service2ambience3

I was disappointed with my visit. When we arrived we were told that we could pick any table as we were the only ones there. But a few of the tables were looking dirty, crumbs on the seats.
I knew before going that the menu was going to be limited due to the circumstances but I was surprised that there was no children’s menu. We were there to celebrate my birthday and I had my 8 year old daughter with me. The waiter only went and asked in the kitchen about something for a child because I mentioned that I saw a menu in my confirmation email still listing a child’s menu.
I have been a few tines to this restaurant and I have always enjoyed it but if this visit had been my first I probably would not be back.

IM
IanM
London
3 reviews
Dined on 25 July 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

First proper outing since lock down. This was to celebrate my brothers birthday. This resturant has so much space it feels very safe and the staff are very attentive. Everything arrived quickly and the steaks my partner and I eat were first rate. Great evening, thank you all!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Glasgow
42 reviews
Dined on 25 July 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

It was good to finally get to dine out and we really enjoyed our dinner. Even thought the menu is limited at present we were able to get the main steak dish we had gone for.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined on 25 July 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Twenty. Was a lovely experience altogether coming into town to be served lovely food and drinks in great surroundings. Food never disappoints and staff couldn’t have been more helpful. Even when we asked to change tables it wasn’t an issue despite social distancing. Look forward to our next visit .

J
vipJames
London
17 reviews
Dined on 23 July 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Delicious meal and great to see then open in the current environment. The black pudding / haggis French toast was absolutely to die for! Highly recommend!

IM
IreneM
Glasgow
5 reviews
Dined on 21 July 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience2

The meal and service were outstanding but I would have preferred to eat in the bar area as it was cosy and had atmosphere. The large dining area lacked atmosphere and was soulless unless you were at one of the two tables at the window, overlooking Princes Street. It was like eating in a barn. It was empty and echoey. It wouldn’t take much to improve it with plants or low hanging lights or large screens to section off areas with no one In them. I did enjoy the meal and service though.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 21 July 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Attentive service, food nice but pepper sauce very runny and buttery. Felt it was a bit over priced.

MM
MarkM
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 18 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely food and staff will definitely be back. Felt Irma, even during lockdown circumstance

V
Vidad123
Edinburgh
11 reviews
Dined on 18 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We had a great time. It was difficult to create the usual atmosphere as it was quieter than normal - completely understand why. However the staff were really friendly and looked after us well.
It was so nice to be back

AG
AG123
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience2

rib eye wasnt great and at £28 it should have been better.

scallops were very good if small.

staff were attentive.

Twenty, Princes Street, Grill & Smokehouse
Responded on 20 July 2020

Hello AG123, I am really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your dinner on Friday. Our steaks are of the highest quality and bought from a highly respected local butcher so TWENTY is always a safe bet for steaks. We pay a premium for the best and it is disappointing that you have not enjoyed your ribeye this time. I will feed this back to our butcher today. Many thanks, TWENTY

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Brilliant staff and lovely food

Twenty, Princes Street, Grill & Smokehouse
Responded on 18 July 2020

Thank you so much! We are delighted you enjoyed it!

Report
KB
KatB
Newcastle
1 review
Dined on 16 July 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience3

The menu was limited for obvious reasons but a pasta dish or salad would’ve been a good addition. We ordered the burger which wasn’t particularly enjoyable. The relish wasn’t a good addition-it would’ve been best on the side.

Twenty, Princes Street, Grill & Smokehouse
Responded on 18 July 2020

Hello KatB, Thank you taking the time to offer your feedback. I am sorry the menu wasn't to your liking. We will be changing the menu regularly working with our local suppliers to offer as much choice as possible to our guests. Our burgers normally go down a treat but obviously no to your taste. Thanks! Twenty

Report
F
Foodie
1 review
Dined on 15 July 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience4

We were craving for nice steaks and decided to come here as not was labelled as ‘steakhouse’.

My boyfriend ordered rare but got well done an I ordered medium but got very very well done steak ( the edge of steak was black)

My peppercorn sauce tasted like butter with tinge of pepper 😂 never tried such peppercorn sauce before.

It took a while for the waitress to get our order as well.
It was not worth over £100 worth of dinner for two people but the ambiance gives you a high end vibe so I guess you are paying for the ambiance rather than the food quality .
I don’t think I will be coming here again but if I do I will be ordering generic pub food to be safe like burger. You would hope you can’t go wrong with burger, right???

Twenty, Princes Street, Grill & Smokehouse
Responded on 20 July 2020

Hi Foodie,. am really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your dinner on Friday. Our steaks are of the highest quality and bought from a highly respected local butcher so TWENTY is always a safe bet for steaks. I was on duty on Friday night and nothing was sent back to the kitchen. We would have been more than happy to rectify if we were aware your steaks were not cooked how you wish them to be. Many thanks, Michael Nawrot General Manager

Report
DM
DMDM
1 review
Dined on 15 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Had a sirloin steak, which was cooked beautifully. The star of the show was the honeycomb dessert. It was outstanding 👌

Twenty, Princes Street, Grill & Smokehouse
Responded on 17 July 2020

Thank you so much for the review! Great to be back.

Report
DF
DaleneF
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 14 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a lovely meal for friends joint 60th but also their 40th wedding anniversary. The service and food was excellent and our server was extremely courteous

FAQs

Twenty, Princes Street, Grill & Smokehouse is rated 4.2 stars by 1552 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.