Union Café - Beacon

4.0
71 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary European

Top tags:

Casual
We’re open seven days a week, serving hearty and healthy breakfasts from nine in the morning and in the evening, we offer a beautifully crafted dinner menu until ten. Enjoy a great lunch Monday through Friday, and at the weekend come and relax in our comfortable new booths to enjoy a fresh cooked brunch and crafted cocktails or a bottle of wine with family and friends.
What 71 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.0
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Quiet
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
Galway
2 reviews
Dined on 11 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

As always staff were extremely helpful and more than willing to meet any requests. We dined with a 1 year old which can be stressful but staff were very accommodating.

Great brunch menu, with options other than egg dishes!!

Union Café - Beacon
Responded 4 days ago

Hi, Thank so much for the review and rating, We are all delighted to read your visit was so enjoyable, Hope to see you in again soon, Best Dave

Report
N
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 2

It was all very pleasant, but the restaurant was cold. We moved seats away from the air conditioning unit but we were still cold. Brrr....

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 8 August 2019

Thanks for the positive review! We are sorry to hear you found the restaurant cold, it's difficult to get it right with the unpredictable Irish weather. Let us know next time and we will be happy to turn up the heating :) See you soon! Shane

Report
B
1 review
Dined on 30 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Delicious brunch, nice staff, no waiting (booked in advance and was seated right away on arrival. Had been there before without a booking and waited only 5 min). Prices on the average for Dublin. Some things are a bit pricy in my opinion (3€ for a cup of tea :/), but overall would recommend it. It's great if you get a seat by the window, otherwise it's a bit dark.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 2 July 2019

Hi Beatrix, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. The floor team are always delighted to hear positive feedback. Hope to have you with us again soon! Best regards, Dave B

Report
RL
Dublin
4 reviews
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 3

I am not sure the location lends itself to a night time restaurant.
Food was delicious - service was great!
It was perfect for our night of girly catch ups & chat.
Will be back.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 2 July 2019

Hi Ruth, So glad to hear you enjoyed your night with us and were able to catch up with friends. Great to hear you'll be back! Kind regards, Dave B

Report
OT
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Really enjoyed the meal. The staff were absolutely amazing. So nice with the kids and really attentive to everyone at the table. Highly recommend eating here and I’ll 100% be back. Loved it

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 29 June 2019

Thank you so much for the lovely review! Looking forward to having you with us again soon. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
AS
1 review
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 3

Our server was super, very friendly & helpful but unfortunately (1) there were no scones at all so 4 of the party only had a choice of croissants (2) the lady who ordered decaf coffee had to ask twice for it, by time it came her croissant was finished, 15 mins approx & (3) after nearly 25 minutes my eggs hadn’t arrived, the rest of the group had finished everything. I then said that if if wasn’t cooked, to cancel it. The waitress came out with complimentary toast & a coffee instead however I would have preferred to get what I ordered on time. I know there was a large group there just ahead of us but I presume they had a booking as we had- there obviously weren’t enough staff in the kitchen & those staff on the floor could do nothing except apologise to us.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 2 July 2019

Hi Anne, Thank you for taking the time to review. We always appreciate honest and constructive feedback and we're disappointed our service didn't live up to the standards we set ourselves. Your wait time for both food and coffee is just not acceptable and we can only hope it won't deter you from visiting with us again. We'd love the chance to improve your experience with us in the future. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
SO
1 review
Dined on 19 June 2019
Overall 3food 3service 1ambience 3

Service was terrible , restaurant was quiet yet it was impossible to catch waitresses attention, we had to go get our own cutlery twice, one meal was forgotten so ended up half hour later than other, chips were undercooked and late coming out - the rest of the food was good and we are local so we really hope you improve the service

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 24 June 2019

HI SusanO, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We take great pride in our fast and friendly service which is why I find the issues you have raised quite concerning. Please be assured this has been discussed with all departments so as to ensure a repeat experience is unlikely. My hope is that you have not been deterred from another visit and if you would like to further discuss your visit please feel free to contact me at beacon@unioncafe.ie, Best Dave

Report
JW
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 16 June 2019
Overall 1food 2service 2ambience 2

Booked a table for 7 for Fathers day and it was a complete disaster from the start, we will not be going back even after the manager trying to do his best. It would take too long to say what went wrong.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 20 June 2019

Hi James, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're very disappointing that we didn't live up to your expectations and we really do take feedback like this seriously. If you would like to give us some detail to improve on you can email us at beacon@unioncafe.ie Kind regards, Dave B

Report
JO
1 review
Dined on 16 June 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Fantastic Service from staff. Two from my party forgot to request their food well-done and they were replaced with a whole new meal served. Food was great. We were seated near the kitchen, which made the space very hot/warm.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 20 June 2019

Hi Jonny, We're delighted to hear that were able to accommodate your guests and that everyone left happy. Thanks for the kind words, hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Dave B

Report
CE
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 16 June 2019
Overall 3food 2service 5ambience 5

While the service was excellent, the atmosphere was lovely and the restaurant itself is lovely the food was very average. A lot of it was very dry and tasteless and inconsistent with other union cafes. It was disappointing as the staff were really great and made it an enjoyable experience

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 17 June 2019

Hi Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to review. We're so happy to hear such nice words about our staff. The kitchen team are always working to keep standards as high as possible and I'll make sure to pass along your feedback. Hope to have you with us again soon! Kind regards, Dave B

Report
DC
1 review
Dined on 16 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely Father's Day brunch, excellent service and great food. We'll be back!

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 18 June 2019

Hi Dana, We're delighted you enjoyed your Father's Day brunch with us! There was such a lovely atmosphere in the restaurant with all the families. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
OT
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 9 June 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

Came in today for some brunch. We ordered eggs Bennie, which took less than 10 min to be served and it was already cold when we got. Not even the plate was hot! I work in a restaurant and I know well how hot the plates are leaving the pass, which was not the case here... Anyways, the food itself was good but at some point I gave up because it is not pleasant eating cold eggs and hollandaise.

The apple juice, in the other hand, was divine! As well as a side of sausages we ordered.

I've been to this place a couple of times before, for both brunch and dinner, and there is always something disappointing to talk about, which is a pity because the staff is always very attentive and the ambient is lovely.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 10 June 2019

Hi, Thank you for reviewing and for leaving constructive feedback. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your apple juice and sausages and it's always so nice to hear good things about our staff. We'll definitely look into our food preparation and pass on your comments to the kitchen team to ensure all food is leaving the pass as hot as possible! Thanks again for reviewing and we hope to have you with us again soon. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
OF
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 19 May 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 4

Nice place for casual dining. Good menu with something for everyone.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 24 May 2019

Thanks a mil Orna, Hope to see you in again soon Best Dave

Report
OT
Dublin
7 reviews
Dined on 10 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always a great experience with attentive staff

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 12 May 2019

Hi, Thank you so much for the kind review. The waiting team will be delighted to hear it. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
JH
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 10 May 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 4

Most fantastic young man waited in our table. Food ok but kitchen can not seem to follow requests . Second time there and second time order wrong

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 12 May 2019

Hi JH, We're so glad to hear you were pleased with your waiter. Hearing that your order was dropped to you without being as you specified is troubling. We strive for the highest possible standards for both front and back of house. We hope this won't stop you from coming back and giving us a chance to improve your experience. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
S
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Overall a good experience but both people at our table that ordered the lasagna had to return it for being cold.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 12 May 2019

Hi, Thanks for the feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and rest assured we are always monitoring our food quality to make sure issues like you had with our lasagne don't happen again. Hope to have you with us again soon. Best regards, Dave B

Report
JR
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 5 May 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 4

Lovely Atmosphere, friendly staff with fast service. The food was very well presented and cooked however it wasn't really to my taste, the French toast topping was fair too sweet. In saying that another guest had a burger which looked lovely so we will definitely be back to try out the Dinner Menu.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 8 May 2019

Hi JulieR Thanks so much for the review! We are delighted you enjoyed the place so much and are looking forward to seeing you in again soon :) Best Dave

Report
MR
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 23 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had a wonderful evening. Very prompt and friendly service. We’ll be back

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 30 April 2019

Hi MargeR, Thank you for your kind review! We look forward to seeing you in again soon Best Dave

Report
GD
7 reviews
Dined on 12 April 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

I've been here twice, first visit was better than the second. For this second visit with the family (all) the food was not warm, some of it was over-salted and was generally pretty average. I dont want to be too negative, the menu is good, some of the food was excellent, and I liked the ambiance and the sense of space and comfort. The waiter was very nice and helpful but seemed hard to find when needed! I find the location/parking convenient and would probably come back again but more likely to go to the other Union Cafe in Churchtown in future where we have in the past been very happy.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 17 April 2019

Hi GreenDog, Thank you for taking the time to give us some honest and helpful feedback. We're delighted to hear some nice comments about your visit but rest assured we will also be taking your other points on board. I'll make sure to pass along your comments to the front of house management team and to the kitchen team as well. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
AS
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 3

Union was fine. The disappointment was the absence of the fillet steak from the menu. Last time they were ‘out of it’. Now it’s no longer on the menu. First world problem certainly but a reason for me not to visit again anytime soon.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 10 April 2019

Hi Anne, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We've recently revamped our menu and we feel we have some really nice and exciting new options but of course we're sorry one of your favourites has gone from the menu. If you change your mind we'd love to have you back to try something new. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
e
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Reasonable food, decent ambience, but VERY inexperienced staff. Nice people, but very young and most seem to have no previous experience working in a restaurant. We waited 20 minutes to pay our bill.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 6 April 2019

Hi, Thank you for the feedback, we have a nice mix of experienced and enthusiastic staff but we can always get better. Sorry to hear you waited to long to settle up. Hope to see you again soon to improve your experience. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
PG
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 3

Place was fine. Food wasn't bad just fairly mediocre. Waiter was really friendly and nice we had to wait so long to get our food each course (and the place wasn't even that busy). Wasn't good value but didn't break the bank. Overall just fairly "Meh"

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 2 April 2019

Hi Patrick, Sorry to hear you were underwhelmed with your experience. We're always looking to improve our standards of service and wait times are certainly part of this. Nice to hear you enjoyed your waiters service. We're unveiling a new menu later on in the week which presents a lot of new and fresh dishes. We'd love to have you back with us again to improve upon your experience. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
OT
London
4 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Food was okay but overpriced for the quality of ingredients being used. Service was good for the most part. My order came out wrong but they were quick to rectify this. Place is very nicely decorated and there was a good atmosphere. I would go back again for brunch but probably not for dinner.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 4 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review. We're sorry your order wasn't right the first time but glad to hear it was quickly fixed. We'd love to have you with us again to improve your experience. Kind regards, Dave

Report
S
Dublin
4 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Lovely mothers day.The staff,very friendly & polite.The food and house wine excellent. Clearing tables could be a little quicker.Overall experience - Excellent we will be back.

v
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 5

Had a lovely mother’s day. Very happy with the food and Service . A lovely girl called Alex served us and made our experience all the better ...

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 2 April 2019

Hi Vivd, We're delighted that you had a nice Mothers Day with us and hope you enjoyed your dessert! Lovely to hear such kind words about our wait staff. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
OT
Galway
2 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

We went for Mother’s Day with extended family so there were a few kids including one in high chair. Staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful with the children, playing with them when they came in and then giving them coloring to keep busy. Food is the best out of all the Press Up group restaurants that I have been to for brunch, a more extensive menu for those who don’t feel like eating muesli or eggs up to 4pm in the afternoon!!!

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 2 April 2019

Hi, Thank you so much for all the kind words, we pride ourselves on our front and back of house service and its lovely to hear that your family enjoyed themselves as a result. Hope to see you back again soon! Kind regards, Dave B

Report
R
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 4

We came it not knowing what the place was going to be like. We were greeted kindly by staff and they attended to us quickly. The place itself had a very cool atmosphere and a vintage feeling even though it was very modern. We enjoyed the food and had a lovely time. :)

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 2 April 2019

Hi Richard, So glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit here. Thank you for the nice feedback. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Dave B

Report
TA
1 review
Dined on 24 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Thanks so much for a lovely birthday lunch for me and my family.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 26 March 2019

Hi Tracy, Thank you so much for the kind words, hope to see you again soon! Dave B

Report
MO
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 23 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Good quality food. Good value. Great service. Staff were so nice. Lovely setting.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 25 March 2019

Hi MichaelO, Thank you kindly for your great review, the team were delighted to read it! See you again soon hopefully, Best Dave

Report
OT
Dublin
5 reviews
Dined on 18 March 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 4

Lovely decor and ambience in Union Café - Beacon! Tasty chicken wings 👍🏼

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 20 March 2019

Thank you for the kind words! Regards, Dave B

Report
GO
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 16 March 2019
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 3

Simple breakfast of bacon/poached eggs way too expensive - coffee/tea and juice not included - would not go back or recommend

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 20 March 2019

Sorry to hear you're unhappy with our breakfast offering. We aim for the best quality ingredients and preparation and we feel this is reflected in a fair price. We would love to have you back to improve upon your experience should you change your mind. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
G
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 15 March 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

It was my first time dining in Union Cafe'. The place is very cozy, I really liked it. My friends and I had burgers and the grilled seabass, we were happy with the quality of the food, my pint of Guinness also tasted very good (there is a large selection of drinks and dishes throughout the day). Restroom was very clear. I'll definitely go again.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 20 March 2019

Thanks Gabriel, hope to see you again. Regards, Dave B

Report
GH
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 14 March 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 4

Felt staff were a little disorganized - we waited a while to be served and seemed to be no orgisnation

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 20 March 2019

Hi Gemma, Apologies for the poor first impression. As a new restaurant we're constantly seeking to get better and more organised. Thank you for your feedback and rest assured we are taking it on board. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
A
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 14 March 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

Dined there for a mid-week lunch.

Found menu very limited as we were looking for something light like a fancy sandwich and side order. Menu states “burgers and sandwiches” but there isn’t a sandwich on the menu. Confusing!

Ended up ordering pizzas as little else appealed.

Waitress delivered two glasses of water to table... warm and unpleasant. Asked for a glass of cold water and this arrived. Why not serve it in the first place?

We were seated near the kitchen serving area and observed the chef adding fried pepperoni slices from a pan directly onto the top of one pizza when it was sitting on the hot counter waiting to be collected. When the pizzas eventually arrived, they were soggy underneath and one was cremated around the side. The slices of pepperoni were greasy and curled up.

Ordered two coffees which were lovely. Cannot fault service and interior of restaurant. Bill was around 34 euro. Would not visit again for weekday lunch.

It’s great to have a Union Cafe in Sandyford but quality and choice (for a restaurant this size) could be improved.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 20 March 2019

Hi, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We'll certainly look in to the matters you have raised. We also appreciate some of the positive comments you've left. We do sincerely hope to have you back with us again to create a more positive experience for you. Thank you again for your comments. Kind regards, Dave B

Report
r
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 9 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

really enjoyable brunch, staff were very friendly and service was brilliant, would highly recommend. nice and spacious too if you have little ones who need a buggy.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 13 March 2019

Hi Rebecca, Thank you so much for your kind words. Hope to have you with us again soon! Kind regards, Dave B

Report
CH
1 review
Dined on 9 March 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

We had a reservation but the hostess still told us to wait at the bar in a very brash manner. We were given a table where we were on top of the people next to us. When our food came, we weren’t asked if we needed anything else and I had to flag down another waitress for ketchup and maple syrup. My pancakes came completely plain and others around me had toppings on them. The food itself was tasteless and over priced. Then we had to go up to the front door to pay after waiting 15 minutes for someone to ask us if we need a anything else. Will not be returning.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 11 March 2019

Hi CHFood, Thank you for your review, at Union Cafe we pride ourselves on our high standards of food quality and service, which you clearly did not receive on Saturday. Please be assured I am taking your feedback very seriously and am currently investigating the reasons as to why standards slipped on Saturday. I am disappointed you do not plan to visit us again in the future. Kind regards Dave

Report
PM
1 review
Dined on 8 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food, very friendly staff. Lots of room and very fast service.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 11 March 2019

Hi PadraigM Many thank for the kind review, We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and are looking forward to seeing you again soon Best Dave

Report
J
1 review
Dined on 3 March 2019
Overall 3food 2service 2ambience 2

Not exactly thrilled with my experience in union cafe. We went for the bacon and eggs on the brunch menu and when I asked for no fries and possibly a sausage the lady serving us said I couldn’t swap but for an extra charge I could get it. For €15 I expected more. When the food came it wasn’t exactly roasting and went cold very quickly as the plates were cold. Not too sure s return for brunch

MV
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was really good. We ordered a starter and a coffee. The amount was plenty. The design is very homey. I think we arrived a bit earlier then our booking time, so out table was not ready, but it was quickly rectified.
Service was quick and polite.
We will definetely return.

Union Café - Beacon
Responded on 4 March 2019

Hi MoniV, Thank you so much for your kind review, I am delighted you had a pleasant experience with us and am looking forward to your next visit, Kind regards Dave

Report
L
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 2

Would not go back. Food arrived before coffee. Egg poached too long was probably cooked a long time...cold bacon. Didn't have my coffee either..tasted really bad. And had to get my own water from the service station as wasn't offered. Looks good inside pity it doesn't deliver food and drink wise

1
2