Union Café - Mount Merrion

4.1
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
99 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
€31 to €50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Modern European

Top tags:

Casual
Our restaurant is a bright and airy, designed dining space lying at the very heart of Mount Merrion. It is a local gathering place for family and friends, neighbours and colleagues.
Our Head Chef, Darren Matthews, has created an innovative menu that brings together old world flavours and contemporary international cuisines.
Each and every plate is packed with fresh, honest, tasty food, created with the very best Irish produce.
Try one of our juicy homemade burgers, wood fired pizzas, fresh pastas, fish specials and much more.
We’re open seven days a week, serving hearty and healthy breakfasts from nine in the morning and in the evening, we offer a beautifully crafted dinner menu until ten. Enjoy a great lunch Monday through Friday, and at the weekend come and relax in our comfortable new booths to enjoy a fresh cooked brunch and crafted cocktails or a bottle of wine with family and friends.
What 99 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
SO
StephO
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 17 September 2020
Overall2food1service5ambience4

Food was below average. Staff very attentive. Just the food was below average.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
5 reviews
Dined on 14 September 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Lovely staff accommodated is even we were a bit late. Helped with kids and looked after us very well.

LK
LucindaK
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely place, I think it is going to become my new haunt.

DC
DanielC
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Buttermilk chicken on the burger not as big as it used to be. Skimping on the portions.

M
Moody
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Great food at lunch time in very relaxed environment

B
Brid
London
1 review
Dined on 27 August 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great place to meet friends. Lovely staff. Very safe place to meet.
Good food.

F
Fidelma
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 23 August 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience3

Very pleasant occasion, highly recommended. Service was prompt and friendly, food was excellent.

C
Celly
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall2food1service3ambience1

The food was very poor quality - greasy & over cooked. The waitress was very good but bookings were very quiet so not her toughest night at work. Her manager was very rude to her & to us, pushing her to get us to leave & finish shortly after 10 when we arrived at 8. I would not recommend this restaurant - they could have made a much better effort to be more welcoming given the low numbers present but it was clear each course was rushed and they wanted to close. No love or passion in the food presented.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

All good, food good service very good - happy to recommend

TH
TomH
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 2 February 2020
Overall1food2service2ambience3

Monthly visitors, our experience at the weekend was very poor, food not at a decent standard, chips tasted reheated and wrong order brought out. Wont be going back.

f
foodfinder
Richmond
10 reviews
Dined on 26 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Worth a drive out from center city Dublin...really cute family friendly place with great food. The bar area is well designed and fun. The waitresses were all very friendly and efficient. Really liked the burgers. Hard to find an american style burger in this area ... these are great! Lots of choices of food for everyone. Lover the little front bakery and coffeeshop...yum.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 3 February 2020

Hey Foodfinder! Lovely to read such a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to post it. I'll spread the word to the team throughout the building and we'll keep up the good work. Hope you'll visit us again soon. Best, Aimee.

Report
KB
KittyB
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 19 January 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience4

Another great meal

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 22 January 2020

Thanks for the great review kitty!

Report
LH
LouiseH13
Dublin
7 reviews
Dined on 16 January 2020
Overall3food1service3ambience5

Was delighted to have booked a table. However stale crossiants is just not good enough

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 22 January 2020

Hi Louise, Thank you for your review. You're right, stale pastries aren't good enough. I'll make sure to pass along your feedback to the deli team. We hope to have you with us again soon. Best regards, Dave

Report
DO
DelmarO
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 30 December 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Good food and service

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 5 January 2020

Hi Delmar! Thanks so much for the great rating and review! Hope to see you in again soon Best Dave

Report
EK
ElmaK
London
2 reviews
Dined on 21 December 2019
Overall2food3service1ambience3

Table not great, a bit to the side and away from the main restaurant. Food mixed. Service really poor, pleasant staff but slow and had to be reminded about requests.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 26 December 2019

Hi ElmaK, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am sorry your visit did not meet your expectations and please be assured we have taken your comments on board. My hope is that you have not been deterred from another visit with us. If you would like to discuss further please feel free to contact me at merrion@unioncafe.ie. Many thanks Dave

Report
l
local
1 review
Dined on 18 December 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Disappointed as it was overshadowed by the fact that the manager without being asked presented the bill to the table at about 10:10pm and said he needed to close off his machine. That was the first time that has ever happened and could have been handled so different, by even asking, would you mind if brought over the bill etc etc but it was just blonked on the table.
All local to area so it definitely left a sting with us all.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 23 December 2019

Hi CharlesM, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, feedback, especially from our local customers is valued extremely highly by us here at Union Cafe Mount Merrion. We pride ourselves on our standards of customers service which is why I find your comments quite alarming. Please be assured the matter is being addressed and I am confident a repeat experience is unlikely. If you would like to discuss further please feel free tom contact me at merrion@unioncafe.ie, Kind regards Dave

Report
j
jinks101
London
2 reviews
Dined on 14 December 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Had a nice Xmas Brunch . Nice food and nice staff. I would go back again.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 18 December 2019

Hi jinks101, Thanks for the positive feedback. Hope to have you with us again soon. Best, Aimee.

Report
K
Katieh
1 review
Dined on 8 December 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Great service
Lovely menu
Really nice setting

€3 for tea is very expensive
Only x1 slice of toast for breakfast would have liked two

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 18 December 2019

Hi Katieh, Thanks for the great feedback, much appreciated. Have passed on your pricing/toast points to the relevant people and we take all feedback seriously. Hope to have you back with us again soon. Best, Aimee.

Report
A
Annecorc
Toronto
5 reviews
Dined on 7 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Steaks were really good

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 18 December 2019

Brilliant! Have passed that on to our Head Chef and his team. Thanks for the review, Aimee.

Report
S
Suddsy
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 7 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Staff were lovely. Good value for money. Food was well presented. Lovely greeting at the door. Had diner and breakfast there. Will return.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 18 December 2019

Lovely Suddsy, great to hear the effort is noticed. We are delighted with your review and will pass it on to the team to keep it up. See you back here soon we hope, Aimee.

Report
L
Linda
1 review
Dined on 1 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a lovely meal here on Sunday, we were looked after by a manager Katie and she was nothing short of excellent. She was very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. All of us enjoyed our food and service was very quick despite the place being busy. The events put on for kids for the day were a really nice touch and my son had a great time. Would definitely recommend and will definitely be back!

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 9 December 2019

Hi Linda, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. It sounds like the face painter and cookie decorating was a kit with your gang. Please do recommend us - we would love that. Thanks again, Aimee.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 30 November 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Staff were amazing !

Organised a bday cake the week before .. and the staff all came out and made it that special .

Thanks guys

Thanks a mill.

C

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 9 December 2019

Hi C, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review. We're delighted we could help make the Birthday so special. Hope to have you and the gang back again soon for more celebrations. Best, Aimee.

Report
SA
SamanthaA
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on 27 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went as a family for a family birthday. Food and service was excellent. I had put a note that it was granny’s birthday on the booking and the staff came over after our meal with a birthday cake singing happy birthday. A lovely touch. Thank you x

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 28 October 2019

Hi Samantha, Thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We absolutely love having families in to celebrate such important occasions and get a huge kick out of giving great service to such a lovely group. We hope to have you back with us again soon. Best, Aimee.

Report
OR
OrlaR
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 6 October 2019
Overall2food2service3ambience3

I visit union cafe in church town regularly so we expected the same level of high standard but sadly it doesn’t live up to the mark .The portion sizes were smaller .The food was poorly presented and my own dish was cold .The burger bun felt like it had been in the fridge !

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 9 October 2019

Hi OrlaR, Thank you for your constructive feedback, please be assured the concerns you have raised are being addressed by our kitchen management team so as to ensure consistency across our brand. Please feel free to provide a few details like date. time, items purchased etc. to us at merrion@unioncafe.ie, so we can look in to it in more depth. My sincere hope is that you have not been deterred from another visit with us here in Mount Merrion, Kind regards Dave

Report
E
Emilie
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 6 October 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience2

Unfortunately, it did not live up to expectations. At first we were seated next to children who where screaming so incredibly loudly it was crazy, almost as if they were having a screaming competition. Not the restaurants fault, but we had to ask to move as the parents thought their children screeching was ok. Once we moved it improved but everyone around us was waiting a long time for drinks - ours arrived cold. However, food arrived quite fast. My Irish breakfast was tasty but quite pricey (and if I am being picky, soda bread is a bit odd to have with it, regular toast would be much better) and my partner's "buttermilk pancakes with crispy bacon and maple syrup" were very bland - pancakes with definitely not crispy bacon on the side with syrup in a plastic bottle, with quite a high price tag.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 9 October 2019

Hi Emilie, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am sorry to read of your cold drinks and of the loud atmosphere at the time of your visit. Please feel free to mail us at merrion@unioncafe.ie with a few more details so I can investigate the reasons in more depth and ensure a repeat occurrence does not happen again. Be assured I have passed on your feedback concerning the food to the kitchen management team whom I know are taking it into consideration. Best, Dave

Report
GR
vipGerardoR
Dublin
17 reviews
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Nice place and friendly staff. The food was nice, good portions, and not pricey.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 10 September 2019

Hi, Many thank for your rating and review. I have passed your feedback on to the team who were delighted to read it! We hope to see you in again with us in the near future. Warm regards Dave

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Can we try not knock it down ? That would be nice

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 10 September 2019

Hi, Thank you for your feedback, Regards Dave

Report
G
Grabar71
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience2

For evening dining it’s not great, lighting way too bright and not good atmosphere, very quiet . Waiter wasn’t great just plonked drinks down on edge of table didn’t hand them out. Handy location next to the pub though

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 10 September 2019

Hi Grabar71 Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your visit with us last night. Please be assured we are taking the concerns you have raised on board and will make every effort to address. Much appreciated Dave

Report
D
David72
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Went we went for a romantic meal and it didn’t look like a restaurant Evening .... no candles or knife and fork’s on the table I wine glasses
I just like a brunch place for the day lovely evening .
So we walked out

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 10 September 2019

HI David72, Thank you for your review. Please be assured we take all feedback very seriously and we view it an opportunity to improve our guests experience. In the evening we do not put candles or wine glasses on the tables as we provide the glass with the wine as ordered. I am quite alarmed to read that there was no cutlery on the table however, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you again and my sincere hope is that you might visit us again in the future, Warm regards Dave

Report
NE
NealE
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2019
Overall2food1service2ambience2

Its a shame the food isnt better. It is a nice location and the staff were ok. I had what was described as a southern fried chicken burger but it was very disappointing. My mums sirloin was the worse steak weve ever had in a restaurant. I suppose the amount of empty tables at peak time saturday night tells the story.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 30 September 2019

Hi NealE, Thanks for leaving a review, and we are sorry your food wasn't up to scratch. We take the feedback seriously had have passed this onto the Kitchen. We hope you might come back and have a better experience as we have put great effort into making improvements here. Thanks, Aimee.

Report
B
vipBill
New England
3 reviews
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall2food3service1ambience3

Waited 45 mins for a lunch order. Very disorganized

Not recommended for lunch unless you have plenty of time

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 11 August 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Staff ever so friendly and kind. Thanks

EB
EllenB
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for lunch and the menu had great choices.We had a little girl and she got colours and paper to keep her busy.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 17 July 2019

Hi EllenB, Thank you for your feedback, hope we will see you back soon. Vladimir

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 16 June 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Father’s Day

MN
MaryN
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 17 May 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience3

The venue was very loud with a lot of children running around. The food was nice but not at the same standard as the Beacon restaurant.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 20 May 2019

Dear MaryN Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your recent visit. We are a child friendly restaurant and with the park & playground directly across the street we do get a lot of little visitors with their families. I'm happy you enjoyed the food, and my colleagues in The Beacon will be very glad to hear you say they beat us on standards this time round. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Fiona

Report
NH
NH12
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall1food1service4ambience3

Miniscule steak in the cold steak sandwich. Pity as the service was good.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 29 April 2019

Dear NH12 We appreciate getting feedback on food and service here at Union Cafe. As your waitress got you a new Steak Sandwich and a complimentary pint to wash it down with, we hoped this might have made up for the below-standards sandwich. We do weigh every steak at 6oz but will pass on your feedback to the kitchen and hope to see you again soon. Fiona

Report
JS
JaSS
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 21 April 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience1

Overpriced food - empty restaurant but took 40 mins to serve us, a small group.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear JaSS Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to Union Cafe. I am sorry to hear it took 40minutes to serve, we had an unexpected busy weekend, usually Easter would be a quiet time for us. This is not the service that we strive to achieve here and for this I apologise. Although the restaurant may have looked empty, we had 32 full tables of people sitting outside in the sunny weather also ordering food & drinks. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Fiona

Report
CC
CCR19
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 13 April 2019
Overall4food3service1ambience4

Family friendly atmosphere but service was too slow with small children. There were plenty of servers but food was lukewarm when it finally got to the table.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear CCR19 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit. I apologise that the service was slow on the day you visited us and hope you brought it to the attention of the manager on duty who would have dealt with this immediately. This is not the standard service we aim to provide and hope that we can prove this to you if you give us another chance. Hope to welcome you back sometime soon. Fiona

Report
m
mixtwitch
London
1 review
Dined on 11 April 2019
Overall2food1service2ambience4

I was meeting some friends in the area, so we all met up for lunch. Two of us ordered the lasagne, and both lasagnes arrived half-filling a metal dish - which looked odd, but they hadn't apologised for anything, so we assumed that this was standard. The lasagne itself was not great, but the main issue was that the lasagne is normally an entire dish (confirmed by a friend who ordered one for lunch two days later and sent us a photo of it filling the dish). So the Union Cafe split single a lasagne between two of us without telling us. Disgraceful behaviour.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 23 April 2019

Dear mixtwitch Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to Union Cafe. I am sorry that the food you had ordered didn't meet your expectations. We have currently changed a few items on our menu and I can assure you we would not cut portions in half as we have strict serving portions. If you would like to send me an email directly I can look into this matter further. I will await your email and hope to hear from you soon fiona@unioncafe.ie Fiona

Report
EM
EoinM
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Happy to recommend as food was very tasty and fresh. Very expensive for what it was though. Service was a bit slow which was a surprise given that it wasn't all that busy when we were there.

Union Café - Mount Merrion
Responded on 8 April 2019

Dear EoinM Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit to Union Cafe. I'm sorry to hear the service was a little slow and I am currently looking into why this was. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the food and we hope to welcome you back again sometime soon. Fiona

Report

FAQs

Union Café - Mount Merrion is rated 4.1 stars by 99 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.