Vardo

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
260 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
International

Top tags:

Good Vegetarian Options
Sitting in the heart of Duke of York Square in Chelsea, Vardo is all about 'no boundaries'. Inspired by the travelling wagon spanning the globe collecting produce, spices and influence along the way, we're taking things back to basics with the menu. There's plenty of low and slow cooking techniques, with carefully sourced ingredients from across the UK with a global influence and to compliment, there will be lots of tasty drinks on offer, all influenced by the sensory journey of the silk-road, with spices sourced from East to West.
What 260 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
AP
AngelaP
London
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I went for a special ocassion las Sunday. The put me exactly in the area I requested. There were a misunderstanding in the order, and they recover very quickly. It was a smooth service. The atmosphere is perfect. I ordered also something that was not in the menu, and they were very flexible. Just good things.

Vardo
Responded 4 hours ago

Hi AngelaP, Many thanks for taking time to review. Glad you had a fab time and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Storm

Report
LM
LukaszM
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Vardo
Responded 4 hours ago

Thanks LukaszM! Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Storm

Report
JB
JnsB
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Slow and rude sevice. :( Also noted this to the managers on site.

Vardo
Responded 4 hours ago

Hi JnsB, Many thanks for taking time to review. It appears we missed the mark on this occasion. This certainly isn't the service we expect to be giving. Do feel free to pop me an email for some feedback and work out where we went wrong/need to improve. Best Storm storm@caravanrestaurants.co.uk

Report
RN
RennyN
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food5service3ambience5

The food was great however the service wasn’t! They forgot to bring anything we asked for so we had to keep reminding them. The ambience was great, would recommend.

Vardo
Responded 4 hours ago

Hi RennyN, Many thanks for your review! It seems we missed the mark on this occasion and apologies for that. It would be great to get some feedback if you have the time? Do feel free to pop me an email so we can figure out where to improve. Best Storm storm@caravanrestaurants.co.uk

Report
HC
HopeC
New York Area
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Delicious food and a lovely atmosphere, even with all the careful health and safety measures in place

Vardo
Responded 6 hours ago

Thanks HopeC! Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Storm

Report
BK
vipBettinaK
London
13 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food3service5ambience5

the atmosphere was great. The menu was a bit all over the place.

Vardo
Responded 4 hours ago

Hi BettinaK, Many thanks for your review! I'm glad the atmosphere was fab- our menu is a mixture of well travelled yummy dishes from around the globe, we don't stick to one particular cuisine which may be a tad confusing to some so noted to make this a little clearer! Hopefully see you again soon Best Storm

Report
CM
CeileighM
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food4service2ambience3

The staff were lovely but the host was extremely rude. It says when booking there are no reserved tables outside but yet there were reserved signs everywhere. The food was very good though.

Vardo
Responded 4 hours ago

Hi CeileighM, Many thanks for taking time to review! You are correct, we don't take reservations for our outside sections as this is weather dependant, however we do try our best to accommodate outside bookings with notes for requesting table outside. Please do let me know if you would like to re visit us and we will try our best to secure you a table outside. Best wishes Storm

Report
J
Joeambrose
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic place to eat nice mix of people and The most amazing top drawer waiters fantastic people

Vardo
Responded 8 hours ago

Thanks Joeambrose! Hopefully see you again soon. Best Storm

Report
P
Paulyne
London
5 reviews
Dined on 27 July 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Love this whole group. It was the first time at Vardo though and didn't disappoint.

Vardo
Responded 8 hours ago

Thanks Paulyne! Really glad you enjoyed everything! See you again soon. Best Storm

Report
L
vipLuke
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 26 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Pleasantly surprised at how delicious the food was.

Vardo
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Luke! So great to hear! Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Storm

Report
h
viphiggi46
London
16 reviews
Dined on 25 July 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We ate at Vardo early saturday eve not long after re-opening after lockdown, it was still pleasantly busy, very well laid out for Covid and general ambience - no boring corners. It's a shame the weather wasn't better, as windows were all shut but still great people watching. Service was friendly, not at all snooty, as you might expect in this area. The food was very similar to Caravan, good selection of veggie stuff, although I thought the Labneh dish was a bit overpowering with saltyish spice. Wine reasonably priced for the area. Would recommend - especially if you can get a nice day.

Vardo
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Higgi46! Thanks so much for your review! Look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully fingers crossed for better weather! Best Storm

Report
IJ
ImogenJ
London
1 review
Dined on 25 July 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience4

The food was lovely but the service was average. When we managed to speak to someone, all of the staff were lovely, but we had to try and find someone almost every time we needed something/wanted to order which was disappointing

Vardo
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Imogen, Many thanks for taking time to review! It would be great to get some feedback from you re service and where we went wrong/ need to improve. Please do feel free to email me when you can! Best Storm storm@caravanrestaurants.co.uk

Report
AS
AmyS
1 review
Dined on 24 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent choice of seating both inside and outside. Inside very open and airy. Food was excellent. Both the pizza and grain salad with salmon was superb. Very friendly service and will definitely return for lunch again soon.

Vardo
Responded 6 days ago

Thanks AmyS, Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Storm

Report
RD
RickyD
1 review
Dined on 21 July 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Have worked past Vardo's on numerous occasions, but had wrongly identified it as a snack venue. Having enjoyed a very long lunch at the venue I now realise that Vardo's menu caters for all dining requirements. The menu is eclectic, mediterranean and ideal for the vegetarian palette. I really enjoyed the crispy jamon wisely our waiter recommended a side dish of rice to wipe up the liquid. Unfortunately, I also had to change my choice of dessert which also wasn't on the menu, but the alternative was perfectly acceptable.

Vardo specialises in their range of cocktails and aperitifs, but they do also have a comprehensive wine list, and if I was going to make a criticism it would be the complete lack of wine knowledge demonstrated by the staff. This apart, is is very worth visiting.

Vardo
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Ricky, Many thanks for taking time to review! Would be great to discuss this further with you if you have the time. Please do feel free to email me with any feedback you have! Regards Storm storm@caravanrestaurants.co.uk

Report
IC
vipIndulgenceChaser
London
58 reviews
Dined on 17 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great setting, especially with the glass walls/windows down. Delicious food and cocktails, and a good selection of wines by the glass or 500ml carafe. Friendly service.

MT
MelinaT
London
1 review
Dined on 16 July 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Great food and service. Lovely location and atmosphere. Would definitely return!

E
Eleanor8
London
2 reviews
Dined on 15 July 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

It was very disappointing. The service was poor in the beginning as the staff stood around gossiping but then hit better. The food was disappointing - we all had bowls and pizza. The bowls were not great. Mine actually arrived with no dressing. Put it this way - only one person out of 4 finished the meal. I went before lockdown and it was fine. Not so now

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
7 reviews
Dined on 13 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very friendly and efficient service. Great food and atmosphere

AH
AnnieH
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Good food , somewhat overpriced but expected for the location. Extremely attentive staff . Wide window/ doors a handy addition for current covid situation.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Kent
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Birthday Dinner

OT
OpenTable Diner
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 12 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The ambiance in the restaurant is elegant and airy. A few of us there for breakfast were very pleased with the quality of food and the service. Ooo and coffee to write home about.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 11 July 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience4

Excellent fun

Report
AD
AshleighD
Baltimore
3 reviews
Dined on 10 July 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience5

Great location, central to Chelsea. Nice food options and good ambience, but the outside seating area service levels were not very good when we went. Granted, it was a busy Friday afternoon shortly after opening, but it took 15 minutes to place our drinks order (only because we flagged down a server to do so), and the rest of the dining experience followed the delayed timeframes as well, taking a long time to order. But we weren't in a rush so it wasn't a big deal. Overall had a good evening at the restaurant. Nice menu and very good location.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 10 July 2020
Overall3food2service2ambience5

Food was quite disappointing and service was rather slow. Loved the central location in duke of York Square and the overall vibe of the place. Would not go there for food again though.

v
victoriah
London
1 review
Dined on 9 July 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

lovely place to sit - gorgeous design, charming staff and lovely ambience.

CG
ClaireG
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Dined on 8 July 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great place for supper, beautifully designed, good attention to social distancing - we will definitely be back, my favourite place in Sloane Square by far

SH
SarahH
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Lovely airy setting, excellent menu, super evening

Vardo
Responded on 9 July 2020

Thanks SarahH! Look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Storm

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 5 July 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience5

Toilets bit grubby, slow service but excellent for lunch whilst shopping, small plates were delish!

Vardo
Responded on 9 July 2020

Thankyou! Noted re the toilets will pass onto the team. Hopefully see you soon. Regards Storm

Report
JT
JemmaT
London
2 reviews
Dined on 5 July 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

A really great experience, fun atmosphere without being too noisy, food was delicious and we were very well looked after by the team at Vardo. Would definitely return.

Vardo
Responded on 9 July 2020

Thanks JemmaT! Hopefully see you again soon! Have a fab day. Best Storm

Report
V
vipVictoria
Dorset
1 review
Dined on 5 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food and friendly service. It was great to see your covid protocols in place. Will be back!

Vardo
Responded on 9 July 2020

Thanks Victoria! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Storm

Report
J
Jeandot
London
9 reviews
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great as always. They changed our table no problem which was the only criticism.

Vardo
Responded on 9 July 2020

Hi Jeandot, Thanks so much for taking time to review. Hopefully see you again soon. Regards Storm

Report
CO
ChristinaO
London
3 reviews
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Food was amazing Staff were lovely but very little attention given to distancing. Reception staff hugging customers on arrival!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
10 reviews
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall3food5service4ambience5

Lovely place for a friends meet up or just relax after a shopping spree

Vardo
Responded on 9 July 2020

Thanks! Hopefully see you again soon. Regards Storm

Report
AE
AmyE
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Beautiful meal with lovely friendly staff. The open windows meant it felt very safe from covid

Vardo
Responded on 9 July 2020

Thanks AmyE! See you again soon. Regards Storm

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on 15 March 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Unique and beuatiful modern locale, original menu with noce casual and fusion options, but food quality and execution a bit average for the prices, service ok. Music loud, eclectic, a bit annoying, but overall a good casual place for a bite in the area. Perhaps the woderful locale raises too much expectations...

Vardo
Responded on 9 July 2020

Many thanks for taking time to review! Hopefully well see you again soon. Regards Storm

Report
T
vipTdil
London
15 reviews
Dined on 11 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely staff, delicious food.

Vardo
Responded on 9 July 2020

Thanks Tdil! Hopefully see you soon! Regards Storm

Report
LL
LadyLP
Cornwall
4 reviews
Dined on 11 March 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

First time at Vardo, service was great- really helpful with the menu and advice on ordering as we decided to share small plates and we did not over order. Food is great, a great place for lunch with friends or dinner after work. I’m coming back again very soon!

Vardo
Responded on 9 July 2020

Thanks LadyLP! Look forward to seeing you soon! Regards Storm

Report
JP
JuliaP
Liverpool
3 reviews
Dined on 10 March 2020
Overall3food2service2ambience3

We had to send back a salad as the dressing was unpalatable. Our table was is bright sunlight and uncomfortable, we could not move as the restaurant was full. The service was slow

Vardo
Responded on 9 July 2020

Hi JuliaP, Many thanks for your review! Shame you didn't think the food was appealing and table was uncomfortable. Would be great to get some feedback on this should you have time. Do feel free to pop me an email. Regards Storm storm@caravanrestaurants.co.uk

Report
KE
KEC5055
London
1 review
Dined on 10 March 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

I love dining at this restaurant; excellent staff who are always very friendly and welcoming, great atmosphere and I particularly love the huge windows - makes the restaurant so light and airy and most importantly, delicious food which in the main is very competitively priced. I would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

Vardo
Responded on 9 July 2020

Thanks KEC5055! Hopefully see you again soon. Regards Storm

Report
t
toast
London
1 review
Dined on 9 March 2020
Overall1food3service1ambience2

The service needs to improve massively! I can't understand how such a good chain (love Caravan!), that has invested so much in a gorgeous building in a great location does not work sort out the service issue. We got mixed orders, waited for a really long time and got served by at least 5 different people in an hour.

FAQs

Vardo does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo.

Vardo is rated 4.4 stars by 260 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.