Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Oxford/Oxfordshire
  4. Oxford
  5. Oxford
Ashmolean Rooftop Restaurant, Oxford, Oxfordshire

Ashmolean Rooftop Restaurant

4.1
4.1
3277 Reviews
£26 to £40
British
A celebration of food and wine alongside art and culture, the Ashmolean Rooftop Restaurant provides the perfect setting for any occasion. Dine in our bright, airy restaurant or on our spectacular rooftop terrace, taking in the view.

Open daily, join us for lunch from 11:30am to 2:30pm or Afternoon Tea/ Sharing boards from 3pm until 6pm (subject to availability)

After you have enjoyed your delicious meal, take a walk around the Museum. Soak in the rich tapestry of art and world famous collections of Egyptian mummies and contemporary art, telling historic stories across cultures.

Gluten free, vegetarian and vegan options are available in the restaurant. Please let us know in advance of your visit of any additional dietary requirements.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 18 times today
Experiences are available.

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Elegant
  • Price
    £26 to £40
  • Cuisines
    British, European
  • Hours of Operation
    Lunch Daily 11:30–14:30 Afternoon Tea Daily 15:00–18:00
  • Phone number
    01865 553823
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress Code
    Smart Casual
  • Catering
    Our on-site caterers can caterer for any event from 50-150 guests: canapé receptions, gala dinners and corporate events, either within the Ashmolean Museum or at a venue of your choice.<br /><br />
  • Private party facilities
    There is a private dining room and the restaurant is also available to hire privately. Please contact the restaurant team via email on Ashmolean@benugo.com, who will be happy to help you.
  • Area
    Oxford
  • Parking Details
    It&#39;s located in central Oxford, on Beaumont Street. It is a short walk from Oxford Train Station. Parking is available on St. Giles or Goucester GreenThere are 5 Park and Ride bus services in the centre. 3 of the 5 services currently run from Oxford centre until around 11pm. The Park and Rides are clearly signposted as you enter the city.
  • Public Transit
    A 10 minute walk from Oxford train station, and very close to Oxford bus station.There are 5 Park and Ride bus services in the centre. 3 of the 5 services currently run from Oxford centre until around 11pm. The Park and Rides are clearly signposted as you enter the city.
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Experiences

  • Afternoon Tea

    £28.50 per person

    Multiple dates available
    Discover a signature Afternoon tea in the Ashmolean Museum! Freshly baked Ashmolean tea infused raisin scone, delicate prepared finger sandwiches, delicious cakes and spectacular view- what better way to spend your afternoon? Please make us aware of any dietary requirement at least 48h prior to your afternoon tea booking at ashmolean@benugo.com Please note the restaurant closes at 5pm.
    Afternoon Tea photo

What 3,277 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.1
4.1 based on recent ratings
  • 4Food
  • 4.1Service
  • 4.2Ambience
  • 3.8Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Oxford/Oxfordshire

    Healthy

  • Oxford/Oxfordshire

    Great for outdoor dining

  • Oxford/Oxfordshire

    Great for scenic views

  • Oxford/Oxfordshire

    Vegetarian-friendly

  • Oxford/Oxfordshire

    Most Booked

  • Oxford

    Great for brunch

  • Oxford

    Good for business meals

  • Oxford

    Good for business meals

  • Oxford

    Healthy

  • Oxford

    Vegetarian-friendly

  • Oxford

    Most Booked

3,271 Reviews
  1. JaneyH

    Liverpool

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Our experience was made special by our lovely and attentive waitress. A great day out for us. Thank you.

    Is this helpful?

  2. JaneF

    Oxford

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 4 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Very good food . We both really enjoyed it. In fact it was the best restaurant meal we had had in a very long time.

    Is this helpful?

  3. judyw

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Menu is short and sweet but with an excellent choice for plant and meat lovers. Very friendly and efficient staff.

    Is this helpful?

  4. FilS

    Oxford

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 19 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Good food and service after a slow start, would go there again
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear FilS, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed the good food and service, despite the slow start. We appreciate your understanding and hope to provide a smoother experience when you visit us again. Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  5. MargaretD

    Oxford

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 19 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The food was delicious and innovative, using a range of fresh ingredients in an attractive way. The vegan choices were excellent but my companion regretted the lack of English mustard to accompany his English sausages.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear MargaretD, Thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our delicious and innovative dishes featuring fresh ingredients. We're glad to hear that you found our vegan choices excellent. We apologize for the oversight regarding the lack of English mustard for the English sausages and appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable dining experience! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  6. AlisonF

    Worcestershire

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 18 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Lively space, bright, with views across nearby rooftops. Service excellent - very friendly efficient staff. Food tasty, Eve's pudding and custard not as warm as would expect. Overall experience - very enjoyable, stimulating place to dine in.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear AlisonF, Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your compliments on our lively atmosphere, excellent service, and tasty food. Apologies for the temperature issue with the Eve's pudding and custard. We'll address it promptly. We're glad you found your overall experience very enjoyable and stimulating. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  7. JaneB

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Such a beautiful light airy room. Great welcome, delicious food that arrived quickly. Perfect before going to an exhibition at the Ashmolean.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear JaneB, Thank you for your kind words! We're thrilled you enjoyed the beautiful, airy ambiance and received a great welcome. Delighted you found the food delicious and served promptly. We're glad to have been part of your perfect pre-exhibition experience at the Ashmolean. Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  8. ChristinaE

    Yorkshire

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 February 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    Sadly a poor experience, food was very disappointing, ambiance was poor very little soft furnishings so not easy to hear each other. Service was ok but not that friendly, we were hoping for alot more at a famous museum.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear ChristineE, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we're sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectations. We will take your feedback into consideration and strive to improve both the quality of our food and the atmosphere to ensure a more enjoyable visit in the future. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations should you decide to give us another chance. Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  9. JoannaB

    Oxford

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Delicious vegan food. Nice to eat looking over the rooftops.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear JoannaB, Thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our delicious vegan options. We're glad you appreciated the view over the rooftops while dining. We hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable experience! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  10. LucyU

    London

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    Some of the key parts of my main course were not fresh…the Parmesan crisp was really not crisp and the pasta was clumped together and not al dente. Service was friendly and efficient.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear LucyU, We apologise for the issues you encountered with your main course. We'll address the freshness of ingredients and the preparation of the pasta. Thank you for acknowledging our friendly and efficient service. We aim to ensure a better dining experience next time. Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  11. ADSOxford

    London

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Superb location. Busy at peak times but staff tried hard and did an excellent job with a friendly spirit.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our superb location. We appreciate your understanding during peak times and are pleased to hear that our staff made every effort to ensure excellent service with a friendly spirit. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  12. MaryR

    Cornwall

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Interesting menu and excellent food. Lovely place to sit in rooftop restaurant
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear MaryR, Thank you for your feedback! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our interesting menu and found the food excellent. We're glad you appreciated the lovely atmosphere of our rooftop restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  13. DavidF

    Oxford

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    4 of us dined, good variety, well presented and fast service. Meals interesting and tasty. Only the coffee was poor, being sour and pretty average. Overall, staff excellent, ambience good, value reasonable. recommended.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear DavidF, Thank you for your review! We're pleased to hear that you and your party enjoyed the good variety of well-presented meals with fast service. We apologize for the disappointment with the coffee; we'll address this issue promptly. We appreciate your compliments on our excellent staff, good ambience, and reasonable value. Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to your next visit Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  14. Beina

    Glasgow

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Good service and nice atmosphere but the food was bellow average for the price. We ordered a brownie and it was very dry. The pasta dish was nicely presented but not a lot of flavor. The appetizer was nice though. The coffe was abysmal, I've never left coffe before. Double espresso and it was extremely sour! Overall nice atmosphere but the food needs to be improved
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear Beina, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're pleased to hear that you found our service attentive and enjoyed the atmosphere. However, we apologise that the food did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your specific comments on the brownie and pasta dish and will address these issues with our kitchen team to ensure better quality and flavor. Your feedback is valuable, and we hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  15. BridgetB

    Gloucestershire

    4 reviews

    4.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 16 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Smart modern restaurant on the top floor of the Ashmolean Museum. We ate after a private view, the service was prompt, friendly and efficient. The food was tasty, my vegetarian choices were particularly good.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear BridgetB, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed our smart, modern restaurant on the top floor of the Ashmolean Museum. It's great to hear that you found the service prompt, friendly, and efficient. We're delighted that you enjoyed the tasty food, especially the vegetarian options. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  16. ChristinaB

    Kent

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent service in a delightful rooftop setting. The food was delicious. Glad that the waiting staff were friendly, cheerful and attentive too. A lovely experience.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear ChristinaB, Thank you for your kind words! We're thrilled you enjoyed the excellent service in our delightful rooftop setting. It's great to hear that you found the food delicious and that our waiting staff were friendly, cheerful, and attentive. We're delighted to have provided you with a lovely experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  17. DavidZ

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Delicious food. Spoilt for choice from a great menu. Excellent service - particularly grateful for help with broken lift. Hope it is mended soon
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear DavidZ, Thank you for your feedback! We're delighted you enjoyed the delicious food and had a great selection from our menu. We're also glad our service met your expectations, especially with assistance regarding the broken lift. We're working to get it fixed promptly. Looking forward to your next visit! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  18. RichardH

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    The noise level is very high. There are ways of dampening sound in large rooms. It was also very warm. A combination of solar gain, full house and kitchen?
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 17 February 2024
    Dear RichardH, Thank you for your feedback. We will explore options to address the noise level. Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  19. TonyH

    Oxford

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 15 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Great location, food was amazing, lovely atmosphere.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear TonyH, Thank you for your review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our great location, amazing food, and lovely atmosphere. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another fantastic dining experience! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  20. KathrynH

    Oxford

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 15 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Fantastic and obliging waiter, good food. Highly recommend.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear KathrynH, Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience with our obliging waiter and enjoyed the good food. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  21. JackieP

    Oxford

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 15 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A great experience. The only downside was at the end of service it was difficult to get the server’s attention to pay. But overall my friend and I had a lovely time.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear JackieP, Thank you for your feedback! We're delighted to hear that you had a great experience overall. We apologize for the difficulty in getting the server's attention to pay at the end of the service. Your comment is valuable, and we will work to improve our service flow for a smoother experience. We're glad you and your friend had a lovely time, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  22. OpenTable Diner

    Oxford

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 15 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    It is a shame that lunch is not served outside, but we completely understood why! However, this would make a lovely experience. Especially compared to the hot indoors (on a winter day we are wearing wool and it didn’t help!) It would certainly be a welcome relief to introduce or have a better air-conditioning system. Felt sorry for the staff! The Rooftop Terrace Restaurant would be better named as, the Hot Conservatory Restaurant! The food was absolutely stunning! The staff were amazing and polite and kind. They worked hard and fast. The value was amazing and the food arrived very quickly And beautifully displayed on the plates. Overall incredibly impressed. The only problem is the app! I wanted to look at the menu on the OpenTable app and choose what I wanted ahead of time, but I couldn’t because I am vegetarian and I wasn’t sure which dishes were vegetarian even though some don’t have meat in it, the cheese may have animal Rennit in it. Therefore, I could not choose my dish until I got to the restaurant, a niggle that needs addressing, OpenTable app!! I would like to see the “V” signs on the OpenTable app menu, as well as the actual menu in the restaurant.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Thank you for your feedback! We understand the desire for outdoor lunch and apologize for any discomfort caused by the indoor temperature. We appreciate your recognition of our hardworking staff and the quality of our food. We'll address the air-conditioning issue to ensure a more comfortable dining environment. Regarding the OpenTable app, we'll work on adding clearer indications for vegetarian options. We're glad you enjoyed your overall experience and hope to welcome you back soon.

    Is this helpful?

  23. Kate

    Munich

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 14 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Had a very nice Afternoon Tea at the Rooftop Restaurant. Good choice of food !
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear Kate, Thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear that you had a very nice Afternoon Tea at our Rooftop Restaurant and enjoyed the good choice of food. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another delightful experience! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  24. MartinL

    Berkshire

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    signage within the museum was poor. With one lift out of action it was hard to find out how to get to the restaurant. The restaurant was extremely busy but the service was fine and we had a nice meal.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear MartinL, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by poor signage and the out-of-action lift, which made it difficult for you to find the restaurant. We appreciate your understanding and are glad to hear that despite the challenges, you enjoyed a nice meal with satisfactory service. We'll work on improving the signage to ensure a smoother experience for our guests in the future. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  25. JohnP

    Buckinghamshire

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Mostly excellent and innovative dishes. Recommended.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 17 February 2024
    Dear JohnP, We're delighted to hear that you found our dishes excellent and innovative! Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to serving you again soon! Kind regards, Rooftop restaurant

    Is this helpful?

  26. AdrianL

    Oxford

    5 reviews

    4.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 14 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Nice environment with a good menu. Service was friendly and efficient.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear AdrianL, Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the nice environment and found our menu appealing. We appreciate your compliments on our friendly and efficient service. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  27. MichaelM

    Oxford

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 13 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    A very attractive roof top restaurant. It serves a good variety of food and the service is efficient and polite.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 17 February 2024
    Dear MichaelM, Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted that you found our rooftop restaurant attractive and enjoyed the variety of food we offer. It's wonderful to hear that you appreciated our efficient and polite service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable dining experience! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  28. ChrisH

    London

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 13 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Love this restaurant when in Oxford. Food is good quality and staff friendly. Can also spend time in museum before and after food
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 17 February 2024
    Dear ChrisH, We're thrilled to hear that you love our restaurant when you're in Oxford! It's wonderful to know that you find our food of good quality and our staff friendly. We're also glad that you enjoy the opportunity to spend time in the museum before and after your meal. Thank you for your kind words, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another enjoyable experience! Kinds Regards,

    Is this helpful?

  29. Nico

    London

    4 reviews

    1.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 12 February 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 3
    I should have sent the food back Necer had such badly cooked or rewarmed pasta Liveless and loveless food and this in a such beautiful location Shame on you chef
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear Nico, We apologise for the disappointing experience you had with the pasta. Your feedback is valuable, and we'll address it with our chef to ensure better quality in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to make it right for you in the future. Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  30. HelenW

    Oxford

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 11 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Overall a very good experience. I would definitely dine there again, especially if I was plannig to see an exhibition.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 17 February 2024
    Dear HelenW, Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted to hear that you had a very good experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back, especially if you're planning to see an exhibition. Your support means a lot to us, and we can't wait to serve you again! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  31. Juliet

    Oxford

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 11 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    The service initially was slow and no enquiry was made as to what drinks we wanted. We ordered Prosecco but our starters arrived first so we cancelled the order and switched to wine. The food was mostly ok but the pate starter was less enjoyable. The sea bass was well cooked and presented. The restaurant is attractive and light and we may try again.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 17 February 2024
    Dear Juliet, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the initial slow service and oversight regarding drinks. We're glad to hear that the sea bass was to your liking and that you found the restaurant attractive. We appreciate your patronage and hope to welcome you back soon for an improved experience. Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  32. maryjane

    London

    9 reviews

    2.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on 11 February 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    We have eaten in the Rooftop Restaurant before but were disappointed in this visit on Sunday for lunch. Unusually for us it seemed like every option was not appealing and indeed one dish, beetroot gnocchi, remained uneaten after tasting one bite. The view and light was lovely, though if there had been heaters we could have eaten outside and enjoyed the sunshine.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 17 February 2024
    Dear Maryjane, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologise that your recent visit to the Rooftop Restaurant fell short of your expectations, especially with the limited appealing options and the disappointing beetroot gnocchi. We appreciate your feedback regarding the lack of heaters for outdoor dining and will consider this for future improvements. . We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you during your next visit. Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  33. PCDC

    Oxford

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 11 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Our party of 5 (4 adults, 1 nine-year-old) had a very enjoyable meal. The only difficulty was that of finding something suitable on the menu for our grandson, who has a gluten intolerance. It took some "creative thinking" on the part of your manager before we eventually were able to find a suitable combination of items. In other words, a child-friendly gluten-free option on the menu would be very helpful.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 17 February 2024
    Dear PCDC, Thank you for your feedback. We'll work on adding more child-friendly gluten-free options to our menu. Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  34. Ladylady

    New York City

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 February 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    Food was not edible. We ordered pheasant and it was as hard as marble. Possibly the worst food I had in 14 years living in uk. Even the puddings, we tried Eve’s pudding and the cheesecake they were stodgy and unpleasant. Custard had big lumps in it. I had friends coming over and it really spoiled the day. We ordered 5 pheasants over 8 dishes so it was quite a disaster as they were all pretty disgusting. ( yes we were asked if we wanted something else and yes we had to beg at the end of price reduction, but review is about food and service mainly so terrible experience)
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 12 February 2024
    Dear Ladylady, We deeply apologize for your disappointing experience. Your feedback regarding the food's quality and service is concerning, and we're committed to addressing it immediately. We truly regret that your special occasion was spoiled and appreciate your honesty. Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  35. KateH

    Berkshire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great lunch, tasty food with kind friendly staff and perfect timing of service. It was very busy with a queue waiting for tables but we had made a reservation so would recommend doing this. Will definitely return.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 12 February 2024
    Dear KateH, Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're delighted you enjoyed your lunch with tasty food and friendly staff. Reservations are recommended, especially during busy times. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  36. ALEXM

    Warwickshire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent service and food was well presented and delicious. Thought there could have been more choice for the mains but overall it was an excellent meal thanks
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 12 February 2024
    Dear AlexM, Thank you for your kind words! We're pleased you enjoyed our excellent service and found the food delicious and well-presented. We'll take your feedback on more mains into consideration. We hope to welcome you back soon for another excellent meal! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  37. rick

    Oxford

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 7 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Service and ambience fine, but the main problem was that the main dish was served lukewarm (and should have been hot). Also no bread offered to go with the starter: why don't British restaurants take a lesson from France in this?
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 12 February 2024
    Dear Rick, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the lukewarm main dish and the oversight with the bread. We'll address these issues to ensure a better experience next time. We appreciate your input. Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  38. CarolT

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 7 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Perfect place for lunch after visiting an exhibition. Really good service even though it was busy but with a nice buzz. Variety of food very interesting.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 12 February 2024
    Dear CarolT, Thank you for your positive review! We're delighted you enjoyed your lunch experience with us after visiting the exhibition. We're glad you found the service top-notch despite the busyness, and we're thrilled you appreciated our variety of interesting food options. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  39. ElizabethL

    London

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 7 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    What a great start(or possibly a finish) to an exhibition visit to the Ashmolean! Eating lunch at noon was great because initially the restaurant was less busy. Service is attentive and friendly and the food, which is delicious, comes quickly. We did not feel rushed in anyway and will certainly return. Important to book as it is very popular
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 12 February 2024
    Dear ElizabethL, We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit to the Ashmolean! Lunch at noon was perfect with attentive, friendly service and delicious food served promptly. Booking ahead is key due to its popularity. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

  40. JacquieH

    Oxford

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 6 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Interesting and imaginative menu including a couple of vegan options. Great views of Oxford skyline.
    Ashmolean Rooftop RestaurantResponded on 12 February 2024
    Dear JacquieH, Thank you for your positive feedback! We're glad you enjoyed our interesting and imaginative menu with vegan options, along with the great views of the Oxford skyline. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Ashmolean Rooftop

    Is this helpful?

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitising

    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Contactless payment available
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

FAQs

Ashmolean Rooftop Restaurant is rated 4.1 stars by 3277 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 18 times today
Experiences are available.
Google Map for Ashmolean Rooftop Restaurant

Beaumont Street, Oxford, Oxfordshire OX1 2PH

Additional information

  • Area
    Oxford
  • Hours of Operation
    Lunch Daily 11:30–14:30 Afternoon Tea Daily 15:00–18:00
  • Price
    £26 to £40
  • Cuisines
    British, European
  • Dining style
    Casual Elegant
  • Dress Code
    Smart Casual
  • Parking Details
    It&#39;s located in central Oxford, on Beaumont Street. It is a short walk from Oxford Train Station. Parking is available on St. Giles or Goucester GreenThere are 5 Park and Ride bus services in the centre. 3 of the 5 services currently run from Oxford centre until around 11pm. The Park and Rides are clearly signposted as you enter the city.
  • Public Transit
    A 10 minute walk from Oxford train station, and very close to Oxford bus station.There are 5 Park and Ride bus services in the centre. 3 of the 5 services currently run from Oxford centre until around 11pm. The Park and Rides are clearly signposted as you enter the city.
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Phone number
    01865 553823
  • Catering
    Our on-site caterers can caterer for any event from 50-150 guests: canapé receptions, gala dinners and corporate events, either within the Ashmolean Museum or at a venue of your choice.<br /><br />
  • Private party facilities
    There is a private dining room and the restaurant is also available to hire privately. Please contact the restaurant team via email on Ashmolean@benugo.com, who will be happy to help you.
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
Rentalcars Logo
OpenTable Logo