Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. London
  4. West End London
  5. Mayfair
Sake no Hana - Permanently Closed, London,

Sake no Hana - Permanently Closed

3.7
3.7
5351 Reviews
£41 and over
Japanese
Sake no Hana bar and restaurant is housed on the first floor of a modernist Grade II listed building in the heart of St James, offering modern Japanese dining.

The a la carte menu provides a variety of hot and cold appetisers, charcoal grill, Toban and Kamameshi dishes, while sushi and sashimi are prepared to order at the 13 seat sushi bar. A carefully selected list of sakes, Japanese whiskeys and other wines, spirits and liqueurs complement the dishes offered in the restaurant.

Sake no Hana’s interiors were designed by esteemed architect Kengo Kuma. The bar features a beautiful futuristic chandelier, offering the perfect space for post work cocktails.

Cloakroom available. ALIPAY and WeChat payment accepted.

Permanently Closed

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Fine Dining

  • Cuisines

    Japanese, Sushi

  • Hours of Operation

    Daily 12:00–16:00 Mon–Wed, Sun 17:00–00:00 Thu–Sat 17:00–01:00

  • Phone number

    020 7925 8988

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress Code

    Smart Casual

  • Executive Chef

    Hideki Hiwatashi

  • Private party facilities

    Sake no Hana offers fine dining Japanese in the heart of St James. Available for group dining and exclusive hires for up to 110 seated or 250 for a cocktail party. The bar, decorated with a huge chandelier, is a beautiful space for private parties of up to 60 guests for a standing canapé event.

  • Private party contact

    The Events team: 020 7927 7028

  • Area

    Mayfair

  • Parking Details

    None

  • Public Transit

    Green Park. Piccadilly Circus.

  • Additional

    Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeaway, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

What 5,351 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

3.7
3.7 based on recent ratings
  • 4.2Food
  • 3.9Service
  • 3.4Ambience
  • 3.4Value

NoiseModerate

Sort by

Filters

  1. N

    Nick

    London

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 5 June 2021

    overall3food5service4ambience3
    Food excellent. Cold on the terrace and no heaters. Food service good. Sadly no drink list to go with the menu. Not so good as previous visits
  2. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    3 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 5 June 2021

    overall2food2service3ambience1
    Booked an inside table, after months of eating outdoors we were looking forward to it, arrived and the staff had moved all seating to outdoors. We were very cold the whole time which affected the experience. The food was ok but overpriced we felt, and a £100 deposit was taken the day prior to us arriving which I wasn’t informed about, asked for a refund to then eventually split the bill. Disappointing!
  3. p

    paperstone

    London

    7 reviews

    4.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 5 June 2021

    overall4food5service4ambience5
    Amazing food as always. Service was great but feels like could be made better with attentiveness and better order taking process. Love the terrace and the setting on a sunny day, can’t wait for it to open indoor.
  4. HW

    HanlieW

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 5 June 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Amazing service and friendly staff who go above and beyond. Food is excellent and the sushi to die for but it’s definitely on the pricey side!
  5. KS

    KrutikaS

    London

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 June 2021

    overall2food5service4ambience3
    So - I don't think anyone can deny that the food here is brilliant. Everything including the cocktails were amazing! However, it is the experience that I had an issue with. The waiter rushed us through our meal - We were in and out in 55 minutes or so. And it wasn't like they were super busy. When you eat an expensive meal like this, you would want to enjoy it, but the waiter was at our table every two minutes to ask if we'd finished the dish or not. I was very intrusive. If there is a time limit on how long you have the table, I would rather them tell us when we enter the restaurant than force us out.
  6. i

    igodelp

    London

    13 reviews

    4.0

    13 reviews

    Dined on 2 June 2021

    overall4food5service5ambience3
    We went for a dinner to the terrace.The terrace has not any decoration and too much comento.I would definitely prefer inside.We were told that they had aircon issues.Anyway.Apart from that fantastic dinner

    Sake no Hana - Permanently ClosedResponded on 4 June 2021Dear igodelp, We appreciate your feedback. It’s great to hear that you loved the food, but it is disappointing to read that your dining experience did not live up your expectations and I must apologise for that. We do hope that the few concerns expressed will not deter you from visiting us again. Sincerely, Annie Hu Thornton Senior Restaurant Manager

  7. o

    ocakes

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 1 June 2021

    overall2food5service1ambience3
    They could’ve done so much better with the service. Discrimination at its finest? Especially with how much i paid. There are so many other restaurants that does better service and much cheaper than theirs.

    Sake no Hana - Permanently ClosedResponded on 4 June 2021Dear ocakes, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Annie Hu Thornton Senior Restaurant Manager

  8. KS

    KSX12345

    London

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 30 May 2021

    overall3food4service1ambience3
    Food was nice but service was very slow!! To be honest there are better Japanese restaurants
  9. T

    Tky74

    London

    7 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 30 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We love this restaurant and have been many times. The food is always incredible and the staff have been super friendly and helpful. If you like sushi, then Sake No Hana is a fabulous choice. We'll be back soon, no doubt
  10. A

    Abcd1234

    Yorkshire

    6 reviews

    1.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 29 May 2021

    overall1food5service5ambience1
    The restaurant was unbearably hot 🥵
  11. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 28 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Very exciting to be back eating in Sake no Hana for Friday lunch after lockdown. Still amazing, fresh food. The black cod and wagyu bentos we went for were out of this world. The sushi excellent as you would expect and also creative - soft shell crab with mango - don’t mind if so do. Service was smooth and staff friendly. One small thing irked me which is asking if you want water and tea at the beginning. If I’d twigged quicker I was going to be charged £10 I would have likely ordered a different drink. I assumed they were as in Japan, free. My bad I suppose. Not bad enough to detract from an amazing meal.
  12. EJ

    EllJ

    London

    14 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    14 reviews

    Dined on 27 May 2021

    overall4food5service5ambience5
    Lovely as always. Looking forward to when all menu back to normal.
  13. b

    bocman

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 26 May 2021

    overall5food4service5ambience5
    Great, the cocktails were absolutely amazing. The food was delicious, a little more generosity for there price would be better. Overall, very good.
  14. SM

    ShelleyM

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 26 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Beautifully presented with gorgeous aromatic flavours
  15. j

    jijim

    London

    3 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 23 May 2021

    overall2food2service4ambience2
    Food was ok not worth the price at all , I’ve been charge for £150 for 3 people in advance , they told me I will get refund in 3-4 days , what a joke ...
  16. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 22 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Excellent service. There was no point during our visit where our glasses were empty or didn't feel attended to. Food was amazing and service friendly and excellent.
  17. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 22 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    As always, the food and service was exceptional. It is a pricey experience though, but well worth it.
  18. J

    James

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 21 May 2021

    overall3food4service2ambience5
    Everything was great, until we asked for a gluten free option on dessert and then the waitress had a tantrum. Most of the food was really good even if it was overpriced. The prawn nigiri tasted like off fish which was a shame as it looked beautiful. All in all, Sake no Hana is more about location, venue and big price tags and less about good food, good service and authenticity. I would go again but it should be half the price.

    Sake no Hana - Permanently ClosedResponded on 23 May 2021Dear James, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take great pride in our cuisine and source our ingredients from the best purveyors. I can assure you that the experience you had with the food and service was not our standard. We have sent your feedback to our team and do hope you will visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Annie Hu Thornton Senior restaurant manager

  19. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 21 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Enjoyed very much being back and eating delicious food. I will definitely be going back again.
  20. J

    Jade

    Kent

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 21 May 2021

    overall3food3service4ambience4
    The location, service and ambience was good. The food was ok for the price, the menu is very limited and for the money you are much better off going to Roka/Zuma.
  21. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    3 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 21 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Really wonderful evening sat at the bar
  22. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 21 May 2021

    overall4food5service5ambience5
    日本食にあまり馴染みのない、イギリス人を接待するには良い店です。店内も料理も洗練されていて素晴らしいです。メニューは紙のメニューを全員分用意してほしいです。また、お手拭きも出て来ればありがたいです。最初に手で枝豆を食べますから、気を使います。
  23. R

    Rajeev

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 19 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Excellent food and service! The food was delicious as was the cocktails!
  24. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    3 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 17 May 2021

    overall4food4service4ambience5
    Good food but price too high!
  25. DG

    DumitruG

    Caribbean

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Perfect Service , Food was great! Staff was very friendly and helpful Amazing atmosphere !
  26. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 May 2021

    overall3food3service1ambience1
    A bit mediocre. Slow service
  27. HW

    HowardW

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We were there on the final day of outside-only dining before rules were relaxed on 17 May. The staff could not have made the experience better. The food (including the miso black cod), as always at Sake No Hana, was excellent and the sake was perfect both in taste and the way it was presented
  28. D

    Didier

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great experience. The food is truly amazing. I would recommend it to any friend.
  29. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 15 May 2021

    overall1food5service1ambience1
    Very disappointed. Waiters kept bringing us wrong food and drinks over priced

    Sake no Hana - Permanently ClosedResponded on 17 May 2021Dear Anonymous, Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. We appreciate the feedback on our service standards. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

  30. ZP

    ZainulP

    London

    4 reviews

    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 15 May 2021

    overall3food3service4ambience2
    The Terrance wasn’t the best for atmosphere. I was shoulder to shoulder with someone. The food compared to other places wasn’t all that for the price.
  31. SS

    ShrutiS

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 May 2021

    overall2food2service2ambience1
    The tables were outside and in cold. The food is overpriced for its value. They made mistakes in the order and in the bill. I've eaten better sushi elsewhere. Do not recommend the place.

    Sake no Hana - Permanently ClosedResponded on 18 May 2021Dear ShrutiS, We regret to hear that you weren’t happy with the service and the food. We take every comment seriously and have passed your notes along to the team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

  32. A

    Amerah

    London

    5 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 14 May 2021

    overall3food3service4ambience3
    Still too cold for outdoor dining they have blankets but no heaters. As for service they are great. Food is not the best lacks taste but everyone has their preference.
  33. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 13 May 2021

    overall1food5service1ambience1
    The restaurant is not equipped for outdoor seating. Freezing cold with no heaters, rain which came through the umbrellas soaking us - especially due to table placement. Extremely wobbly tables and after asking for it to be fixed we got told it would have to be done after the food, so eating was not a pleasant experience. Asked for the bill and it took 15 minutes as the paper was being changed. Heard the table complaining next to us the whole time about how two glasses of wine took over 45 minutes to arrive with only 4 tables occupied in the whole restaurant. General unpleasant demeanour from some of the staff. Outstanding food but unfortunately the experience was disappointing, especially considering this was booked for a special occasion. Will not be returning.

    Sake no Hana - Permanently ClosedResponded on 15 May 2021Dear Anonymous, We regret to hear that you weren’t happy with the service . I can assure you that the experience you had was not our standard. We take every comment seriously and have passed your notes along to the team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

  34. L

    Leonel

    London

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 11 May 2021

    overall1food1service1ambience1
    Some staff members were rude and we felt rushed the whole time. I’m sure the experience inside is better but it was not what you’d expect from a restaurant like that

    Sake no Hana - Permanently ClosedResponded on 12 May 2021Dear Leonel, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I can assure you that the experience you had with the service was not our standard. We have sent your feedback to our team and do hope you will visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre`D

  35. FS

    FoodieS

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 11 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    I was high quality food with good service as usual. The warm Sake we ordered was not as great as we'd wanted but I would still recommend it on an overall experience.
  36. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Love it! Great sushi awesome sake. Lovely staff!!
  37. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    1.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 9 May 2021

    overall1food3service3ambience3
    This is the second time that I come home with a stomach bug

    Sake no Hana - Permanently ClosedResponded on 12 May 2021Dear Anonymous, Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. We appreciate the feedback on the food. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

  38. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    7 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 9 May 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    The location is fantastic both inside and outside, nevertheless I would recommend staying inside. The food is surely the best Asian one you can find in London. Even if the price is high it is completely justified by the very high quality.
  39. A

    Anonymous

    London

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 8 May 2021

    overall2food4service2ambience1
    Sent our order to another table, sat in the cold for up to 2 hours. They offered us 2 deserts as an apology. Decent given I come to this restaurant a lot.

    Sake no Hana - Permanently ClosedResponded on 10 May 2021Dear Guest, Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. We appreciate the feedback on our service standards. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

  40. RA

    RichA

    London

    6 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 8 May 2021

    overall4food5service5ambience4
    Having dined at Hakkasan in Mayfair before, I was hesitant about dining at Sake no Hana. I needn't have been - the service was excellent, polite and very attentive, and the food delicious.

FAQs

Sake no Hana - Permanently Closed does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo and Supper London. Sake no Hana - Permanently Closed also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at 020 7925 8988.

Sake no Hana - Permanently Closed is rated 3.7 stars by 5351 OpenTable diners.

Permanently Closed

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Additional information

  • Area

    Mayfair

  • Hours of Operation

    Daily 12:00–16:00 Mon–Wed, Sun 17:00–00:00 Thu–Sat 17:00–01:00

  • Cuisines

    Japanese, Sushi

  • Dining style

    Fine Dining

  • Dress Code

    Smart Casual

  • Parking Details

    None

  • Public Transit

    Green Park. Piccadilly Circus.

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Executive Chef

    Hideki Hiwatashi

  • Additional

    Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeaway, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

  • Phone number

    020 7925 8988

  • Private party facilities

    Sake no Hana offers fine dining Japanese in the heart of St James. Available for group dining and exclusive hires for up to 110 seated or 250 for a cocktail party. The bar, decorated with a huge chandelier, is a beautiful space for private parties of up to 60 guests for a standing canapé event.

  • Private party contact

    The Events team: 020 7927 7028

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo