Sake no Hana

3.7
5726 reviews
£41 and over
Japanese
Sake no Hana bar and restaurant is housed on the first floor of a modernist Grade II listed building in the heart of St James, offering modern Japanese dining.

The a la carte menu provides a variety of hot and cold appetisers, charcoal grill, Toban and Kamameshi dishes, while sushi and sashimi are prepared to order at the 13 seat sushi bar. A carefully selected list of sakes, Japanese whiskeys and other wines, spirits and liqueurs complement the dishes offered in the restaurant.

Sake no Hana’s interiors were designed by esteemed architect Kengo Kuma. The bar features a beautiful futuristic chandelier, offering the perfect space for post work cocktails.

Cloakroom available. ALIPAY and WeChat payment accepted.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details
What 5726 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.7based on recent ratings
4.2
food
3.8
service
3.2
ambience
3.3
value
Noise · Moderate
59% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
DG
DumitruG
Caribbean
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Perfect Service ,
Food was great!
Staff was very friendly and helpful
Amazing atmosphere !

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall3food3service1ambience1

A bit mediocre. Slow service

HW
HowardW
London
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were there on the final day of outside-only dining before rules were relaxed on 17 May. The staff could not have made the experience better. The food (including the miso black cod), as always at Sake No Hana, was excellent and the sake was perfect both in taste and the way it was presented

D
Didier
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great experience. The food is truly amazing. I would recommend it to any friend.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall1food5service1ambience1

Very disappointed. Waiters kept bringing us wrong food and drinks over priced

Sake no Hana
Responded 16 hours ago

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. We appreciate the feedback on our service standards. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

Report
ZP
ZainulP
London
4 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall3food3service4ambience2

The Terrance wasn’t the best for atmosphere. I was shoulder to shoulder with someone. The food compared to other places wasn’t all that for the price.

A
vipAmerah
London
4 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Still too cold for outdoor dining they have blankets but no heaters. As for service they are great. Food is not the best lacks taste but everyone has their preference.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall1food5service1ambience1

The restaurant is not equipped for outdoor seating. Freezing cold with no heaters, rain which came through the umbrellas soaking us - especially due to table placement. Extremely wobbly tables and after asking for it to be fixed we got told it would have to be done after the food, so eating was not a pleasant experience. Asked for the bill and it took 15 minutes as the paper was being changed. Heard the table complaining next to us the whole time about how two glasses of wine took over 45 minutes to arrive with only 4 tables occupied in the whole restaurant. General unpleasant demeanour from some of the staff. Outstanding food but unfortunately the experience was disappointing, especially considering this was booked for a special occasion. Will not be returning.

Sake no Hana
Responded 2 days ago

Dear Anonymous, We regret to hear that you weren’t happy with the service . I can assure you that the experience you had was not our standard. We take every comment seriously and have passed your notes along to the team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

Report
L
Leonel
London
3 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Some staff members were rude and we felt rushed the whole time. I’m sure the experience inside is better but it was not what you’d expect from a restaurant like that

Sake no Hana
Responded 6 days ago

Dear Leonel, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I can assure you that the experience you had with the service was not our standard. We have sent your feedback to our team and do hope you will visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre`D

Report
FS
FoodieS
London
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I was high quality food with good service as usual. The warm Sake we ordered was not as great as we'd wanted but I would still recommend it on an overall experience.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love it! Great sushi awesome sake. Lovely staff!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall1food3service3ambience3

This is the second time that I come home with a stomach bug

Sake no Hana
Responded 6 days ago

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. We appreciate the feedback on the food. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

Report
A
Anonymous
London
1 review
Dined on 8 May 2021
Overall2food4service2ambience1

Sent our order to another table, sat in the cold for up to 2 hours. They offered us 2 deserts as an apology. Decent given I come to this restaurant a lot.

Sake no Hana
Responded on 10 May 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. We appreciate the feedback on our service standards. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

Report
RA
RichA
London
6 reviews
Dined on 8 May 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Having dined at Hakkasan in Mayfair before, I was hesitant about dining at Sake no Hana. I needn't have been - the service was excellent, polite and very attentive, and the food delicious.

e
endourcladdingscandal
London
1 review
Dined on 8 May 2021
Overall1food4service3ambience1

outside in a sterile environment with nothing to break the wind. plastic bowls for soup getting blown over and glasses smashing as they were so light. no outdoor heaters and covers that rattle around and feel like they will fall over. for the premium price paid the outdoor experience is terrible.

Sake no Hana
Responded on 9 May 2021

Dear endourcladdingscandal , Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is disappointing to read that your dining experience did not live up your expectations and I must apologise for that. We do hope that the few concerns expressed will not deter you from visiting us again. Best Regards, Anna Kuzmina Maitre`D

Report
M
Mimi
London
1 review
Dined on 8 May 2021
Overall2food4service1ambience1

Staffs are not trained well. Too casual manors for expensive restaurant.

Sake no Hana
Responded on 10 May 2021

Dear Mimi, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I can assure you that the experience you had with the service was not our standard. We have sent your feedback to our team and do hope you will visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre`D

Report
AG
AidaG
London
1 review
Dined on 7 May 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience1

grossly overpriced considering the service was terrible, rude and inattentive servers. Our table was 20 minutes late and there was no outdoor heating, I expect more from such a high end restaurant

Sake no Hana
Responded on 10 May 2021

Dear AidaG , Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is disappointing to read that your dining experience did not live up your expectations and I must apologise for that. We do hope that the few concerns expressed will not deter you from visiting us again. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre`D

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Palm Springs
2 reviews
Dined on 7 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing experience. Delicious food (we loved the wagyu beef and soft shell crab and mango maki). The staff were really kind and helpful, especially the sake connoisseur. Would recommend highly.

LK
LKAJ
London
1 review
Dined on 5 May 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

The staff could not have been more thoughtful. When the heavens opened they moved us promptly and were so apologetic (not their fault it rained). Excellent service.

A
Arora
London
4 reviews
Dined on 3 May 2021
Overall2food4service4ambience1

Our dining experience wasn’t that great due to poor weather. It was too cold and they were not allowed to put outdoor heating. Staff was very friendly though

Sake no Hana
Responded on 5 May 2021

Dear Arora, We appreciate your feedback. It’s great to hear that you loved the service, but we regret to hear that you weren’t happy with outdoor terrace. We take every comment seriously and have passed your notes along to the team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre`D

Report
SA
SallyA
London
1 review
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

This will have to be the worse dining experience in my life for what I paid for food, drinks, service, ambience etc.

The mains came 25 minutes before sides and starters therefore the mains was consumed before sides i.e. jasmine steamed rice arrived

My husband received half of his bento box - he had to wait 15 minutes for his sushi roll and sashimi

The miso soups arrived after all good was eat

We ordered 2 geisha martinis
I could not taste any alcohol whatsoever

This booking was for 4 people so we paid £50 each to reserve the table

I would not pay more than £15 pp for the experience we had

Staff were disorganised and confused
Very disgruntled when we asked for blankets

EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED


I will be making a formal complaint and requesting for a full refund

Sake no Hana
Responded on 4 May 2021

Dear SallyA, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is disappointing to read that your dining experience did not live up your expectations and I must apologise for that. I can assure you that the experience you had with the food and service was not our standard. We have sent your feedback to our team and do hope you will visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre`D

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience1

Was extremely cold, they have blankets but for this standard of restaurant you would expect heaters.
The ambiance was odd because you could really feel that people were freezing and not enjoying themselves. Food was beautiful, but portions were too small.
We had the £74 signature menu and did not feel it was enough.
They could do more to make it look prettier outside, comfy chairs, cushions, lights, heaters.

Sake no Hana
Responded on 3 May 2021

Dear Anonymous, We regret to hear that you weren’t happy with the ambience and the food. We take every comment seriously and have passed your notes along to the team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
17 reviews
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing. Staff were friendly and accommodating, blankets were available when requested. Food was incredible. I got a Wagyu bento box for £62 which included; miso soup, edamame, sushi roll, sashimi and rice & veg. Incredible deal! Looking forward to returning and trying their full menu.

LP
vipLeeP
London
4 reviews
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience2

Stains on glasses and hair in coffee unfortunate and space heaters would have helped on a cold windy day but food and service very good

YC
YuCr
London
2 reviews
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Sushi was really good quality- like the ones we get in Japan. Signature Hana course is a great value. Outside was chilly without heating but they gave us a blanket which was packaged individually. Very Covid safe and look forward to go back to dine inside to enjoy the ambience.

OB
OBOP1
London
6 reviews
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall3food5service3ambience1

Outside dining on the terrace, no patio heaters, very very cold evening

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience4

Given the dining now needs to be outdoors and until it gets to summer I think there needs to be outdoor heaters placed around the tables, everything was good but it was very cold

Sake no Hana
Responded on 3 May 2021

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. We appreciate the feedback. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

Report
SW
SevastiW
London
7 reviews
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Delicious food. Blankets. Covered.

K
Kimberley
London
3 reviews
Dined on 29 April 2021
Overall3food4service1ambience3

Waitress was pushy and trying to rush us off our table from the start. Food portions were tasty but small / not generous so poor value. No heaters outside. Will not be coming back.

Sake no Hana
Responded on 2 May 2021

Dear Kimberley, We regret to hear that you weren’t happy with the service and the food. We take every comment seriously and have passed your notes along to the team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

Report
RM
vipRoxanaM
London
2 reviews
Dined on 29 April 2021
Overall1food4service1ambience1

Terrible service that made us feel like we were in a cheap Chinese restaurant despite being a hefty bill. No heating outside. The staff rushed us constantly and were unapologetic about it. Would avoid at the moment!

Sake no Hana
Responded on 30 April 2021

Dear RoxanaM, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I can assure you that the experience you had with the food and service was not our standard. We have sent your feedback to our team and do hope you will visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre`D

Report
SH
SaHo
London
2 reviews
Dined on 29 April 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience1

We had been looking forward to visiting due to great experiences previously but we were disappointed with almost all aspects today. Outdoor seating is set up in a square and fairly basic, a few large parasols but lack of partition to block the elements meant we were sitting in a wind tunnel and with 360 tall buildings, little to no sun conditions were freezing on a c. 13degree day. The temperature isn't the problem it's the added wind chill. The restaurant does provide clean blankets for each guest (wrapped in plastic) but these provided little respite from the winds. You are advised that there is no heating prior and to dress accordingly.
We went for the Koari menu for lunch, portion sizes were minimal. Sushi selection was 4 sushi roll pieces + 2 slices of sashimi. The wagyu was not upto standard at all and completely disappointing. It was barely warm on arrival (black cod was ok) and consisted of 6 small slices of which majority was fat and not the marbling expected. Saving grace were the desserts and the staff who were attentive and bought out a small birthday dessert. However for over £150 expected more overall therefore unlikely to be revisiting in the future which is unfortunate as we have always recommended this restaurant to friends and family.

Sake no Hana
Responded on 30 April 2021

Dear SaHo , Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s great to hear that you loved the service, but we regret to hear that you weren’t happy with the food. We take great pride in our cuisine and source our ingredients from the best purveyors. We have made note of your comments, and have shared them with our management team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Best Regards, Anna Kuzmina Maitre`D

Report
NB
NaiaraBras
London
2 reviews
Dined on 29 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very pleasant lunch outdoors

L
Londongirl
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on 28 April 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Very poor, weird service. Was not set up to handle rain, so chairs were wet.

Sake no Hana
Responded on 29 April 2021

Dear Londongirl, Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. We appreciate the feedback on our service standards. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

Report
NC
NicolaC
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 28 April 2021
Overall3food5service4ambience1

Unfortunately, there are no outdoor heaters for the seating area and it became impossible for our guests to remain seated outside and we had to change the lunch to a take out so that our guests could be seated inside our offices.

Not ideal and the provision of umbrella heaters would have mitigated this.

Sake no Hana
Responded on 29 April 2021

Dear NicolaC, Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. We appreciate the feedback. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre`D

Report
DC
DanielC
London
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience1

Such a high level restaurant, while offering quality food, it is appalling and ridiculous does not have heaters (only blankets) and the service was way below standard with waiters without a clue about what they serving and just rushing to close... Better improve greatly!

Sake no Hana
Responded on 30 April 2021

Dear DanielC, Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. It’s great to hear that you loved the food, but we regret to hear that you weren’t happy with the service. We appreciate the feedback on our service standards. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

Report
D
Deez
London
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience2

Even though we booked the terrace no heaters were set up which is a basic requirement especially when you go to this type of restaurant.
All food ended up being freezing cold in less than 2 min.


Would not recommend the terrace.

CY
CandY
London
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Cancel your booking while you can.

They asked for your card to hold the table but actually charged you £50 per person on that one card without asking, no matter what you are going to order or who you are with.
Dinning outdoor was a SUFFERING. Don’t be fooled by the nice photos of the restaurant online, very basic setting. Not a sun facing seating location, very windy and cold, no heaters available despite charging like a high-end -ish restaurant.
There were only around 10 tables and they were already struggling with the service.
Because of the cold, we asked for hot water and ordered hot sake. Both needed to be chased at least 3 times. The water took more than half an hour to come and the Sake, the only drink we ordered, didn’t come until we almost finished our main.
We had the signature menu, which was a 3 course meal with miso soup. Food tasted ok, gone cold very quickly, the desserts tasted a bit like those from supermarkets. Totally not worth the price.(££££ on open table)

AG
AmyGrace
London
1 review