Shoe's Cup & Cork

4.6
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
241 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American

Top tags:

Casual
Reservations are available for up to 8 guests. For events with more than 8 guests, please email us at events@shoescupandcork.com or call us at 703-771-7463.
What 241 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
A
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place to lunch

D
Washington DC
16 reviews
Dined on 11 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a find! My arugula salad was the best ever accompanied by grilled salmon not far behind the salad in ranking. The salad was a simple standout. Simple is not usually outstandingly good. Service was friendly and impeccable. The upstairs room is fascinating with gorgeous wood everything. It's meant to replicate a speakeasy. Go. You will not be disappointed.

OT
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on 11 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, drinks and service. Beautiful place. Will be going back as often as possible.

OT
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 11 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love going to Shoe’s cup and cork for brunch on Saturday or Sunday. If it’s summertime we sit outside but in the winter we live the poker room. The food is excellent and their biscuits and gravy are my favorite. Definitely a great place to meet up with friends or family.

OT
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 9 January 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Made a reservation hoping to sit upstairs for a quiet friends lunch and when we got there they said they don’t honor reservations made less then 24 hours. Wait what? Then why do you use open table? Disappointed they seated us next to the main door that opened and closed a lot during our meal and it was cold. Not only that it’s where everyone stood waiting to be seated. Service and food was okay

Shoe's Cup & Cork
Responded on 13 January 2020

Good morning, I apologize for this misunderstanding. We very much honor all reservations, regardless of the time they are made. The Poker Room was already full when you made your reservation 25 minutes in advance as recorded in Open Table; therefore, we were not able to accommodate your request to sit upstairs. I am sorry you did not get to sit where you had hoped and if there is anything I can do to make it up to you I am happy to do so. Sincerely, Lara

Report
OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 5 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely brunch for 4. 3 of us enjoyed the hot chocolate flight with 6 mini cups each. The charred brussel sprout salad was especially delicious and shared as an appetizer. Charming interior with eclectic decor including some well loved board games.

OT
Washington DC
9 reviews
Dined on 5 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The table was a little small for four adults with beverages and meals (the edge of our plates extended over the edge of the table). Everything else was great! Our family loves coming for the food and the table games!

PI
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 27 December 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience4

This is a fun, slightly quirky, welcoming place with some really great history to the building and area. The upstairs and downstairs dining areas are each unique....you should try both. I like the staff best. Every single associate is polite, efficient, funny, helpful...You just couldn't ask for a nicer waitstaff. The menu has a number of standard items, but many of them with an interesting twist, so they're not boring but, if you're expecting "that standard," you won't be put off by something too odd. My favorite things are the mimosa and hot chocolate flights. Tons of fun and a great conversation piece. Shoe's Cup ;and Cork definitely worth the short trip to Leesburg.

C
Washington DC
15 reviews
Dined on 15 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was awesome....very friendly and he was super attentive. The food was great! Best biscuits and sausage gravy that I have ever tasted that could hold a candle to my Granny's homemade sausage gravy and biscuits. I have been searching for decades trying to find a dish comparable and I can't believe I have actually found it at Shoe's Cup & Cork. I will definitely be back. Thanks for a wonderful brunch with friends.

AD
Richmond
14 reviews
Dined on 15 December 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience3

We were seated upstairs which is a very nice setting until you have a large party behind you and the noise level is so high that you’re yelling to the person across from you. Our server was clearly running ragged trying to keep up with all of his tables. As for my dish...my eggs were overdone and there was next to no hollandaise sauce so my eggs Benedict was dry. When I asked for additional sauce, he said he would have to charge me. Sigh. When I pointed out the lack of sauce except over the top of each overdone egg, he said he wouldn’t charge me for the extra. Well, by the time I got the sauce, everything was cold and even the muffin was difficult to cut with a knife. Not my typical experience here so this was disappointing to say the least.

RD
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on 8 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I made a reservation a few days in advance and we were seated immediately upon arrival. Our server was very friendly and efficient. The food was all delicious, I highly recommend the crispy basil fries! I’m looking forward to coming back soon!

OT
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 8 December 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Sit upstairs if you can. Lovely room. Brunch was delicious! Only hiccup was one wrong flavor on my hot chocolate flight. But it's a hot chocolate flight, so still worth every penny.

MT
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on 29 November 2019
Overall1food1service3ambience2

I used to love going to this place. Today, the food was not very good and the hostess was rather rude. I ordered the chicken panini, and it tasted and looked like dark meat turkey. It was the day after Thanksgiving, so I’m almost certain the ingredients were swapped without saying anything to the customers. Probably won’t be going back.

Shoe's Cup & Cork
Responded on 30 November 2019

Good morning Melody, Thank you for the constructive feedback. I apologize that you had this experience. Regarding the food ingredients, we roast whole chickens and hand pull them each day, resulting in a mixture of light and dark meat chicken. While I am sorry you did not enjoy your panini, I can assure you we do not swap ingredients with leftovers from holiday meals.

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 29 November 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Service, although polite, was extremely slow and the burgers were dry and had no flavor. Took an hour and a half to get 2 burgers and a salmon salad.

VA
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on 7 November 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Outdoor space is good but food and service inside was meh. Not going back again inside.

5
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on 6 October 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience5

Ambiance and service were excellent. Food was fair. A basket of biscuits arrived cold and toast and eggs were cold as well.

OT
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 22 September 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved this place. Excellent staff. Lovely setting and great food!

OT
Washington DC
15 reviews
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience5

A dear friend is looking to move to the area and asked to meet for brunch. Knew Shoes would be the perfect location to showcase how fabulous Leesburg is so made the reservation. Parking was tough the day we were going so we were both a few minutes late. My friend arrived first and when I joined she had already been waiting several minutes for the hostess. I arrived at 5 minutes before noon - about 10 minutes late for the reservation - and waited for the hostess to seat the people ahead of us. When we finally got her attention we gave her the name and time of our original reservation. She spent a minute or two searching for it then very snarkily said that they only hold reservations for 15 minutes. I said I understood and reminded her that we had been standing at the hostess station for nearly 10 minute. She reluctantly sat us at one of the open tables but waited to provide menus. Things vastly improved once we were handed off to the waiter. From there on it was a wonderful afternoon in the garden. Fabulous food and drink in that beautiful in-town oasis.

OT
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great spot and love the secret garden

VT
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

First time here and we loved it! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

s
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Friendly, professional service in a relaxing atmosphere.

EW
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall2food3service1ambience2

The place is small, so quite noisy when crowded. Servers, although friendly, were slow - we waited over a half hour to order and then another 45 minutes after that to be served. Food was OK; would recommend only to someone who has LOTS of time.

JN
1 review
Dined on 18 August 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very pet friendly, our waiter we had for Sunday brunch immediately brought out cold water for the dogs and milk bones! Great spot for outdoor dining and cocktails.

OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 18 August 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience2

The waitress was inattentive and the crab cakes were terr

M
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always love eating here.

TK
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined on 11 August 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our first time here. Went on a Sunday morning and sat outside (beautiful day!). Outside courtyard was very nice. I'm glad that they didn't try to cram too many tables into the space, which makes it feel intimate without being crowded. Our server was outstanding: friendly, attentive, and very good at his job. The food was also very good; the muffins were fresh and moist, and my biscuit and gravy is the best I've had in the area. The breakfast potatoes were also top notch - hot, crispy, and not greasy. Since this was our first time, we can't speak to consistency, but we will definitely go back in the hopes that we've found our new local go-to spot!

OT
Washington DC
12 reviews
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Beautiful garden. Food was tasty. Server was attentive despite a very busy night

SW
1 review
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, ambience and service. Would highly recommend.

LV
1 review
Dined on 4 August 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience4

My friend and I wanted to visit downtown Leesburg and were recommended Shoe's Cup & Cork. I opted for the Roasted Chicken Panini minus the Brie. To be honest, I wasn't impressed and probably won't be returning. My friend wasn't impressed with her BLT either. The waiter was nice until we made a minor complaint about one of our meals possibly containing cheese. She told us it wasn't cheese and when she finally decided to take it back to the kitchen, her face said it all. She came back with the plate and assured us it wasn't cheese. If it was or wasn't cheese, she could've handled the entire situation a bit better.

OT
Savannah
3 reviews
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Nice place for a laid back lunch or dinner. Food was very good but not enough service staff for the member of patrons. Service was good but too long between table checks.

VS
San Francisco
6 reviews
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This restaurant never disappoints. Have been here several times with friends, family or just me and my husband. Great for every type of occasion or no occasion at all.

OT
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined on 2 August 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Our large party sat outside. The patio was delightful. Food and drinks are good.

B
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on 28 July 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

The food was yummy, but didn't blow me away. It was quality food that I might've been able to make at home. However, the place is adorable! The secret garden and umbrellas for outdoor seating made the perfect atmosphere for a brunch date :) Excellent service too! Thank you

OT
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on 26 July 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Visiting with out of town family

OT
Atlanta
4 reviews
Dined on 7 July 2019
Overall1food2service1ambience5

Today my husband and I went for our anniversary. We were greeted and promptly sat. Then another party came and sat directly next to us in a wide open room. Although we sat first, we weren’t even asked if we wanted water or not until the table that was seated after us put in their order. It was awkward. Our server was not good. He had the entire room and didn’t even check in with us. We were basically forgotten. I have eaten here before and had a great experience this time was upsetting and almost ruined our anniversary. Please properly train your servers and have better communication between your team to improve service.

LD
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on 30 June 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is a quaint and lovely spot to sit outside (different options, including couches, chairs and regular table seating). I've been here on 3 occasions, first 2x was to relax and enjoy a glass of wine. My husband and I ate here for the first time and enjoyed brunch on Sunday; it was outstanding! I had the salmon, caper, cream cheese scrambled eggs and my husband had one full of veggies...both were delish! The potatoes are fried golden and crisp...out of this world! Oh, and I recommend a Mimosa flight to accompany your brunch!

AT
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on 30 June 2019
Overall5food4service4ambience5

We LOVE the secret garden! The waitress was ok...not bad, but not great either. Overall, a very nice experience. Only place around you can eat outside w/o being in a parking lot!

MC
1 review
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Great place for my kids, pet and I. My teenagers and I loved the food. Furr baby given water and treats. We dined in the secret garden. Definitely on the family list of favs.

OT
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I love shoes cup & cork. Always friendly service and great food. Also very dog friendly!! Love the outside seating in the spring and summer.

RC
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on 23 June 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Shoes is out go-to for a low key place with lite fare that always hits the spot.

Tweets by Shoe's Cup & Cork