Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. London
  4. West London
  5. Paddington
Refined Modern British Restaurant - Smith's Bar & Grill, London,

Smith's Bar & Grill

3.9
3.9
979 Reviews
£25 and under
British
Smith’s Bar & Grill is nestled in Paddington, London, it is the first place you see when you walk under the bypass behind Paddington Station.

Known for its high ceilings and almost full-length windows, the natural light in Smith’s is just as nourishing and wholesome as the comfortable furnishings and exquisite selection of food and drink that we serve.

The venue is split into the areas:
• Main Restaurant
• Main Bar & Lounge Area
• Outdoor Terrace Canal-side


Smith’s is an ideal venue for weddings, on-location filming, major launch events, and multi-stage music and entertainment events.
The whole venue can comfortably accommodate up to 200 people for a sit-down dinner and up to 400 standing. Its proximity to Paddington Station (50 yards from the Hammersmith & City Underground entrance) makes it quick to get to for those coming from out of town.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 20 times today
Experiences are available.

Order delivery or takeout

Private dining

Private dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Elegant Dining
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    British, Modern European, Grill
  • Hours of Operation
    Breakfast Mon–Fri 08:00–11:30 Sat 09:00–11:00 Sun 09:00–11:30 Brunch Fri 12:00–16:00 Sat 11:00–16:00 Lunch Mon–Thu, Sun 12:00–16:00 Dinner Daily 16:00–23:00
  • Phone number
    020 7286 9458
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress Code
    Smart Casual
  • Executive Chef
    David Reyes
  • Catering
    Modern British Cuisine with Grill Selection. <br />Breakfast served Monday to Friday 8am - 11.30am, Saturday and Sunday 9am - 11am<br />Bottomless Brunch and Dinner served every Friday 12pm - 4pm, 6pm - close and Saturday 11am - 11pm. <br />A la carte is available Monday to Saturday 12pm - 11pm &amp; Sunday 12pm - 10.30pm
  • Private party facilities
    Smiths Restaurant and Bar is a modern British-inspired restaurant burrowed in the heart of Paddington Basin, London. The spacious, daylight-filled venue with a gorgeous year-round terrace overlooks the beautiful Grand Union Canal.
  • Private party contact
    Oksana Sviridova: 020 7286 9458
  • Area
    Paddington
  • Cross Street
    Grand Union Canal, Sheldon Square Paddington
  • Parking Details
    Street Parking
  • Public Transit
    Paddington Railway Station, Heathrow Express direct to Heathrow Airport, Paddington Tube station, Paddington Bus Stop, Warwick Avenue tube station, Royal Oak tube station, Edgware Road tube station
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeaway, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Experiences

  • TFL Off-peak Friday Lunch and Drinks

    £35.00 per person

    26 Sept 2023 - 25 May 2024
    Please note, the offer is available for the whole table only. Treat yourself to the ultimate lunch experience with our bottomless food offering every Friday! Indulge in an endless flow of delicious dishes, perfect for sharing with friends and colleagues. Book now and get ready to feast and flow like never before just for £35pp or add bottomless drinks for an additional £15pp. For bookings of 9 guests and over please contact reservations@smithsbarandgrill.co.uk
    TFL Off-peak Friday Lunch and Drinks photo
  • TFL Off-peak Friday Dinner and Drinks

    £35.00 per person

    1 Nov 2023 - 25 May 2024
    Please note, offer is available for the whole table only. Start your weekend off right with unlimited food and drinks every Friday dinner. 90 minutes of bottomless dishes are just £35pp, or upgrade to bottomless Bellini, Prosecco, and Bellini for only £50pp. For bookings of 9 guests and over please contact reservations@smithsbarandgrill.co.uk
    TFL Off-peak Friday Dinner and Drinks photo
  • Any Coffee & Pastry, £4.

    Multiple dates available
    Treat yourself to a delicious coffee and pastry for just £4! Our freshly brewed coffee and delectable pastries are the perfect way to start your day.
    Any Coffee & Pastry, £4. photo

What 979 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

3.9
3.9 based on recent ratings
  • 4Food
  • 3.7Service
  • 3.9Ambience
  • 3.6Value

NoiseEnergetic

Loved For

  • West London

    Good for business meals

  • West London

    Good for business meals

  • West London

    Hot spot

  • West London

    Lively

  • West London

    British

  • West London

    Most Booked 1000-Point Tables

980 Reviews
  1. OpenTable Diner

    Richmond

    3 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 3
    I was seated promptly and they took my order. The food was very good-I had the seafood risotto…. the rice was perfectly cooked, the calamari slightly overcooked but still a good dish. Then I stared at an empty table for over 10 minutes while couples seated near me got servers checking on them. I finally flagged someone down, got coffee. And then stared at a dirty table until flagged a server down and got the check. Final verdict…. good food, nice decor, canned music very loud, and inattentive service.

    Is this helpful?

  2. Annette

    London

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The brunch was amazing The entertainment The DJ The saxophonist Omg the vibe The staff and their vibe - amazing 100% recommend

    Is this helpful?

  3. OpenTable Diner

    Bristol

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 May 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    Really slow service - we opted for the bottomless dinner but in practice it really isn’t bottomless at all - you can order 2 dishes at a time, the portion sizes are tiny and then when you order more food it takes an age to come. They seemed to lose one order and we sat waiting for over 25 mins…..overall expensive for what it was and there are plenty of other restaurants in the area- I’d recommend going elsewhere.

    Is this helpful?

  4. ConorH

    Dublin

    7 reviews

    4.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 8 May 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Great location, tasty menu and very helpful staff will certainly be back again.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 10 May 2024
    Dear ConorH, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our great location, tasty menu, and found our staff to be very helpful. It's always our goal to provide a memorable experience for our guests, and we're thrilled to know that we succeeded during your visit. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  5. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 May 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Lovely food and good options to choose from, delivered quickly and promptly as we were on a quick lunch break. Service was really good.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 7 May 2024
    Dear Anonymous, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our food and found our options satisfactory. Ensuring a prompt delivery during your lunch break is always our priority, and we're delighted that our service met your expectations. We look forward to serving you again soon! Thank you EM

    Is this helpful?

  6. Milo

    London

    5 reviews

    4.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 26 April 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Business lunch. Hit the spot. Good service eland nice food
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 2 May 2024
    Dear Milo, Thank you for choosing us for your business lunch! We're delighted to hear that we hit the spot and provided you with good service along with enjoyable food. Your satisfaction is our priority, and we're pleased that we could deliver a positive experience for your lunch meeting. We look forward to serving you again in the future! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  7. Irisheyes

    Northampton

    24 reviews

    5.0

    24 reviews

    Dined on 21 April 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Great place so close to Paddington station and beside the canal. Great service and great food. Second time we have eaten here, the first a few years ago. Will definitely be back much sooner next time.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 26 April 2024
    Dear Irisheyes, Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you found our location near Paddington station and beside the canal convenient. It's fantastic to know that you appreciated both our service and food, and we're thrilled that you've already dined with us twice. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and hopefully, it won't be too long until your next visit! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  8. lizm

    London

    7 reviews

    2.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 18 April 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    Too noisy, even at the back of the restaurant. Service was really slow. Lots of food on the menu was unavailable. Prices high for what we had Tables too close together, very squashed in
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 19 April 2024
    Dear LizM, We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit. It's disappointing to hear about the noise level, slow service, and limited menu availability you encountered. We understand that high prices coupled with these issues made for a less than ideal dining experience. Additionally, we regret that the seating arrangements felt cramped. Your feedback is valuable, and we'll take it into consideration as we strive to improve. We hope you'll give us another chance to provide you with a more enjoyable dining experience in the future. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  9. NatalieT

    London

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 April 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    Well it was mad in here last night ! we arrived at 6pm and didn't get our starters until 7.05pm - one of which was missing as they didn't have any left (not told this until the other dishes arrived) I understand the starters were good. Mains came out after another 40 min wait but missing one again.... it wasn't added to the order apparently, even though the server checked with us all after we ordered! Service was dreadful - lots of walking by and not checking in with the table, and us having to try and attract their attention. Seemed to be enough staff, they were busy - but the servers didn't appear to have been well trained. Nobody took ownership of the missing dishes issues, just walked away saying they would sort it out.... but didn't :-( I spoke to the Maitre'D who discounted our final bill by 10%. TBH I wont be visiting there again, really disappointed.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 19 April 2024
    Dear NatalieT, We're truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. We understand the issues with timing and accuracy of your orders fell short of the standards we aim to uphold. Your feedback is invaluable, and we're committed to addressing these shortcomings to prevent them in the future. While we're glad our Maitre'D offered a discount on your final bill, we recognise it may not fully remedy the disappointment. Should you reconsider visiting us, we'd welcome the chance to provide you with the exceptional dining experience you deserve. Please reach out to reservations@smithsbarandgrill.co.uk. Kind regards, EM

    Is this helpful?

  10. Matthew

    London

    16 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    16 reviews

    Dined on 18 April 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We were very well treated and we could stay in the bar as long as we wanted
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 22 April 2024
    Dear Elizabeth, That's wonderful to hear! We strive to create a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere for all our guests. Your satisfaction is our priority, and we're thrilled to know that you felt well-treated during your visit. Please feel free to join us in the bar anytime you'd like—we'd love to have you back! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  11. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 April 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    I had the pork belly Sunday roast sharing for two people, we had enough food between us, but the food was not hot. I would say it would timid which spoil the whole experience for our first time dining at this restaurant. 
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 19 April 2024
    Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad to hear that you found there was enough food for both of you to share. However, we're truly sorry to hear that the temperature of the food didn't meet your expectations and that it impacted your overall dining experience. We understand how important it is for our dishes to be served piping hot, and we apologise for falling short on this occasion. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we'll use it to ensure that we maintain the high standards we strive for. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a much-improved experience. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  12. JADM

    London

    6 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 5 April 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Excellent venue, great food and excellent service! The music was a little load but still really great to see a live DJ playing
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 11 April 2024
    Dear JADM, We're thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience at our venue! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed the food and received excellent service from our team. Your comment about the music volume is duly noted, and we'll make sure to take it into consideration to enhance the overall experience for our guests. We're glad you appreciated the live DJ performance and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable visit! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  13. OpenTable Diner

    New York City

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 2 April 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 5
    Very disappointing. Every other table had cloth napkins, while we had paper. We were never asked if we wanted drinks. The steak had even less flavor than the peppercorn sauce it came with, if that is possible. Brought the kids menus with activities, but no pencil/crayon. Told they did not have enough meats for the charcuterie board after we ordered, and it felt like we were bothering the waiter by being there. We’ll not be returning.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 5 April 2024
    Dear Anonymous, We're truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our restaurant. Providing excellent service and a memorable dining experience for our guests are our top priorities, and it's disheartening to hear that we fell short of meeting your expectations during your visit. We are sorry to hear about the discrepancies in the table settings and the lack of attention you received from staff. Regarding the steak and charcuterie board, we apologise that they did not meet your expectations. We take great pride in the quality of our dishes, and it's disappointing to hear that they did not meet our usual standards during your visit. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  14. DonnaG

    Essex

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 29 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Very good, lovely ambience, food nice but expensive we thought. Service good but not amazing. Good night though.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 30 March 2024
    Dear DonnaG, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the lovely ambiance of our restaurant and found the food to be nice. However, we're sorry to hear that you found the pricing to be on the higher side. We understand the importance of offering value for money, and we continuously strive to ensure that our pricing reflects the quality of ingredients and the craftsmanship that goes into each dish. Additionally, while we're pleased to hear that you found the service to be good, we regret that it didn't quite meet the level of excellence we aim for. We're glad to hear that overall you had a good night, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for an even better experience. Warm regards, EM

    Is this helpful?

  15. AnitaB

    London

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 24 March 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    I follow you on Instagram and looks amazing however my 4pm booking was when your kitchen was shutting. I was not explained this when booking and felt like I was a bother for being there at that time, food had run out. The waiter helped and asked the kitchen and got me a starter from the bar menu but it looked & tasted dry like it was the left overs of a busy afternoon. Waiters seemed fed up and tired. Had a burger for main which was very good. Ordered exact drinks as table next to me however mine were in very small glasses in comparison and waiter forgot to get the Prosecco shot for it, looked very consistent. I believe if I came earlier I think I would have had a better experience. I was disappointed.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 5 April 2024
    Dear AnitaB, We're truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our restaurant. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us, and we apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your visit. We sincerely apologise for the misunderstanding regarding the timing of your booking and the kitchen closing as well as any perception that you were made to feel like a bother for being there at that time. Every guest is important to us, regardless of the timing of their reservation, and it's disappointing to hear that you did not feel valued during your visit. We understand your disappointment, and we sincerely hope that you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with the exceptional dining experience you deserve. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  16. ChloeH

    London

    13 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    13 reviews

    Dined on 24 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    one of the best roasts i’ve had eating out and the service was really great
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 30 March 2024
    Dear ChloeH, Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed one of the best roasts you've had while dining out and that our service left a lasting impression on you. Creating exceptional culinary experiences and providing top-notch service are at the core of what we do, and it's incredibly rewarding to see that our efforts have paid off during your visit. Your kind words mean the world to us, and we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. We can't wait to welcome you back for another delightful dining experience in the future! Warmest regards, EM

    Is this helpful?

  17. Hayles

    Berkshire

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 23 March 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    Great if you’re on a hen party and want to spend £100’s on practically no food at all and also was your eardrums blasted out with tacky music. Service was poor, waiter seemed offended that we only left 5% tip (which was generous for zero service). Steaks are small and not great quality (£30 for the steak ONLY, nothing else comes with it). Table was never cleared until we had to go find someone to ask for the bill. Music way too loud. This “restaurant” can’t work out if it’s an all day party with expensive crap food or a try hard restaurant attempting to be classy and failing. Suggest the former and leave it exclusively to hen dos and bottomless brunch. That’s an expensive 1.5 hours I’ll never get back.

    Is this helpful?

  18. DebS

    Central Coast

    13 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    13 reviews

    Dined on 22 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    We went on a Friday night and there was a DJ in the bar area. It was very loud so we moved from the bar into the restaurant area which was still loud and difficult to hear our friends at our table. The food was OUTSTANDING! Our table enjoyed the slow cooked beef, pasta, steak and squid. All were delicious. Staff was very attentive and friendly. GPS was difficult to follow since when up on the bridge it has you close but it is down below.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 30 March 2024
    Dear DebS, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you found our food to be outstanding and that our staff provided attentive and friendly service. However, we're truly sorry to learn about the challenges you faced with the noise levels in both the bar and restaurant areas. Your feedback regarding the DJ's volume and the overall noise level is invaluable to us. We're delighted that you and your party enjoyed the slow-cooked beef, pasta, steak, and squid. It's wonderful to know that our culinary offerings left a positive impression on you. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another exceptional dining experience soon. Warm regards, EM

    Is this helpful?

  19. Micky

    London

    19 reviews

    4.0

    19 reviews

    Dined on 19 March 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Nice restaurant and nice food, went for a business lunch which was a great venue
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 22 March 2024
    Dear Micky, We're delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience during your business lunch at our restaurant! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad to know that you found our venue suitable for your meeting and that you enjoyed the food. Creating a welcoming atmosphere for both leisure and business gatherings is important to us, and we're thrilled that we could meet your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable dining experience. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  20. Kate

    Surrey

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 17 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Great Sunday roast - we had the shared dishes which was more than enough and tasted delicious
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 22 March 2024
    Dear Kate, Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday roast, especially the shared dishes. It's fantastic to know that you found the portion sizes ample and that everything tasted delicious. Providing a satisfying dining experience is always our goal, and we're delighted that we hit the mark with your visit. We appreciate your support and hope to see you again soon for another delightful meal! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  21. Alexandra

    London

    12 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    12 reviews

    Dined on 16 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Booked the Sintilate bottomless dinner here and it was absolutely lovely! Would definitely come back. The food was lovely. Very good portion sizes for a bottomless dinner! We had bottomless cocktails which were also very nice and the service was very good, especially because it was super busy! There was also music playing the whole time which definitely made the restaurant have a good vibe!
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 4 April 2024
    Dear Alexandra, Thank you for choosing our restaurant for your bottomless dinner experience and for taking the time to share your feedback! We're delighted to hear that you had a lovely time and enjoyed both the food and cocktails. It's fantastic to know that you found the portion sizes satisfying and that the service exceeded your expectations, even during busy times. We're thrilled that the music added to the ambiance and created a great vibe for your evening. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable dining experience soon! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  22. BenedictB

    London

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 15 March 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Great Food, rip off to charge £6.50 for a bread basket with few slices of average white bread! Don’t take your customers for granted. Complained about it, they refuse to remove the charge. Won’t be going back nor will I recommend it.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 22 March 2024
    Dear BenedictB, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the food during your visit. However, we're truly sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the pricing of our bread basket. We take all feedback seriously and regret any inconvenience caused. We strive to provide value for money while maintaining the quality of our offerings! Your concerns will be shared with our team for further review and improvement. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in the future. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  23. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 12 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Went here to commemorate a friends birthday. Saw pictures and thought it looked beautiful and it did not disappoint. We got the seasonal menu. The choices were great so we got 3 courses ranging from fish to meat to dessert. It was a great experience especially for the value of money spent. Will definitely return !
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 15 March 2024
    Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your friend's birthday, and for sharing your experience! We're thrilled to hear that you found Smith's Bar & Grill beautiful and that the seasonal menu exceeded your expectations. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the variety of choices and had a great dining experience, all while feeling that you received good value for your money. We're delighted that you're already considering a return visit, and we can't wait to welcome you back! We look forward to serving you again soon! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  24. PaulB

    London

    9 reviews

    2.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on 10 March 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    Our experience- We ate at smiths for Mother’s Day. The food was good. My 3 & 5 year old finished their dinner so it must’ve been. But the service was so poor it spoilt the occasion. At 1st there were lots of staff hanging around, but nobody checking in on tables. Later on in the evening, it looked like one member of staff serving a of tables on his own. Waited ages for food, our drinks sat on the bar for a while before someone decided to bring them to us.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 15 March 2024
    Dear PaulB, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we're glad to hear that you found the food enjoyable, especially considering your children finished their dinners. However, we're deeply sorry to hear about the service you encountered on Mother's Day. We understand the importance of attentive service, especially on special occasions like Mother's Day, and we apologise for falling short of your expectations. We appreciate your patience and understanding, and we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you during a future visit. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  25. BPatrick

    London

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 March 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    Extremely disappointed with our Mother's Day experience at the restaurant. Despite our anticipation for a special day, we were met with a series of letdowns that significantly marred our celebration. The service fell short of expectations, and the reality of our visit did not align with the promotional offerings advertised. Additionally, the staff were rude throughout our visit. When I reached out to the manager afterwards to express our concerns, the response was very unprofessional. Potential diners should be wary of discrepancies between advertised promotions and the actual experience, as well as the unprofessionalism of the staff and management.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 5 April 2024
    Dear BPatrick, We're deeply sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our restaurant on Mother's Day. We understand how important special occasions are, and it's disheartening to learn that your celebration was marred by several letdowns. We are sorry to hear about the shortcomings in service. Providing attentive and courteous service is a priority for us, especially during special occasions, and we regret that we fell short of meeting your expectations in this regard. We sincerely hope that you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with the exceptional dining experience you deserve. Please contact us directly so that we can make amends and ensure that your next visit exceeds your expectations - reservations@smithsbarandgrill.co.uk Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  26. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 March 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    I could not get through on the telephone to the restaurant for 3 days as their answer machine was always full. Therefore, I could not tell them I am a disabled customer to make sure all amenities were available. We still decided to go to the restaurant as we had already booked it. Unfortunately, Mothers Day with my wife was spoiled due to the service being terrible with the meal taking 1 hour and 10 minutes to come to us. We couldn't even get ahold of the waiter to order 2nd drink as there was not enough staff on duty. Then, I had to leave the restaurant early to relieve myself. When I spoke to the staff, especially the manager, none of them cared and just said to me I should have called first even though I told them I did. The worst thing about the experience is that all the staff had no empathy towards my situation, and we're very dismissive of my concerns that I could not use the toilet due to the disable lift not being in use. I felt totally let down by the restaurant, and this spoiled my wifes special day. As we were in the restaurant for 1 hour and 35 minutes and an hour and 10 minutes of that time, was spent waiting for our food. This was a horrendous experience I wouldn't wish on my worst enemy. Think twice before you book Smith' Bar & Grill ESPECIALLY if you are DISABLED!!! In the end, the bill was £64 because I refused to pay the extortionate Service Charge.

    Is this helpful?

  27. naveeds

    London

    6 reviews

    4.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 10 March 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Was better than expected based on some of the reviews seen. You do need to get the attention of waiting staff, but I think this is more due to lack of staff (in all restaurants at the moment). Food was good, wife really enjoyed her lamb Sunday roast, fish and chips was great. Not bad value as well.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 15 March 2024
    Dear naveeds, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations despite some of the reviews you've seen. We appreciate your understanding regarding the need to get the attention of our waiting staff, and we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused due to the current staffing challenges faced by many restaurants. It's wonderful to know that both the lamb Sunday roast and the fish and chips were enjoyed, and we're delighted that you found them to be good value. Thank you for choosing to dine with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable meal! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  28. Bibi

    London

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 March 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Food was nothing special. Had a Sunday roast (lamb)
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 15 March 2024
    Dear Bibi, We're sorry to hear that you didn't find our Sunday roast to be up to your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with exceptional dining experiences, and we regret that we fell short in this instance. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we'll certainly take it into consideration as we continue to refine our offerings. We appreciate your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  29. TomM

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 March 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    The food was great and we really enjoyed the bottomless dinner and wine formula. Our waiter did his best, but due to the crowdedness it sometimes took a bit too long, especially in combination with the 90 minute timer for ordering food. The ambiance was more than lively and for us the music was way too loud, we had to yell to understand each other (but maybe we're just getting too old?)
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 15 March 2024
    Dear TomM, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food and the bottomless dinner and wine formula. We understand that the ambiance may have been a bit too lively for your taste, and we apologise for any discomfort caused by the loud music. Our Saturday bottomless dinner offers a more lively atmosphere compared to our Friday bottomless dinner! Thank you for your understanding and for dining with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  30. Tishinha

    London

    15 reviews

    5.0

    15 reviews

    Dined on 8 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Great food and service but taken down by an overpriced wine list
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 15 March 2024
    Dear Tishinha, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the great food and service during your visit. However, we apologise for any disappointment caused by our wine list pricing. We understand the importance of offering a diverse and reasonably priced selection of wines to complement our menu, and we'll take your comments into consideration as we review our offerings. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Thank you for choosing to dine with us! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  31. Stewart

    London

    40 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    40 reviews

    Dined on 8 March 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    Some of the reviews here were critical. We found this venue to be lovely, but it was very quiet and the sevice was sloooowwww. We were not in a hurry, and it was a leisurely breakfast so not a problem. But as it is next to a mainline terminus, I could imagine those travelling looking for a reasonably quick bite to eat would find it frustrating. Very polite and courteous and the food was lovely.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 15 March 2024
    Dear Stewart, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're glad to hear that you found our venue lovely and enjoyed the food. However, we apologise for the slow service you experienced during your visit. We appreciate your understanding and patience, especially during a leisurely breakfast. We understand that our proximity to a mainline terminus may attract guests with limited time, and we're committed to finding ways to accommodate their needs while maintaining the quality of our service. Thank you for your kind words about our staff's politeness and courtesy. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  32. OpenTable Diner

    London

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 6 March 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Very polite and helpful staff. I’m in wheelchair after an accident. It’s not easy for me, but the staff here were excellent ( as in helpful and obliging ). Thank you
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 7 March 2024
    Dear Anonymous, We are deeply touched by your kind words. It means the world to us to hear that our staff could provide you with the assistance and support you needed during your visit. Ensuring all our guests feel welcome and comfortable is incredibly important to us, and we're grateful for the opportunity to assist you. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Wishing you all the best on your journey to recovery. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  33. AnupamP

    London

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 5 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Awesome experience as always. Loved the food, great service.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 8 March 2024
    Dear AnupamP, We're thrilled to hear that you had an awesome experience dining with us! It's fantastic to know that you loved the food and received great service. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we're grateful for your continued support. Thank you for choosing to dine with us, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful experience! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  34. PETERL

    Dorset

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 4 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Nice casual supper. Sharing starters - sashimi, Greek salad, charcuterie, then Thai beef salad and Tuna. Didn’t try the wine this time but nice Kirin beer. Always enjoy it here.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 7 March 2024
    Dear PETERL, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your casual supper and the variety of sharing starters you tried, including sashimi, Greek salad, and charcuterie. It's great to know that you also enjoyed the Thai beef salad and Tuna dishes. We're glad you found the Kirin beer to your liking, even though you didn't try the wine this time. We truly appreciate your continued patronage and are delighted to hear that you always enjoy dining with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable experience! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  35. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Fantastic Sunday Roast with the bottomless Red Wine. Couldn’t recommend highly enough
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 8 March 2024
    Dear Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday Roast with bottomless Red Wine. It's wonderful to know that you had a great time, and we truly appreciate your recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon for another memorable dining experience at Smiths Bar and Grill! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  36. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 1 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Such a great experience team members and food were amazing. We had the bottomless dinner and it was one of the best I've had.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 8 March 2024
    Dear Anonymous, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both the team members' hospitality and the delicious food during your visit. Our bottomless dinner is indeed a crowd favorite, and we're delighted that it exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic dining experience soon! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  37. AnupamP

    London

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 29 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great experience yet again. Food was great, Ambience was perfect and staff as always were welcoming. Thankyou so much 🥂
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 7 March 2024
    Dear AnupamP, We're thrilled to hear that you had another great experience dining with us! It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the food, found the ambience perfect, and received welcoming service from our staff. Your appreciation means the world to us. Thank you for choosing to dine with us and for taking the time to share your positive feedback. Here's to many more memorable moments together! 🥂 Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  38. zobo2103

    London

    6 reviews

    4.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 28 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    The margaritas were good but the food was as not. Stale bread, awful olives and the fish was scaley with lukewarm warm chips. Will not be returning to eat!!
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 1 March 2024
    Dear zobo2103, We're sincerely sorry to hear about your disappointing experience during your recent visit. We take your feedback seriously and will be addressing these concerns with our kitchen and serving staff immediately. We understand your decision not to return, but we hope you'll consider giving us another chance to make things right. Your satisfaction is incredibly important to us! If you're open to it, we would love to discuss your experience further and see how we can regain your trust. Please feel free to reach out to us directly - reservations@smithsbarandgrill.co.uk Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a much-improved dining experience. Sincerely, EM

    Is this helpful?

  39. HollyT

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 25 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The pork roast and fish and chips were delicious. Kids meals were a great size and very tasty.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 1 March 2024
    Dear HollyT, Thank you for sharing your feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our pork roast and fish and chips. It's always a pleasure to know that our dishes hit the mark and leave our guests satisfied. We take pride in offering meals that cater to all tastes and appetites, so we're delighted to hear that the kids' meals were a hit as well. Ensuring that everyone in the family enjoys their dining experience is important to us. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back for more delicious meals in the future! Best regards, EM

    Is this helpful?

  40. AnupamP

    London

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 21 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    As always an awesome experience. Waiting for summers so that we can enjoy brunch outside , love the vibe, food , location and staff 🥂
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 1 March 2024
    Dear AnupamP, Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you had an awesome time dining with us and that you're eagerly awaiting the chance to enjoy brunch outside in the summer. We're delighted that you love the vibe, food, location, and our staff. Creating a welcoming atmosphere and providing delicious cuisine are top priorities for us, and it's incredibly rewarding to know that we've succeeded in meeting your expectations. We can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable dining experience, whether it's for brunch in the sunshine or any other occasion. Until then, cheers to more good times ahead! Warm regards, EM

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Smith's Bar & Grill using the Order Online button. Smith's Bar & Grill also offers delivery in partnership with Deliveroo. Smith's Bar & Grill also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at 020 7286 9458.

Smith's Bar & Grill is rated 3.9 stars by 979 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 20 times today
Experiences are available.

Order delivery or takeout

Google Map for Smith's Bar & Grill

25 Sheldon Square, Paddington, London, W2 6EY

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Cross Street
    Grand Union Canal, Sheldon Square Paddington
  • Area
    Paddington
  • Hours of Operation
    Breakfast Mon–Fri 08:00–11:30 Sat 09:00–11:00 Sun 09:00–11:30 Brunch Fri 12:00–16:00 Sat 11:00–16:00 Lunch Mon–Thu, Sun 12:00–16:00 Dinner Daily 16:00–23:00
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    British, Modern European, Grill
  • Dining style
    Elegant Dining
  • Dress Code
    Smart Casual
  • Parking Details
    Street Parking
  • Public Transit
    Paddington Railway Station, Heathrow Express direct to Heathrow Airport, Paddington Tube station, Paddington Bus Stop, Warwick Avenue tube station, Royal Oak tube station, Edgware Road tube station
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Executive Chef
    David Reyes
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeaway, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Phone number
    020 7286 9458
  • Catering
    Modern British Cuisine with Grill Selection. <br />Breakfast served Monday to Friday 8am - 11.30am, Saturday and Sunday 9am - 11am<br />Bottomless Brunch and Dinner served every Friday 12pm - 4pm, 6pm - close and Saturday 11am - 11pm. <br />A la carte is available Monday to Saturday 12pm - 11pm &amp; Sunday 12pm - 10.30pm
  • Private party facilities
    Smiths Restaurant and Bar is a modern British-inspired restaurant burrowed in the heart of Paddington Basin, London. The spacious, daylight-filled venue with a gorgeous year-round terrace overlooks the beautiful Grand Union Canal.
  • Private party contact
    Oksana Sviridova: 020 7286 9458
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Impressum
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo