Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. London
  4. West London
  5. Paddington
Refined Modern British Restaurant - Smith's Bar & Grill, London,

Smith's Bar & Grill

3.9
3.9
972 Reviews
£25 and under
British
Smith’s Bar & Grill is nestled in Paddington, London, it is the first place you see when you walk under the bypass behind Paddington Station.

Known for its high ceilings and almost full-length windows, the natural light in Smith’s is just as nourishing and wholesome as the comfortable furnishings and exquisite selection of food and drink that we serve.

The venue is split into the areas:
• Main Restaurant
• Main Bar & Lounge Area
• Outdoor Terrace Canal-side


Smith’s is an ideal venue for weddings, on-location filming, major launch events, and multi-stage music and entertainment events.
The whole venue can comfortably accommodate up to 200 people for a sit-down dinner and up to 400 standing. Its proximity to Paddington Station (50 yards from the Hammersmith & City Underground entrance) makes it quick to get to for those coming from out of town.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 20 times today
Experiences are available.

Order delivery or takeout

Private dining

Private dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Elegant Dining
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    British, Modern European, Grill
  • Hours of Operation
    Breakfast Mon–Fri 08:00–11:30 Sat 09:00–11:00 Sun 09:00–11:30 Brunch Fri 12:00–16:00 Sat 11:00–16:00 Lunch Mon–Thu, Sun 12:00–16:00 Dinner Daily 16:00–23:00
  • Phone number
    020 7286 9458
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress Code
    Smart Casual
  • Executive Chef
    David Reyes
  • Catering
    Modern British Cuisine with Grill Selection. <br />Breakfast served Monday to Friday 8am - 11.30am, Saturday and Sunday 9am - 11am<br />Bottomless Brunch and Dinner served every Friday 12pm - 4pm, 6pm - close and Saturday 11am - 11pm. <br />A la carte is available Monday to Saturday 12pm - 11pm &amp; Sunday 12pm - 10.30pm
  • Private party facilities
    Smiths Restaurant and Bar is a modern British-inspired restaurant burrowed in the heart of Paddington Basin, London. The spacious, daylight-filled venue with a gorgeous year-round terrace overlooks the beautiful Grand Union Canal.
  • Private party contact
    Oksana Sviridova: 020 7286 9458
  • Area
    Paddington
  • Cross Street
    Grand Union Canal, Sheldon Square Paddington
  • Parking Details
    Street Parking
  • Public Transit
    Paddington Railway Station, Heathrow Express direct to Heathrow Airport, Paddington Tube station, Paddington Bus Stop, Warwick Avenue tube station, Royal Oak tube station, Edgware Road tube station
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeaway, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Experiences

  • TFL Off-peak Friday Lunch and Drinks

    £35.00 per person

    Multiple dates available
    Please note, the offer is available for the whole table only. Treat yourself to the ultimate lunch experience with our bottomless food offering every Friday! Indulge in an endless flow of delicious dishes, perfect for sharing with friends and colleagues. Book now and get ready to feast and flow like never before just for £35pp or add bottomless drinks for an additional £15pp. For bookings of 9 guests and over please contact reservations@smithsbarandgrill.co.uk
    TFL Off-peak Friday Lunch and Drinks photo
  • TFL Off-peak Friday Dinner and Drinks

    £35.00 per person

    Multiple dates available
    Please note, offer is available for the whole table only. Start your weekend off right with unlimited food and drinks every Friday dinner. 90 minutes of bottomless dishes are just £35pp, or upgrade to bottomless Bellini, Prosecco, and Bellini for only £50pp. For bookings of 9 guests and over please contact reservations@smithsbarandgrill.co.uk
    TFL Off-peak Friday Dinner and Drinks photo
  • Any Coffee & Pastry, £4.

    Multiple dates available
    Treat yourself to a delicious coffee and pastry for just £4! Our freshly brewed coffee and delectable pastries are the perfect way to start your day.
    Any Coffee & Pastry, £4. photo

What 972 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

3.9
3.9 based on recent ratings
  • 4Food
  • 3.7Service
  • 3.9Ambience
  • 3.6Value

NoiseEnergetic

Loved For

  • West London

    Good for business meals

  • West London

    Good for business meals

  • West London

    Hot spot

  • West London

    British

  • West London

    Most Booked 1000-Point Tables

973 Reviews
  1. lizm

    London

    7 reviews

    2.0

    7 reviews

    Dined 2 days ago

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    Too noisy, even at the back of the restaurant. Service was really slow. Lots of food on the menu was unavailable. Prices high for what we had Tables too close together, very squashed in
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded 1 day ago
    Dear LizM, We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit. It's disappointing to hear about the noise level, slow service, and limited menu availability you encountered. We understand that high prices coupled with these issues made for a less than ideal dining experience. Additionally, we regret that the seating arrangements felt cramped. Your feedback is valuable, and we'll take it into consideration as we strive to improve. We hope you'll give us another chance to provide you with a more enjoyable dining experience in the future. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  2. NatalieT

    London

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    Well it was mad in here last night ! we arrived at 6pm and didn't get our starters until 7.05pm - one of which was missing as they didn't have any left (not told this until the other dishes arrived) I understand the starters were good. Mains came out after another 40 min wait but missing one again.... it wasn't added to the order apparently, even though the server checked with us all after we ordered! Service was dreadful - lots of walking by and not checking in with the table, and us having to try and attract their attention. Seemed to be enough staff, they were busy - but the servers didn't appear to have been well trained. Nobody took ownership of the missing dishes issues, just walked away saying they would sort it out.... but didn't :-( I spoke to the Maitre'D who discounted our final bill by 10%. TBH I wont be visiting there again, really disappointed.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded 1 day ago
    Dear NatalieT, We're truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. We understand the issues with timing and accuracy of your orders fell short of the standards we aim to uphold. Your feedback is invaluable, and we're committed to addressing these shortcomings to prevent them in the future. While we're glad our Maitre'D offered a discount on your final bill, we recognise it may not fully remedy the disappointment. Should you reconsider visiting us, we'd welcome the chance to provide you with the exceptional dining experience you deserve. Please reach out to reservations@smithsbarandgrill.co.uk. Kind regards, EM

    Is this helpful?

  3. Matthew

    London

    16 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    16 reviews

    Dined 2 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We were very well treated and we could stay in the bar as long as we wanted

    Is this helpful?

  4. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 6 days ago

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    I had the pork belly Sunday roast sharing for two people, we had enough food between us, but the food was not hot. I would say it would timid which spoil the whole experience for our first time dining at this restaurant. 
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded 1 day ago
    Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad to hear that you found there was enough food for both of you to share. However, we're truly sorry to hear that the temperature of the food didn't meet your expectations and that it impacted your overall dining experience. We understand how important it is for our dishes to be served piping hot, and we apologise for falling short on this occasion. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we'll use it to ensure that we maintain the high standards we strive for. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a much-improved experience. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  5. JADM

    London

    6 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 5 April 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Excellent venue, great food and excellent service! The music was a little load but still really great to see a live DJ playing
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 11 April 2024
    Dear JADM, We're thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience at our venue! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed the food and received excellent service from our team. Your comment about the music volume is duly noted, and we'll make sure to take it into consideration to enhance the overall experience for our guests. We're glad you appreciated the live DJ performance and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable visit! Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  6. OpenTable Diner

    New York City

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 2 April 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 5
    Very disappointing. Every other table had cloth napkins, while we had paper. We were never asked if we wanted drinks. The steak had even less flavor than the peppercorn sauce it came with, if that is possible. Brought the kids menus with activities, but no pencil/crayon. Told they did not have enough meats for the charcuterie board after we ordered, and it felt like we were bothering the waiter by being there. We’ll not be returning.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 5 April 2024
    Dear Anonymous, We're truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our restaurant. Providing excellent service and a memorable dining experience for our guests are our top priorities, and it's disheartening to hear that we fell short of meeting your expectations during your visit. We are sorry to hear about the discrepancies in the table settings and the lack of attention you received from staff. Regarding the steak and charcuterie board, we apologise that they did not meet your expectations. We take great pride in the quality of our dishes, and it's disappointing to hear that they did not meet our usual standards during your visit. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  7. DonnaG

    Essex

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 29 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Very good, lovely ambience, food nice but expensive we thought. Service good but not amazing. Good night though.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 30 March 2024
    Dear DonnaG, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the lovely ambiance of our restaurant and found the food to be nice. However, we're sorry to hear that you found the pricing to be on the higher side. We understand the importance of offering value for money, and we continuously strive to ensure that our pricing reflects the quality of ingredients and the craftsmanship that goes into each dish. Additionally, while we're pleased to hear that you found the service to be good, we regret that it didn't quite meet the level of excellence we aim for. We're glad to hear that overall you had a good night, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for an even better experience. Warm regards, EM

    Is this helpful?

  8. AnitaB

    London

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 24 March 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    I follow you on Instagram and looks amazing however my 4pm booking was when your kitchen was shutting. I was not explained this when booking and felt like I was a bother for being there at that time, food had run out. The waiter helped and asked the kitchen and got me a starter from the bar menu but it looked & tasted dry like it was the left overs of a busy afternoon. Waiters seemed fed up and tired. Had a burger for main which was very good. Ordered exact drinks as table next to me however mine were in very small glasses in comparison and waiter forgot to get the Prosecco shot for it, looked very consistent. I believe if I came earlier I think I would have had a better experience. I was disappointed.
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 5 April 2024
    Dear AnitaB, We're truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our restaurant. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us, and we apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your visit. We sincerely apologise for the misunderstanding regarding the timing of your booking and the kitchen closing as well as any perception that you were made to feel like a bother for being there at that time. Every guest is important to us, regardless of the timing of their reservation, and it's disappointing to hear that you did not feel valued during your visit. We understand your disappointment, and we sincerely hope that you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with the exceptional dining experience you deserve. Many thanks EM

    Is this helpful?

  9. ChloeH

    London

    13 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    13 reviews

    Dined on 24 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    one of the best roasts i’ve had eating out and the service was really great
    Smith's Bar & GrillResponded on 30 March 2024
    Dear ChloeH, Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed one of the best roasts you've had while dining out and that our service left a lasting impression on you. Creating exceptional culinary experiences and providing top-notch service are at the core of what we do, and it's incredibly rewarding to see that our efforts have paid off during your visit. Your kind words mean the world to us, and we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. We can't wait to welcome you back for another delightful dining experience in the future! Warmest regards, EM

    Is this helpful?

  10. Hayles

    Berkshire

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 23 March 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    Great if you’re on a hen party and want to spend £100’s on practically no food at all and also was your eardrums blasted out with tacky music. Service was poor, waiter seemed offended that we only left 5% tip (which was generous for zero service). Steaks are small and not great quality (£30 for the steak ONLY, nothing else comes with it). Table was never cleared until we had to go find someone to ask for the bill. Music way too loud. This “restaurant” can’t work out if it’s an all day party with expensive crap food or a try hard restaurant attempting to be classy and failing. Suggest the former and leave it exclusively to hen dos and bottomless brunch. That’s an expensive 1.5 hours I’ll never get back.

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Smith's Bar & Grill using the Order Online button. Smith's Bar & Grill also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at 020 7286 9458.

Smith's Bar & Grill is rated 3.9 stars by 972 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 20 times today
Experiences are available.

Order delivery or takeout

Google Map for Smith's Bar & Grill

25 Sheldon Square, Paddington, London, W2 6EY

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Cross Street
    Grand Union Canal, Sheldon Square Paddington
  • Area
    Paddington
  • Hours of Operation
    Breakfast Mon–Fri 08:00–11:30 Sat 09:00–11:00 Sun 09:00–11:30 Brunch Fri 12:00–16:00 Sat 11:00–16:00 Lunch Mon–Thu, Sun 12:00–16:00 Dinner Daily 16:00–23:00
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    British, Modern European, Grill
  • Dining style
    Elegant Dining
  • Dress Code
    Smart Casual
  • Parking Details
    Street Parking
  • Public Transit
    Paddington Railway Station, Heathrow Express direct to Heathrow Airport, Paddington Tube station, Paddington Bus Stop, Warwick Avenue tube station, Royal Oak tube station, Edgware Road tube station
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Executive Chef
    David Reyes
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeaway, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Phone number
    020 7286 9458
  • Catering
    Modern British Cuisine with Grill Selection. <br />Breakfast served Monday to Friday 8am - 11.30am, Saturday and Sunday 9am - 11am<br />Bottomless Brunch and Dinner served every Friday 12pm - 4pm, 6pm - close and Saturday 11am - 11pm. <br />A la carte is available Monday to Saturday 12pm - 11pm &amp; Sunday 12pm - 10.30pm
  • Private party facilities
    Smiths Restaurant and Bar is a modern British-inspired restaurant burrowed in the heart of Paddington Basin, London. The spacious, daylight-filled venue with a gorgeous year-round terrace overlooks the beautiful Grand Union Canal.
  • Private party contact
    Oksana Sviridova: 020 7286 9458
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Impressum
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo