The Black Bull
We pride ourselves on serving freshly prepared classic pub grub and a great selection of local cask beers & ales which change weekly. If you fancy a nip with your pint or your meal you won’t be disappointed.
Please note that we can only accept a maximum party size of 6, from a maximum of 2 separate households.
Following the Scottish Government advice, wearing of a face covering upon arrival and when moving around the venue is mandatory.
I booked at table here because they advertised the eat out to help out 50% off up to £10 had been extended in September from Monday too Friday.
We asked for our bill which took a while to arrive as the waiter had forgotten us - when the bill arrived the discount had not been applied. I raised this with the waiter to be advised it does not apply anymore - I said that all the advertising states this and that I had even checked their Facebook page earlier that day to check - I will still advised no discount. As we were walking out there on the bar was a big poster advertising the scheme so I approached the bar and advised they should take it down as it was false advertising - only to be told that no the offer applies - eventually a refund was processed. The food was ok not fantastic but ok as for the service this was very very poor - I will not be visiting again and would not recommend
Hi Sallyr I'm sorry to hear that your visit was made unpleasant by what sounds like a bit of miscommunication between the staff. We will have a look into what happened to make sure this doesn't happen again. We would like to invite you back again to give us another try and show you that this was just a one off. If you would like to discuss this more please reach out to us at email@example.com. Kind regards The Blackbull team
Had a great evening. Parents came up to visit and it's become a bit of a tradition to go to the Black Bull each year now. Lovely food and the online menu made everything simple.
Hi Sam Glad you enjoyed your visit with us. we hope we can keep this tradition up every year! looking forward to seeing you again Team Black Bull
Staff were amazing, 1st bar we have been in since lockdow lifted but enjoyed the banter with staff, food was nice and service was great
Hi Amanda Were so glad we could make your first bar visit since lockdown a positive one! thanks for the great review and for the banter ;) Team Black Bull
Table for two booked for drinks only although the menu did look great, very friendly staff, well organised in the current climate.
Hi Chris Glad you enjoyed your drinks with us!. come back in to try out the food, we promise its as good as it looks! Team Black Bull
Great bog standard bar meal , great location. Staff were doing their best given all that’s going on , very Covid safe aware .
Hi Jill, so glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Covid has been a trying time for us all and were glad we are seen as so Covid aware Team Black Bull
Good times. Looked after well. Will be back again sometime
Hi George Glad you felt so well looked after. You're welcome back here any time Team Black Bull
Well organised, good atmosphere and great value. Service efficient and friendly
Hi Edward Glad you enjoyed your evening with us. were trying hard to keep a good atmosphere post Covid and we're glad that you had a good time. Come back and see us whenever you're around Grassmarket Team Black Bull
Lovely food and service and would return. Thanks for a lovely evening.
Hi Kayleigh Thank you for your lovely review, and thank you for spending your evening with us. you're welcome back any time! Team Black Bull
Excellent fish and chips, served hygienically by cheery waiting staff. Eating out to help out - but would again
Hi Junee Glad you enjoyed your fish and chips with us! please feel free to come back any time ! Team Black Bull
Great service, the staff were all very friendly and helpful through tough times at the moment they made us feel very comfortable. We had a brilliant night!
Hi Mark Thanks for your great review. we know its a strange world right now and were glad we could make you feel so welcomed and safe. visit us any time you find yourself in the Grassmarket Team Black Bull
The service was absolutely amazing. Very friendly staff and extremely great food! Will definitely be back again!!
Hi Becky. Were so glad you had a good evening with us. our staff are very proud of how accommodating they are and will always go out of their way to make you feel welcomed! Come back and see us any time Team Black Bull
Did not have food, so put poor out of frustration for a 'did not have food' option.
Hi CoopC Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! we would love to have you come back in and try our food so we can get that rating up and really try and impress you! Team Black Bull
Really relaxed lunch time dining. Staff were all very friendly and attentive. The Mac n Cheese was amazing. Enjoyed and felt very safe. Will be back and definately recommend.
Hi Jools. So happy to hear you had a great lunch with us. The mac 'n' cheese is a staff favourite as well . looking forward to seeing you again real soon Team Black Bull
Amazing. Staff were great. Food awesome
Hi there Glad you had a great time with us. feel free to pop back in whenever you're in Grassmarket Team Black Bull
Amazing staff amazing food great value for money
Hi There amy Glad you had such a nice time with us! thank you for your lovely review. hopefully be seeing you soon Team Black Bull
Great pub with value for money food in a fantastic location. The staff could not be more helpful
Hi John we're so happy to hear that you had a great evening with us. our staff always try their best to go out of the way for guests whenever possible and we're glad you got treated the way you deserved! Team Black Bull
Was nice but the menu on open table isn’t the menu in the pub which put us off and we ended up leaving after 1 drink as it wasn’t what we expected.
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. we're sorry that our full menu wasn't available to you during your visit. post lockdown we had to make some tough choices in order to keep providing our guests with a high level of quality and service and because of this we have had to reduce our menu. Once the world stops being so topsy turvey please drop by and see us again and let us really impress you with our food and service Team Black Bull
Came across a member of staff who had an attitude, but other than that was good
Hi Ross Thank you for leaving us the review. we're so sorry your experience wasn't all that it could of been. if you'd like to discuss the matter with management please feel free to email us at firstname.lastname@example.org so we can see what went wrong during your visit and what we can do to improve! Team Black Bull
Well run and conforming to Covid conditions well. Service was good at the bar and hygiene was well observed
Hi Jamess Thanks for visiting us and thanks for leaving us this review! you're always welcome back for good service, good drinks and good (Socially distant!) Banter Team Black Bull
Didn’t eat here so that’s why low number, but food did look good, so maybe next time.
Hey Yvonne Thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. next time youre in grass market pop into us for a meal and let us really wow you with our menu and hopefully get that score up! Team Black Bull
Was so nice to have a bit of normality back. hot temperature taken before going in so felt like it was a safe environment. Food was good :) will return!
Hi Fiona Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! Covid has been a challenge for all of us and the fact that we were able to make you feel safe and reassured is great to know! please come back and see us whenever you find yourself in Grassmarket.
After booking on the Thursday via OpenTable for a Sat 3pm booking, I received a VM from the BlackBull on the Sat @ 11:22 advising they were cancelling as the booking should not have been given as the rugby was on. This left me with little time to organise another booking. Not impressed.
Had a good time but the booking though open table DID NOT WORK, IF YOU WANT TO BOOK IT HAS TO BE ON THE PHONE to them. This is a bit frustrating as why have they not taken this off the site?
Didn't like our meal what we had was tasteless,really noisy,table just inside front door was really cold.On arriving they didn't have our name on their list.Steak which my husband had was inedible don't like to complain but wasn't happy.
When we arrived for our reservation they said they didn’t take reservations from open table during Fringe Festival and didn’t have one for us. They made no offer to accommodate us. We had a lovely dinner at Beehive next door. I’d recommend there.
Arrived on time to be told by member of staff that Black Bull did not accept bookings. They had no knowledge of open table.
They don’t use open table so on the day of the Military Tattoo when Edinburgh was packed my table booking wasn’t valid. Then had great trouble finding something else in a short time frame for 6 people. Perhaps not the black bulls fault and the staff were very helpful considering how packed it was but left hungry.
The Black Bull is rated 4.4 stars by 27 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.