The Black Bull
We pride ourselves on serving freshly prepared classic pub grub and a great selection of local cask beers & ales which change weekly. If you fancy a nip with your pint or your meal you won’t be disappointed.
Please note that we are currently operating within Scottish Government guidelines.
All Bookings must be confirmed with card details in order to secure the booking. Nothing is charged to the card by way of a deposit and the card details are stored using SSL encryption, the industry standard. By providing card details, you are deemed to acknowledge that a charge of £5 per person may be made to the card in the event that your party fails to arrive or if the booking is cancelled with less than 2 hours notice.
Please note: We are only licensed to allow under 18s on the premises until 8pm.
- Surfaces sanitised between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
- Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waiting staff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
- Staff temperature check required
- Diner temperature check required
- Contact tracing information collected
Food was much higher standard than expected, service excellent and in such a lovely, sunny spot of Grassmarket, what more could we ask for!
Had a table booked for 7.15pm arrived slightly early but was told fully booked despite lots of empty tables.
Food was nice however they did not have enough staff on to cover the minimal amount of people that were there. Placed a 2nd order for drinks, which were forgotten about and it took 25mins to find a member of staff to remind them.
Overall ok food but service left a lot to be desired
Sat outside in the beautiful sunshine at the black bull yesterday, had a lovely afternoon, girl who served us was fantastic, didn’t get her name but she had brown curly hair, she’s was so attentive and bubbly, even gave us suntan lotion, would definitely recommend to all friends,
Lovely food and very friendly staff
Slow service 20 minutes to get a drink, finished them within 5 and no one had come for 15 minutes after we finished them.
Really fast service compared to other places we visited the same day. Friendly staff who gave plenty notice of when we had to move on (2 hours booking slots). Will be back!
We sat outside and had a lovely lunch, staff were very attentive, couldn't have done anymore.
We had an amazing day, Will our waiter went above and beyond to help sort tables for us in the afternoon and evening.
Delicious food, but a very noisy venue with loud TVs and music, so not the ideal place if you are wanting to chat over dinner. Service was reasonable to begin with, to take our original order but after our plates were cleared nobody came back to ask if we wanted anything further. Tables limited to 2 hours which I think is standard at the moment
Insufficient staff so service vey slow. Had to remind staff of our order twice before our drinks arrived
Visited the black bull on two occasions during our weekend in Edinburgh, on both occasions service was excellent, staff very helpful and a very welcoming atmosphere. Can't wait to visit again.
staff where excellent food was good value outside table was brill
Just booked a table for outdoor drinks which was lovely. Drinks cold and staff very helpful and friendly. Ordered some nachos to share as a snack, overall ok but cheese was obvious cheap as already set hard when food came. Would happily go back fit drinks but would skip food. Loos clean
Hi Gwyneth, thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear about the food not being up to standard on this occasion, if you'd like staff recommendations of our other popular light bites, all our staff would be more than happy to recommend on your next visit! Kind regards The black Bull Team
chicken burger was way over cooked and salty. it took ages for the food to come out after the starter, 50 mins. chips were awful
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our site. We appreciate all feedback - both positive in negative. If you would like to take this further, please feel free to email us on firstname.lastname@example.org. Kindest regards, The Black Bull Team
Nice lunch in the company of friends catching up for the first time in many many months. Sought outside space and Black Bull fitted the bill being centrally located - indeed a great spot in Edinburgh’s Grassmarket. COVID protocols managed by friendly and welcoming staff were strong. We will be back.
Hi GordonC, Thanks for your brilliant review. I'm so glad to hear you had such a positive experience dining with us. And we look forward to your return! Kind Regards, The Black Bull Team
Liked it better when it was independent and not cold town house. I could use my black bull discount card then 😞
A good pub with great food and super service
Hi there, thanks for your cracking review! We hope to see you for a visit soon again. Regards, The Black Bull Team
Fantastic food, drinks and atmosphere. Would have liked menus on tables but I understand why they don’t have them out during the pandemic :)
Hi LivMcLay, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our site. I am glad your trip to the Black Bull was overall positive. Thank you for your feedback regarding the menus, we usually have paper copies of our menus if our QR codes don't work! Kind regards :)
Service was good, great atmosphere, would definitely go back
Hi DannyG, Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear your visit with us was so positive, and I'll pass on your regards to the rest of our team. Cheers, The Black Bull Team
Great afternoon sitting outside at the pub. Friendly staff and good food too. Would recommend if in the area.
Hi there, Thanks for your recommendation and great review! I'm glad to hear your visit with us was so positive. Hopefully you can pop back in some point for another meal soon! Regards, The Black Bull Team
On the whole the food was decent pub grub. The Mac n Cheese however was very disappointing. The time limit of two hours while not their fault also made the visit feel very rushed
Hi LisaM, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - we appreciate all feedback, be it positive or negative. I am sorry to hear that your time at the Black Bull was not as positive. We will take on board your comments about the food. In regard to the two hour time slot, we very much hope we can get back to running normal soon, as we appreciate these times are hard for both our customers and our staff. Kindest regards, The Black Bull Team
Quality rib eye steak very good always have this when I am here washed down with a pint or two Belhaven beer
Been many times always worth a visit when in Edinburgh
Hi there, thank you for your positive review! We hope to see you back again soon! Cheers, The Black Bull Team
Young girl working at the front door on Saturday night 3rd July, excellent service. We were the old table she couldnt fit inside when it was raining but she went out her way to make sure we were alright and had drinks. Well done. Also the door man outside was lovely clearly loves his job.
Hi Leigh, thanks for the great review! We're sorry we weren't able to get you inside but glad you managed to have a good night anyway :) Kind regards, The Black Bull team
Very disappointed. No sound on TV for match. Music playing. Pub full of fowl mouthed drunks.
Will never go back
Thank you for your feedback, we're very sorry to have disappointed you on this occasion. We also apologise for any fowl language you experienced from fellow patrons. We do try our best to speak to folk if their language or volume is deemed to be inappropriate or excessive. We'd love to have the opportunity to show you that The Black Bull can be a great place to enjoy a game. We always put sound on for matches if requested. Thanks again, Black Bull Management Team.
We were only there for drinks so no food ordered. However sitting outside was great with very helpful staff.
Hi there, Thanks for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your visit, and if you'd like any recommendations for food next time, our lovely staff will be more than happy to help! Kind regards, the Black Bull Team
Great service from arriving to leaving. Our waitress Erin was fantastic. Polite, well mannered, efficient, cheery, everything you want when being served. Food was great. Smoothing running of ordering, track and trace etc. Just a fantastic visit. Will definitely be back.
Hi Suzanne, Thank you for the review, we'll let Erin know how awesome she is and see you next time! :) Kind regards, The Black Bull Team.
Service was fantastic considering the covid restrictions and busy queue to get in. Would fully recommend!
Hi ChrisC, thank you for your positive review! We look forward to having you back again soon. Kind regards, The Black Bull Team
A nice pub just a shame we were outside which was a bit cold by the end of the evening
Hi Stuart! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on our site. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative. I am glad to hear that you liked our venue. The Scottish is weather is so fickle, and we can sympathise with this! Fingers crossed the weather stays dry and warm throughout the summer! We will take your comments on board. Regards, The Black Bull Team
Made extremely welcome and had a fantastic time. Food and drinks delivered to the table promptly. Ricky was a top front of house as was his counterpart who’s name I cannot remember (possibly Antisa) but had Welsh relatives. Would highly recommend the Black Bull and am already looking forward to returning.
5 stars all around!
Hi there, I am so pleased to hear your visit to the Black Bull was so positive! I will make sure to pass on your positive feedback to your servers. We look forward to having you back! Regards, The Black Bull Team
We were sat outside without an umbrella and it was raining really heavy. We asked to move to a sheltered area which was free and told we could only have it for a limited period as another table were coming in. We questioned this as we had booked a two hour slot & were told this was the rules. So we decided to cancel our drinks and leave. Awful customer service.
Staff here are brilliant! Always so nice and friendly!
Hi LCxx, thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you back again soon! Regards, The Black Bull Team
Realky really enjoyed it in here great staff and hearty food the beer tower is awesome
Hi WayneM, thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our website. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to having you back again soon, and agree - the beer tower is a great addition to our menu. Regards, The Black Bull Team
A really great and friendly pub. Service was quick and the food was hot when it arrived. I especially loved the haggis and Irish whiskey cheese sauce fries! I would definitely recommend
Hi AnthonyP, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review! We are fans of the haggis fries too, they're very popular at the minute! Hopefully see you in the pub again soon! Kindest regards, The Black Bull Team
Service was poor, ordered drinks and didn’t receive anything therefore left. However was nearly charged for the drinks we never got
Great wee pub. Bouncer was very well mannered and happy to help passers bye
Thanks a lot Ian, we'll pass it on to the bouncer and the staff and see you again soon. Kind regards, The Black Bull Team
Not the best
Hi. Apologies that you didn't enjoy your visit. We always appreciate feedback on what we can do to improve our service. If you would like to talk further about your visit, please feel free to email us at email@example.com. Kindest regards Black Bull Management.
We did not eat at this time so cannot make a comment about the food .
Hi Lorraine, thanks for the good feedback regardless. If you would like any recommendations on food for next time just ask one of our friendly staff members and we'll be happy to help :) Kind regards, The Black Bull Team
Best drinks and food all day
Great service from all staff
Thank you for the feedback David, we'll be sure to let the staff know and look forward to seeing you next time :) Kind regards, The Black Bull team.
Good vibes for football. Staff attentive and service was quick
Hi Alex, Thanks for the positive feedback, we're really glad you enjoyed your time with us. We're showing all the football games so let us know if you'd like to book a table for the next one :) Kind regards, The Black Bull Team
The Black Bull is rated 4.4 stars by 99 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.