Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. London
  4. South West London
  5. Chelsea

The Botanist

3.9
3.9
1279 Reviews
£26 to £40
British

The Botanist is a stylish, contemporary restaurant and bar on Sloane Square, open all day every day. The venue has an elegant look as befits its chic Chelsea location: the light and airy dining space has floor to ceiling windows; a stunning stripped oak floor and a beautifully lit display of botanical images.

The menus offer a selection of carefully sourced, seasonal dishes and delicious desserts are also on offer.

The gleaming pewter bar also offers a fantastic space for drinks.

The extensive wine list features 150 bins and the cocktail list offers all the classics plus a selection of original, bespoke cocktails using of seasonal British ingredients.

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable booking network.

If you like, we'll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.


Is this your restaurant?
Claim this listing

  • Dining style

    Casual Elegant

  • Cuisines

    British, French

  • Hours of Operation

    Monday-Friday
    Breakfast: 8am – 11.30am
    Restaurant menu: noon – 11pm

    On the weekend
    Breakfast: 9am – 4pm
    Restaurant menu: 4pm – 11pm

    Bar menu available all day, everyday, from noon – 10.30pm

  • Phone number

    020 7730 0077

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress Code

    Casual Dress

  • Catering

    We are happy to organise local canapés parties, cocktail parties and business lunch catering. Please contact Cat at cat@etmgroup.co.uk

  • Area

    Chelsea

  • Parking Details

    MONDAY TO SATURDAY<br />During the day meters are available in all surrounding streets at a cost of £3 - £4 an hour. <br /><br />Free parking is available on Sloane Square and on the surrounding streets from 6.30pm each night. <br /><br />SUNDAYS<br /><br />Parking is free all day in the surrounding streets.

  • Public Transit

    The Botanist is ideally located for public transport. The closest tube stations are Sloane Square and Victoria and local bus routes include the 11,19,22,137,170,211,319,360,452 and C1.

  • Additional

    Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Menu

View menu on restaurant's website

What 1,279 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

3.9
3.9 based on all time ratings
  • 3.9Food
  • 3.8Service
  • 3.8Ambience
  • 3.4Value

NoiseModerate

Sort by

Filters

  1. HT

    HugoT

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 October 2019

    overall4food4service4ambience4

    Very pleasant dining environment and friendly staff. A little pricey but the location supports it. It is a busy place. For a pre concert dinner, service could sometimes be more responsive. I recommend The Botanist

    The BotanistResponded on 14 October 2019

    Thank you so much HugoT

  2. s

    steaklover

    London

    80 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    80 reviews

    Dined on 7 September 2019

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    A delightful meal with well considered portion sizes and impeccable service - a lovely birthday celebration!

    The BotanistResponded on 16 September 2019

    So pleased you enjoyed your visit! Happy birthday

  3. j

    jstan13

    London

    6 reviews

    4.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 13 August 2019

    overall4food4service4ambience4

    Lovely restaurant for lunch. Nice lunch menu, we both had salads, which were delicious and filling. I had a wonderful Mojito. Lovely surroundings. would recommend.

    The BotanistResponded on 22 August 2019

    Thanks for this, so happy you enjoyed a great visit

  4. P

    Pippa

    London

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 8 August 2019

    overall3food3service3ambience4

    Prawn cocktail not good for price. Very few prawns and watery. Main courses good and dessert. Wine list is pricey and a good house wine would be an option especially when diners do not want to drink same wine eg white or red . Not as good as previous visits, inconsistent.

    The BotanistResponded on 12 August 2019

    Dear Pippa Thank you for your review and feedback. I am sorry that this visit was not as good as previous visits. It would be great to understand where we went wrong if you had a few moments? gemma@etmgroup.co.uk Thanks Gemma

  5. KH

    KatherineH

    London

    3 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 4 August 2019

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Absolutely incredible service. One of our party was stuck in traffic and therefore late, but rather than let the food get cold, the Botanist prepared a second plate to be served when she arrived. The staff went above and beyond: the food was delicious and would recommend to anyone.

    The BotanistResponded on 12 August 2019

    Hi KatherineH, thank you so much for your lovely review, we do hope to see you back soon.

  6. P

    Penny

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 August 2019

    overall3food4service2ambience3

    Were greeted by very friendly staff. Seated at 1730, food ordered and drinks served by 1740. Smoked almonds served almost immediately. At 1830 still no food but a very very apologetic waiter followed by manager to explain they had been a mixup with the kitchen and her food hadn’t been ordered. By 1840 the most delicious food was brought to the table again with sincere apologies. The food was absolutely outstanding 10 out of 10 Deserts were ordered and again were delicious. Requesting the bill the manager again apologised and offered us our wine and deserts free of charge Service by staff was exceptional Food again exceptional The wait for the food on the other hand, was appalling

    The BotanistResponded on 12 August 2019

    Dear Penny, thank you for taking the time to review The Botanist. It is lovely to read such wonderful comments about the food and staff. I am, however so sorry that you had this experience with such delays. This isn't close to our usual standards and was an error with the order to the kitchen. We hate the idea of guests leaving unhappy, I do hope the managers apologies would ensure you would visit us again? Best wishes Gemma

  7. RR

    RichR

    Newcastle

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 1 August 2019

    overall4food2service3ambience4

    Got great potential but the food was mediocre. Worked out at £90 per head which we felt was too much especially for the quality of the food

  8. L

    Localresident

    London

    9 reviews

    3.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on 1 August 2019

    overall3food1service4ambience5

    The reason I have given a low rating on the food is because my friend and I each only wanted one course and we both fancied having a salad and, out of the three salad choices on offer, both went for chicken caesar salad. I found there to be far too much cheese, which was both grated and shaved, too much dressing which was very rich, as well as too much bread/toast. I only really ate the chicken and bits of lettuce where the dressing wasn't too thick. My friend enjoyed the salad more than I did but overall still felt it was a bit of a disappointment. When the waiter collected our plates at the end he noticed how much we had left uneaten and I have to say we were impressed that, without us making any fuss or demands, the Manager did offer us a reduction on our bill. In general I would also report that the ambiance was great, the service was good and I would return to the Botanist...but would be more careful in my choice of dish next time. Perhaps it would be good to offer a wider choices of salad, especially during the summer months.

    The BotanistResponded on 5 August 2019

    Hi, thank you for your review and feedback. I am so sorry your salad was such a disappointment, I have passed your comments onto the managers to review with the chef. I am pleased the team looked after you and I do hope we see you back soon. many thanks Gemma gemma@etmgroup.co.uk

  9. a

    amber

    Chicago

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 26 July 2019

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Everything was perfect. My salmon was cooked to perfection and the linseed topping was creative and tasty. Thank you

  10. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Baltimore

    7 reviews

    4.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on 18 July 2019

    overall4food4service4ambience5

    Met with some friends from USA. Very enjoyable experience. A few more gluten free options would have made the experience even more memorable. Service was pretty good. Food pretty good too.

    The BotanistResponded on 22 July 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to pass this over to the team!

  11. NM

    NMLBJL

    Dallas

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 15 July 2019

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Best mussels I’ve ever had! Service was excellent!

    The BotanistResponded on 22 July 2019

    Lovely to read! Glad you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we see you back again soon

  12. K

    Kimmi3019

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 July 2019

    overall5food5service4ambience5

    I’m at Botanist most weekends but this weekend I really left disappointed. One of us has not finished her breakfast and the waitress was pulling the plate already. Was too late to ask if she had finished while taking the plate... obviously she hasn’t but didn’t feel eating after such a rude behaviour. We would have probably forgotten and I wouldn’t not mention it but same thing happened when we were having our coffees at the end. The waitress tried to take my friend’s cup before she had finished her coffee so this time my friend got quite upset and pointed out that she has not finished the coffee. The restaurant wasn’t completely full or anything as such to have explanation for being rushed the whole time. I hope it doesn’t happen again. Thank you

    The BotanistResponded on 22 July 2019

    Hi Kimmi3019 I am so sorry that you didn't have a great experience on this visit. We have raised your feedback with the team to ensure this doesn't happen again. We hope to see you back again for an amazing experience! Best wishes Gemma

  13. AS

    AdrianS

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 13 July 2019

    overall5food5service5ambience4

    We got some pre-theatre supper. Hadn't been to Sloane Square for a while. The staff knew what they were doing. I would go back.

    The BotanistResponded on 22 July 2019

    Thank you AdrianS - we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  14. PS

    PeterS

    London

    18 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    18 reviews

    Dined on 10 July 2019

    overall2food1service4ambience3

    A great location and a perfectly pleasant restaurant with an attractive menu but the neighbouring bar is very noisy and the cooking was poorly executed. Starters were acceptable if unexciting but the main courses were tepid and the oil in the deep fryer used was clearly not hot enough as the dishes were greasy. The chips in particular were dreadful. Soggy and lukewarm. At the price charged the level of cooking was unacceptable. The service however was good.

    The BotanistResponded on 22 July 2019

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review PeterS. I am so sorry you didn't have a great experience with us. We would like to understand where we went wrong so we can fix these issues, please could you drop me an email gemma@etmgroup.co.uk when you have a chance. Best wishes Gemma

  15. FP

    FrankP

    London

    5 reviews

    4.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 10 July 2019

    overall4food4service4ambience4

    Botanist at Sloane Sq continues to please, with reliable menu and discreet service. [This time, the two young waiting staff who served us were novices and unsure of which menus were available but they quickly learned and were very polite and friendly.]

  16. EM

    ElviraM

    London

    20 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    20 reviews

    Dined on 28 June 2019

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Amazing food and best ever service

    The BotanistResponded on 4 July 2019

    Thank you for your review! We hope to see you back soon

  17. 2

    2belgianfoodies

    London

    11 reviews

    3.0

    11 reviews

    Dined on 27 June 2019

    overall3food4service1ambience2

    We have been to this restaurant several times. We have seen it change over the years. The food is still OK but the ambiance changed from a restaurant with a bar to a bar with a restaurant on the side. Ok if you like a lot of noise while dining. Think this will now be the last time we eat here.

    The BotanistResponded on 4 July 2019

    Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your dining experience with us this time. If you wished to discuss your review in any further detail, please do not hesitate to contact me. Best wishes Gemma gemma@etmgroup.co.uk

  18. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    21 reviews

    3.0

    21 reviews

    Dined on 25 June 2019

    overall3food2service3ambience3

    I went to the Botanist for a breakfast meeting and while it was a good place to have a business conversation, unfortunately they did not have a couple of items that me and my colleague wanted - jasmine tea (they only had jasmine green tea) and pain au chocolate (they only had plain croissants, which they served on their own, without jam) .

  19. J

    James

    Cleveland

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 22 June 2019

    overall4food4service2ambience3

    We went to the Botanist on a Saturday evening before a Cadogan Hall performance. We had a reservation and were seated right away. The wine and food were good, pasta and the vegetarian black bean option. Service was not particular responsive, though the food came quickly once our orders were taken.

  20. t

    twotravellers

    London

    4 reviews

    2.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 22 June 2019

    overall2food4service1ambience1

    We. had a really, really bad experienced. We arrived at 5.15pm for 5.30pm booking. Only 3 or 4 tables were occupied but it took ages to get a drink at the table, it took 45 mins for our starters to appear... and then with items listed on the menu missing. Then the remains of the bottle of wine that we had bought and which had been place in an ice bucket by the dumbwaiter was served to another diner and we were "recommended" to have a couple of glasses of the cheapest rose (inferior to what we had bought) that they had on the bar! Mains had not appeared one and a quarter hours after we had sat down. Chap in "charge" promised they would be with us in one minute... it was 5 minutes but they were good. Eventually we left after one and three quarter hours, without dessert, without coffee but with the service charge of 12.5% deducted and a 50% discount on the food. We've had great meals at the Botanist in the past will brilliant service... but we will now use one of their competitors next time we are at the Cadogan Halls or the Royal Court.

  21. c

    cheezy

    London

    24 reviews

    3.0

    24 reviews

    Dined on 19 June 2019

    overall3food3service4ambience3

    Great food, good wines, buzzy atmosphere, lovely service.

  22. V

    Vidchick66

    New York Area

    8 reviews

    4.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on 17 June 2019

    overall4food4service4ambience4

    Everything was excellent just wished the smoke from the smokers outside didn’t invade the restaurant - it was a bit nauseating to have to eat a meal with the smell of cigarettes surrounding our table ... but it is what it is.

  23. CB

    ChantalB

    London

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 16 June 2019

    overall1food1service3ambience3

    The avocado on toast with poached eggs was freezing. The avocado obviously came straight out of the fridge which made the whole dish very cold. The extra bacon was the smallest portion I have seen. My friends all had eggs benedict which showed up on a white plate with no garnish what so ever. It just looked insipid and very unappetising. All in all very disappointing.

    The BotanistResponded on 17 June 2019

    Hi Chantal, thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit. I am so sorry the food was disappointing. Please could you get in touch to discuss your experience so we can understand what happened. Many thanks Gemma gemma@etmgroup.co.uk

  24. V

    Victoria

    London

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 9 June 2019

    overall5food5service4ambience4

    Delicious food and great portion size. Good service and a lovely place to catch up with a friend.

  25. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 7 June 2019

    overall4food4service4ambience2

    Bit noisy but lovely meal

  26. p

    purdey

    London

    25 reviews

    2.0

    25 reviews

    Dined on 4 June 2019

    overall2food1service1ambience2

    I was kept waiting at the "desk" for over five minutes. The barman saw me waiting and did nothing . The crab linguine was not nearly as good as usual and the fishcake was burnt on the outside.

    The BotanistResponded on 10 June 2019

    Hi Purdey I am so sorry that your experience wasnt a fantastic one. Please could you get in touch for us to discuss this further and try and make this up to you. Best wishes Gemma gemma@Etmgroup.co.uk

  27. CM

    CatherineM

    London

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 3 June 2019

    overall4food5service5ambience4

    Lovely food and great service. The restaurant is an attractive eating venue and the staff were all friendly and solicitous.

  28. t

    tracyk

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 1 June 2019

    overall1food2service3ambience4

    had to wait ages for round of drinks, then main course tofu salads arrived with half the ingredients missing. manager replaced them and didn't charge us but even so...was pretty rubbish that dishes could leave the kitchen half-made.

    The BotanistResponded on 10 June 2019

    Hi Tracy I am so sorry to read your feedback. We work hard to design and create seasonal dishes with quality produce and to able to deliver these to a high standard and so there is no excuse for this. I am so sorry for the poor standards and missing ingredients. We will be addressing with the kitchen team today. Please could you get in touch as we would like to make this up to you. Best wishes Gemma gemma@etmgroup.co.uk

  29. EM

    EmberMum

    London

    8 reviews

    4.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on 30 May 2019

    overall4food3service4ambience4

    Great location and the place has a buzz about it. Menu was ok but not that inspiring but food was nice enough so I would happily return another time.

  30. e

    eclements

    Charleston

    27 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    27 reviews

    Dined on 27 May 2019

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Fantastic. The crispy duck and watermelon is amazing. Definitely also try their drink I Sage Mojito! We will be back.

    The BotanistResponded on 22 July 2019

    Great to read! See you back soon

  31. KA

    KarimA

    London

    10 reviews

    3.0

    10 reviews

    Dined on 27 May 2019

    overall3food5service3ambience5

    Good food but really disappointing service in particular due to a very arrogant waiter

  32. S

    Suki

    London

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 26 May 2019

    overall1food2service2ambience2

    One dish arrived cold. The veal was inedible. Service disappeared after main course and we had to speak to the manager. This was a Sunday evening and it was not busy.

  33. BA

    BarbaraA

    London

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 25 May 2019

    overall3food2service3ambience3

    We had to send our food back as it was barely warm and it took a long time to be brought back to the table. The best thing in the meal was the crime brûlée.

  34. B

    Becca

    London

    8 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on 25 May 2019

    overall5food5service4ambience5

    Lovely food, fast service and will always return with my family and friends.

  35. BC

    BC101

    London

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 24 May 2019

    overall1food1service3ambience1

    Noisy, hot and underwhelming food. Tables packed far too tightly.

  36. KW

    KennethW

    London

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 24 May 2019

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Always visit the Botanist on Sloane Square after visiting Chelsea flower show. Great meal, lovely staff, fabulous location

  37. GH

    GillH

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 23 May 2019

    overall3food3service4ambience2

    Extremely noisy in Bar area. Conversation difficult. Expensive drinks. G&T served in lager glass. Fishcakes only luke warm. Missed shabby chic horticultural decor as in Chester branch. Also missed quirky serving of food ie hanging kebabs. Sorry but nothing special or memorable. However, table available promptly and waitress service efficient, friendly and professional.

  38. B

    Bushbabies

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 23 May 2019

    overall4food4service4ambience4

    Very busy due to flower show but food and service remained good. Varied and interesting menu choice. Noise level a little on the high side due mainly to bar, but remained acceptable.

  39. S

    Scuba61

    London

    19 reviews

    4.0

    19 reviews

    Dined on 23 May 2019

    overall4food4service5ambience4

    Food was very good and so too was the service it was very popular as it was during the Chelsea Flower Show. We sat indoors but at the large open window where people either tried to sit, place their coats or drinks so not very private, felt at times like our space was being invaded but over all an enjoyable experience and extremely handy location for a concert we were attending at Cadogan Hall

  40. DD

    DonnaD

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 23 May 2019

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    This is about my 10th visit here. I have been going ever since it opened after I visit the Chelsea flower show. I enjoy my meal then visit Chelsea in Bloom. I always enjoy my time here...

FAQs

The Botanist is rated 3.9 stars by 1279 OpenTable diners.

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable booking network.

If you like, we'll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.


Is this your restaurant?
Claim this listing
  • Area

    Chelsea

  • Hours of Operation

    Monday-Friday
    Breakfast: 8am – 11.30am
    Restaurant menu: noon – 11pm

    On the weekend
    Breakfast: 9am – 4pm
    Restaurant menu: 4pm – 11pm

    Bar menu available all day, everyday, from noon – 10.30pm

  • Cuisines

    British, French

  • Dining style

    Casual Elegant

  • Dress Code

    Casual Dress

  • Parking Details

    MONDAY TO SATURDAY<br />During the day meters are available in all surrounding streets at a cost of £3 - £4 an hour. <br /><br />Free parking is available on Sloane Square and on the surrounding streets from 6.30pm each night. <br /><br />SUNDAYS<br /><br />Parking is free all day in the surrounding streets.

  • Public Transit

    The Botanist is ideally located for public transport. The closest tube stations are Sloane Square and Victoria and local bus routes include the 11,19,22,137,170,211,319,360,452 and C1.

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Additional

    Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

  • Phone number

    020 7730 0077

  • Catering

    We are happy to organise local canapés parties, cocktail parties and business lunch catering. Please contact Cat at cat@etmgroup.co.uk

Copyright © 2021 OpenTable International Ltd. Fourth Floor, 14-18 Finsbury Square, London EC2A 1AH - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo