The Cricketers

4.2
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
264 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British

Top tags:

Casual
Situated in the picturesque village of Weston, North Herts, The Cricketers is a traditional family village pub with a modern twist. The new Pavilion restaurant now takes reservations all day Monday to Saturday, and from 12-6 on Sundays. We serve traditional, freshly prepared pub grub alongside our famous hand-stretched pizzas from our cricket ball wood-fired pizza oven!
In the bar, we serve the same menu but we do not take reservations, there is a good selection of real ale on tap, live sports and bar games for all ages.
The surrounding area offers fabulous scenery for walking or biking so muddy boots and muddy paws are welcome! Open fires in the winter and plenty of garden space in the summer, great sunsets plus a new patio deck to watch from.
Families are welcome, we have a children"s playground plus garden games as well as a full sized petanque pitch.
We are located in-between Baldock, Stevenage and Hitchin and we have ample parking.
See you soon!
What 264 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
KT
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

We arrived for Sunday dinner to be told that all meats had sold out except for 7 roast porks. There were 6 of us. As we all wanted a roast dinner, we all had to have pork.
Quality of food was good and tasted nice.
Poor selection and amount of vegetables. We had carrot purée and peas when the menu stated ‘seasonal vegetables’. When we questioned this the waitress said she could bring more vegetables - this ended up being a small bowl of peas! I wouldn’t say these are seasonal or even enough to have with a Sunday roast.
Worst part was, on the way out, we saw 4 staff members eating a roast dinner of chicken! Maybe you should cater to diners before staff?
Quite poor really seen as the roasts aren’t cheap and what most people what opt for on a Sunday.
Dessert was nice.
Unfortunately wouldn’t recommend due to above comments.

F
Hertfordshire
6 reviews
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Great for families and larger parties so expect a little noise. Definitely not for a romantic meal for two! All of the food was delicious - from the Sunday roasts, to the Pizzas freshly prepared and cooked in their Josper oven. The only disappointing meal was the vegetarian which should have been roasted cauliflower but as they had run out, served roasted broccoli instead which I didn't think looked as appetising.

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 3

Good choice of food, tasty and nicely presented. Excellent service. Experience slightly marred by behaviour of other guests but not necessarily the fault of the restaurant.

RT
London
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2019
Overall 2food 1service 4ambience 2

Awful.greasy food, will not be going back! I had really bad indigestion after the meal which i normally never suffer from.

TP
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 27 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely friendly helpful staff, was busy but wasn't waiting that long. Food was great, 2nd visit, will definitely return and recommend.

J
London
1 review
Dined on 16 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 2

Meal was very tasty - although I think they could do with a better selection of deserts. Sadly, children were allowed to run freely round the restaurant which spoilt our evening somewhat. More suited to families than a romantic night out.

The Cricketers
Responded on 19 August 2019

Hi Janey, Thank you for the feedback, We will be updating our dessert menu October time, so hopefully this will offer more of a selection for the next time you visit. We are sorry about children running around, this doesn't tend to be an issue of ours, but it is something we need to address so it doesn't taint other diners experience with us. We hope you'll visit us again!

Report
IJ
1 review
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

I took my elderly parents along for a lunchtime meal and it proved to be an excellent choice...the food was very good as was the beer and the sound level pretty much inobtrusive which is generally a problem in pubs/restaurants for my father. This meant we were able to have a good chat without having to repeat everything twice and at a high level ! We had fishcakes and falafel burgers, both of which were very tasty...the tomato and chilli soup starter was a little bit hotter than expected but nevertheless very nice.

The Cricketers
Responded on 19 August 2019

Hi Ian, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you had nice lunch with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
OT
Wales
1 review
Dined on 11 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent service and fantastic food. Highly recommended.

The Cricketers
Responded on 12 August 2019

Hello there, Thank you for much for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Cricketers, we really appreciate your feedback. Kind regards

Report
SS
1 review
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal at the Cricketers and have booked again for another family celebration.

The Cricketers
Responded on 13 August 2019

Hi Sue, We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit with us and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon. Kind regards

Report
SM
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 26 July 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 2

Main route from STEVENAGE was closed, and we weren’t alerted to this prior to leaving.
Steak was not available, only told this after ordering.
Drinks took ages to arrive. £29.50 for Prosecco - don’t think so!
The staff started to prepare for a wedding the next day around us, while we were still at our table. Felt very uncomfortable and like we shouldn’t be there. It was only 10.15pm.
Won’t be going back any time soon. We have been before and had brought our friends for dinner.
Very disappointing.

The Cricketers
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hi Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience with us on Friday, and I would like to offer you our sincerest apologises for making your party feel uncomfortable as we started to set up the wedding for the following day. Upon reflection we should have handled the situation differently to avoid having you leave with a sour taste in your mouth about returning. We do hope you give us another go in the future Kind regards

Report
LB
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 26 July 2019
Overall 3food 2service 2ambience 2

It is a pub with possibly good pizza and tapas at lunchtime but not a restaurant to take friends and celebrate a birthday. The menu is poor and service very amateurish.
Not sure we want to try again.

The Cricketers
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We appreciate your feedback, and would like to apologise for the fact that you did not enjoy your recent experience with us. We strive to ensure we provide the best service each and every day, and so are disappointed to hear that you didn't receive this. We hope you give us another shot in the future, Kind regards Team Cricketers

Report
TP
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Dined on 23 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

First time I have visited the Cricketers and I would definitely be returning. Lovely friendly staff, excellent food, nice surroundings.

The Cricketers
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hi Tania, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Team Cricketers

Report
S
Hertfordshire
5 reviews
Dined on 21 July 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

The service is the only good thing about this review. Waitresses very attentive. However, food was terrible! Items for the Sunday roast had obviously been left under the heat lamp as the potatoes were rock hard, and the cauliflower cheese and Yorkshire pudding bone dry. I understand it was a hot day but we had 3 flies constantly buzzing around us the food, and we were inside.

The Cricketers
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we apologize that you did not enjoy your recent experience with us and note that we have passed your comments onto the kitchen. With regards to the flies, unfortunately where we are situated, and the time of year we just get bombarded with them. We have traps set up all around the garden and inside the building, so we are trying our best to minimise their presence. We hope you will give us another chance. Kind regards Team Cricketers

Report
C
1 review
Dined on 16 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Friendly staff and great food. Quiet when we went; nice atmosphere.

The Cricketers
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hi Chris, We are delighted you enjoyed your recent experience at The Cricketers. Thank you for your review and recommendation, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Cricketers

Report
DC
1 review
Dined on 14 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

A great pub with ample parking and a good selection of beer, ales and wines.
The extension is so light and the table are not too close. The food choice was very good and the quality excellent and the quantity just right. Also there is the option to sit on the large patio or in the large garden.

The Cricketers
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hi David, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are pleased to hear you had a nice experience with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Cricketers

Report
EH
London
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had a great experience at the Cricketers. My family really enjoyed the food, all of the staff were friendly and helpful and we felt that the bill was more than fair of the quality of the food. We'll be back!

The Cricketers
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hi Emma, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are pleased to hear you had a nice experience with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Cricketers

Report
A
1 review
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Disappointed that we had to return the starter once and still couldn’t eat it when it returned as it was raw in the middle. This was subsequently not deducted from the bill.

The Cricketers
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are sorry to hear that the food was not to your liking, I can assure you our chefs check absolutely every dish that leaves their kitchen and would not allow anything raw to be served. With the chicken wings starter, the femoral artery, which runs along the bone, carries blood through the chicken's leg, after cooking, it might contain some dark red blood, but it is not a food safety risk, and this might be what you experienced.

Report
SP
London
1 review
Dined on 9 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Had a lovely lunch, great service and pleasant atmosphere. Only gripe would be that we paid with a £60 voucher (value of lunch was less) and we were not offered any change either in voucher or cash.

The Cricketers
Responded on 11 July 2019

Thank you for your review Sally, we sincerely apologize that you did not receive your remaining voucher balance, please contact Holly on bar@thecricketersweston.co.uk or call 01462 790273 and this will be investigated for you.

Report
PC
1 review
Dined on 5 July 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

Excellent place for a weekday lunch with family. Great food, not too busy, even for Friday lunchtime. Attentive service without being too much so. Really good restaurant ambience and enjoyed sitting out on the patio for a while afterwards. Shame about the language of the people on the adjacent patio table, but enjoyed a walk round the village instead.

The Cricketers
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hi Philip, Thank you for taking your time to leave us such a lovely review. We are sorry to hear the adjacent table were not as well mannered as they should have been, but we hope that this didn't spoil your visit. Hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Team Cricketers

Report
H
Norfolk
2 reviews
Dined on 3 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

The falafel burger and chicken burger were delicious and served with chips at a good size for the price. My husband thought the lamb in flat bread was tasty, but he still felt hungry after, chips would have been a good side dish along with the salad.

The Cricketers
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Team Cricketers

Report
EB
1 review
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 2ambience 5

Our first visit to The Cricketers. Food was lovely but service was quite slow. Staff were very nice though.

The Cricketers
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry that the service wasn't quite up to scratch, and we want to assure you that this is not our usual way of working, and so do apologise. We hope to see you again soon however. Kind regards Team Cricketers

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 23 June 2019
Overall 1food 5service 1ambience 1

No welcome on arrival, staff extremely young and vacant! Totally blank expression.
Food arrived and I thought the plate was a child’s meal! Burger with a few french fries, looked so uninspiring, no salad or garnish, as basic as it gets, to the point of embarrassing. Why not add a bit of presentation to your food???
I certainly would and that’s me serving food at home.
Fish and chips wasn’t much better, had the added attraction of two teaspoons of peas and tartare sauce, one piece of fish looked more like a Fish finger.
First time visiting The Cricketers and the last!
Overall, Total waste of money and effort, it was a joke!

MT
London
1 review
Dined on 21 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic food and wonderful service. Really enjoyed our family meal.

BC
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 4 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This was our first visit to the cricketers, and I have to say that everything about our evening was fantastic.
It’s a lovely pub with great food and very welcoming and polite staff.
I would definitely recommend this pub to friends and family and look forward to returning in the future.

JM
1 review
Dined on 1 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Only passing for one night great little find would go again if in area.

KA
1 review
Dined on 31 May 2019
Overall 2food 1service 2ambience 3

I think if you have pizza it would be ok but other meals were not good and not good value for money. Will not go back again.

OT
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 30 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Met up with long lost friends.

BM
London
1 review
Dined on 25 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Well well well.. what can I say. Amazing. Food was unbelievable, service was excellent. Cant't wait to visit again.

JR
London
2 reviews
Dined on 25 May 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Quickly arranged and decent fare for a Saturday lunch. Fabulous surroundings

TW
1 review
Dined on 23 May 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Vie had a very pleasant meal in very pleasant surroundings

B
1 review
Dined on 20 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Lunchtime visit. Staff very friendly. Service very good and we really enjoyed the food. The pizzas were great and the caesar salad exceptional. We will be visiting again.

CC
Dorset
1 review
Dined on 17 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic pizzas as always. Wonderful staff.
Highly recommend.

LG
1 review
Dined on 12 May 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

Ordered 4 roast pork dinners , along side these we ordered extra crackling and stuffing which we didn't get but were still charged for although they were taken off the bill in the end. Some of the potatoes were hard, they almost tasted like frozen roast potatoes and the yorkshire puddings were over done as well.

We also ordered a childs fish & chips and the fish was slightly burned so a little disappointed , we have been to The Cricketers before in the week and usually the food has been good so not sure we would come for another roast again which is a shame.

JP
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 4 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

First visit to The cricketers, and we were not dissapointed. Nice atmosphere, tables spread out so you don't feel you are on top of each other. Bonus we had a round table.
Food was delicious and they were very accommodating to allergies . Service was good, but did have to ask for dessert menu, and for the bill. Good kids menu and 2yr old enjoyed her pizza.
Will be sure to be visiting again.

P
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 22 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Lovely pub
Great setting- lovely barn . Good menu to select food from

JW
London
2 reviews
Dined on 12 April 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 3

Excellent and helpful waitress service . Food arrived promptly and enjoyed by all . Only slight problem was while fish batter was crispy outside it was a little soggy and uncooked inside

PW
London
1 review
Dined on 7 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We took our grandchild, very child friendly with play area and football for little ones to play together

T
London
5 reviews
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Great venue - expansive gardens, perfect for a sunny lunch or dinner. Good facilities for children. Pizza's are outstanding as are the spicy chicken wings. Great pub classics on offer too. Would highly recommend - great crowd pleaser for a family -everyone is sure to find something they like. Staff are friendly, professional and efficient.

RH
London
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A lovely restaurant, with great friendly service. Will certainly be going again

VA
Hertfordshire
3 reviews
Dined on 24 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Beautiful setting,over watching the sunset as we ate dinner although almost blinded my step dad so next time we’ll take sunglasses if we dine during the sunset!
Nice food and always good service. £130 for 4 people, 2 courses and a few drinks each.
Family friendly place so lots of kids which is nice for them but makes it quite noisy as it’s echoey in there. It was a little messy too with food on the floors, under the tables etc but it was 4.30pm on a Sunday.
It’s ‘rustic’ furniture which looks like but my parents were uncomfortable and not impressed with that part.
I’ve been 3 times since I first went a month ago so quickly become a firm favourite!

1
2
3
7